reviews for: listing #78655 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Tahquitz River Retreat ~
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Tahquitz River Est.
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,100 - $2,100 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2013 Stay

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

Enjoyed the house very much. We plan to return next summer.

Value: 4/5
Experience: 5/5
Property: 5/5
Overall: 4.75/5.00

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

river retreat

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house we rented was beautiful, but needed to be better maintained. The kitchen window was cracked, there were stains on the carpets and sofas, the refrigerator was leaking, the washing machine destroyed a few articles of clothing (despite always being on delicate cycle) and there were cracks in the concrete floors. The house itself was very nice, especially the backyard. The pool and hot tub were easily heated, and we really apreciated that. This was not my favorite location in Palm Springs, but it was in close proximity to everythying. We had a wonderful vacation, I don't regret my stay, but I would probably rent another home next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing Home :)

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The only issue I had was that someone got into the house and stole my watch :(. I've stayed at other rental houses where they have an alarm system and they give you the code, if a mistake is made the renter pays for the false alarm. It would maybe be good if ACME could do something like that? The side gate door was wide opened when we returned, maybe that could also be able to be locked?
The only other issue was I was really looking forward to using the bikes at the house but someone had taken them :(

Regardless, I truly loved our home rental and I will definitely be returning!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

a week in PS

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 16, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The house was very tired, in need if rehab.

Owners response: Thank you for submitting your comments. A new living room sofa and TV were purchased for the home. In addition a new washer and dryer were also installed. We appreciate your input and the owner has responded well to make the needed improvements to the rental home to ensure that guests stay in a nice well maintained home. We hope you will return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Ok house, but overpriced

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

Rating Details:
I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
House was ok. Nice pool. Washer made a loud noise, light in bedroom was out, refrigerator leaked.

Owners response: We have installed a new washer and dryer. The leaky refrigerator was also repaired. Thank you for your comments as this helps us make sure that the home is well maintained.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We spent 9 days at the Tahquitz River Retreat and it was a fantastic vacation. We have two boys, 6 and 3, and we spent our days swimming in the pool and soaking in the hot tub, in between trips to the mountains, the living desert, and cool playgrounds around town. We loved the place - especially the outdoor space, with spots to eat, relax in the sun or the shade and a fire pit that can keep you warm while you watch the sun set behind the mountains. We will be coming back next year, so don't take our spot!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week in Palm Springs

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really enjoyed this house. About 5 minutes from Downtown by car. Not close enough to walk for dinner but perfect for a cab ride. The backyard and pool are beautiful. We had a minor hiccup getting the spa heated but it got sorted out quickly once the management was informed. My only gripes are that I expect a rental like this to have basic kitchen condiments. There were some but I had to buy sugar, Tabasco, ketchup and then leave it all there. Also, the carport door would only lock from the inside. Pull the car out, close gate, run inside, lock carport door, exit front door and lock. Not the end of the world but annoying. Overall we liked the home and would rent it again. Harrison at Acme management was very professional and attentive when we had an issue.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We stayed here with another family - two toddlers and two four year olds - and had a great stay. The house was perfect for our needs and the pool and outdoor cabana were a hit with the adults and kids. The kitchen had every appliance needed along with kid cups, plates, etc. We used the grill too and that worked great. We would definitely stay here again. The only complaint I have is that the pool heater was impossible to figure out even with directions and I had to call the rental agency to come out and fix it/turn it on for us. But they came within five minutes so it really didn't end up being a problem at all. So overall we highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous backyard!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the size of the pool, great for a family. The neighbourhood was very
quiet and the location was fantastic. Our favourite area was the cabana with
a full bathroom.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Had a great time! The pool was awesome, house was very nice, clean and lots of room for all 8 of us (and a baby)! I would go back in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall OK with a few hiccups

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We experienced a few issues during our stay, but all issues were quickly fixed. AC fuse blew twice and pool pump broke twice. Both were repaired quickly. Beds were uncomfortable, but the house was wonderful otherwise. We would stay here again if the beds were higher quality. Great week with family and the service was great too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tahquitz River Retreat rental

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We enjoyed our 4 day stay very much. Great pool and spa. Whole patio is terrific for sun lovers. Beds and pillows were good quality. Close to downtown for dinners and shopping. Neighborhood looks to be in transition, but safe. We did experience some non working features that did not dampen our stay but needed repair to improve the experience. Note to renters: In hot climates, house that sit for long periods of time lose there water barrier in sinks and shower drains, allowing sewer fumes to rise into the house. Quick fix, run the water and open the windows, spray deodorizer in AC intake. We experienced it when we arrived, but will definately rent again with Acme. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unforgettable!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had an unforgettable vacation. The house was unbelievable, we didn't want to leave! Acme is a well run operation - thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Relaxing Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 17, 2012

Me and three of my friends stayed at the Tahquitz River Retreat to attend the Coachella music festival and we could not be happier with the property. Everything worked perfectly and it was beautiful. The house is modern and well laid out. It's not a big home, but you do not notice once you are there. The backyard is exceptional.... great views of the mountains, the perfect pool, huge hot tub, outdoor fireplace, and so many sitting areas that we kept moving around just to enjoy each! The location is perfect, in a very peaceful and quite neighborhood.

We highly recommend this property. Thank you to the owners!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Geo - SoCal

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

AMAZING PALM SPRINGS HOME! My friends and I enjoyed this palm springs trip so much, we wanted to write a quick thanks! The house was unbelievable -- so beautiful and clean. We entertained like palm springs socialites! Thank you Lisa @ acme house co for setting up this dream of house for our special occasion. We will see you again soon and will definitely recommend our friends! Geo & friends

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great house! we had the best time

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

I booked this for my dad's 65th birthday... came with our family (2 young kids) and my folks. The house is gorgeous - with every amenity... very well kept, beautiful pool and hottub (the heat didnt work at first and the management company sent the pool guy out immediately to take care of it!.. turned out we were just doing it wrong). It was so much cheaper to do this than a hotel ... we had tons of space, could cook (gourmet kitchen).. it really felt like a vacation. Also, walking distance from strip mall with some restaurants and Ralphs (= convenient) and a great park/playground. Very close to town - great location. I would highly recommend. I was a little nervous when i read the review here, but think it was before the management company took over. They were really easy work with and accomodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

4th of July weekend

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

I rented this home for an extended (4 nights) stay over 4th of July weekend for myself, my 6 year old son and another couple with their 5 year old girl. The house was extremely nice, definitely lived up to expectations. There were some signs that with the owner an out-of-state person that whoever
is keeping up the house in his absence is lacking in some detail...nothing that affected the enjoyment
of our stay drastically but things like: no instructions for the hot tub/pool equipment or air conditioning systems, no trash cans outside the home except for one blue recycling bin, a swarming insect problem around the sliding doors of one of the bedrooms, night pool and spa lighting not functioning, overhead fan in outdoor cabana not functioning etc. The only real disappointment was a snippy email I received from the owners representative after me asking what the "excess cleaning" was for on my
final bill reckoning in which based upon what the cleaning crew said "excessive finger prints on one of the sliding glass doors of the living room, some of the outdoor furniture not moved back to its original position, tissues found on the floor of the master bedroom, a spill of liquid on one of the refridgerator shelves". All of which seemed to me to be pretty much basic wear and tear and cleaning to be expected after a group stays over a long weekend at a rental house. I've stayed at 4 star hotels and many many hi-end rental homes and always leave the rental homes in a much more "tidied up" condition than a hotel room but never do a full-service cleaning on the home where I'm scrubbing toilets and whatnot...This time and once before I've considered it's a racket by the in-town cleaning service that they overplay the "untidy" condition of the home in order to extract a higher cleaning bill
from the out-of-state owner. In this case it just perturbed me that the email note I received from the
owner was so "snippy' sounding...as if I'd trashed the home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 30 / 33

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review