reviews for: listing #78643 - Big Bear Lake, California Townhome rental

Sept & Oct Special! Big Bear - Mountain Paradise!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Escape Townhomes
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $219 /nt

sort by:

Great Easter getaway

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

We had a great time. You can't beat the location for active mountain fun. The condo is very well maintained and well equipped. We cooked a full Easter brunch with all the trimmings and the kitchen/BBQ all worked perfect.
The mountain biking was incredible. We purchased the one way pass up the hill and that was all we needed for several hours per day. Get a map and go out of bounds for longer rides.

We'll be back for more soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 5

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The condo was very clean, cozy and and nicely decorated. It is located right next to Summit Ski Resort and within walking distance of some great hiking trails. My 5-year old grandson enjoyed the selection of movies. :) It does have 2 floors, so very young children may not be safe if they are not used to stairs. We will definitely put it on our list of great lodging for future visits.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place!

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Very nice place, cozy, conviniently located just steps away from snow summit, which made it very convinient. Robin the owner was very helpful in answering all our questions.
I will definitely be renting this place every time I go to Big Bear. Very recomended!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

What a great place! I searched vrbo.com on a whim & found a great deal for our time in Big Bear. The owner, Robin, went out of her way to answer all my questions before & after we booked. When we arrived, my group went crazy over the location & proximity to biking downtown. I looked like a champ! Rooms were very nicely furnished, comfy, perfect fit for our group of 5. Its a 2 story condo with both rooms & restrooms upstairs & kitchen/living room downstairs. Setup encouraged just hanging out together as a family. Normally, we'd eat out but it was so relaxing to sit and enjoy the condo & patio so we opted to stay in & cook meals there. They have provided lots of amenities, including a BBQ which we enjoyed using. Even the teenagers just wanted to take walks, play card games & listen to music. Would be great place to stay in winter for skiing. Practically in Snow Summit parking lot! Needless to say, great place to stay. Felt like our own home & we will definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Worth a stay

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2012

This condo is a hop, skip & jump to Snow Summit and very cozy. Less than 1-2 miles to restaurants, shops and activities. Only complaint was the noisy neighbor and condo not ready despite the 4pm check in time. Other than that, would stay here again. Pictures and description are accurate. Owner is very easy to deal with and very accomodating.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

FABULOUS place to relax!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

This place is super nice, has great location!! It was so much better than those pictures! Way better than I expected!!! Thank you so much, we had great time there!!! Everything include couch, kitchen, linens, and bed sheets was in very good condition, I had zero complains. Also I have to say, this place is actually so much bigger than the pictures.
Def I will come visit AGAIN!!!

Thank you, again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

great snow summit condo

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

great condo for our family summer vacation.
rode mtn bikes to the lifts for great times on the mtn.
very cozy place to relax after many miles.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect location for skiers snowboarders

Review submitted: March 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Family had a blast on the slopes of snow summit. Loved that we could come back to condo for lunch, relax and go back for afternoon! Beds very comfortable, dvd player was great for evening relaxation. Kitchen had everything we needed. Grocery store within a couple of miles. We will be back...
Loved the flamingo bathroom! Really cute!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Loved this condo!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The condo was very cozy, cute, and loved the decor of bedrooms and bathrooms. The location couldn't be perfect. It's a very short walking distance to the ski lift and very convenient for those who love to ski or mountain biking. The kids loved staying here. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

What a great little condo! We spent a long weekend up here in August and had a great time. Rode our bikes right to the Lifts for Mt. Biking. Great access to trails and very close to the many places in Big Bear. Easy to get to but also very quiet. Robin runs great summer rates so take advantage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

OK UNIT

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

We used this condo in February 2010. I would like report that this listing fell way short of the description shown on the website at the time. For example, site stated that this unit was recently redecorated...maybe five years prior. Unit was not clean and well maintained, not to mention a propane leak in the BBQ that was identified to office and no fix while we were there. There were not enough kitchen utensils for six. Ice maker was broke and was constantly making ice (we had to fix it ourselves). Identified these problems to the owner and she said she would correct problems and fix the website to remove misrepresentation. It appears that this has happened. Based on the pictures now loaded, it appears the needed upgrades have been made in the kitchen and dining areas. I would possibly entertain using this place again based on the comments made in 2011. The only downsides would be that both the bathrooms are upstairs, so if you need to use it, each time you've got to climb the stairs. The other problem is that yes the slopes are close, but the short cut to the slopes was snow and mud. We ended up going around and using the streets to get to the ski area. The last comment, was the office personnel. They were very rude and this unit is right next to their unit and the noise into all hours of the night was disturbing. By the way, the reason I'm just now posting is because at the time we rented, the owner was not accepting comments or reviews. I rated the unit 2 stars based on the way it was when we rented it. I'm sure it would be higher with the changes that have been made.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Cozy condo in the heart of Big Bear

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

My friends and I had an excellent time at this condo in Big Bear in January. The kitchen is stocked with every tool we needed to cook, and the DVD collection kept us entertained at night. The flatscreen has all the channels you'd ever want, but we spent our time on the slopes that were located next to the condo complex. The only downside is that the master bedroom is lofted above the living room, so there's no privacy if people are downstairs while you are in the bedroom.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

nice place next to vip lot at summit

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

Very nice cabin style townhome. a few steps from the snow summit vip lot. Worth it to be that close. it was nice to have dryer, kitchen, a dvd movie selection, and littel deck patio to relax at after a day of skiing.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cosy Convenient Getaway

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

My family (2 adults and 2 teens) enjoyed our 5 nights stay. The proximity to the ski slopes and amenities like supermarket and shops made it a convenient place too. Being able to walk to and from the ski slopes makes a big difference. The unit is close to the beginner ski area which is ideal for families with young children.

The property itself was clean and well maintained, with excellent internet connections. The kitchen came fully equipped and appliances worked well. We enjoyed cooking and preparing our meals, especially when the weather outside was "frightful".

The only problem was the early morning wakeup calls by the snow-making machines and the snow ploughing vehicles. But if you are tired enough, you will also enjoy a good night's rest in the comfortable beds.

The unit was well stocked with VCRs (featuring Disney movies) and because the unit is next to the manager's office, it is most convenient if one has to pop over with questions or to rent even more movies from there excellent library.

I would recommend this unit if you have a small to mid-size family and if you appreciate a smoke-free living space. Vons and Kmart were near enough and the lake and village are minutes away. We spent one day browsing the many fun and interesting shops in the village.

Thanks to the owner and her housekeeper for keeping the property in good condition. We had very good memories!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Good Location, Cheap, But Pretty Basic

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

The location of this condo can't be beat and the price is right.

It's right on the slopes. You won't have to get in your car at all.

It's cozy and no frills but quite worn around the edges.

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

comfy big bear rental

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

I had such a great time at this condo! The home was very cozy and had everything we needed. I could only imagine how convienent it would be near ski season...only a short walk away. Definitely recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review