reviews for: listing #786 - Hermosa Beach, California House rental

Oceanfront Cottage on the Strand
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $570 - $740 /nt
    $3,990 - $5,180 /wk
    $7,000 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

The best vacation yet!

Review submitted: December 21, 2008   Date of arrival: April 6, 2008

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your Cottage on the Strand. You went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The house was equiped with everything that we needed and it all matched in your blue and white beachy decor. The house is located near it all. We parked our car at the house and walked everywhere the entire week! We would recommend this house to anyone who wants a great, comfortable house in a perfect location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: As the owner, I love to hear that my guests enjoyed their visit at our Cottage. I know that each guest is looking for a different experience and I like to be able to help any way I can.

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Absolutely Perfect!!!

Review submitted: May 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 8, 2014

The Cottage was a perfect place for our large group of 12 to vacation. There was plenty of room and it felt like home. The house was well stocked and had everything that we needed. Jennifer made us feel very welcome and was very prompt in replying to a question that we had during our stay. We made a lot of great family memories while here. I would definitely recommend this property to others. We will be returning in the future :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful view

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

We stayed in Cottage on the Strand for my sons wedding in Ranchos Palos Verdes. We had never been to California before and soon realized that the cottage was in the perfect location. The cottage was situated directly between the wedding venue and all the tourist sites we had on our list to visit. Beverly Hills, Santa Monica and Malibu are all a short drive along with many other beautiful stops along the way.
The Strand is a beautiful walk that goes on for miles and miles and the view from the living room and the patio is priceless. The cottage is adorable and does truely sleep 12 very comfortably. It has every amenity you could look for in a cottage and Jennifer was always available if we had a question. My daughter and some of the wedding party really enjoyed the short walk to wonderful restaurants, bars and shops.
If you are looking for a place to stay to make some wonderful California memories then the Cottage on the Strand would be the perfect place to start
MK

Owners response: Thank you again for staying with us during your families wedding celebration. I am glad that you loved the Cottage and the location worked out for you. It is families like yours that make it enjoyable for me to share my house with! We hope to see you again soon or come celebrate the one year anniversary with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Upgraded to Perfection

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Cottage many times before and it was very nice, however this time was different. The owners have just done a wonderful job upgrading their darling cottage. New paint everywhere in wonderful beach shades that exaggerate the classic moldings throughout the house both inside and out. New comfortable carpet that feels like shades of the ocean stirring on a stormy day. I don't know how they managed to make it feel more comfortable but job well done. You relax the moment you enter the front door. Not to mention the location which is walkable to any restaurant or shopping. Well done my friends, I will be back over and over again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you like our new upgrades. I agree with you that the change in paint color adds a sophistication to our Cottage but glad that the house is still as comfortable as before! Come and see us soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC VACATION

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

If you want an absolutely fantastic vacation, you have to stay at the Cottage on the strand. You are as laid back as you want to be and only minutes away from the Hermosa pier where all the action is. Everything is within walking distance. The house is equipped with all your needs and the beds are soo comfy. It's definitely your home away from home. It was wonderful just relaxing on the patio, watching the sunset and people and pets walk by on the strand. Jennifer is awesome. We plan on coming back year after year. Can't wait. Thanks again for an amazing time!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to hear from my Guests about their visits and makes me happy to know that people are enjoying the Cottage. We will look forward to many future visits from you and glad you felt at home! Mission accomplished!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Cottage on the Strand

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

The Cottage on the Strand provided the perfect place for me to share time with my children and grandchildren, my Christmas in May gift to them. The space was a wonderful home for us all as we biked on the strand, played in the sand, body surfed, explored the shops and then gathered in the evenings for sundown and a meal prepared at 'home' . . . . because we just didn't want to leave. We were all embraced in a most special place, perfectly equipped for our stay and our comfort. We plan to return next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Hi Jennifer- Thanks so much for the use of the home- I loved it. It was cozy, comfortable and the perfect location. I hope to come back and stay longer next time and truly enjoy the area.

It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for making this a flawless wonderful visit. Storm and all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Perfect Beach House

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the Cottage on the Strand. Not only does the Cottage on the Strand feel like a real home but the location right on the beach can't be beat. Being able to come "home" and sit out on the strand watching the sunset was just perfect. We would recommend Cottage on the Strand to anyone wanting to know what real beach life is all about.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We loved having you visit our Cottage. We hope you can come back and enjoy it again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

G'day Jennifer,
Our kids are upset to have left the Cottage and want us to relocate. Cheers and thanks for the opportunity. It was a highlight of our trip, even compared to the Las Vegas Bellagio!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Get-Away

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

Ours family of 7 traveled to LA for our son's gradution from USC. We're from Missouri and really wanted to stay together at the beach. This house was just perfect! It is exactly as described and you will find the cottage to look exactly like the photos. The rooms are spacious, beds and bedding very comfortable and cozy. The kitchen is fully equipped and all you would need can be found in and around this delightful cottage. We loved being 6 feet from the sand. My husband & I loved rising early and drinking our coffee on the front patio. We loved the people-watching, listening to the waves, greeting the walkers, joggers, skateboarders, bikers, etc. Jennifer and Chuck were great to deal with. We highly recommend this property and hope to stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marianne, we loved having your family stay at our Cottage. You are welcome any time. Thanks for the kind words.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2011

We had a fantastic time at the cottage! The house was great, the owners are lovely and very helpful, the people watching was very entertaining and the beach was my daughters favourite part of our holiday. We already miss waking up, looking out and seeing the beautiful beach. I would definately stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cottage on the strand

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

For beach kids from the ages 54-90 this delightful home was a real blast back to our youth. We throughly enjoyed the location and the people along the strand. Only thing to tell you is if you drink wine and don't want a plastic wine glass bring your own! Jennifer the owner is a delight! We hope to go back in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: OK, I took your hint about the wine glasses. I now have REAL wine glasses for my guests to use. We will see how long they last! I actually enjoyed my beach themed darling, very large wine glasses that I had in place also!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My husband and I rented this house for a week in July. We wanted somewhere to relax, play, and have our kids and grandkids down to visit. This lovely home is right on the strand. You plop your chair down in the sand, and you are right in front of your very own home. The furnishings were all beautiful, the beds were so comfortable I couldn't believe it, and everything was clean. We saw dolphins playing, and walked downtown everyday for lunch or dinner. We sat on our deck in the evenings drinking wine and looking at the ocean. Absolutely a wonderful place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Published in Etc Travel Magazine Feb. 2009

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2008

It was truely the picture postcard home it seemed to be on the computer. There were 5 bedrooms but it was the outside of the home that gave the property the WOW factor. All that seperated the home from the beach was a pavement which was a haven for fitness-obsessed Americans either jogging or roller-blading from dawn 'til dusk. If you're a people-watcher it was perfect to take breakfast out to the picnic table and watch the world go by.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 25, 2008   Date of arrival: December 25, 2008

Same pleasures as our island of Tahiti. Great place for the whole family. Bon Jour!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous

Review submitted: December 19, 2008   Date of arrival: November 27, 2008

This was exactly what I was looking for. The house is darling and completely perfect for the two families that were there. I will be back year after year!! Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 23, 2008

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful home with us. There was so much room and it was extremely cozy! We were a big group and it was just what we needed. Having the beach as your front yard for a week is really great but surely wasn't long enough. This beach house vacation was one of the most fun vacations we've ever experienced. You made us feel so welcome. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

Wow. Perfect place for a friends and family reunion. so little stress even with lots of kids of all different ages. Loved the little aquarium and beach at our doorstep. Plenty of room and comfy beds and couches. Would love to come back every year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: February 28, 2008

The Cottage on the Strand was wonderful. The house had everything we needed down to the sand toys for our children not to mention beach chairs and umbrellas for us! The house was roomy enough for our family and my sisters family. We loved the Shabby Chic beach decor. It was the perfect compliment to the overall beach atmosphere. Thank you and we will be back over and over again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2007   Date of arrival: October 22, 2007

Comfortable and homey place to spend our week together. Thank you so very much from all of us

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 12, 2007   Date of arrival: September 12, 2007

We loved the fabulous house in the beautiful location. It had everything we needed.- thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review