reviews for: listing #78612 - Tucson, Arizona Cottage rental

"Almost Home" Southwest Living at it's Finest
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $60 - $75 /nt
    $400 - $500 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

"Almost Home" Is Exactly That

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 5, 2013

Gary and Bonnie are excellent hosts: friendly, helpful, and caring. The "casita" was as promised: a well equipped kitchen, great bedroom, and blissfully quiet. Also enjoyed being serenaded occasionally by Jasmine, the donkey, and at night by yodeling coyotes. Great mountain views.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Country setting

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

We were very comfortable staying at the casita "Almost Home". The view of the mountains was great and at the end of the day we
would sit out-doors and relax and listen to the birds. We enjoyed taking trips each day to one of the many interesting sites to see.
The weather was fantastic and that is such a plus when on holidays. We did enjoy our visits with Gary and Bonnie and thank them
for making us feel so welcome. We do hope to return some day all being well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Real Nice location and House

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

I gave this place a 5 star review because it really is! The house is in great shape and really nice inside and out, with plenty of room for 2 people. The location is close to the city but secluded enough to be very quiet. Other then the owners your nearest neighbors are a few horses, a donkey and many birds and rabbits!

The only slight problem which didn't bother me at all is the TV only gets a few local channels and the wi-fi is spotty inside the house. But still it's well worth the money...I'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much. We enjoyed meeting both you and your wife. You were the ideal tenants in every way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tucson--Almost Home

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

Classy comfort! Clean + complete with caring customer service fom Bonnie + Gary. Relaxed atmosphere with all the amenities. Varied interest readily accessible.......hike, bike, + equestrian trails abound w Saguaro National Park <5min away. Great restaurants, shopping, arts, museums, or whatever your adventure may desire. Hope to return 2013!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just as the name says...It's Almost Home.

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay, we loved everything about it...the casita, the location across from the Saguaro National Park, the horses and burro, the little garden area, the sunsets...and most of all, the kind and talented hosts. A terrific base for hiking and sightseeing, beautifully quiet with superb star gazing. We will definitely come here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in our casita, "Almost Home". We are looking forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Tucson.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best vacation we have ever had

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

This was a wonderful, peaceful place to stay. The owners provided everything for a comfortable, friendly oasis near the National Park yet close to the city. We will be coming back this coming year. I would certainly recommend a stay here. It was perfect in every way.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great meeting you, and we are pleased that you had a good experience visiting "Almost Home". We are looking forward to seeing you again next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Place Is Like Home

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

It is a true home away from home!

When we arrived there we had a sense of quietness and "remoteness" from the city life. We needed an adventurous life in nature in the surrounding area. We hiked at Saguaro National Park nearby for two days and Sabino Canyon for a day. And, we drove up to Mt. Lemmon that brought much reminiscence of our past when we used to live in Tucson more than 35 years ago. After our trips we came back home "casita" fully refreshed.

Thank you for a wonderful privilege of staying at casita for a few nights. Whenever we come back we for sure will go back to this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

All the comforts of home away from home! Thanks to Bonnie and Gary for being gracious hosts! Was so peaceful, beautiful views and tranquil. Close to town and easy to find. Enjoyed my stay and will definately visit again!
Wendy - South Dakota

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for your kind remarks. It was great meeting you, and we look forward to future visits.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding Vacation

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

Thanks to Bonnie and Gary we had our best vacation ever. Staying at almost home was so relaxing and it's in the perfect location. It is situated next to Saguaro National Park and only about a half hour drive to downtown tucson.

We so enjoyed sitting on the veranda in the mornings and evenings with the cactus and garden in front of us and the mountains in the background. It's like a bit of paradise.

Bonnie and Gary are so nice and helpful. Full of ideas and information, the best host and hostess. They made our stay so enjoyable that we will be back.

Penny and Mike (Appleton, Maine)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One of a Kind Vacation Casita!

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

We had a great experience staying at "Almost Home" -- and it really did feel like it was almost home! It was very comfortable, quiet and peaceful. The casita is decorated beautifully in southwestern style and was well supplied with all we needed. We enjoyed the view of the mountains, the cactus garden and the trickling water fountain from the patio of the casita. We loved the feel of being in the countryside including walks around the neighborhood and in the Saguaro National Park East right across the road, but it's close to main streets and is an easy drive to get to any place in Tucson. Gary and Bonnie were delightful to get to know and we enjoyed visiting with them. They were helpful in suggesting places to see and things to do and even provided a notebook of information about the area. We were impressed with what a lovely place it was and for such a reasonable rental fee. You couldn't ask for a better place to stay to enjoy your visit to Tucson. We'd love to go back another time! Galen and Carm from Nebraska

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

'Almost Home', A Little Piece of Heaven!

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

LOVED IT!!! The words aren't big enough to describe the amazing time we had at 'Almost Home' casita. If you are looking for a little piece of heaven to escape to, this is it! From the breathtaking mountain views to the charming & beautifully decorated cottage, you have all the comforts of home and more. Our stay at 'Almost Home' exceeded our expectations. Gary & Bonnie were as warm and welcoming as the casita. They made us feel like part of the family as soon as we met them. We walked away from this vacation with more than fond memories, we walked away with new friends that we will cherish forever. We look forward to re-booking with them in the next few months. We recommend 'Almost Home' casita to anyone who is either traveling alone or with your family-there is something for everyone! Thank you again Gary & Bonnie for your hospitality, we will be in touch.
Phil & Colleen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind remarks. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting and getting to know you, and hope to see you again soon.

Bonnie and Gary

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review