reviews for: listing #78383 - Sayulita, Pacific Coast Villa rental

Villa Karuna Ocean View 2 Bedroom Custom House + Bungalow
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $520 /nt
    $1,300 - $3,650 /wk

sort by:

Like a dream!

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 26, 2014

Our stay at villa Karuna will forever be etched in my mind as one of our family's best vacations ever. I am not even sure where to begin. Turning off the main road onto the little dirt road, calle palapa, we already knew this was a special location set just outside Sayulita. Pulling up to the house and stepping out of our ride we were all just about speechless. The house, the view, the gardens and singing birds was incredible and peaceful. We arrived mid afternoon and got the full and expansive views right away. The house itself is nothing short of pure splendor. It is clear to see that so much thought and architecture was put into designing this house to please every sense possible. We kept calling the view a billion dollar view! We stayed for 10 days and not one day passed where we were not in absolute awe. Nothing can really compare to living atop the jungle canopy and expansive ocean views! My wife and I came here with our 21 month old son, her folks and another couple who stayed in the casita. We did rent a car (from the property manager) which proved to be really useful for quick town runs for supplies or adventurous day trips to beaches. We cooked plenty as the kitchen was incredibly stocked with top notch cooking equipment. Although we love strolling through town, immersing in local culture and cuisine, we spent a large amount of our time at villa Karuna just chillin' and taking it all in. It was truly that spectacular there. We loved watching whales from the balcony with binoculars and even got out on a boat one day and up close too. There is a nice jungle trail to a secluded beach just 15 minutes from the steps of the villa's pool. (bring comfy walking shoes or hiking shoes for the trail) Our son learned so much about the different animals around, their sounds and names both in English and Spanish. The pool is also a great touch with a ledge to sit on all the way around and with an infinity edge and waterfall. We spent lots of time playing there. In the morning when we awoke, we sat up and from our bed and gazed out at the sea over the jungle and life was super fine! We could not be more thankful to have the opportunity and memories of this truly awesome castle in the jungle. We are grateful to the owners for sharing their dream home with our family. One day when I build my dream home, I will remember villa Karuna as a major inspiration. FIVE STAR all the way! I hope to return again someday. Muchos Gracias!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments and thank you for appreciating our artistic creation Villa Karuna. It really is a dream come true (our vision of Paradise) and we are overjoyed that you were able to experience the same great beauty and peacefulness that we experience.
Quinn and Leslie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Birthday Ever!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

Thanks so much for such an amazing house. Everything about the property is beautiful! I just got engaged on the balcony. I couldn't be happier. Our group will definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your House is Amazing!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2010

We've rented houses throughout California, different islands in the Eastern Carribbean and here in Sayulita 3 times. Our favorite is Villa Karuna. It was so nice we rarely left the property, just relaxed and enjoyed. We loved your trail to beach. What beautiful sunsets you have and wonderful jungle sounds to wake up to...
Thany you for sharing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sacred Healing Retreat

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

I came to Villa Karuna in late summer when the town is quiet. I came in search of solitude and serenity. I wanted to be surrounded by jungle and the sea. I sought fresh fruit and fresh seafood. I found all of this and more at Villa Karuna. It is obvious from the first moment you enter the main house that this is a home where every detail has been attended too. It is not "just a rental". Views of the surrounding jungle and ocean beyond are spectacular, sunsets over the jungle floor and ocean beyond just kept getting better and better. No two were ever the same. Whether it was watching butterflies and hummingbirds from the intimate infinity pool or picking up an avocado walking through the jungle to the beach---each day brought me deeper and deeper into relaxation and peace. If I'd wanted to go in town more or was looking for nightlife it would be good to have a car. But for me, on this trip, "perfection" and "Villa Karuna" were one and the same.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We initially stayed in a different house at the edge of town. As we were in Sayulita during Sayulita days (every year around February 24), we were blasted with live music until 1 AM only to be woken up by roosters at 4 or 5 AM and then get up to the smell of the neighbors burning their garbage. We seriously considered cutting our vacation short and going back home.

Then we moved and found paradise - Villa Karuna. Only a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from town you find a serene, secluded place. Wake up to the jungle birds singing, see the most beautiful plants and the ocean. You could hang out at this large and beautiful house all day or walk to the secluded beach. If you want to go surfing, walk to the main beach which takes about 15 minutes. You can always take a taxi back if you don't want to walk or if you carry lots of groceries. Enjoy the sunset from the deck while the kids play in the gorgeous pool. This property is truly special and, unlike many places we saw, reality is even more special than the pictures.

Leslie, the owner, is super helpful and so is the property manager Eric and the gardener Ernesto. Ernesto even brought us freshly cut coconut for breakfast.

A very special place - highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad Villa Karuna was available. Like you said, it really is a very special place. Neither words or photos actually do it justice. Hopefully you will stay with us again next year.
Leslie and Sunny

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Thanky you for the wonderful stay in your beautiful Villa Karuna. The Villa and the art works are magnificent, we enjoyed the whale watching. Thank you for all the information you left us it was very useful. You have good people working with you, they are keepers. We enjoyed every moment of our vacation in Paradise and hopefully have a chance to come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

What an amazing house! We loved it here, it was so conforting and peacefull.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review