reviews for: listing #78406 - Minneapolis, Minnesota House rental

Minnetonka Cape Cod Charmer,Garden Acre Near Lake Minnetonka
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Minnetonka Mills
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $500 /nt
    $1,200 - $3,000 /wk
    $3,000 - $9,000 /mth

sort by:

Great house and quiet location.

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

This property was perfect for our family. We enjoyed both time together and space where we needed it. The house had all the stuff you needed in kitchen and being able to do laundry was a plus. Snow service was good and on time. On the outskirts of the Twin Cities, we were close enough to family, but in a very quiet area. There is a mall and grocery store near by. We had six and everyone had enough room. Beds were great, heating was good. I bet the summer is better with a big backyard, covered in snow for us. It had a nice patio and gas BBQ. Fireplace was great and even had wood for the first night. There is a fireplace store near by which sold good wood for $5. Don't use gas station wood. The house was clean and had plenty of towels, with girls that is a big plus. Overall I give this place and owner high praise.

Dan

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect family house

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

The house was perfect - charming, quiet yet conveniently located, and roomy. It was even better than I had hoped for.

My sister was getting married in the Twin Cities, and my husband and I were able to stay here with my brother and sister and their families, and my parents. The house is on a large yard on a cul-de sac off a quiet, wooded road that lulls you into feeling that you are in the country. There were two convenient playgrounds nearby, a historic house and mill site with a park a few blocks away, and a convenience store and two places to get ice cream within walking distance!

The house itself is lovely, with thoughtful 1930s and 40s elements, and the hammock and ponds in the yard were a treat. It was also conveniently near a Super-Target and a full-service grocery store. I would absolutely rent this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great House!!!

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

This very nice home was as described! Exeptionally clean and well maintained! Excellent neighborhood and plenty of restauants and shopping nearby! Located on a culdasac so no traffic or street noise. There was a really nice park up the street for the kids to play in. Kitchen was well stocked with all you need but the food! Plenty of room! We slept 6 adults and 3 children easily! Never felt like we were tripping over ourselves. Very relaxing!!! Owner and caretaker were easily contacted! Would rent again in a minute!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Property

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

The property was everything that was mentioned. Great location,quiet neighborhood,close to restaurants and shopping. The house layout and description was accurate. The upkeep of the property could of been better as we felt like we had to clean some when we arrived. The items on the shelves and inside drawers were thrown around messy. The first impression was spiderwebs across the garage doors pulling up to the house. Other then the upkeep the house was enjoyable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great place for a fun weekend!!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

We rented Jim's place for a girls weekend, and had a blast!! The house is so cute and comfortable, and the backyard and patio is amazing! We'll definitely be back again!!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Garden Club Visit

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

Our group consisted of 8 gals. We found the place be all that it advertised as and more. We had the most relaxing time. The home is spacious and clean. Dinner was out on the patio and breakfast in the large dining room. I plan approximately 5-7 events each year and this unit was one of the best. I speak for all that attended this weekend.

Kevin caretaker and Jim owner were so very helpful.

We visited the Arboretum at the University in Chasta. Which should be a must see for any gardener.

Thank you Jim and Kevin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Darling Property

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

If you are looking for a home away from home near the lake or downtown Minneapolis this is the place for you. The grocery store is right up the road, Dairy Queen around the corner if your needing a treat. The first evening I put a steak on the grill, enjoyed the peacefulness of the lovely patio and beautiful grounds. Starting the day was a pleasure with fresh brewed coffee and a bagel. The kitchen is well equiped with everything you will need to make lavish meals or bake cookies. Having the washer and dryer is such a great benefit and plenty of laundry soap to use. The caretaker Kevin is fantastic always available for questions and quick to resolve any issues. The house was clean, with plenty of fresh towels and brand new bars of soap. I would highly recommend this property for business or pleasure trips. Thank you Jim!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

This house has super personality, very cool style.

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 7, 2011

Hi Jim,
Your house is great. It was very comfortable being there and I love the sense of style in the house. The property is very cool. I watched the tulips grow inches in just two days, every time I would walk out the back door they were a little taller. The first day the tulips were just barely out of the ground and 4 days days later they are 3 or 4 inches tall. We used the two upstairs bedrooms, the beds and linens rock. What a terrific surprise. I will definitely seek out your vacation rentals. Will you please send a link to your other homes? Thank you again for sharing your home

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

American mystery vacation

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

I spent with my family (2 adults and 3 kids) more than 3 weeks in this beautiful house in a kind of business & pleasure vacation. From the moment we arrived here we were astonished from the great looking house and the facilities its providing. For non-American like us, this was kind of fulfilling the American way of living. The house is decorated in an old style but has all the unique features that made it perfect place for the kids and doing my business. While living in this relax and pretty neighborhood of Minnetonka, the access to the twin cities and the suburbs was very fast and convenient. The kids felt like living in a mystery dream place and enjoyed the inside and outside of it although it was Minnesota typical winter. It will be interesting to return here in the summer - I hope we will have the chance.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Big house for a great price

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

We have five kids had had plenty of room to spread out. It had a lot of charm with the antique furniture yet had modern ammenities. Our kids enjoyed the large front yard and two feet of snow to play in. (we are Navy so we don't get snow where we live) The house stayed toasty and we made use of the fireplace several times, including some smore making. Location is prime. Minutes to downtown and Mall of America. GREAT HOUSE!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely holiday gathering place

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Our family and friends all fell in love with the house. We cherished having our Thanksgiving dinner in such a warm and cozy setting - and enjoyed working together in the kitchen, and gathering around the dining room table to eat, visit, and play games. We also appreciated the large living room - to read, watch movies, and have a separate "conversation" area.

The property was well-maintained, and the description regarding location and layout was accurate. The two main bedrooms and full bath are on the second floor, a den with pull-out couch on the main level (with a half-bath nearby), and a bedroom with single/trundle bed (and nearby bathroom with shower) on the lower level.

There were many "extras" that we haven't always had with other rental properties - plenty of kitchen and bath towels, soap, shampoo, coffee, tea, spices, dishes, cooking utensils, etc. There was even aluminum foil, plastic wrap, and storage containers for leftovers! The bedrooms had wonderful quilts and comforters, and lightweight blankets (including a down blanket) in the living room and den.

The owner provided great customer service - responding to my questions before our visit, making sure the property was ready for our arrival, and having someone nearby available in case we needed anything on site.

I would definitely recommend this property to a variety of groups. It really was a delightful experience - and I hope we can return for another family gathering. I know everyone who joined us during this visit would love to come back again ...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Country Living in the Mini-Apple

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

What a fantastic location, right near major highways but tucked away. I needed a place for my extended family to stay the weekend, Christmas shop, and have some good family down time. Cooking a few meals in the well gas range equipped kitchen was great...I think I need one of these for my home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review