reviews for: listing #78647 - York Beach, Maine House rental

Beach House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $260 - $315 /nt
    $1,800 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

Best vacation house ever!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We have been going to York Beach since our kids were really young. They are now in their forties and we are taking grandkids along with us. Over the years we have rented various properties, all wonderful, but as soon as we walked in to this house everyone in the family agreed~ Best vacation house ever! It just doesn't get any better than this. Closeness to beach and shops, house immaculate , so spacious with room for us all to spread out. Roomy, comfy bedrooms and beds, great kitchen with all the utensils etc provided, and the washer and dryer so conveniently located off the dining room. Because we were renting right in the busy season we were worried it would be noisy but this house is tucked away down the side street so that was not a problem. We loved the convenience of being able to run back home from the beach for anything ( especially the bathroom!) but also it is not that far to walk to Long Sands which we did every morning for our coffee and pastries from the Long Sands grocery store, and also to get in our morning walk on the beach. If you must keep up with the news there are loads of TVs , and the morning paper can be got just round the corner, as can any food item if you are not into cooking meals while on vacation! The back yard is wonderful for kids to play in , fenced in, and we all loved sitting out there or on the front porch with coffee, tea, wine or beer depending on time of day! The shower outside helps keep the sand out of the house . The only thing left to say is "It's all good!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Beach House"

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The "Beach House" is located on a side street, and was further to the beach than we were led to believe. You have to walk through a park to get to the beach. We had young children in our party, so this was an inconvenience. Older home that was renovated, some of the rooms had a musty smell. The internet did not work until we spent 1 hour on the phone with the cable company. One of the toilets did not work properly. Some of the pots and pans were old and scratched. The grill was old and was dirty. The grill grates were chipped and worn, so we did not use it and weren't able to grill as planned. Owner did not return our security deposit as promised. Will not return it prior to leaving, tells people she will mail it to you. Only will take cash/check for deposit which leaves you with no recourse. When contacted again, owner said would return deposit, but was untruthful and never did. We would suggest that you insist on your deposit back before leaving. Overall, it was disappointing, and we did not enjoy our stay in the so called "Beach House". We would not recommed it to family or friends or stay there again.

Owners response: I was not surprised to recieve this review from these renters. They threatened me that they would do this if I didn't send them $50.00 that I deducted from their security deposit for the cleaning. The balance of the security deposit was sent to them within days of their leaving and cashed. I spent 4hrs cleaning my beach house when they left. In 14yrs. of renting this was the 2nd. time I had to deduct from a security deposit. I would like to share with you what they wrote in my guest book on departing.
6/16 to 6/23
Terryville,CT
We have truly enjoyed our stay in your lovely home.
We felt very comfortable and the extra amenities were a bonus.(We'll need to pack a bit lighter next time.)
What I will cherish the most is spending time on the front porch looking at the ocean and playing cards with my mom and the rest of the family.
The younger children have spent lots of time at the playground and beach.
We could not have asked for a better location and luckily we have had the perfect weather. What a relaxing vacation!
Thanx
Signed
It was to bad that $50.00 had to spoil all that.

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Better than you expect!

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

This was our first time renting a house instead of a hotel room.
It was super close to short sands if you know York Beach which came in handy
since my parents stayed with us and they loved to have breakfast at the goldenrod most mornings. My wife and I cooked most breakfast and lunches with our children and found the house to be fully stocked with all our needs and more.Very comfortable and charming decor throughout the house. Neighborhood
quiet yet active with lots of beachgoers walking from neighboring houses to short sands. Enjoyed relaxing early AM coffees on the large front porch listening to the birds singing and owl hooting..You can see the ocean from the front porch and the Gazebo at short sands. The back yard grill got a lot of use too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best of York

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

One of the best stays in 30 years at York. Extremely clean, wonderful owners, better equipped than my house! A place you cannot go wrong with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review