reviews for: listing #78683 - Mission Beach, California Cottage rental

Available! Adorable Mission Beach Cottage -Victorian Charm
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $159 - $159 /nt
    $995 - $1,995 /wk

sort by:

Second time at the cottage

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

We enjoyed our first stay in 2012 and returned March 2014. The location is great and the cottage is very clean and quiet. The owner is helpful too. The laundromat is just as advertised - literally steps away at the end of the block. We would recommend it to friends and relatives. PS - Try the Fishery restaurant - great fresh fish and the beer selection is good.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

We were looking for an escape from frozen Minnesota and found a slice of heaven! The little cottage was just about perfect in every way. Steps away from ocean side or bay side lots of activity or peace and quiet. Very comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Wifi, bikes, beach gear, etc. A great value....I would recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our expectations

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Convenient location and charming decor --this beach cottage was perfect for our week in San Diego. An easy walk to great surfing and an easy bike ride to Sea World--we made good use of the 2 cruiser bikes that came with the cottage and rented 2 more for our daughters from Windan just across the street. We provisioned the cottage at Trader Joe's and enjoyed the BBQ on the cottage deck.

Robin was easy to communicate with and was kind enough to let us store our luggage at the cottage before our flight home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place! Lots of Charm.

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay at this beach cottage. The neighborhood was quite, we barbqued on the deck, and had all the toys we needed for playing at the beach. Ray's rental down the street is a good place to pick up anything extra you might need. Rubicon's Deli makes the BEST sandwiches - but they are big, try ordering the 1/2 size.

We couldn't have been more pleased and are already looking forward to planning and booking our next vacation at this wonderful cottage.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Definately Will Be Back

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

This is the best beach cottage around. It is clean, cute and laid out perfectly. It has everything you could need for a great beach vacation. Our trip included myself, husband, 15 year old daughter my brother and 7 year old neice. Perfect amount of space. It is a few steps from the bay on one side and about a 3 minute walk to the beach on the other. You can walk to eating establishments, fun shops even a full grocery store. Sea World is a short 5 minute drive and you are maybe 15 minutes from Old Town, Gaslamp and Sea Port Village. The house came with beach cruisers, beach chairs and towels and toys as well as several boogie boards. The pictures don't do this house justice it is absolutely adorable and charming. I am contacting Robin this week to make sure I secure my reservation for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Spring Break

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Location of this property is amazing. Right by ocean, restaurants, and other amenities. Robin was accommodating by letting us drop our luggage off a couple of hours before check-in. The house comes with everything you need. Enjoyed using boogie boards, bikes, and beach chairs. The kitchen also comes with everything needed to cook great meals, along with the grill on the porch. If you are looking to eat cheap you can get everything you need at Ralphs which is less than a mile away. The only down side is the different temperatures in different rooms. The upstairs is always very hot while the other bedroom is always freezing cold. Another downside is that there is only one bathroom. Lastly there really isn't a good view of the ocean/sunset from the upstairs porch, you can barely see the bay. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay. I would for sure come back to this property.

Some Tips:
-Rent a wetsuit at RADD Rentals-$40 for the week. Friendly guys and you will defenitley need a wet suit if you are swimming in the ocean.
-Eat at Saska's for sushi on Friday, Saturday, Sunday night for half price.
-The Mission has fantastic breakfast
-Ride the roller coaster

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely perfect for our family

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Myself, my husband and our 5 and 8 year old sons enjoyed a week at this cottage concluding the 11th of June, 2011. This was the perfect location on the quite bay side, a few seconds walk to the Bay and less than a minute bike ride to the oceanside. Everything we needed was a short walk or bike ride away. We could enjoy the frenzy of the ocean boardwalk then return to the serenity of our bayside area when we were "done" with the action. The Olive Cafe was spectacular for breakfast. Games and puzzles for the kids and great quick service. The cottage had everything we needed and Robin was quick to respond when we had a question or need.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great little cottage in a great location

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2011

This cottage is perfect for a beach getaway. We loved the cozy, retro feel and Robin provides everything you need. The furniture is very comfortable and the bedrooms are roomy. It is tucked away on a quiet little road, yet steps from the beach and bay. An added bonus is that Robin is a pleasure to work with and provides a smooth and timely transaction.

You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

great

Review submitted: December 13, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

It was a short stay but it was very nice i loved it very quiet clean i must come agin

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

What a FAB, FAB, FABULOUS EVERYTHING!!!

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this lovely cottage over Labor Day weekend. WOW was it PERFECT! 7 houses from the beach and 2 from the bay sounds close, as well as the map pinpoint, however you have no idea how close it is until you are there! We could not believe the location! Our first day, we went to the ocean for a quick dip and then saw everyone with boogie boards. We decided we wanted to the go back to get the boogie boards and it took a matter of minutes. I don't think even 5! It was great, as we have stayed at the Bahia before, and it's a bit more of a trek to get there...

The boogie boards and cruiser bikes were something we used every day! Not to mention the grill and of course the kitchen! This sweet cottage has it all! We will most definitely be going back with our family and friends and perhaps even just the two of us!

The decorations were so "beachy keen," and reminded us of a cabin (in a good way- we are both from the midwest), we felt so at home and loved the bright colors, the layout and great use of space!

It was a quiet area, just what we wanted, but the bars and the shops were only a walk away! There are grocery stores VERY close and a cute cafe on the corner that seemed to be jumpin' every time we walked by! We didn't go there, but it sure looked good! :) For those of you staying longer, there is a laundry mat a minute away by walking (if that), and Robin has detergent and fabric sheets ready to go!

I was sooooooooo impressed with how clean it was, the amenities and the location (includes parking for free- which is unheard of in San Diego)! I wasn't sure what would be in the kitchen, so I brought a lot of extras that I didn't need to (like a tea pot, coffee filters, saran wrap, detergent, shampoo, soap, etc), as I am a bit of an "over-packer." However, once we arrived EVERYTHING we needed was there, waiting for us!

This was a fantastic deal, a fantastic location and most importantly a FANTASTIC transaction with Robin. Now days, when renting or purchasing anything, one must be careful as there are a lot of scams out there... Robin was a pleasure to talk to on the phone, answered any of my concerns or questions, and emailed me promptly! I felt good about our transaction and knew I would have a fabulous time!

If you are looking for an affordable LOVELY vacation, I recommend this adorable mission beach cottage! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT! Our only regret is we didn't book it for an entire week! :)

NAMASTE, a very happy PHX couple

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

The location of this house is clearly
it's best feature. It's perfectly
located for beach, bay, and any San
Diego attractions. We spent every day
riding bikes along the ocean and/or Bay.
The kitchen was well equipped and
everything worked well.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: November 20, 2009   Date of arrival: November 20, 2009

Our family of 4 loved our stay at this cottage. It was the perfect size with everything that we needed. We all thought the decor was adorable - loved the upstairs "loft". We enjoyeed the proximity to the beach (maybe ten houses away), laundry mat (a few paces down the path), and Trader Joes (short drive). The house is easy-access to the major roads to get to all of San Diego's main attractions, and right on the bus route if you need to take public transportation to get around. The parking spot worked fine for us. Great recommendation for Rubios Tacos - we loved that place!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect little get away

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

We (my husband, baby and I) shared this rental with another couple and their baby, and it was perfect for us! You can't beat the location. We parked the cars and never had to drive anywhere. It was a nice walk to both the roller coaster and to Crystal Pier. We loved being on the bay side, especially with the babies, since it's more calm than the beach. But we spent 1 day on the bay and 1 day on the beach side no problem. The house comes with everything. We really only had to bring our clothes and food. Great place for our family's vactation!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 7, 2009

We had an amazing time at the cottage! Thank you for making everything so easy and efficient. We were very impressed. We would definitely rent from you guys again and will try to spread the word!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

We just loved this place - super close to the beach (both sies - Pacific Ocean and Mission bay side), grocery (for the kitchen) and laundry. It has been kept really well and was just great in terms of room and coziness. I really loved the room upstairs - kept our kids out of our hair. Two bikes were perfect for us to zip around to get stuff. Parking our car was also great - tons of room. I would definitely come here again - the owners have created a nice piece of paradise in the midst of a busy area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 4, 2009   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

Great customer service! Nancy & Jeremy went out of
their way to make our stay comfortable. The
location of this cottage is perfect. We walked to the
bay and the beach both days that we were there.
We also walked to restaurants and the grocery store
up the street. It is an old cottage, so don't stay if
you are looking for a completely remodeled unit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 22, 2007   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

We loved our stay at Nancy's Victorian Beach Cottage. We have four kids under 8 and all slept/ate comfortably during our stay. It was a little tricky sharing one bathroom, but the location was awesome. We found everything we needed to feel at home (including Costco). Loved being SO close to the beach. Also, Nancy and her staff were quick to answer all my questions. Excellent service.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 5, 2006   Date of arrival: December 5, 2006

Hi and thank you for taking the time to look for guest comments. It shows you are a savy, careful shopper and I admire that! The Victorian Cottage is the newest addition n to our exciting group of Pacific Beach rentals. I don't have any comments for it yet buy you can read the comments for my 7 Riviera Villas vacation rental condos by going to the guestbook on my website at "nancysvacationrentals" or at VRBO/18977. You will be able to get an idea of what our guests think of the Sail Bay area and of me, the person to whom you will be trusting your hard-earned money and vacation time! I hope YOUR comments will be added to the guestbook for the cottage in the near future!
sincerely, Nancy; Nancy's Vacation Rentals
Please see my website at: nancysvacationrentals

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review