reviews for: listing #78144 - Carlsbad, California House rental

Walk to the Beach, 5 min from Legoland, 4 Bdr and Playroom!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $550 /nt
    $2,450 - $3,850 /wk

sort by:

41 wedding anniversary with family

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

We spent a week at this home to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary with our two daughters, their hubby's and four grandkids ranging from ages 1-6. We had a wonderful time. The home was extremely clean and very well kept up. We BBQ dinner almost every night and the kitchen was very well stocked. We enjoyed the fire pit and the grandkids really enjoyed the "smores basket" that Kim and Jeff left for us. In fact, we enjoyed the fire pit so much that my husband is now constructing one for our home in Arizona! The kids definitely loved the play room -it was so nice that they had their own "space". It was a very short walk to the beach and a short trip to Lego Land. We are happy that we were able to stay at this beautiful home for a week and hopefully will be able to return sometime in our future - maybe for our 50th!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing rental home for our 3-generation trip!

Review submitted: May 20, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

We have rented quite a few vacation homes, but this is our all time favorite! We had three generations, and all of us had a fantastic week in this family-oriented home. When we walked into the playroom, we thought we could spend our whole week there playing with the children! Then, we walked into the enclosed backyard and decided that was where we could also relax while the children played. Even if the attractions of Southern California had not lured us away, we could have enjoyed a week in this delightful, well-cared for, child-friendly home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing House For Adults And Children

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We looked very hard for a place that would accommodate four adults and five children close to the beach and attractions. We hit the jackpot with this home. It was beautifully decorated, very clean and had plenty of room for us to spread out. The playroom had everything from foosball to building blocks. The kids had a ball. The beach was right across the street with easy access. We used the fire pit in the back yard almost every night roasting marshmallows or hot dogs or just enjoying the night air with a good glass of wine and conversation. Kim was so easy to work with and let us drop our luggage off early so we had room in our vehicle to go pick the rest of the family up at the airport. The large master suite is like a luxury hotel room. There is a grocery store, shopping, dining, anything you need within a five or ten minute drive. We would definitely recommend this rental. Thanks Kim and Jeff.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect! Highly recommend!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

When I entered this house, I was thrilled,the whole house is so clean and tidy! It has a children's playroom,which became the favorite place for my son and nephew, the two kids always played together there when we came back from outside. It is very close to Legoland, good location! Love it! Thank you Kim for your welcome cake! Highly recommend to family vacation in Carlsbad and San Diego, you definitely won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Home - Great location and family amenities!

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this fantastic house! The house is beautifully appointed and right across from the beach. Close to Legoland, outlets, restaurants, and a wonderful shore for sunsets. Our two little girls loved the playroom, fire pit, and quiet street to ride trikes. We loved all the space and thoughtful design. Kim and Jeff were very welcoming and helpful. We look forward to coming back soon! Could not have asked for a better experience all around.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Parents' 45th Anniversary, and was worth every dime!

Review submitted: October 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

We were a large group with lots of needs, and the owners were very accommodating. Lots of sleeping space, clean linens, LARGE kitchen, and all kinds of beach stuff for the kids. Great place for small children. We had a great time. Thanks J&K!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

5 star all around

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We have always stayed in La Jolla or Coronado and wanted to try something different. I was skeptical at first of anything but those two places (I don't like change that much)....After staying at Kim and Jeff's house I wouldn't stay anywhere else especially with kids! I thought it was too close to the train (because I'm a light sleeper) but you couldn't hear it at all. The beach is so close and the outlets that are 5 minutes away are unbelievable!!!! I will go back just for the shopping!!! One of the best properties we have ever stayed at period!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Walker Family

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This vacation home is truly a home away from home! We were very impressed by the effort of the owners, Kim and Jeff, to provide a home that was very clean, comfortable, and decorated so beautifully. Our six year old grandson absolutely loved the playroom, and took full advantage of the video games and Legos. When we arrived, Kim was there to greet us and show us around the home and walk us through all the important stuff. She put together a gift "bucket" for our grandson with a beach towel and Lego set, which was just so thoughtful! She didn't forget the adults, we got a couple bottles of wine to enjoy on our vacation. We took our family to Legoland, which was a hop, skip and jump from this home, and we also went to Seaworld and the zoo. The beach access was very easy, just a quick walk from the home, and not too crowded! All in all, I can't say enough about the wonderful vacation my family shared and enjoyed. Thank you again, Kim and Todd, for your exceptional hospitality!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We will be back!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We were more than pleased with our first experience with VRBO. The owners (Jeff & Kim) of the house were so easy to work with and accommodating. This was our first time traveling with our 11 month old and it was so nice not to pack everything for the baby. A crib and high chair were provided :) The pictures from the profile were very accurate. Not only is the house beautiful, Kim has outdone herself with the decor. Everything was so nice and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed roasting marshmallows outside using the fire pit and the playroom was amazing! Jeff and Kim provided a binder of things to do and places to go while in Carlsbad which was very useful. We took our little guy to the aquarium at Legoland. It was nice for $20 and you get a $10 refund on parking if you only visit the aquarium. The outlet shops are great and we dined at Casa de Bandini and Jake's. Both great food and service. Grocery stores are conveniently located for stocking the refrigerator for your stay. If you stay here you are in for a treat!

-Kristen and Robert Powell

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Buffalo Family of Four

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

The most outstanding rental place ever! We prefer to rent homes for our vacations because it's more comfortable and convenient with two young boys. This home was PERFECT! It far exceeded our expectations. The location was ideal, we could have stayed another week and not seen all we wanted to in the San Diego area. Our boys are begging to go back. The owners were so nice and accommodating. If you are a discriminating renter, then this is the place for you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for young kids!

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. It had all the little things that make a vacation home feel more like a first home: well stocked kitchen, plenty of beach items, well-furnished with attractive accents... Really the most valuable feature was the garage converted to a kids play room. For the first couple of days, the kids preferred the garage to an outing. The house is on a cul-de-sac and the neighbors were very friendly. Jeff and Kim were attentive and wonderful hosts. I'd caution first-timers that the beach, while a trivial walk away, is somewhat isolated. It's a couple of miles from the Carlsbad boardwalk. We'd definitely come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home for a family gathering

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We rented this wonderful place for a family reunion to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday party. Everyone loved the house and all agreed that it contributed enormously to making our time together the best family reunion we've ever had.

The house is spacious and comfortable, and beautifully decorated. We cooked all our meals there, and found the kitchen well stocked and easy to work in, even when 4 or 5 of us were preparing the meals. We loved how the kitchen, family room, and formal dining room all flowed together. The bed was so comfortable that I slept like a baby, and I know everyone else did too. Speaking of babies, we could hardly tear my sister's grandchildren away from the playroom, and it kept them entertained for hours.

The location in Carlsbad is ideal. One afternoon several of us walked across the street to the beach, and enjoyed a long walk on the sand. Another day we drove to the nearby lagoon for a leisurely stroll with Mom. Two of my cousins, history buffs, decided to take a trip downtown, where they enjoyed a tour of the U.S.S. Midway.

I recommend this home without reservations and hope to rent it again myself in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't be better!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 9, 2013

We stayed for two weeks and wish it could have been much longer. The home is very clean and well-equipped. The kitchen is bright, very well-stocked, and spacious so it makes preparing your meals very enjoyable. The beds have lovely linens on them and the mattresses were very comfortable (and I am fussy about mattresses). The hosts were very organized and had a binder with any information we might need to know. I e-mailed a couple of questions and received a very prompt and helpful reply. We enjoyed the outdoor fire pit at the end of the day. The warm outdoor shower was great to use to rinse off and warm up after surfing and spending time at the beach. It doesn't take long to walk to the beach and the street you must cross has traffic lights so that was nice to have especially when you are crossing with children. Our children loved the beach most of all and it was great that it was so close and you didn't have to drive and find parking to enjoy it. The garage has been converted to a kids' area and the kids enjoyed having an enclave of their own. It takes about one hour to drive to Disney and half an hour to Sea World and San Diego Zoo. The immediate areas around the home have nice shops, restaurants, and a fantastic outlet mall. We really just couldn't be happier with anything: the hosts, the home, the location, the amenities, the beach. We are already trying to figure out when we can go back! Kim is absolutely lovely to deal with and very thoughtful. She is excellent at what she does!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carlsbad coastline

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

Due to the pictures, description, and location, we had high expectations for our stay at this home. Having rented numerous homes, condos, bed and breakfasts, etc., we are always somewhat skeptical of the advertising. However, this home more than exceeded our expectations. Thanks to the owners who have done an excellent job furnishing, decorating, and equipping the home inside and out. It was also well maintained and was spotlessly clean - a very important criteria for us. The location close to the beach, shopping, dining and freeway was especially convenient. Very comfortable for families of all ages. We recommend it highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Time in Carlsbad

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

This was our first time trying VRBO, and it was a great experience. The photos on the VRBO site accurate reflect the property, and it was very clean and obviously well maintained. The owner was very helpful, meeting us at the property and answering all our questions. I would highly recommend this home to others. We visited Legoland, San Diego Zoo, and as an added, unplanned bonus, took the Coaster train to Old Town - the station is very handy! The beach was great too - only a short walk away, with everything needed to enjoy it supplied. Thank-you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything We Were Looking for

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

We had a GREAT time at this house. Kim & Jeff have thought of everything you could need, and then some. I have stayed at many 5 star resorts and the treatment you get at this house is above and beyond those. We had 5 adults and 4 kids ages 4 and under. We enjoyed every aspect of the house. The playroom kept all of the kids entertained for hours while taking a break from the beach. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. My only concern going with the kids was that it would be too far for them to walk to the beach, but we enjoyed it every morning and afternoon. The beach was beautiful and we loved that there weren't really anyone else there. Overall, whenever you go somewhere it is the little things that seem to matter the most, and Kim & Jeff have thought of it all. We look forward to going back real soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful HOME!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The owners were such wonderful hosts! The pictures are exactly what the home looks like, beautiful, clean and close to the beach. We had a great week and are hoping to come back next year. The fire pit was an added bonus.
Thanks for a great vacation!!

Dadaian and Campbell Families

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT FAMILY VACATIONS !

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Thank's to Kim & Jeff for the beautiful & comfortable house that we had at Carlsbad!
You thought of all little details in the house; all you need was there & more! We felt like at home ...
Location is great...near the beach ,the zoo,San Diego old town...With all commodity stores near by...
Our sons really appreciated the baby foot in the playroom too! We liked to sat near the outside fireplace at night.

Thank you again to made our stay in San Diego so good!

Chantal & Jack (Montreal,QC,Canada)
P.S. Plse excuse my English!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of My Best Vacations EVER!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We rented this home for a family reunion that included my children and grandchildren. We gathered to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The house was perfect for my super large family. The house has a fully loaded
playroom that the grandkids just loved when they weren't at the beach, or at Legoland, or at the lagoon renting jet skis and kayaks. The train station is literally at the end of the block and there is an adorable coffee shop set up right there. The walk to the beach is close and easy (even with little ones). And the house has everything you would ever want. From boogie boards, sand toys and beach towels for the beach. We also loved and used every single night,
the fully decked out gourmet kitchen, and the large dining room table. One of the best parts of the whole house is coming home after a busy day to dinner with the family and then sitting around the awesome firepit every evening. Jeff and Kim have the perfect house in Carlsbad California. Check it out you won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Our family of 10 stayed in this beautiful, comfortable home for a week and had a wonderful time. The pictures and description of the home don't do it justice. They show the overall beauty, but don't show the little details that are of such high quality. Kim has taken great care to ensure the comfort of her guests, and we were blessed. We were also relieved that even though the house is beautifully decorated, we still felt comfortable to live in it without fear that we would ruin something. That was partly due to Kim and her husband Jeff who were so relaxed and gracious and made us feel right at home when they greeted us on our arrival. The beach was an easy walk from the house and taking the long staircase to the water wasn't a problem. While there are so many things to do in the area, and we had planned on going out for dinner at least once or twice during our stay, we ended up enjoying the house and the beach so much that we rarely left. Staying in, making dinner together, and then gathering around the big dining room table was much better than fighting the restaurant crowds. We made great memories during our stay and would definitley come back. Thank you, Jeff and Kim!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great for families

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

Wonderful home, great for families looking for a retreat. We stayed here with our family of 4 with 2 young kids (3 and 1) and the grandparents. There was room and space for everyone, and the kids loved the playroom. The backyard firepit is great! Very close to Legoland and easy walk to the beach to watch the sunset.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, well equipped and maintained home for a family with young children

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

I stayed at this lovely and well equipped home with my family over spring break. We began our vacation with the owners purchasing a DVR for the home so we could watch the final four college basketball game when we arrived. We have a one, four and five year old and the home was well suited and had all the equipment needed for very young children. In addition, the playroom, located in the garage, was well stocked with toys for all ages as well as art materials. While the children enjoyed the playroom, we adults mostly enjoyed the fire pit, nice outside area and unlimited Netflick movies. The home was nicely decorated and in close proximity to many San Diego attractions. We enjoyed visits to Legoland, the Safari animal park, Seaworld and Disneyland. In addition, we were walking distance from the beach and a short drive to other beaches in Encinitas and Carlsbad. We will stay at this home again when we visit San Diego.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful spring break beach rental!

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

What a lovely time we had at this Carlsbad rental so close to the beach! Plenty of room for our 4 kids & grandpa/grandma. The home was well-stocked and the bedrooms were spacious. Might I even dare to say that the kitchen was better stocked than my own?!? Kim was very welcoming & accommodating. We so enjoyed grilling out, making smores by the firepit, watching NCAA March Madness games, and relaxing with a book by the cozy fire. The boys spent a great day fishing with Captain Peter at San Diego Fishing Adventures (caught a sand shark & bat ray!). We all enjoyed time at SeaWorld with our oldest daughter swimming with the beluga whales! Loved coming home at the end of the day to this delightful home and taking short walks to the beach to chase the tide. Thank you for such a nice vacation spot, Kim & Jeff! Hope to come back again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion

Review submitted: March 3, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We rented this house for a family get together with our children and grandchildren. The house is clean, well equipped and child friendly.
There were seven adults and three children aged 1 to 4 years. The owners went out of their way to make us comfortable and welcome. The garage has been converted into a playroom which the little ones spent a great deal of time in.
The walk to the state beach is easy and short.
The back yard is private and welcoming for eating outdoors or sitting and enjoying the evening.
The location is convenient for traveling into San Diego. There is a commuter train, the Coaster, which stops within a five minute walk from the house.
The house was great, the owners easy to work with and flexible.
We would return again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great home away from home!

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

We stayed at this house for a month over christmas and new years and loved it so much we have already booked a return trip. The house has everything you need for traveling with kids and is such a great location across from the beach and the coaster train station. The owners are fantastic and went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay, going so far as loaning us wetsuits so that our kids could swim in the ocean. We absolutely loved our stay, have recommended it tirelessly to our friends and can't wait to stay again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Fabulous Find!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

We are thrilled to have found this fabulous vacation house! It is both elegant and welcoming, incorporating the best comforts of home with all the luxuries of vacation. The listing accurately portrays what you can expect to see when you first walk in, but you will quickly discover there is so much more tucked away throughout the house to make your stay thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable. The owners have anticipated and addressed every detail, from the lovely decor and luxurious bedding to a wide range of cooking utensils/appliances to all those bulky but necessary baby items that you'd rather not have to travel with. Three generations of our family--ranging from 6 months to over 60 years--stayed in this house over Thanksgiving and we found everything we needed for all of us, from the youngest to the oldest, to have a wonderful family vacation. The playroom is full of toys that appeal to a range of ages. The 2, 5, 7, and 9 year olds in our family were entertained for hours with a wide array of Legos, games, puzzles, cars, balls, Foosball and other things in this well-stocked playroom. The grown-ups took full advantage of the amenities in the rest of the house, including great TVs to catch the post-Thanksgiving games, the outdoor fire pit, two indoor fireplaces, and a really comfy family room couch. Everyone appreciated the location--convenient to the beach, Legoland, the Coaster train and more. The owners are accommodating, very easy to work with and genuinely interested in making your stay truly enjoyable. When we return to San Diego, this house will be our first choice rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of the best family vacations ever!

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We had the privilege of staying at this house in October and had such a blast. Not only is the house centrally located to everything - beach, Legoland, restaurants, shopping, San Diego Zoo, highways (to Disneyland) - it is the PERFECT house if you are traveling with a large family, especially younger children. Often times a family vacation can actually be more stressful when traveling with young children as you are away from the comforts (and toys) that you have at home. Not the case with this house, my son was actually asking when we could move in! The house has an amazing playroom stocked with toys, games, legos, crayons, foosball table...I could go on an on. There are also small child-sized tables in the playroom, the kitchen and even outside. They even provide beach toys, umbrellas & chairs, a wagon for walking to the beach and strollers. There was nothing that we wanted or needed that wasn't at the house. There is also a great crib with bedding, bumpers and a baby monitor. The rooms were large with extremely comfortable beds and bedding. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and cooking items - and I can't forget to mention the fire pit where we made s'mores every night (of course skewer sticks are provided). There is WIFI and Netflix as well with tons of movies to choose from for all ages. The beach was just a short walk, which was so peaceful taking in the view every morning.

All in all, we had one of the most wonderful family vacations of our lives and we can't wait to rent this house again. We have already recommended it to all of our families and friends! The owners are some of the nicest people you will ever encounter and live close by should you need anything during your stay. They were extremely accommodating to all of our needs and have really set-up the house for a foul-proof vacation. I HIGHLY recommend this house and guarantee you will love it too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise at your front door!

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 25, 2011

Was it the beautiful beachside location we enjoyed the most? Or the convenience of being a short driving to distance to the many local attractions? My children would definately say it was the playroom which provided hours of entertainment. But for us adults it was the staying in such a well kept, beautiful and comfortable home that we enjoyed the most. It was so nice to not have to worry about anything because this house has it all! Being a group of 11, six adults and five young children we were thrilled by the space, each sleeping comfortably in beds in individual rooms, my 19mth old even had his own cot just like home. We were able to cook meals in the kitchen and enjoy a wine siiting in the lovely courtyard. It was hard to move on after such a nice experience!

Thankyou Kim and Jeff for all your emails leading up to our visit, your care and attention did not go un noticed. We loved your home and we thank you for allowing my family to enjoy it. I have definately recommended it to friends thinking of heading over in the future.
Until next time...
Daniela & Lou Torcaso
Melbourne, AUSTRALIA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay was Awesome!

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

We enjoyed this place very much. The home is immaculate, fully furnished with not just the essentials, but also all the extras such as beach toys. The garage is converted to a game room, and our kids spent so much time in there, playing fooseball and other things. The owners were very helpful, greeting us when we arrived, and available at any time if we had a question. The location is great, in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet only 2-3 blocks from the water. Probably the only challenge with the home was the fact that the staircase is somewhat steep and is all tile, so we had to make sure our 1 year old and 3 year old did not attempt the stairs on their own. Fortunately, there is a retractable gate at the top and bottom of the stairs for that very reason. The home seems to be well priced for what it has to offer, and we would certainly consider staying there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at beautiful Carlsbad beach house

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

Our stay at beautifull Carlsbad beach house was more than perfect. The house was super gorgeous inside and out, they even have a perfect kids room. This was our secound family get together in America and we couldn't plan any better than this one. It was three different family from Japan and my family from Oceanside, so even they have two bathtab it was no problem sharring with everyone. The location is more than perfect, its close to everything. Everyone enjoyed morning walk to the beach. We loved fireplace in family room, fire pit outside and webber bbq grill. We spent most of time shopping and sightseen but other than that we spent relaxing in this beautiful house. We didn't have time to use everygthing but they have everything you need in this house, like beach item to kids toy/pottytraining seat too!! And best thing is that the owner of this house was so kind and welcoming that makes you feel you are a very special. I recommend this Carlsbad beach house to everyone who wants to make very special and fun vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Top notch VRBO in Carlsbad!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

This was a fantastic vacation rental by owner! We had 6 adults and 6 kids aged 2-5 on this trip. The adults loved the lounge areas inside and the outdoor fire pit. The kids loved the converted play room garage and their own picnic table in the backyard! The house is stocked with beach towels, body boards, beach toys, and even a pull wagon for the easy walk to the beach. The house is in great condition and has premium furnishings, appliances, furniture, etc. throughout.

The house is just miles away from Legoland and we took advantage of that. One day the 3 adults and 3 older kids walked from the house to the train to go into the city and watch the Padres game (Yes, it is that close that you can walk to the train with a 4 year old!). Sometimes trains can be loud but this one doesn't come around very often at night so it wasn't noticeable to us when we were back home relaxing.

The owners really thought of everything to make it such a stress free vacation for all of us. We all had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful in every way!

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

This home delivers on everything it promises. Our family enjoyed this "home away from home." It was equipped with everything we needed. We all slept well in the comfortable beds and enjoyed the beautiful furnishings. It was a quiet neighborhood, private parking, and located right across the street from a family friendly beach. What more could we ask for? Nothing! Even a game/play room just for kids.

The owners were easy to reach and very diligent about communication. Very easy to work with. We have already recommended this home to all of our friends in Arizona. It was our best trip to San Diego yet and I think it was because of this gem! We made great memories and look forward to next time.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

What a wonderful vacation home. My family had a fabulous time at this home. The home is in imaculate condition and had plenty of towels, blankets, pillows and room for everyone. We had two families with a total of 5 toddlers and grandparents staying in the house...everyone had enough room and the grandparents even found some quiet space away from the kids during the evenings. The playroom and fire pit where a hit with the kids...s'mores every night. The little details also made the stay very comfortable, e.g. child gates for the stairs, high chair, stroller, wagon, a little eating table for the kids. The location of the home was perfect. It is less than 10 minutes away from Legoland, 5 minutes from the outlets, and easy acess to I-5. We can't wait for next summer.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All bases covered for vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We couldn’t have found a better house with a better location for our first trip to southern California. The house’s décor made you feel like you were in a classy place and yet at the same time a comfortable, at home place. I am super picky when in comes to beds and almost always have to have a chiropractic adjustment when I come home from vacations. But the beds in this house were incredibly comfortable and there was no need to see the chiropractor. We utilized every great aspect of this house and there was nothing else we could have asked for in a vacation house. The owners made us feel like guests rather than tenants. They were very accommodating with local recommendations and extra details.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House - FABULOUS Location!!!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Our family of 10 stayed at the house and found the accomodations perfect for all 6 adults plus the kids ages 1 to 7. The kids loved the play room and we loved the space available for everyone to do what they wanted. We were literally 6 minutes from Legoland and the walk to the beach was so easy and quick!! We had a great time using the fire pit and the grill worked perfectly!! We would definitely go back to this house. The owners were also very helpful and accommodating! Definitely a house to consider!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach and site seeing vacatioin

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Our week at the above property was outstanding. The house was better than the pictures, and extremely clean. The house was equipped with all the necessities needed for adults and children. The beach was only a few minutes away, and the surfing was outstanding for us. The location of the house was great as Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and Safari Park were only 30 minutes away. The owners left activity folders, and directions to all the attractions, and that was very helpful. I would recommend this property to anyone that wants to go to California and be by the beach. It was a wonderful week for us all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Get-A-Way

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

When I arrived I was greeted by Kim who was so gracious and hospitable. Showed me around the beautiful beach house and I felt right at home immediately. My biggest pet peeve is arriving to an unfamiliar place and not being clean, I was not let down, this was very tidy and clean. Relaxing outdoors by the firepit was so tranquil and one of my favorite of many things I did during my stay. I cannot wait to return, felt like a home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING VACATION HOME!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We had the most fabulous time staying here in this beautiful home. The place was perfectly spotless, had everything you could possibly need, and was incredibly comfortable. With the kids completely entertained in the playroom (which was better than our playroom at home by far!), the adults could actually relax and won't be needing a vacation from our vacation. Doesn't that sound nice? We loved the easy access to the beach, the gas fire pit in the backyard, and the glorious beds! The owners were wonderful and made sure we felt right at home. We would recommend playing in the sand and surf, heading to Sea Life Park, taking a day trip to La Jolla, and make sure to eat at Swami's for breakfast! This really is the greatest place for a family and we are already trying to schedule our next trip back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Beautiful Home in a Great Location

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely home. Needing to get away from the snow for a while, this property provided the perfect get-away. Jeff and Kim have paid attention to every detail, creating an atmosphere that is both elegant and comfortable. The house has an open and inviting floor plan, filled with pleasant decorations and furniture that draw you in. In the morning, I snuggled up on the couch with my coffee. It was so comfy I almost didn’t want to leave for the beach! The beds are ridiculously comfortable; I slept so well. And the room I slept in overlooked a garden behind the property, with clear views. The kitchen is fully stocked, and it’s organized intuitively. You don’t have to spend 15 minutes searching for everything. The house comes with Netflix and wireless internet, which was a nice touch. We made use of the grill outside, and the fire pit was most welcome on one of the chillier nights. They’ve printed out easy-to-follow instructions for both the grill and fire pit. There weren’t any children in our party, but I can imagine how nice the play room would be. I really appreciated the location too. It’s close to everything – the freeway and train – but it’s on a residential street that is very quiet. While the house is perfect for families with children, I’d also recommend it to couples or adult families. The beach across the street is nice in that it wasn’t too crowded, but it’s a beautiful spot with plenty of sand and gorgeous views. I would definitely recommend this vacation home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic time had by the whole family.

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

What a great house. Jeff & Kim have made every effort for a vacationer to feel at home here. The playroom was AWESOME!!! Kiddos loved going in there every morning and commented several times about how great it was to have toys at the rental house. The walk to the beach was short and easy. Leaving the loyalty shopping cards for the grocery store and pharmacy was an exceptionally nice touch - as we did save quite a lot of money when stocking up supplies. The furnishings were very comfortable and you actually did feel right at home. A+.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Family Getaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Our family had such a wonderful time. The location is ideal and the house has all of the comforts of home. My children loved the playroom. The house was very clean and well maintained and the owners were keen to make sure we were happy. We would definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We want all of our guests to feel this way about our house! We'd love to have our SLC guests stay again, and we appreciate the nice review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Montana Mini-Class Reunion

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

Four Montana high school class mates stayed at this property for a week at the end of February.
Kim, the owner, met us at the property shortly after we arrived, gave us a tour and left us with a lovely house warming gift. The house was absolutely PERFECT for us during our week - long stay.
Most mornings were spent in the kitchen or in the room right off the kitchen drinking coffee, laughing, crying, and taking trips down memory lane staying in our pajamas until close to noon.

The location was ideal for us to do day trips and then back to the house for evening late night chats.
We utilized the fully - stocked kitchen indulging in some good old fashion home cooked meals.
We were entertained a couple of evenings watching NETFLIX that came with the house.

There was information on hand of things to do and visit while in the area. We also tapped into the wireless internet allowing us to skype our family's and to take care of a few business transactions.

Loved having our own bedrooms. The beds were SUPER comfortable getting a really good nights sleep every night.

I would HIGHLY recommend this property. Wonderful location, reasonably priced. Very cool owners who were available at a moments notice if we needed anything. We made life memories at this property . . . ones that we can share with each other forever. Thank you Jeff and Kim for a completely satisfactory stay!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: It's so nice to hear that the Montana girls made "life memories" at our house. We're glad they had a great time and appreciate the lovely review.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation Home

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Jeff and Kim's vacation rental was a great family vacation home to escape the Canadian winter and enjoy the California sunshine. This was our first time staying at a vacation home rental and Jeff and Kim were a pleasure to deal with, quick to respond to our inquiries and went over and beyond expectations in meeting our needs while staying at the rental. The home is beautiful, welcoming and has a great family feel. There was adequate room for two families (two couple's and two toddler's) during our stay and the playroom is an amazing feature of the rental which provided endless fun and play for the children. The home is in a great location and it was reasonable driving distance to venture out and explore the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Lego Land and shopping. Shops and grocery stores were close by, where we received friendly customer service. The home's close proximity to the beach was also a pleasant feature and it was only a short walking distance away. If we are ever in the area again we would not hesitate to come back to this vacation home and would highly recommend this place to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It's nice to hear that we were helpful with a "first time" vacation rental experience. We would love to have our Canadian guests back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great vacation home!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

We had so much fun at Jeff and Kim's vacation rental. They were so accommodating and very helpful. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcomed. The house was well equipped with everything you need, well-maintained and very clean. They do have a folder that's very helpful with alll the information you need to know.
I would definitely recommend this house. Thank you for a great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It was great to have "TanEm" add HAWAII to our map! (You'll understand if you stay).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

The house was incredible!! It was very clean, nicely decorated, spacious, great back yard with a firepit, and most importantly it had a playroom for the kids!!! It is in a great location-across the street from the beach, close to Legoland, outlet shops, and only 25 minutes to San Diego. The neighborhood is clean and quiet. The house has everything you need-they even have beach towels for you to use!!

Jeff and Kim, the owners, were SO nice and very good people to work with. When we arrived there was a basket full of everything you need to make smores along with bubbles for the kids. So thoughtful!!

We would reccomend this house to anyone-especially families with kids! We had a great time and can't wait to use the house again for our next visit!! We give it 5 stars!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We think Katie might have enjoyed having a playroom more than her children did! ;)
We'd love to have her back and appreciate the great review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent home and great value

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

I rented this property for a few days at the end of January. The owner met me at the home in a timely manner to give us the keys and to give us a tour. She was very nice and let us know to give her a call whenever if we had any problems or questions. There was a book of helpful information and local activities as well which was very useful.

The home is well furnished and absolutely beautiful with plenty of room for the 4 adults and 1 child that was with us. The playroom was a great addition to keep the kids busy while the adults catch up or cook. We also appreciated the normal condiments in the fridge and other stuff that was at our disposal.

The train is just a short walk away if you want to get into the city and not drive ( we had a few drinks :)

Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jonathan is serving our country in Iraq. We're glad he enjoyed some well deserved time off with his family and appreciate the time he took to write a review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Staycation!

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

What a pleasure it was to stay at Jeff and Kim's vacation rental where we celebrated my birthday for a weekend with family. It was comfortable, clean and felt like a home away from home. The bedrooms were cozy and the beds very comfortable and clean. It was so nice just hanging out at the house that we spent a lot of time in it, however we did take a walk to the beautiful ocean to watch the sunset and loved having a fire pit in that back patio to make smores upon our return from the beach. Jeff and Kim were attentive and made sure all our needs were met while staying at their beautiful vacation rental. We highly recommend this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Lucy shared a few pictures with us that she took during her stay. It was great to see her family breaking in the new fire pit! We are happy that she had a nice weekend with her family and that she enjoyed the house.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

fantastic elegant home perfect for a family

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

this carlsbad beach house was absolutely beautiful, immaculate and perfectly located. jeff and kim did a fantastic job at addressing every detail - from the comfort of the furniture and beds, to the quality of the linens and glassware, to the amenities for kids of all ages. we had searched and searched for a house to rent, having only come across uncooperative and unhelpful property owners. when we found jeff and kim, the process was smooth and delightful, and helped make our thanksgiving vacation perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Emily was able to view several houses in this area before making her decision to stay for Thanksgiving with her family from out of town. We are delighted that she chose our house, and that she and her family enjoyed their stay!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect family vacation home !

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

We took two of our daughters and their partners along with our two year old grandson to Carlsbad to celebrate a 30th birthday. The house couldn't have been more comfortable for us all. The photos of this property can't do it justice. It doesn't tell you how cosy the couch in the great room is or what a pleasant backyard it has.
Kim and Jeff went the extra mile to accommodate our every need. We had requested a crib for our grandson but found childproofed electrical outlets and a little table and chair set in the great room as well !That attention to detail makes a house a home and we felt they understood our needs.
Carlsbad is nicely located on the coast in easy driving distance to San Diego Zoo, Sea Life and shopping. The location of this home is at the quieter end of the beach with easy access at the corner. We enjoyed the sand and surf daily. We cooked most of our meals in the well equipped kitchen and used the BBQ frequently.
We would not hesitate to come back here and could encourage any age of traveller to enjoy this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Libby and her family were our first international guests. We are thrilled that they enjoyed their stay!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great house and location

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

What a great comfortable house with the perfect location. Close to Legoland and an easy drive to everything else in San Diego. Owners were great and made sure that we were comfortable and that our needs were met. We had five adults and four young children staying at the property and all had a great time. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: "Firepat" and his family were our first guests, as we are the new owners of this house. Our intention is for every guest to feel comfortable in this house as well as pleased with the decision to spend their vacation here. Having four children, we understand how precious family time is, and are happy that he enjoyed his vacation.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review