reviews for: listing #78430 - Kihei, Hawaii Studio rental

Oceanview!$89/nt,Pool,HTub,Kitchn,WiF/Calling Plan/Remodel!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kihei Bay Surf
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $89 - $119 /nt
    $623 - $833 /wk
    $2,670 - $3,370 /mth

sort by:

Great place to sleep

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

I enjoyed our stay, couple of things though the view posted online is really only visible from one corner of the lani, the lani is right above the street so traffic noise is loud in the day time and calms down at night. condo was about a 10 min. drive to restaurants and shops. Place was very clean but no tissues and only one roll of toilet paper was available and we stayed 3 nights. Place was nice for a place to sleep or cook meals but you want to spend most of your time out.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Christopher,

Thanks for your review. Glad you had a nice stay. We have the furniture set up at the best end of the lanai to capture the nice ocean view. The maid is supposed to leave 2 toilet rolls, 1 roll of paper towel, some dish soap, 2 small wrapped hand soaps, a pot scrubber, and liners for all of the garbage cans, regardless of whether guests are coming for 1 night or one month. The idea is that you arrive and have what you need to get started until you can get to the store the next day.I am glad that you noticed how clean the condo was! Please stay with us again. Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Central Place in Kihei

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

A nice place to stay, close to the bus line, making it easy to get around. Right across the street was a nice beach, plenty of parking if you rent a car. Had a nice pool, hot tub, and laundry facility. I was there with my 3 kids, and we had plenty of room, as big as a hotel room, with a nice kitchen to help on the food costs. Meet several other travelers and locals alike all nice folks. It was a couple mile walk to the nearest store, restaurants along a pretty busy road, but plenty of room to walk along the road. You can't take beach stuff on the bus, so unless you have a car, you are kind of stuck to the beach across the street. The owner was easy to work with and condo was exactly as advertised. If you are looking for night life, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a nice peacefully place to stay and relax this is your place. View of the beach from the balcony which gave you a great view of the sunsets. We stayed for 9 days, and would book again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Christina. You really hit the nail on the head when you said that it is a nice quiet place to stay. If you want action it is only a short drive up the road, but when you want quiet, you have it! Your comments about the bus line will be helpful for those travelling without a car. The stop is literally steps from the condo, and runs very regularly too! I am glad that the 5 of you had enough room and were able to save some money by taking advantage of the kitchen. I look forward to hosting you again in the future. With much aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maui Vacation

Review submitted: December 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

This was our second holiday to Maui and stayed in Kihei both times. We love this area of the island. We found Kihei Bay Surf a great place to stay, making lots of new friends. The property was as described and we found Lisa great to deal with. The only negative part was the traffic noises. We come from a farm in rural Saskatchewan and are used to quiet. We loved sitting on our lanai and watching the sunset every evening! We did a bit of sightseeing but most of our time was spend at the beach! We made good use of the BBQ's at our resort and also the hot tub. We found the property manager to be a very likable and friendly person. If you are looking for a get-away for 2, this is a great place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Sherry,

Thanks so much for the great review. I have spent some time in rural Saskatchewan too, and, yes, it would seem noisy here LOL! So glad you had a wonderful stay and I look forward to hosting you again in the future. Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great!

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

Everything was as we expected it to be from the photos. It's not large, but it's perfect for two active people who want a kitchen, comfortable bed and a nice porch to sit on for breakfast. We loved having a 'home' to come back to after our day's activities.

Central location, parking, laundry room, pool and hot tub. We saved a lot of money by cooking our own meals, and used the coolers to take drinks and lunch with us most days. There's a nice selection of guide books, too -- and we left one more that we'd brought along.

Highly recommended. Lisa was great to work with and we had no problems whatsoever.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

I had an amazing time here. The condo is very nice and affordable, and right across the street from a non-crowded beach which is amazing to watch the sunset. It is a short drive to anything you'll need in Kihei or Wailea, and about 15 minutes south of places like the aquarium (which has an awesome shark tunnel).

The only grievances I have with the actual property are that the A/C unit leaks; I came back after a trip to Hana to find a large portion of the floor in the back covered in congealed water which also soaked into the carpet. It seems the A/C is pretty old given the rust on the intake but thankfully that would be pretty cheap to replace for under $200. Aside from that the only other thing I noticed was one morning I found a line of small ants marching a line along the grout of the floor tiles going north to south from the table by the coffee machine to the wall next to the bed. Having the cleaning lady hit it with some bug spray would probably be satisfactory since the ants were gone after a day.

That being said, both of those issues are relatively minor and didn't have any adverse impact on my stay at all which is why I'm giving it 5/5. The neighbors were all pretty laid back and friendly aside from a couple of frat-guy dudes in their 30s who seemed pretty hostile to out-of-towners and older lady a few doors down whom I saw yelling at just about anybody who passed her unit for various petty reasons...but I suppose you're gonna get crazies anywhere you go and thankfully she didn't bother us.

The pool and hot tub are really great after a long day when the sun goes down. Having TV was also nice for the only time I watched it for football on Sundays as well. The internet is fast which allowed me to catch up on school.

Overall I would absolutely recommend this place and would visit here again.

Make sure to visit the Hana Hwy. And keep in mind if you don't have the stomach to wake up at 3:45AM to drive there and watch the sunrise you can take the 340 north and find a nice place along cliffs to watch it, but drive carefully so you don't run over any chickens. And honestly, out of all the restaurants I went to, Fred's Mexican Cafe probably has the tastiest mid-cost food. Kihei Cafe is hands-down the best place for breakfast but remember it's cash-only.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. The A/C drain was plugged and now it has been unplugged by the maintenace man, and the cleaning lady hit the ants with a bit of spray. All is well again! The best is when guests email or call when they discover an issue so that I can get it fixed right away, there is no need to be inconvenienced during your stay! Just put new curtains in yesterday too! I am going to call the manager to find out about the folks a few doors down, as one has been mentioned twice now? I was there for a month in August and did not encounter that, but, perhaps it is someone new. At any rate, thanks again for the great review, and I look forward to you staying with us again. Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very Nice but very rude neighbors!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

Very nice condo, very nice view of the beach. But we found that their are some units their that have full time residents that live there. Saying that, there was a couple a few doors down who were very mean and I hate to say very prejudice. They were obviously very full of anger towards "Hawaiian's" and did not like the fact that I and my wife were Hawaiian. But aside from the hater's a couple of doors down we had a great time. Management is very approachable and nice, so just be aware if you do go there to put your "thick skin jacket's" on lol. Also the Maui bus has a stop right in front of the property, so if your on a budget stay here and forget the rental car. The pix of the condo are up to date so what you see is what you actually get which really impressed me. And as activities go it's Maui, Beach, Sun, and good food all around. Hope this will help you Aloha.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kekoa, Thanks for your Review. I feel very upset that people a few doors down were rude to you. That is awful. I can't help but wonder if that is why I got a 4/5 too, as you seemed to really love the condo and the building. At any rate, I have never had complaints like this before, so future guests should take this as a one-off. In the meantime, I will find out who was rude and will call them to discuss. Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Vacation Of My Life!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Had a very nice time! The studio felt like home! Had a picnic hamper, boogie boards, beach chairs, all the literature you need to set up your adventures! So many beautiful memories!! Got extra good use of the hot tub n pool! Good for after a long day of hiking!!
Of course, Hale Akula is a must see for sun rise! DRESS WARM, BRING GLOVES!!!! Hana is the most beautiful place I have ever been!!!!! Be sure to swim in the seven sacred pools!
The coastline heading toward the Lava field was the second!
The local folk are so very nice n interesting! I love the Island speak! Its melodic, like poetry!
Be sure to shop in Paia! Mana Foods, Health Food Market kept me fed with delicious vegan foods high in energy, needed for the hiking!
Twin Falls was beautiful as well!
Absolutely, attending a Luau is a must!!! Do that as one of your first things, you learn a great deal of history from the shows and feel the life of the culture before you continue your Maui experience!
Think I know where IM moving to!!!!
M A U I !!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay in Kihei

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Hawaii. The location of the apartment was great - we were able to explore the whole island from where we were. Having a pool and a tennis court on the property was a bonus. The apartment is perhaps a little bit small for 4 people, but it was clean and had everything we needed. What made the stay so great was that we had the opportunity to use extra's like the cooler and boogie boards.

The best part of our stay was all the tips we received in our welcome letter. We were able to make good use of the guidebooks available in the apartment and it made for a better holiday.

We will definitely be back. Mauii has become one of our favourite destinations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review Werner. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and that you found our welcome letter helpful. We try to put as much useful information as we can in our condo details PDF in hopes that our guests can discover and enjoy some of the things that took us literally years to discover! I hope you liked the BRAND NEW BED too! Please come and stay with us again. Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place, terrible bed!!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this unit. The place was quite clean and had all the goodies we would need for a fun trip. We appreciated the beach towels, coolers, boogie boards, beach chairs etc.

The location was good for us with a little one. It was a bit out of town but that was fine, it kept it pretty quiet. Everything was exactly as we saw it on the video. I don't like surprises so I really appreciated that. We have already recommended this unit to our family and friends.

On the down side, the bed was the worst I have ever slept on. Needs replacing for sure, my husband and I rolled into the big hole in the center of the bed every night.

The property was clean and well maintained. The buildings looked freshly painted and pressure washed. However the pool area could use some love, there were tiles missing on the inside of the pool and cracks in the concrete. The pool furniture was dirty and as old as the hills!

The owner provided good service, no complaints.

All around it met our needs and we left with enjoyable memories of our stay in Kihei!

Owners response: Thanks for your review. The cleaner checked the bed and, although it was only one year old, it has been replaced. Future guests should never have this problem again. thanks for bringing it to our attention.I am glad that you still enjoyed the condo and appreciated all of the special touches. Looking forward to hosting you again, and we hope to hear from your friends and family too. Wtih much mahalo, Lisa and Thomas.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great condo for two people.

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

This condo in Kihei is all you need for a great holiday in Maui. The condo is stocked with all kitchen appliances and dishes necessary including a good blender! There are spices available as well which I am sure change with what is used and what is replaced.The beach chairs,coolers and boogie boards are there waiting to be used. The complex is safe and clean. We enjoyed using the pool and BBQ on several occasions. Having a parking spot included in the cost is also good perk. The laundry facilities are in good working order with modern machines available. We enjoyed the beach right across the street. It was quiet but entertaining with kite surfers and whales often there to watch. Even though it faces South Kihei Road, the noise didn't really bother us.
Any concerns or problems are dealt with immediately by the owners.
As a studio condo, it would be cramped with 4 adults, however, two adults and two children could be comfortable.
I highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thank you Janet for your kind words. Thanks for your reccomendation. We look forward to having you stay with us again! With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

We stayed in Kihei for a short 3 days and 2 nights but it was a wonderful stay. The condo is located in a great area.. There are a ton of wonderful places to eat nearby and it was so convenient to get everywhere. We never had to drive more than 30 minutes to do what we wanted to do and it did not rain at all. The free parking pass and the jacuzzi was AWESOME.. Parking was never a problem and everynight we would just wind down in the jacuzzi before going to bed. The condo is clean and had everything we needed. I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a fabulous stay in Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Sophia!

We are blessed with kind and wonderful guests like you and it is our absolute pleasure to share our home with you. Please come and stay with us again anytime!
I agree-the jacuzzi at this property is the best! Love the smell of Plumeria in the air and the sounds of the nearby Luau at night-magical! Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good value.

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

This place was exactly what we were looking for. Nothing too fancy, but nice and clean. There was a lot of new furniture including a new queen size bed that was quite comfortable. The air conditioning was more than a nice touch, i don't think we could have slept without it. My only knock on the place would be that it is right on s. kihei rd. which is quite busy, other than that our stay was great(having said that, if you are planning on taking the bus, there is a stop right out front). We made good use of the provided boogie boards, cooler and dvd player.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! So glad you had a nice time. The other thing that I would note is that the beach is just steps from the condo, which is especially great on days when you want to relax and hit the beach without all of the packing and parking. It sure is nice to just wander back and freshen up your drinks or grab some lunch or a siesta. Hope to see you again soon! Aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

great unit- great views

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

I was lucky enough to have 3 weeks in this unit. It is newly renovated and very comfortable. Everything you need is in this unit from every utensil down to beach chairs and boogie boards. You will be very pleased with choosing this unit. You are facing the ocean so you have great sunsets. There is internet connection as well a great flat screen tv. The owner did a wonderful job on making this unit one of the best in Kihei Bay Surf.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Andrea! We have not been to our condo since the reno, and we are really excited to see all of the new stuff! Everyone is raving about the artwork. We had it shipped in from the mainland and so it will be a fun surprise for us when we get there. Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great View, 5 Star Tropical Decor, Spotless!

Review submitted: February 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

My wife and daughters and I had a wonderful time. We loved the part of Kihei that the condo was in, and it was close to anywhere we wanted to go. The owner was really kind and helpful and just redecorated. Everything inside was brand new and so it really felt like an upscale tropical hotel inside. The beach across the street is perfect for little ones too! We loved the artwork! The lanai is where we watched the sun set everyday-I wish I was there right now. This condo was so nice and we will be recommending it to friends and family. A great value

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aw thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Kihei Bay Surf

Review submitted: February 17, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

We spent a week here in February 2011 and found the condo lovely and well appointed. Touches like a small cooler and good guide books were really appreciated. It's also been recently redone, everything clean and fresh. The floor tiles are cool on the feet, the colours all work nicely together, the bed is comfortable, the couch is good for lounging.

It is a bachelor suite, but with full kitchen; everthing you need for two people, but I personally would have felt cramped with any more people staying there. One caviat is that air circulation over the bed is a bit weak due to the shape of the ceiling, but with an in-unit airconditioner it works out. An additional fan would also help.

The unit faces S. Kihei Road, looking over it to the ocean. The view comes at the cost of street noise. This wasn't a problem for us when the A/C was on, but might be a consideration for people who are more sensitive to noise. Also, there is a flight of stairs to get to the second storey door, no problem for the fully mobile.

The owner was very helpful, friendly and attentive. For example, before we even checked in, she learnt that an access key was missing, arranged for it to be replaced, and left a voice mail for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kind comments. I will purchase a small fan for the enjoyment of future guests. As you suggested, the space would not be ideal for more than 2 adults due to privacy and space considerations, although families with one or two children should be quite comfortable. Children are accomodated on the queen sized sleeper sofa which is brand new and has a very comfortable mattress! Thanks again, and so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review