reviews for: listing #78327 - Maalaea, Hawaii Condo rental

Fab Ocean Front "Savings"! Very nice, remodeled!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Island Sands
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $250 /nt
    $1,295 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Another Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

Another wonderful stay! This is the first time we've enjoyed a stay during Whale season. Spectacular Whale watching from the comfort of this condo! What a "plus" that was!! We will return - God willing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved our stay!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed the condo, and we wouldn’t have taken any less care of such a wonderful piece of paradise! Upon my next return to Maui I would have no hesitations to go with Islands again, the way we did for our week. Thank you so much for the ease & comfort of booking with you & please share with Joanne & family that we loved our stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular view!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 4, 2014

Our once in a life time trip to Maui turned into a 2nd and hadd to bring Mike and Diane with us to experience the island and unit 512 with the spectacular view. Whales did not disappoint us and all were so helpful and willing to share the hot spots! We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the island, road to Hana, Volcano, Lahaina, Whales, Dinner Cruise, Trilogy Snorkel Trip, Blowhole and dinners at Beach Bums, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company and Pollis. Thanks for all and we hope to again return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the condo!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Our 1st time to Maui and we loved it. Already planning a return trip. Loved the condo and the view from the lanai. Spotted Whales everyday. Thanks for sharing your little spot in paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 22, 2014

We had a wonderful time in Maui. This is a great location very central. Amazing views of Mount Haleakala, Whales breaching and also Sea Turtles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home in Maui is beautiful!

Review submitted: May 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

We love the view everyday. We had great weather everyday. The sound of the ocean is so great to hear all day. We went to the beach almost everyday. Had Hawaiian shaved ice. Great meals in condo and in Lahaina. We saw a lot of Whale action from the lanai. The large Turtle was on the beach everyday from early evening to morning. Our two weeks are almost over and we want to come back next year! Your home here in Maui is beautiful and we are blessed to be here and enjoy Gods creations.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We really enjoyed our trip!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip out to Maui and this condo was a huge blessing! The view from the balcony was amazing! The location was ideal and we got chances to go snorkeling, hiking, surfing, and just exploring. We had a great time! Mahalo and God Bless!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First Trip to Maui!

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This was our first trip to this beautiful Isle and we did make memories! We are large, loving and nature loving family who's second son was married in Kaanapali last Saturday- Our 3rd son celebrated his 28th birthday here last week-my new daughter in law's birthday this week- and my husband and my 35th wedding anniversary. Your island held so many delightful surprises from snorkeling, spear fishing, heli-flight over entire island "Blue Hawaii Tours"-the bomb, hiking & the road to Hana, the lava tube and lava flow! Wow! Molokini snorkel-so nice! But this location was perfect!!! So Central! Easy-on and off! Quiet and tranquil. Views from balcony were fantastic! We will be back! Thank you for sharing with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

Oh my, what can we say but Hana Hou is better than before! This is our second stay and it was better than the first time because of the joy we experienced from our friends (Kenneth and Betty) first trip to Hawaii! After being in hotels on Oahu and Big Island, it was such a joy to be so comfortable in this beautiful oceanfront "home away from home."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most Awesome Place that I have ever stayed!

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

This place is the most awesome place I have ever stayed!! The ocean view from the balcony is extraordinary!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful View!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

Thank you for a great stay with all the creature comforts, beautiful view and lots of quality time spent on the lanai. Great walk to the harbor aquarium and beach. Saw the turtle that comes out on beach quite a few early mornings. It was a wonderful break from Anchorage Alaska.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were very comfortable and happy

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

Mahalo for the great vacation home, we were very comfortable and happy here. Having resident mana rays, baby whales and turtles was a bonus. Found great beachs for snorkeling, old airport, Kaanapali and Keawakapu at the end of S. Kiheia road (says dead end but there is a parking lot and wonderful beach. Enjoy your stay. We are off to the general store for Ahi Poki delicious.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The condo was awesome!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We had a great time! the whales were amazing! We saw them morning and night! We made it up the Hana road and saw the seven sacred ponds and water falls. Went to the winery. Lahania was a great shopping day. The condo was awesome! Thank you,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Whale show starts at 6:30 a.m.

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Whale show starts at 6:30 a.m. runs through 8:30 a.m. starting again at 5:30 p.m. until 7 p.m. every day. Our last day here the whales were putting on a great show for us, right out in front of the condo, breaching, tail slapping, pec flapping. What a wonderful stay. We had a great stay. We would do it again - Same place, same time, same exact channel. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definately like to stay in this same unit!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We had an A-M-A-Z-I-N-G time here on the beautiful island of Maui! A true paradise! The accommodations were fantastic! We thoroughly enjoyed our time in this beautiful condo, even though we didn't spend too much time in here! Too many beaches to explore! We saw a lot of whales off the lanai-everything was just perfect! We look forward to returning to Maui again and would definitely like to stay in this same unit! Mahalo for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo was great!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

Condo was great and we don't want to leave...Love Maui and Maalaea is a great central location for it all...very quiet...thank you so much. From the Texas Girls Trip. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were always promptly helped

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We have enjoyed very much one month long stay at Island Sands. The sunrises over the bay and Haleakala are stunning. We were always promptly helped with whatever we needed by Stephanie. It has been great

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had such a wonderful time

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We had such a wonderful time in your condo! This is a vacation that my family will never forget. Thank you for paying so much attention to details. Its all the little things that we forget to pack or can't bring that make all the difference. We hope to come again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful condo with us. We had a great time in Maui. Our girls enjoyed their first visit to Hawaii and now don't want to leave. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, a little slice of heaven!!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

This was a little slice of heaven, we felt right at home and had a wonderful time, such a beautiful decorated condo with all the ammenities of home. Sure loved waking upto the waves crashing onto the beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic condo/location -- hard beds/pillows

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Unit #512 is on the very end, the 5th of 6 floors. It's quiet and peaceful, with the only noise the lightly crashing waves and softly blowing palm trees below our window. The condo looked like the listing photos, was very clean and well maintained. The sub-zero refrigerator is incredible, living room furniture nice and comfortable, and beach amenities very helpful (chairs, cooler and 2 umbrellas, although one umbrella was broken, and plenty of beach towels).

The Island Sands complex is very nice (love the koi pond!), parking is easy, the pool is small but very pretty and peaceful. With the wonderful Tradewinds in the afternoon, it can get cool (October) and it would have been nice to have a jacuzzi (the big grassy area in the corner is begging for one). The gas grills looked old and didn't encourage me to try them out.

My only problem with the condo, and what would make me not recommend it to a friend or relative, were the beds, pillows and sheets. The beds were hard as a rock, the pillows stiff, unyielding foam, and the sheets were pilled and uncomfortable on bare skin in the sticky heat (we didn't use the A/C to save energy). My mom said one of the spare bedroom sheets wouldn't stay on the bed so she ended up fighting it all night.

This may not be critical to some people, but a good, comfortable night's sleep is essential to me and nobody in our party of three slept well. Adding memory foam toppers and comfortable pillows would go a long, long way. Also, it really needs a shade screen on the patio to block the bright a.m. sun -- without it, the living room is essentially unusable in the morning, even with sunglasses on!

I'm giving this unit an average rating only because of the poor sleep experiences. This is easily fixable if the owner chooses to do so. It's a beautiful condo, great location, gorgeous views, and the owner obviously put a lot of attention into the decor. I'd definitely want to stay there again if the beds/pillows were upgraded.

Also, Stephanie Stark, the concierge, was wonderful to work with!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love your condo

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

JoAnn,
We love your condo and enjoyed meeting you at the Luau, It was a great time. The road to Hana was unforgettable. After long days exploring all that Maui has to offer, relaxing on the balcony to the sounds of the waves rolling in and out was the perfect way to end the day. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Awesome Views

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Spent a week at this condo with my Family. Condo was spacious and nicely decorated. Would stay on the Khiea side on our next visit as it is not as windy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

The solitude, privacy, spaciousness and incredible views only touch the surface of the things that make this condo so perfect for your Maui visit. The Ma'alaea location is ideal for going to/from both sides of the island. The unit itself is excellently appointed with your every need considered, truly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Aloha!
Mahalo for a wonderful vacation spot, accessible to all Maui has to offer!
Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Aloha,
Thanks for a wonderful ending to our week in Maui! Time just disappears when you’re here. The views every morning and evening off the lanai are spectacular! We traveled all over the island this week and enjoyed three successful whale watches. Many thanks to the Scotch Mist II in Lahaina and to the Alii Nui and the PWF Voyager in Ma’alaea! Hope to see you again next whale season! Thanks for a beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Condo!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

We have picked up, packed up and are on our way back to Cincinnati. We greatly enjoyed our time here and enjoyed the condo. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo was very clean & nicely decorated!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

Aloha,
We had an amazing Maui experience! Nine days of fabulous paradise. Condo was very clean & very nicely decorated. We would highly recommend staying here! Stephanie Stark was very helpful & quickly answered any questions. The 2 lanais with ocean views simply amazing! The scenery, sunrises, sunsets were breathtaking. Activities included sugar cane train, theatre performance, Wailea Marriott Luau, Sunrise Helicopter 1 hour tour, which we would highly recommend. Drove the winey or curvy road to Hana & stopped at Garden of Eden. Mahalo for making our visit most memorable& comfortable with this awesome condo! Visted Ka’anapali Lahaina, Kihei, Ma’alaea, Wailea,Pa’ia, Hana, & Wailuku-Very favorite places Ka’anapali&Lahaina. Try Kimo’s for dinner& hula pic!
Peace & Blessings

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed the Location!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Aloha!
What a comfy place to decompress but still has a way of flying even when you’re relaxing. Enjoyed the location and especially the improvisational whale shows right in front of the lanai every morning! And an especially beautiful grand finale this evening was featuring a mom and her very quick study of a calf who performed for about 20 minutes as they made their way through the harbor-fins slapping, baby breaching, just beautiful. Thank you JoAnn!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The views from the lanai are great!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Aloha,
We truly enjoyed our stay in your condo. The layout of the condo is great with the split bedroom design. The views from the lanai are great… especially during whale season. We saw so many whales we couldn’t watch all of them. We ate at Beach Bums….a lot , good food & reasonable. We also ate at Buzz’s Warf, also good food. We appreciate you letting us stay in your condo. Everyone we met here was very friendly & helpful. We also recommend the Pacific Whale Foundation to any and all who may be interested in going on whale watches. They are a very professional group. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING....

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

What a great condo . I loved the location , the property was clean and the view of the ocean was the BEST. I will recommend this property to my family and friends . Thank you so much for letting us into your home ...Ma halo The Pellatts

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Your pictures and descriptions of the condo were right on the mark

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 24, 2012

We recently rented this unit and I wanted to thank you for the accuracy of your web site when it came to the home. Your pictures and descriptions of the condo were right on the mark and we enjoyed staying there. We will contact you again when we plan our next trip. Loved all the special touchs to make us feel welcome. Thanks again.

Mike and Debbie
(stayed 1/24/2012-2/9/2012)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Impressed with comforts and conveniences!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

Aloha, Upon arrival we were impressed with the comforts and conveniences that this little "home away from home" provided. We loved the cool breeze, the morning sunrises and the extras provided to make our stay special. Much mahalo for all you've done to make this place great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Watching Whales outside our windows!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Aloha!
Thank you for the opportunity to stay here and truly enjoy the Hawaiian island experience! Our family much appreciates it! We had a blast watching the Whales outside the windows. The island breeze and the snorkel, boogie board and other activity gear! This was a perfect way for us to end the 2011 year and now go into 2012 with total relaxation the island gave us. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had such an amazing time.

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Thank you so much for helping my wonderful husband with this lovely condo. We had such an amazing time. It is right in the middle of everything. We spent a lot of time at Beach Bums. The food was really good, reasonable and plentiful. Knowing it is snowing in Albuquerque right now made it even more special. God Bless

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui condo

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

The condo was everything is was supposed to be. Buzz's wharf was excellent. The beach was great and we had a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Anniversary Vacation August 2011

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

We rented this condo and shared it with another couple! What a fabulous week! The condo had plenty of space for all of us. The breeze flowing through the condo all day long was fantastic. We never had to put the A/C on all week! Going to bed and waking up to the sound of crashing waves was wonderful! It was centrally located for all of our day trips which made it nice. A pool to relax in at the end of the day! I will definitely recommend this to any of my friends or family traveling to Maui. The view is fantastic! Thanks again for sharing your little bit of paradise with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best of both worlds

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

We've spent our summer traveling the Islands, as we did last year, and I find this place to be the best of both worlds - quiet and private feeling with the soothing, tranquil ocean to lull you, yet close enough to all conveniences ( like movie theaters, restaurants, malls, grocery stores, etc.) It is very well-appointed and comfy, as well. We're having a wonderful time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The whales made our vacation

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We have used VRBO concept for 3 vacations now.... we have never been disappointed. We spent 15 days on 3 islands with the Maalaea condo sandwiched between houses on Oahu and Kauai. At first we were apprehensive about a 5th story condo. That quickly changed when we arrived to a beautifully appointed condo with a STUNNING view. The height above the bay allowed for great whale watching. Maalaea site allowed quick access to all points on the island. A five minute walk to an unending beach or the harbor for snorkeling trips made it perfect. Thanks to the thoughtful owners of this property, we had all the accessories needed....beach mats, umbrellas, coolers, laundry supplies.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review