reviews for: listing #78505 - Ojochal, Costa Rica House rental

Casa Escapada Close to Beaches and Nature
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $350 /wk
    $350 - $775 /mth

sort by:

Comfortable house in an excellent location

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2012

My wife and I spent two weeks in Lee Ann's house. It had everything we needed for our stay. We enjoyed the sound of the river nearby. The waterfall located about two miles uphill is absolutely gorgeous. What impressed us most about Ojochal is how well the people take care of the natural environment whose beauty appears at every turn.

If you like trees, flowers and water, you'll like this place. We met several people (Costa Ricans, Canadians and Europeans) that were very nice and interesting. We wouldn't hesitate to return during the dry season.


Marcos

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Charming Garden Home

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

Ojochal is a small multinational community right off the Costarena Highway and Lee Ann’s beautiful garden home is just a few kilometers from the stunning Pacific coast. The kitchen is fully functional (no microwave, but I didn’t miss it), the beds are comfortable, the shower is great by Costa Rican standards (plenty of hot water!!), and the hammocks looking out on the garden are equipped with lighting.

There are many rental houses in Costa Rica, and I’m sure most of them are nice and well-priced. I stayed at another rental property that met my expectations, and so did other travelers I met. So let me detail how this property and its owner exceeded my expectations.

Lee Ann answered many questions for me prior to booking, answered follow up questions on a range of topics - running the gamut from transportation to activities both local and in other regions. And anything she didn’t know, she offered a different resource. Sonia Leon at the Uvita Information Center is a gem. Most importantly, I never once felt like i was wearing out my welcome with my questions.

Once I arrived, there was a bounty of information in a binder she keeps at her kitchen table. This details her impressions of the nearest beaches, good restaurants, activities, and some of the services (tour companies, transportation companies, etc) she has used.

I found a car EXTREMELY helpful in Ojochal. You can walk to some things (grocery store, restaurants), and there is bus service, but it’s not a walking friendly area like the bigger towns in Costa Rica.

In addition to the great hospitality and charm of Ojochal, I found the location perfect for my needs. Ojochal is about 45 minutes north of Sierpe - a great place to see wildlife. Uvita is about 15 minutes north, and Dominical another 20 minutes, and those are nice beach towns. I was also totally content to hang out in Ojochal.

I strongly recommend La Escapada and Ojochal. The house offers modest but complete accommodation, the location is close to destinations as disparate as Sierpe and Manuel Antonio, and the hospitality is second to none.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

La Escapada is a great place to stay

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at La Escapada for the month of March a couple of years ago. The place is simple but clean. It is located in the village of Ojochal on the road that has the super market,a superb restaurant and a bakery. There are also individuals who sell fish and fruit.You can walk to two beaches although it is a long walk. With a car, Uvita to the north offers a bank, a super market and good retaurants. To the south is Palmar Norte which has internet cafes, restaurants and gasoline. South of that is the Osa Peninsula, the most bio-diverse place on Earth.
The house consists of two bedrooms,a kitchen,a livingroom, and a bathroom and now there is a bodega. I spent very little time inside since I hung out on the covered patio outside reading and listening to the monkeys and parrots. The price is great for the location. ...Chris and Maura

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Pure Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

The location of La Escapada is great for exploring the Ojochal de Osa region. During our stay we visited 4 beautiful beaches within a 5-20 minute drive. Plus it is near a dive operation in Uvita which took us to Cano Island for a remarkable scuba adventure. While La Escapada appears basic in ammenities, it was clean, totally functional and very relaxing while enjoying morning coffee on the patio as the butterflies fluttered through the palms. If you are looking for a resort, this is not your place, however if you are looking for Costa Rican authenticity, value and location, this is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pure Costa Rica

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

The location of La Escapada is great for exploring the Ojochal de Osa region. During our stay we visited 4 beautiful beaches within a 5-20 minute drive. Plus it is near a dive operation in Uvita which took us to Cano Island for a remarkable scuba adventure. While La Escapada appears basic in ammenities, it was clean, totally functional and very relaxing while enjoying morning coffee on the patio as the butterflies fluttered through the palms. If you are looking for a resort, this is not your place, however if you are looking for Costa Rican authenticity, value and location, this is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Favorite Vacation

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

Not a resort...real plus. Lived among glorious vegetation and sweet small CR critters. Amazing beach, black soft sand, mountainous views, blue/green water...and walking distance from cozy cottage! Comfy quarters. Highlight...swinging on hammock downing presh papayas. Personal fav getaway escape.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review