reviews for: listing #78625 - Cape May, New Jersey House rental

The Villa,Sunsets,Dog friendly, weddings
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $950 - $2,400 /wk

sort by:

Great location

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

The home was very clean and comfortable. It is decorated so cute . Bettina called us upon our arrival to see if we arrived safely and to check to make sure all was ok.

This was our first stay at the bayside. I must say the beach was wonderful. I felt like we had the beach to ourselves. ( which we did one day). The house is In a great location.


We only had one key for the house, two would have been better, since we were a party of 6.

Overall, I would recommend this rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

This home was updated, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The yard was large and only one house from the bay! During high tide we could hear the waves during the day and at night. Be sure not to miss the gorgeous sunsets on the beach each evening. There was even a fire pit with chairs in the backyard and a kayak for our use as well as a nice front and back porch both with patio furniture. The house had everything you could possibly need from towels to linens, to a fully equipped kitchen with all the little extras like cutting boards, mixing bowls, blender, place mats, etc… It was just like being at home only better!

You can't beat the location being only one house off the Delaware Bay. Also close enough (15 minutes) to Cape May, Wildwood beaches & boardwalk as well as several vineyards and the Cape May County Park Zoo. Historic Cold Spring Village and the Turdo Vineyard are only 10 minutes away and the Cape May Brewery is only 5 minutes away! This home is also dog friendly as is the bay beach which made it the perfect family vacation for us to spend time together. But even without a dog, I would highly recommend this property. Bettina was responsive and available by email or phone. Since she lives nearby, any concerns can be promptly addressed personally by her. We will definitely return again. In summary, I highly recommend this rental because the home was lovely, in a great location and the rental cost was a fantastic value! We felt like we had it all!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write an extraordinary review. Other potential guest will greatly appreciate the details you mentioned about our rental at the Delaware Bay. We certainly enjoyed your family staying at our property and we are thrilled to be part of your family vacation filled with many memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacations

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Cape-May. Our location was perfect and the Equipment in the house was perfect. If you want to have a house fully equiped near the beach this house is perfect for You.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Guest,
we appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on this rental. We try to keep the house simple but yet comfortable for everyone. We truly enjoy being part of each guest's vacation memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My husband, myself and 3 year old daughter had a wonderful time at the house. The layout and amenities were as described. The house was clean and well maintained. The only negative was that the yard needed some TLC. But this was not an issue as we spent most of the time away from the house.
The time of year was perfect. No crowds and weather was still great. The bay beach was only a hundred feet away. We spent some time there as well as the Cape May beach, which was only minutes away. The zoo was a lot of fun, it runs on donations. The Meadows were delightful and full of butterflies.
The Mexican restaurant El Portal had very good food, dine in or take out. The Rite-Aid was minutes away as well as an Acme food store. Although I would suggest bringing some food stuffs from home as they were kind of pricey.
We would definitely rent here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Villa

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our vacation time here in Cape May. The house was as described. It was well maintained and was very warm and cozy. We enjoyed being so close to the Bay and we were able to walk our dogs on the beach and watch the sunset in the evening. The house is situated on a very large lot which is fenced and very nice for pets. Our only concern was the grass did not get mowed until a few days after we arrived. This presented a problem for the first 2 days in allowing our dogs to use the yard as freely as we would have liked.

Overall, we had a wonderful vacation. Thank you Bettina!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice place near the beach

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

I liked the place. It was nice for us and we were 3 couples and we each had a room. Convenient to have breakfast in the morning at home and have a barbeque whenever we wanted...
Only hickup was that the place wasnt ready when we arrived and we had to help in setting the bedrooms... but then it was a nice experience and we were comfortable..

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time writing a review and share your experience with other potential guests.

Thank you also for putting the towels in the dryer as the wash machine cycle was not complete upon your arrival. We made a perfect team.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent getaway

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We truly enjoyed our week away. The house was more than we had expected with a large fenced in yard where we spent most of our time. The interior of the house was beautiful and there were plenty of linens and towels. We had great weather, but had we needed to spend more time indoors there were flat screen TVs in each bedroom. We loved that the house was only 2 away from the bay, and spent some time at the beach each day. We were there on the off season, so it was quiet and we had a lot of privacy. Definitely recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear guest,

thank you for your kind words and recommendation.
You guys were great.
Thank you again for booking my home.
Regards,
Bettina

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Feel Like a Local!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

Another wonderful restful stay at the beautiful newly renovated Villa! We had such a great time last year we visited again! My favorite thing is that the Villa is only about 100 meters from the beach which makes getting to and from the beach super convenient. We had a great time kayaking and watching the sandpipers at the beach by the home. The grandparents enjoyed collecting stones along the beaches. The house was equipped with kayak, life vests, beach chairs and sand buckets.

The home is conveniently located and an ideal extended family get away, 15 minutes from Cape May Point, 15 minutes from Rio Grande with great restaurants, 15 minutes from the Cape May Zoo (free and great for kids!) and 12 minutes from Wildwood! My husband is a birdwatcher, so we love staying here on extended family reunions and visiting Cape May County Park to see the migrating birds. We loved eating at “Fish and Fancy” which is our all time favorite local seafood eatery which is practically walking distance from the Villa. Staying in the Villa was incredibly relaxing, cozy and laid back and I liked feeling more like a local than a tourist.

The kids(ages 7 to 14) really enjoyed staying there too. The house had young children books, board games and crafts. We all had fun playing scrabble, beading together, and making crafts. There are TV's in almost every room, so no arguments over what to watch! We really enjoyed the decor and all the attention to detail that went into making our stay wonderful!

The property is also very dog friendly. The fenced yard was really convenient. There are no dog restrictions on the beach by the home. (They just need to be leashed.) At Cape May State Park there are restrictions during specified seasons, and dogs are not permitted at all on the Wildwood board walk, or the Cape May Zoo, so it was nice there was somewhere we could just hang out and chill with our dog.

Thanks so much Bettina for your generosity, warmth and hospitality! It was truly a pleasure meeting you in person! Thanks again for sharing information about “Good Eats!” You really went out of your way, returning calls promptly, getting things ready, meeting us on your day off - to ensure we all had a wonderful memorable time! We really appreciated it!

Fluffy fresh towels, linen and sheets were provided! Just bring body soap, shampoo, and toilet paper, and you're all set! We had a wonderful time and plan to be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect little getaway

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

The Villa was the perfect place for our little getaway. The house was immaculate upon our arrival. Everything that was advertised was there and in perfect working condition. The house is well appointed with nice furniture and there was no need for us to bring anything, including towels and linens.

Every morning was spent on the porch drinking our coffee and finalizing our plans for the day. In the evening, we would sit on the porch until it was dark.

Before we left for our trip, the owner was in contact with us and made sure we knew she was available if we had any problems.

The house is located very close to the Bay (within walking distance), and it was a short drive to all the beach towns, e.g. Cape May, Stone Harbor etc.

All in all, it was the perfect little vacation in the perfect house, and would not hesitate to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

If You Are Considering Renting This Property......

Review submitted: September 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2011

I rented this property under the assumption that the owner was honest and forthright, and that the place would be suitable for a 5-night vacation that I had been planning for several weeks. I even emailed the owner during Hurricane Irene, wishing her and her family to stay safe during the big storm.

Upon arrival, the exterior seriously lacked curb appeal. It was over-grown and run-down, with garbage piled on the street that had not been picked up for days. At first glance the living-room seemed OK. However: the smoke alarm was hanging down from the ceiling. The floor lamp by the front door was missing its shade. The kitchen had leftover food in the refrigerator, and ants and ant traps on the counters. The hallway bathroom was not clean. There was hair all over the tub and embedded in the bath mat. The front bedroom closet door was broken or off its hinge. The hallway light allegedly works if you can find the right switch, which is located in a bedroom, but there is no letter of introduction to this house, so you have to figure it out yourself.

The back bedroom had a mattress that was so polluted with hair, no one should be sleeping on it. I spent the better part of an hour trying to clean it with my lint roller brush, but it was futile. It was a disgusting chore that I should not have to do at any time, especially on my vacation.

The AIR CONDITIONER: There is a plastic lock-box on the wall covering the thermostat, so you can NOT regulate the temperature yourself. I have never encountered such a thing in any rental property. The house temperature reached 80 degrees. I called the owner to see how to cool the house down, but she never returned my call. Needless to say we spent a sleepless night, and the next morning, with help from the Chamber of Commerce, we found better lodgings.

A refund should have been issued, but the owner has ignored my emails. We did not stay 5 days and now we want a refund. We stayed there 1 night, cleaning the place. The owner is going to keep money that does not belong to her, which makes her anything but an honest and professional property owner. She has had ample time to do the right thing.

Considering the condition we found this house to be in, the reviews entitled "Loved It" and "Our Stay in August 2011" hardly seem believable. It's more likely that these reviews were not written by actual renters but by the owner herself.

YOU'VE BEEN WARNED........

Owners response: Thank you for taking time to write this review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your holiday. Everyone has different expectations and needs, so what may be good value to one person might not be to someone else. Having a mix of reviews on my site shows authenticity. Any future guest that has any doubt about this property,can visit this property prior to booking or contact any of those previous guest to obtain more information.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Loved It!

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

There are so many houses to choose from on this website, but this house stood out by far. The upbeat colors, modern furniture, the warm feeling you get when you walk through the door. I loved the atmosphere being only a few steps from the beach and sitting with a coffee in hand listening to the waves crash early morning. It was very clean and very well decorated. I would definitely choose this house again while planning another vacation to the Jersey Shore!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

our stay in August 2011

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

It was fantastic experience , House was extremely clean and has all you need. Location of the house of just few steps from the beach is perfect. We really enjoy our stay

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you! Our goal is to ensure all guest will have a good experience and memories with a affordable budget in mind. All of your reviews help us to continue paying attention to details.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July 2011

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

The house was lovely and having all the linens provided was a bonus. Loved the newly finished master bedroom and bath. The middle bedroom is a bit cramped when both beds are opened, however all the beds are very comfortable. Having the bay so close was a great convenience coming home to have lunch, use the bathroom, and for watching the beautiful sunsets. Beware the jelly fish in the bay though. We gave up swimming there by mid week because of them and went to the ocean side instead, so providing beach badges may be a future thought. A clothes line in the back yard for drying suits and towels would have been great, and the back deck is a bit tight. Overall it was wonderful despite the jelly fish which no one can control. I would certainly rent this home again for our vacations, thanks Bettina!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Villa

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The owner was very good about keeping in touch from the time of our inquiry until the time of our stay. The property was clean. The furnishings, amenities and overall decor were excellent. We traveled with 2 dogs and the large fenced in yard was perfect for them. This house is the 2nd house from the bay. We spent a lot of time sitting and walking on this beach. It was nice to be able to walk the dogs on the beach. It was a quiet neighborhood. We enjoyed being away from the activity of town. The ride to Cape May was about 10 to 15 minutes. It would have been helpful to have a book of local attractions with travel directions and suggestions for local restaurants. Overall, this was a great place to stay and very affordable.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent!!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This was a large property with a great fenced in yard. Very close to the bay which was great especially with small children when you have to come and go for bathroom, lunch etc.

House was clean and lots of space! Backyard had a fire pit and grill which we put to use a lot during our week. Hose outside the house was great for washing off sand before going into the home. Many home items were available for use in the kitchen and all grill utensils were provided.

Property was very close to Wildwood and other great areas for lots of family fun!

We went with small children and this property made our week stress free!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review