reviews for: listing #78527 - San Diego, California Apartment rental

Casita Encanto
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $185 /nt
    $750 - $1,100 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful tropical getaway with every amenity imaginable!

Review submitted: February 1, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

Wonderful place! The guest house and gardens are very well maintained - next time we will spend more time there. It is near everything you may need as far as groceries, restaurants, and tourist facilities. The bed is very comfortable, the living area more than adequate, and washer/dryer very nice addition. Everything you could need for cooking any meal is provided and the property is very clean and beautiful. The owners/hosts were fabulous! We will be back...cannot wait!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Capt. and his Lady

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

What can we add to the very favorable reviews listed above. Having lived in San Diego County for 50 years, the Encanto experience was delightful. The access to the major freeways made this a most desirable location for our visits to old friends. The surroundings enabled us to entertain friends. We were impressed with the gardens and the cleanliness of the Casita. We were used to "June Gloom" but the Casita's location was excellent for June weather. We can not say enough for the courtesy of the owners (and their guardian dogs). Having off-street parking was certainly a plus. When we return to the Mainland, we always pick a new place to stay. We would, without hesitation, recommend the Casita.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very peaceful and convenient

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 23, 2013

A fantastic property. The unit was clean and well supplied when we arrived and the owners are a joy to meet. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen among the best equipped we've ever encountered. The whole unit is very comfortable and the deck was a fantastic place to relax in the evenings or have a spot of breakfast before heading out for the day.

The location of the unit makes having a car a necessity, but being so equipped, you will find it to be very close to almost anything you may want to see in the area. The freeway is very close and it seemed we were able to get to almost all of our destinations within 10 minutes. Very convenient, and a small price to pay for absolute quiet and solitude in the evenings. Far better for travelers with small children who might appreciate a locale away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown.

All said, we had a lovely time. The pictures don't lie; this is a very nice place to spend a few days, or preferably more! The garden is stunningly pretty and the dogs make great company (Hi, Oso & Mo!).

Great value. If we're in the area, we'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Enchanted

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

I've lived in San Diego for 30 years, so I know the area well (and adore it! beautiful, so much to see and do, and great weather.) I needed a place to hole up with my two sweet kitties for three days while my home was being tented. I wanted someplace fully-equipped so I didn't have to leave my kitties alone, easy to get to, yet secluded and very quiet -- a tall order for a tourist town like this. The Casita was perfect. It's charming, very comfortable, immaculate, and any noise came from birds singing happily in the beautiful gardens. I spent much of my time on my computer, and was pleased to find the internet service reliable and very high-speed. And, of course, one couldn't ask for nicer, more considerate hosts than Deborah and Jerry.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Oasis

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

This little cottage is a delight. The property is so beautiful you may be tempted to lie in the hammock surrounded by flowers instead of going to the beach. It's very private, and the owners are friendly and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Tranquil perfection

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 7, 2012

My husband, our 22-month-old son and I stayed in Casita Encanto for two nights. We loved this apartment and its grounds. The lush gardens and outdoor spaces make this spot extra charming and tranquil. The space was absolutely perfect for our needs. Deborah had a Pack N Play ready for our son; the kitchen was fully stocked with essentials -- including a loaf of bread and milk in the fridge; the towels were plentiful in the bathroom; and the bedroom's linens were soft and comfortable. When our son went to sleep, my husband and I enjoyed a glass (or two) of wine of the porch of the casita. The porch is spacious and lined with white lights, and was a welcome escape from our not-so-tranquil lifestyle in the urban sprawl of Los Angeles. We traveled to Coronado in less than 15 minutes; Petco Park in 10 minutes; and the Scripps Aquarium in La Jolla in about 20 minutes. This property if located conveniently from all that San Diego has to offer.

Our son took a liking to Oso, Deborah's dog, and keeps asking me about "Oso's house." We are thrilled we chose the casita for our family getaway to San Diego and we hope to return again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful Sanctuary

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

We stayed at Deborah and Jerry's "enchanted casita" for a week. They were nice enough to accommodate our two little dogs. Boris, our 11-lbs Bichon became fast friend with Oso, the resident puppy who is at least five times his size. Deborah was so kind to let the dogs played in her front courtyard. They had a ball, literally and figuratively!
We enjoyed the beautiful beaches and sights in San Diego with its wonderful weather and friendly people. It was so nice to be able to come back to a place where we could call "home" and relax after a long day of sight-seeing and running around. It beats staying in a hotel room anytime!
If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, peaceful place to relax on your vacation, this is the place for you. And if you are a garden enthusiast, you will find yourself basking in heaven. And above all, Deborah and Jerry are such gracious hosts who did their best to make our stay most comfortable while staying in the background. Thanks for a lovely stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Casita Encanto - Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We stayed at Casita Encanto for a week in July. There were three of us, including our 18 month old son. This was the first "real" vacation we've taken as a family and so were somewhat nervous about spending a full week away from home. Casita Encanto couldn't have been a better fit for us. Deborah and Jerry were wonderful hosts and super helpful with suggestions as to good places to visit, eat, etc. The cottage itself is adorable and the grounds are absolutely beautiful. My husband and I each enjoyed a few afternoon naps in the hammock hanging in the gardens when we needed a break from sight-seeing :) Our son loved exploring everything and especially loved bonding with Oso, Deborah and Jerry's dog. You can't beat the location either - we went to Coronado, La Jolla, Sea World, the SD Zoo & Safari Park and were never more than a 1/2 hour from Casita Encanto. In fact, many attractions, including downtown San Diego and the harbor, are only a quick 15 minute drive away. Many thanks to Deborah and Jerry for helping us create wonderful memories of our first family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The Secret Garden

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

My wife and I, and are little dog, stayed at casita encanto for 6 nights. This is like a small a botanical garden with flowers, plants, and fruit trees. It is simply gorgeous. I loved waking up early in the morning, sitting on the poarch drinking coffee and watching the humming birds and butterflies "doing their thing." It is like an oasis, tucked away, and out of sight from others. Deborah, the owner and hostess was very accommodating. Oso, her dog, stole my heart. I'm grateful that we found this place. I would love to come and stay here again.

Hans

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Like the botanical gardens!

Review submitted: June 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

This is the most fabulous of the vacation rentals we have stayed at. (We've stayed in Paris, Venice, Florence, Rome and Naples, Italy) Deborah and her husband were most gracious hosts who were concerned about our comfort. The gardens were fabulous. It was like staying in the professional botanical gardens. The boys (ages 12 and 15)loved the hot tub and the dog, who was VERY friendly. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

casita encanto

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Our stay at Casita Encanto was very relaxing. The garden area is so beautiful. Everything was provided
and very clean. Our host was very considerate and provided items to make are stay enjoyable. I would recommend this lovely cottage to our family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Restful Getaway

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Casita Encanto. We were greeted by Deborah and we knew right away that we were going to enjoy our weekend adventure. It is a beautful place and the garden is so vibrant with color and so many places to sit and relax and enjoy the beauty of this lush garden. The accomodations were comfortable and we found everything to be clean and tidy. Debroah was very helpful and her directions and knowledge of San Diego life was very much appreciated. We really enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casita Encanto

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 23, 2012

My husband and I spent an exquisite week at this beautifully detailed little cottage in a hummingbird & butterfly garden! We loved the quick access to all of the tourist destinations in San Diego, yet we came home into a quiet suburb (Lemon Grove) and our private, airy casita where we felt totally welcomed by Deborah and Jerry and Oso (one of the cutest and friendly puppies). We loved our "play ball" time with Oso and our casual chats with Deborah and Jerry! Wonderful couple! We will return to this Casita for sure and will recommend it to all of our friends. Great, superb and beautifully sustainable. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Simply Amazing!!!!!!

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, it felt like we have just spent a month in paradise! The moment we walked through the second gate we were surrounded by lavish flower garden. We were awe struck by the beauty of the place and welcome we received.

We simply loved everything Casita Encanto had to offer! The place is very modern and upgraded to little details. The convenience of having all the tools in the kitchen and great washer and dryer came in handy since we stayed for the whole month.

Deborah and Jerry are great hosts and we enjoyed our conversations while sun bathing and sipping our morning coffee on the decks. It was also great to have hot tub and dry out on the upper deck.

Deborah and Jerry, you guys are amazing! We couldn't have asked for better hosts! Jerry is a great cook and has a great recipe for making the most delicious salmon and potatoes.

It was especially great that we could bring our dog with us to Casita. Deborah and Jerry are huge pet lovers and they have a dog and a cat. Our dogs became so friendly and it was incredibly funny to watch them teasing each other and playing all the time.

Casita is perfectly located since you are truly 10 minutes away from Gas Lamp Famous San Diego hart of Down Town district where you can find restaurants, live music, bars and hang outs - all fun places to walk around, eat and have great time!
In no time you can get to Balboa Park with great museums and exhibitions, Mission Trails where you can hike and do some rock climbing, famous ZOO, Sea Port Village and Old Town where you can take a trolley and go on a wonderful tour.

But beside from sightseeing we enjoyed staying at Casita where Deborah and Jerry created the most gorgeous garden with magnificent flowers and trees, the grounds are so beautiful that we could not have enough of being outside in the garden and on different decks of the property admiring great views and breathing fresh naturally fragranced air.

The weather in San Diego is wonderful, the best weather in North America. In fact, we had only 2 cloudy days during our month vacation! It was not too hard to take!!!

We would recommend vacation at Casita Encanto to anyone who wants a worry free, relaxing and pleasant vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

San Diego getaway

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

We were very comfortable here. It is very nicely done and the gardens are wonderful. The cottage has everything you need and Deborah makes sure you have what you need and questions answered. There are no good restaurants near but the access to freeways is easy and the kitchen complete.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Will and Penny:

thanks so much for your review. We enjoyed meeting both of you so much. Just a note though. It is true that our neighborhood is a cultural dead zone when it comes to really good restaurants, but we are only 7 miles away from the Gaslamp District which has countless great restaurants.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding garden and yard

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

We have rented a number house and apartment units over the years in the U.S. , Europe and in South America. Casita Enchanto has the best outside space of any place we have been. The garden and been carefully planned and well maintained. When we were there, the flowers were in bloom and the humming birds greeted us every morning while we ate breakfast. There are 3 outside areas for use. First, there is a deck off the kitchen which gets the morning sun and we had breakfast there every day. Although it was cold at night, as soon as the sun came up it was pleasantly warm. The second deck overlooks the ravine and also catches the early morning sunlight. This is a great place to have that first cup of coffee and enjoying the peaceful quiet with the exception of the occasional roster off in the distance. The third deck faces southwest and gets the afternoon sun. There is a gazebo there which is a nice place to have lunch or sun on a lounge chair. The neighborhood is very quiet and as they say eclectic. Some properties are well developed and other or less developed. However, the area is neat and safe. All properties are on large lots so you don’t feel like you are in a suburban development.
There is not a lot of shopping or restaurants nearby, because of the freeway system, everything is 10 minutes away. However, we did find a good Mexican restaurant, Pro Favor, in adjacent Lemon Grove (Carnitas was especially good) and Sushi Time restaurant which has reasonably priced good Japanese food.
Finally, as all have noted, Deborah was born for this job. She and Jerry were a constant source of information and were very hospitable. They were very respectful of your privacy, but were more than

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at the Casita Encanto during our trip to Comic Con earlier this summer. Since this was our first vacation rental experience, we really weren't sure what to expect. Needless to say, after arriving, my concerns were at ease and it really felt as though we were in a home away from home.

We were greeted upon our arrival from our hosts and were given the grand tour of our rental. They were very polite, made sure to address any questions and additional needs we had, and were also very respectful of our privacy throughout our stay.

As for the rental itself, let me start by saying that the casita is absolutely adorable. It has a great kitchen set up, washer and dryer (to our surprise), cozy living room, and separate bedroom and bathroom, and a private patio area (which is decorated with little white lights, perfect for sitting outside at night). We were also pleasantly surprised to find out there was a hot tub available for our use as well (and let me tell you, after driving for 14 hours straight, that was a welcomed surprise).

The grounds are beautifully kept with landscaping everywhere along with small, hidden sitting areas scattered throughout the grounds. Although you are staying in the city, it doesn't feel like it at all.

I've noticed while traveling that when staying at a hotel I feel as though you dread going back to your room, but at the Casita Encanto, you will feel anything but. In fact, after a long day walking around the San Diego convention center, we actually looked forward to returning to our hidden oasis of relaxation. (If you're looking for more city action and night life, you are only about 10 minutes away from downtown and the Gaslamp Quarter.)

I could go on and on, but I think you get the point. All in all, this location was a great place to stay and I hope that I have the pleasure of staying here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very family friendly getaway

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

We were looking for a place in San Diego that was close to the beach and to
LegoLand, as our family was gathering to honor our son. Our family includes
4 grandsons, and Deborah made us SO welcome! She gave us space to set up a
tent for the boys (and extra blankets), a place to assemble a HUGE Lego, and
a skateboard for the boys to use. There's a place where we could have a
fire and make 'smores, and Deborah offered us fruit from their trees. We
felt so at home--the boys were perfectly content in the yard behind the
Casita. All of the adults were able to relax, too (5 of us!). The beds
were very good; the kitchen well-supplied for your own cooking; the washer
and dryer were very handy for us! The home was very clean and the grounds
were beautiful and beautifully kept. Deborah had suggestions for a Farmer's
Market and restaurants nearby. We DID do some sight-seeing, but we spent
quite a bit of time right there "at home." Thanks for your hospitality,
Deborah!

Doug & Denise
Grant & Beth, Gray & Jake
Rebecca Willhoit, Leroy & Ivan

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Peaceful Garden Paradise

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Deborah and Gerry were excellent hosts at this hideaway where we rested for a full month. They were friendly if we ran into them, however, they never intruded on our personal space. If you like cats, Mokey, one of their welcoming agents will come by frequnetly for some attention if you encourage it. The photos accurately depict the property, however they do not do justice to the quietude and cleanliness of the place and the completeness of the kitchen utensils. Deborah even asked if we needed anything else supplied! There is a health food store and grocery nearby as well as a drug store and several farmer's markets for which the hosts supplied laminated directions. The hot tub and outdoor shower were most welcome as was the misting outside in the gardens to cool off while you relaxed on a hot summer day. We were surprised to be at Balboa Park's museums and the zoo within 10-15 minutes as well as Mission Valley's malls. Beaches were a bit further, but also acessible at 30 minutes away. We also had business in the SDSU college area and golfed in nearby La Mesa, which were mere minutes from this property. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casita Encanto- Home away from home!

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

When we first stepped through the gate my husband and I knew that we made a great choice for our 5 day stay in San Diego. We were hoping for a relaxing, comfortable and pleasant place to stay while we enjoyed all the sightseeing spots in beautiful San Diego. We were not disappointed! Casita Encanto is all of that and so much more. The photos on the website really can't do justice to the beautiful outdoor area and flower gardens. Everywhere we looked was filled with lush, colorful and fragrant flowers and plants in bloom. We especially enjoyed the porch with cute outdoor table, and all of the many outdoor seating areas. The inside was so well designed and clean- we loved it! The hosts, Deborah and Jerry, couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. They are so welcoming and friendly, but were always considerate of our privacy. We will be sure to recommend this cottage to our friends and family, and will definitely keep this on our list of favorites to return to!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, pleasant retreat in a garden setting.

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

My wife and stayed here while visiting family. The owner was very gracious and accomodating. The property is well maintained. The garden setting is beautiful and even better in person than in the pictures.
There are so many places to sit from the shaded deck suitable for dining and relaxing to the upper sun deck and places in between. A well-equipped kitchen and homelike amenities. At night very, very quiet.
Close to the I-94 freeway so easy to get to the airport, downtown, and San Diego attractions. A good value as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Garden Hide-Away

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our week stay at the beautiful garden hide-away spot called "Casita Encanto". Our host and hostess, Jerry and Deborah, were so warm and welcoming that we instantly felt comfortable and "at home" in our San Diego cottage.
Every morning it was a total delight to have coffee on the deck overlooking the lush gardens of flowers, plants, trees and hummingbirds. Fixing breakfast in the fully stocked kitchen was easy and convenient before our days of exploring the San Diego sights. We usually ate dinner out at one of the many wonderful local restaurants but cooking back "at home" would have been nice and easy...even grilling off the deck! One especially cool evening we took advantage of the warm hot tub and relaxed in the swirling water while sipping wine after a hectic day.
"Casito Encanto" sits in a quiet residential area convenient to the major San Diego attractions. A car is necessary to get around but driving to almost anywhere is easy and relatively quick.
The accommodations could not have been nicer. We look forward to visiting San Diego again and staying with Jerry and Deborah at "Casita Encanto".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanted Get-Away

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

We spent almost 2 gorgeous weeks resting and touring San Diego from this garden paradise. The 2 of us Yankees from the frozen North needed a winter get away & rented this casita. To our joy and delight it was very close to all the San Diego sights, 15 minutes to anywhere with a car, the hostess came up with absolutely everything we asked for-directions to groceries etc. The apartment itself was easy living, easy to sleep late, read for hours, breathe in the perfume of flowers & watch hummingbirds. We were busy sightseeing but caught up on sleep and relaxation. It was heavenly. I would recommend it as a home base for all interested in the area.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An Tropical Oasis

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

It was breath taking, you are pleasantly surprised when you walk through the gate. You feel like you are in another world. It really does look like the pictures, even in February. Flowers in bloom and filling the air with fragrance, Both beds are very comfortable, just like home. You won't have to bring your own pillow(s), you have your choice of firm, soft and cushy. It felt like you were in a 5 star hotel. It was a very relaxing place to come home to after a busy day out in San Diego. Jerry and Deborah were very gracious and helpful hostess. I wish I could find a place like this in every city I travel to. You will not be disappointed with your selection of this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

I loved staying at this charming casita. It is in a park-like, rural setting with plenty of privacy but only 15 minutes from San Diego. Morning coffee on the deck overlooking rolling hills and listening to bird singing was a special treat. The host and hostess are super people too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful and comfortable, lush and tropical

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

I wanted to recommend an enjoyable vacation stay at Casita Encanto which is a small cottage fully contained and fully equipped that is located in the hills about 7 miles east from downtown San Diego near Fwy 94. The bed is wonderful and it gave me great slumber and the grounds are lush and tropical. I recommend this highly to those who love to try new adventures and who love life. The host and hostess are tremendous people and very cordial. Sure beats a motel or hotel.

Jim Chester
Nevada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful and comfortable, lush and tropical

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

I wanted to recommend an enjoyable vacation stay at Casita Encanto which is a small cottage fully contained and fully equipped that is located in the hills about 7 miles east from downtown San Diego near Fwy 94. The bed is wonderful and it gave me great slumber and the grounds are lush and tropical. I recommend Casita Encanto highly to those who love to try new adventures and who love life. The host and hostess are tremendous people and very cordial. Sure beats a motel or hotel.

Jim Chester
Nevada

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review