reviews for: listing #78415 - Lake Arrowhead, California House rental

North Bay Retreat: Cozy&Inviting, Lake Views/Balcony/Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Arrowhead Woods
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $700 /nt
    $1,895 - $2,895 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Fun/Relaxing Weekend

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

I rented the North Bay Retreat for my husband's 30th birthday and we really enjoyed ourselves. The place is very spacious; there was 14 of us and there was plenty of room for all of us. The lake is just a 10 minute walk away. There are plenty of shops and places to dine just a two minute drive away. I would definitely recommend North Bay Retreat!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway home!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

My large family spent time at the home following Christmas. The home was just as nice as the pictures, very spacious and well laid out. We will definitely try to rent it again. The owner was most helpful in answering all of my questions. The only thing that would have helped would have been some snow. In spite of the lack of snow we had a great time.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful Retreat in the Mountains!

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

This was my third stay in this beautiful cabin and each time I am reminded of how perfect this place is for enjoying the beauty of the mountains and relaxing! It is just minutes from one of my favorite markets in Bluejay, as well as a few restaurants I always look forward to dining in.

The cabin is beautiful and can be cozy enough for just a romantic couple or spacious enough to accommodate a larger group. The owners are a delight to work with and everything from beginning to end is easy when booking the cabin. The owners take a personal interest in groups experience and have pride in the home that can be felt when staying there.

I certainly recommend this property for anyone looking to stay in the Arrowhead area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT!!!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

This is our third time in this cabin and it is great! It fits our large group well and has everything we need in it. It is located in a great spot and we could not ask for anything better! The pictures are exactly what it looks like!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay - Perfect for large group

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the North Bay Retreat. The property was clean, well located and perfect for a large group. We had 3 families staying and it worked out great. The downstairs room for kids was absolutely perfect. Easy drive to the beach club. Home has great touches and amenities. Kitchen is stocked with everything you need. Very relaxing weekend and very private feeling. Owner was professional and very organized. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Cabin, Great Time!

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

I rented this cabin for my sister's bachelorette party, and it was absolutely perfect! There were 14 of us in the cabin, and everyone had a bed to sleep in, and it did not feel crowded at all. We were able to walk to the beach club which was extremely nice and there was even a live band playing.

The cabin is large yet cozy and has all the amenities to make you feel comfortable. The large deck is AMAZING...we were able to relax and eat out there and enjoy the beautiful evening temperatures.

Overall, I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious, fun, and well-kept

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

The floorplan of this house was perfect for two families to share. A member of our party has severe food allergies so we especially appreciated having plenty of space in the kitchen and dining areas to avoid mixing foods but still be together. The kids loved having their bunk bed hangout on the bottom floor. The adults were able to watch movies at night without disturbing the kids, and the kids were able to play early in the mornings without disturbing the adults. All of our interactions with the owners were professional and courteous. We reported a few minor issues (both ours and theirs) and they were responsive and understanding.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Renters BEWARE!!!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 21, 2013

My rental experience recieves low marks not entirely because of the property itself but rather on charges incurred at the end. I will get to that, but to be fair I should list both the natural pros and cons of the home. The Pros: Good size cabin, plenty of beds, tons of games for the family, spa outside, spacious, close to the lake, and lake keys to access the lake. The Cons: On a major street (lots of traffic with sound at night and really unable to take walks on the road), The patio deck needs work. There are a lot of loose boards popping up and the railing is a bit of a concern. We had little children (1 1/2 years old) who could reasonably fit through the bottom railing and deck so we were never comfortable with the kids outside. The deck has a small grade to allow for snow run-off which is good, however, the builder didn't adjust the railing for that decrease in grade causing a larger gap on the deck on one end. The 2 queen rooms (they are a little tight but not the main issue, the windows that are high in the vaulted part of the ceiling are not covered creating excessive daylight at 5:45 am when the sun comes up). So no sleeping in on those 2 rooms. The other bedrooms were not as bad. Also, lots of stairs so if you have little ones there is constant concern for them ascending or decending stairs. Overall, the cabin was not a bad place to stay. The problem came at the end. I have rented cabins before so I know to clean well and to take before and after photos (which i did). However, upon leaving we were told we left 3 stains on the carpet. Apparently, 8 adults overlooked these "stains" and caused them to have to get a carpet cleaner that cost as much as the cleaning deposit itself. I'm not saying we didn't create the stains, all I'm saying is that if we were able to overlook them upon our final departure they couldn't have been that large. Common sense says that an all stain spot remover or an affordable steamvac rental would do the trick. Especially since we paid a ton for cleaners that only had to wash bed sheets since we scrubbed everything else. I took great pride in cleaning their home and treated it as if it was my own. There is always going to be wear and tear on a home, especially with 12 people staying there. I don't mind paying if we truly did damage but the amount charged for 3 stains on the same floor was excessive. Someone is making a lot of extra cash on the side. Beware if you stay here because you have to be perfect or pay the price!!!

Owners response: This renter did not take responsibility for his groups actions and was not willing to work toward a mutually acceptable resolution. Please contact me for any questions regarding his comments and their accuracy.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great weekend in a great home

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

When deciding where to have our next youth retreat, we took into consideration all of the cabins that we found. However, this cabin was the greatest of those! We had such a wonderful time up there! The owners accepted our group immediately, even knowing there were several young children involved. The accommodations were very up-to-date! The jacuzzi, kitchen, and spacious bedrooms made it a very fun and relaxing weekend! The view was also better than what we thought it would be! It is very close to lake arrowhead and made it easy to get in and out of town. Overall, our experience was better than we could have hoped for!! We highly recommend this cabin, especially for large/family groups!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

What a great weekend retreat! The 8 of us were very comfortable and cozy in this large, well appointed home. It's uniquely designed and features a nice deck with ample tables, chairs, and umbrellas. Although we were all adults, I can see that it would also be a wonderful location for families with kids. Level entry with lots of parking was also a huge plus! Can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Getaway House

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

As reflected in other reviews, your home is just beautiful. Eight of us and our 7 kids enjoyed our weekend very much. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, and the different areas of the home in which to gather were perfect. We loved the deck and hot tub and the amazing views of the lake!

I recommend this clean and well-maintained home to anyone wishing to relax and enjoy all that Lake Arrowhead has to offer, especially if you're looking for a home with space enough for a larger group.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

Our family has rented several homes in the past in both the Lake Arrowhead and Big Bear areas, and without a doubt this is our favorite! The house is spacious and beautiful, with a lovely view of the lake and conveniently close to town. It is well-maintained, very clean, and filled with thoughtful amenities. I was particularly impressed with the wide selection of DVDs and games, and quality of the bedroom linens. The kitchen is amazing - stocked full of all the basics but also boasting an impressive variety of cooking items and serving dishes. The house also has several "small touches" that make staying there so enjoyable - boxes of tissues, shampoo/conditioner/bath gel in the bathrooms, lots of candles (and matches!), magazines - it really feels like being at home!
The owners have compiled a very thorough binder with all of the information about pertaining to the property (hot tub directions, etc), as well as lists of activities (for both kids and adults), locations of grocery stores, gas stations, restaurants, and entertainment venues. We found it to be really helpful.
We rented the house along with three other families, with a grand total of 7 adults and 9 children. There was plenty of room for all of us, we never felt cramped, and we had the brilliant idea to sleep all of the children in the downstairs bunk bed room (we brought one air mattress). The kids had a blast and the adults were able to stay up late not worrying about waking the kids with our conversations.
I am already trying to schedule our next trip to Lake Arrowhead and this fabulous house!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SPECTACULAR!!!

Review submitted: January 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Wanted to move into this amazing cabin the minute we walked in. The amazing view will instantly make you happy and the coziness and comfort of the cabin will make you want to stay forever. We had a blast hanging in the jacuzzi and Cooking on the bbq with friends. Couldn't have asked for anything better! Would and will recommend it to all my friends and family. Thank you again for a wonderful time!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fun and fantistic

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

I went with my family for a reunion. We had a wonderful time. The cabin was very large so we did not feel cramped. One group was playing cards, while others were playing pool, and others were in the spa. The lake close by, it was a bit chilly, but refreshing. We BBQ and all ate on the deck. The refrigerator was large to accommodate our group. We made sure we tidied up, and the owner was fast at returning our deposit. We would all love to go again and can recommend this cabin. 13 thumbs up.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Wonderfully appointed, well equipped house in the perfect location for us. Can't say enough great things about this house. The owners were very responsive and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place for our group

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

I always take my high school seniors on a senior retreat right before they graduate. It is a way to help them transition to college. We always make our students plan,cook and clean the entire weekend. There is a full-size supermarket as well as many other neat shops at the village just a few miles away. When we arrived at the house, we were so surprised at the comfort level we had from just walking into the living room. The main floor is spacious and accommodated 14 students plus two staff. Having two eating areas was great. The kitchen was well-stocked with all that we needed and had enough room to have several students cooking and cleaning at one time. The downstairs bunk room was perfect for the girls and the guys took the three upper bedrooms. Of course they loved the pool table and air hockey. We had a great hike around the lake and I really enjoyed the peacefulness of the outdoor balcony. We stayed at another home for two years, but this home outdid everything. This was a perfect weekend and the relaxed feeling of the home allowed the students to really delve into their concerns and fears about college. Thank you for the use of your home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Little Slice of Heaven - 2 Hours From L.A.

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Came up from the South Bay to celebrate my daughter;s 10th birthday with 4 of her friends and their moms. We had a blast. the house was perfect. Wonderfully appointed and stocked and CLEAN (not like so many other rentals)
The rooms were plentiful, location ideal and all in all we had a wonderful time!

The description Ken gives here is accurate but the photos don't do the house justice - especially not the downstairs bunkbed room suite - that bathroom is INSANE - I want it at home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home--we loved it!!!

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

My group and I had a wonderful weekend in your home. I wouldn't think twice if you are debating on renting this place or not--because it was "the best". The home was very clean, spacious, fully equipped, cozy and had a cabin feel to it which made it even more wonderful. There was plenty of space to sleep (great place for big groups) and the bunk bed room downstairs was a hit amongst our group. The pool table, air hockey and wrap around patio was great because there was plenty to do, while relaxing and enjoying our time there. The kitchen had everything that we needed, was clean and spacious. The owner, Ken was very informative, helpful and easy to contact. Thanks for making the renting process so pleasant.

There was also plenty of space for parking which was a plus!

Thank you for sharing your place with us! We hope to be back one day!

Natalie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Palace for Princesses

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

Our women's Bible study group held our annual winter retreat here and it couldn't have been more perfect. The home is large and beautifully decorated and had all the comforts of home. We lacked for nothing. There are lots of rooms so the gals had their privacy and quiet time with the Lord when they wanted, and the living room was large enough to accommodate us all and very cozy with the lovely rock fireplace and A-frame ceiling. There were plenty of places to dine for our large group, with a huge dining table in the formal living room, a breakfast nook that expanded with a leaf, and counter space with bar stools. The kitchen was well stocked with every item necessary to cook our meals and everything operated perfectly. The sleeping accommodations were fabulous too. The downstairs bunk room was perfect for a group of giggling women, and those who wanted more quiet space were treated to 3 lovely bedrooms upstairs when plenty of room to sprawl out and be comfortable. The big screen TV, pool table and air hockey didn't get as much use as if there would have been a group of
guys there, but we did use them and they were fun. Parking was exceptional, we creatively fit 7 cars
in front of the property. The owner was awesome to communicate with, returned emails promptly, gave explicit instructions for everything, and gave us a great recommendation for a place to have a nice dinner one evening. All in all we had a wonderful time and our group will be looking to rent this home again for our retreat next year. Thank you so much

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excelente cabaña, espaciosa, cómoda y muy bonita

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

Pasamos una vacación increible en Lake Arrowhead. La cabaña es aún más bonita que en las fotos y su mantenimiento excelente. Además de ser espaciosa y cómoda tiene todo lo que uno pueda necesitar para sentirse a gusto. Realmente disfrutamos mucho nuestra estancia en ella. Los señores Steele mantuvieron en todo momento una comunicación fluida con nosotros y resolvieron todas nuestras dudas rápidamente. Se nota que para ellos es importante que los huéspedes pasen la mejor vacación posible.
Recomendamos ampliamente esta cabaña y esperamos regresar algún día.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

150354

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

My friends and I had a wonderful time in your gorgeous cozy home. The real treat was the jacuzzi on the deck. It was great to be able to see the stars while relaxing in it. We had a marvelous time. Thanks for sharing your home with us! Marie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great retreat, great getaway

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

We loved this place, better than advertised. On deck jacuzzi awesome, pool table, open kitchen and living room. Steele's were very professional, made sure the place was in tip top shape... extra amenities like a back up propane for the grill and dishes and spices, sugar, etc. made the trip that much more special. The home is on a main street but the deck overlooks the hilly region and gives you a view of the deck. Thank you, for sharing your place with us Ken!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven in the mountains

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

What a great home! Beautiful and comfortable rustic furnishings in a gorgeous setting. Open A Frame design with deck for dining and a jacuzzi under the oaks. Plenty of room for the whole gang. The kids especially loved having their own space downstairs, and the adults appreciated that too! This was our second stay, and we'll keep on coming back. Close to shopping and you can walk to the lake trail.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place - We'll be back!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

This place has it all. It’s large enough for multiple families, it’s close to skiing and sledding, it’s has a great kitchen with everything needed for cooking, and it has lots of games including a pool table. The kid’s room has 4 bunk beds and plenty of space for them to play around. We were able to sled down the hill in back of the house without getting in the car. The Jacuzzi was a great place to relax after skiing all day. We had a perfect time and can’t wait for next time. Thanks Steele family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING BIRTHDAY VACATION

Review submitted: April 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

Well, well, well, where do I start? From the first email that I sent to Ken, to the last one... This place was truly amazing. We went up to their property on my bday and had a ton of fun. There is so much to do at the house, it has a pool table, air hockey table, jacuzzi... the balcony is amazing, curves around the whole building with a breathtaking lakeview... the house is really big, so many bedrooms and so many beds, we actually had more beds than people to sleep on hehe.. the bottom floor, includes 4 bunk beds, great for family vactaions, kids will love the bunkbeds, and by the air hockey table, there is a little hang out area for kids.. the last floor also contains a nice Jacuzzi size tub to soak your troubles away at night before bed.. the upstairs bedroom includes a private bathroom and a balcony above the jacuzzi. Full on washing and drying machin, big dinner table, nice kitchen, full of everything that you need for cooking including spices... it has an outdoor BBQ so that you can grill, sip a beer and look at the lake... the house is located right above the lake which is litteraly a short walk down to the docks.. very amazing place, we went there with couples but still ended up having a blast... we had such a great time that my uncles family wants to book the property real soon... The Steel family are very nice people to deal with, everything is done promptly, no hassle involved, very fast and accurate. I truly suggest booking this property for your next vacation. Great for family but if you guys are going with couples, you will still have a good time. Weather you want to play pool or relax in the balcony while reading your favorite book, the choices are endless, you can do it all at the Steel residence, thank you guys for showing us a really good time at your property. Definatly will be back for more... Thank you again guys...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect winter getway..

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

This is our second annual trip to the North Bay Retreat! The house is so cozy and inviting and perfect for families with small children! Games, sledding nearby, the village and the bedroom downtairs with bunk beds is a kids dream! I would highly recommend this cozy retreat to all....Thanks Ken & Marilyn for another awesome family vacation!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Pictures dont do this place justice. House is very big, beautiful and cozy. Seller was very helpful throughout the whole process. Emails were replied within an hour. Will come back again for sure, possibly during winter time. My family already planning the next trip as we were finishing this one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We had the best time in your lovely home! It was so warm and inviting that we felt as if we were invited to stay with close friends! Our grandsons (ages 6, 4, and 2) keep talking about how much fun they had! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 24, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2009

Fantastic house! Bigger than you think, warm and inviting, clean, full of natural light, with a special character all its own. Downstairs is a HUGE room with 4 bunks(8 beds) and a mondo bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower. Incredible.
Upstairs is another montsruous master plus two nice bedrooms with queens, all joined at a loft game room. The middle floor is great room in the heart of the A-frame and everyone feels relaxed and connected, with the kitchen, breakfast nook, dining area and patio all adjoined. We had a very special stay and everyone said, "We HAVE to come back!" And we will.....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 25, 2008

3 good sized families were able to stay at this property with ample room for everyone. The pictures do not do it justice. The owners were very nice to deal with and the home was in great condition. All of our kids really enjoyed the HUGE "bunkbed" room, pool table, air hockey, and jacuzzi! We will definitely stay there again. The only thing that waas missing was SNOW (maybe Christmas next year)! Thank you Steele family....we will do it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review