reviews for: listing #78727 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean Cottage rental

Artemis Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Leeward
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $230 /nt
    $1,190 - $1,610 /wk

sort by:

Ruined vacation. Horrible rental. Stay away!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 1, 2014

My son and I arrived at the cottage on July 1st, 2014. It became immediately obvious to both of us that the rental was falsely advertised. We came across:

1. Complete misrepresentation of the rental unit.
2. Fraud.
3. Absolutely anti-sanitary conditions including health-hazardous mold all-over the house and leaking water/urine from the broken toilet (the property manager refused to send anyone to fix it).

The pictures you see here have nothing in common with what you are about to face in reality.
Bed linens were covered with blood and rust. Air-Conditioning unit is installed only in one room above the main bed which is absolutely not enough to keep the whole cottage at the comfortable temperature level. All appliances (kitchen, bathroom, bedroom vanity) are 25 years old, very dirty and extremely unattractive. Kitchen sink is exceptionally dirty, rusty and old. Refrigerator is covered with dirt and rust. Its handle is sticky and you don’t want to even touch it. The floors are covered with dirt and mold. Shower curtain is covered with black mold. Cabinets are covered with black mold and food stains. Beds are very uncomfortable. Mattress on the main bed is stuffed with something resembling hay. There is NO Internet (wi-fi) in the cottage. TV is small and functions very poorly. Beach supplies (chairs, umbrella, etc.) are broken, dirty and rusty – dangerous and unsafe to use. The whole cottage is very dark inside. It is over 25 years of age and has never been upgraded or remolded since it was first built. The house if full of mosquitoes (which makes the stay in the house additionally uncomfortable).

The cottage is totally mispriced. The listed price is ridiculously high. We visited villas around the island that are rented for exactly same amount of money. They are in pristine condition, sparkly clean, brand-new, beautifully decorated and have a POOL!
We were supposed to stay for 2 weeks in this rental. But after experiencing the conditions of the cottage we decided to stay there for only one week - just for the beautiful sea.
We gave a phone call to the owner the same evening we arrived at the cottage. She appeared to be very surprised and annoyed with our complaints. She was NOT helpful at all. The property manager was rude as well.
Unfortunately, the travelers are not given the option to post their photos of the rentals here. I have plenty of pictures that prove every single word that I’ve written here. Please, stay away from it!

Owners response: Your review of our property, constitutes a misrepresentation of the facts.
The issues you previously raised with me were: A stained sheet (it has been removed)- A tiny stain on the underside of a duvet cover (cleaned) - discoloration of the kitchen sink, and the pipe behind the toilet (cleaned) - A toilet leak (checked by our plumber). You stated that we have a mould issue. These communications are documented in our email thread.
Our property is a beach cottage, in the style of the old Caribbean. It is clean and comfortable. The appliances are older, but function well. The property is a private family cottage. We have stayed here many times with our children. They have allergies, and I have environmental sensitivities. There is no mould problem. We would never knowingly expose anyone to unsafe conditions. Your comment about the bed in the Master bedroom is untrue. There is a foam mattress on this bed.
Since purchasing the cottage, we have done a number of upgrades. All linens, window coverings, glassware and dishes have been replaced. Most of the interior has been repainted. A sofa, side tables, lighting fixtures and soft furnishings have been purchased.
I worked hard on your reservation. You changed your details three times, and I rewrote and re-sent your contract twice. I addressed all your questions in a timely fashion. In the humid Summer months, there are more mosquitoes. Specific procedures (keep the screen door closed), are outlined in our Guest Guide. A copy of this guide was sent to you well in advance.
Late on the evening of your first day, you phoned our home. You communicated a litany of issues. I indicated that I would contact my property manager, and that we would try to sort things out. She checked on you the next morning. You demanded services that we don't offer. Though outside of her assigned duties, she drove you to a local attraction, offered to take you grocery shopping, and arranged a discounted excursion. You hounded her at work and harassed her co-workers. Before your departure, you demanded that I 'order' her to drive you to the airport. I refused this request.
Upon your departure, a property inspection was done. You left it in an unkempt state. This required two days of cleaning.
-Ruth-

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect beach getaway

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking for something very easy and relaxing and this house was perfect for that. It was so close to the beach, which was absolutely stunning. It almost felt like your own private beach. Also, the location was ideal. It was close to town and literally 20 min bike ride away. We really enjoyed the bikes that the house offered. It was a his and her. :) We will cherish our time here fondly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Vacance en famille

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

Nous avons passé dix jours de rêve en famille avec notre petit garçon de deux ans. La maison est très bien équipé, super propre, confortable. Nous avons vraiment apprécié la douche extérieur, un pur plaisir à chaque matin.
La cour est clôturé, donc parfait pour des enfants en bas âge. Bien penser à amener du chasse moustique, il y en a beaucoup en fin de journée. La plage est à quelques minutes à pied et très calme.
La maison est situé dans un coin vraiment tranquille et à cinq minutes en auto d'un supermarket et des magasins.

Nous y retournerions sans hésiter. Nous nous sommes senti comme à la maison. La seule chose qui pourrais être ajouter c'est un bbq.

Merci Ruth d'avoir pris le temps de répondre à nos questions :)

La famille Pichette

Owners response: Il est tres important que nous offrons a nos clients le meilleur des vacances possible. Nous nous efforcons toujours d'ameliorer Votre experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

March Family vacation

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

For a family of 4 who enjoy a relaxed cottage atmosphere, this was rather idyllic. Quiet, safe, clean, and extremely enjoyable. There was no down side to staying here.
Eve

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A wonderful place for our family vacation

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

We planned our family holiday at the Artemis Retreat and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The place was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for our one week stay. There was plenty of room for our family of four and was a great home base for exploring the beaches, activities or just hanging out with the kids (2 and 5 years old). It's in a nice and quite neighbourhood and away from the resorts and crowds but an easy drive to pretty much anything.
Ruth (owner) was a great help answering our questions and even organized some sand toys for the place before our arrival. The property manager (Olga) was also very helpful and made sure we were comfortable.
We would definitely recommend this cottage and stay here again if (or should that be when) we go back to TCI.

A couple of notes, especially for those with younger kids looking to stay here: The closer beach access if ok if the tide is out. If you walk up a bit (past the new developments) there is a wonderful beach that is great for shells. If the tide is in, it's not very safe. We really appreciated the music player (worked with my ipod and entertained the kids) but a BBQ would be a great addition to the place ; )

Owners response: Dear Andy and Family,
Thanks so much for your input. Really glad you enjoyed your time at the cottage!
Best Regards,
Ruth and Earl

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Tranquil Cottage, 2 Mins From Deserted Beach

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

If you like cutting edge condo developments, this is not for you. If you are looking for a place to relax in quiet, beautiful surroundings off the beaten track, you should book Artemis Resort. It feels like someone's home, made with love, not an impersonal apartment bought to rent out to holiday makers. A typical Caribbean cottaged, with cathedral ceiling in the main room plus a beautiful verandah, an outdoor shower - and 2 cycles are part of the deal. Shops, restaurants and the nearest public access wi-fi are a 15 minute cycle (or a 5 minute car ride) away.

Ruth was a pleasure to do business with and very helpful when it comes to providing new sharp knives for the kitchen. The hammocks and beach chairs need upgrading but, overall, a fantastic holiday in a great location.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

What a wonderful experience!!!!! My husband and I spent last week at the cottage and loved it. The cottage was quaint and quite accommodating. It's tucked perfectly in the trees and mangroves. It felt like we were the only 2 people in the neighborhood. The bed was comfortable, the whole cottage was clean and neat and we loved the decor. It was a quick walk to the beach, which was breathtaking, and an easy drive to shopping and restaurants. We enjoyed all of the island and relished the solitude of the cottage. I would highly recommend the Artemis Retreat to anybody looking for a relaxing getaway!!!!!!!

Owners response: We,re so glad you enjoyed your time at the cottage. Please let us know if there is anything else we might do to enhance your stay the next time.

Sincerely,
Ruth and Earl

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Quiet Gem nestled among the shade

Review submitted: April 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

The Artemis Retreat was everything we thought it would be. The road to the beach was easier to access than we anticipated and the water even more gorgeous. If you are looking to be alone with only a few stragglers roaming for conch every once in a while, this is the place for you. I recommend renting a car even though bikes provided. Scooter Bob's was a good place. Food and entertainment are relatively close, but if you like to go out at night, the bike ride back gets pretty dark. Street lights line the road but few are on at times. The house itself is comfortable, spacious, and actually has 3 beds. The outside shower is awesome and everything you need to cook with in the kitchen is available. I highly recommend Artemis. Check out Iguana Island if you are interested in reptiles. And Dive Provo has a professional and friendly staff to give a novice as well as experienced diver a lasting memory.

Owners response: Glad you had a wonderful, relaxing vacation. Thank-you for your review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Artemis Retreat

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We had a great time staying at your cottage with our 2 year old. It was perfect for us and we really enjoyed being in that area of Provo, away from the hotels and near the best beaches on the island. The beaches are beautiful and never crowded. We also enjoyed being able to use your bikes during the day and we loved sitting on the patio in the evenings. I also appreciate that the kitchen was well stocked as we made use of it every day. Thanks again for letting us stay in your cottage. It was a very relaxing holiday.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our stay at Artemis Retreat

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

My husband and I chose the Artemis Retreat as the destination for our belated honeymoon. I was immediately impressed when we arrived by the privacy of the cottage. My husband and I loved the outdoor shower. In fact we loved it so much we never used the indoor shower. Nothing beats coming in from a day on the beach after dark and then getting to look up and see a sky full of stars as you shower off the sand and salt from a relaxing day in the sun.
We had the privilege of meeting Olga the day we arrived. It was nice knowing we had a contact on the island just in case.
The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. I enjoyed having the vanity in the bedroom off the main bedroom and used that area as my place to get ready for the day or to go out at night.
Eva made booking our stay a breeze and sent us a few text messages to make sure everything was as expected.
The beach chairs were a God-send. We used them every day. Even though we never used the bikes or the umbrella I think it's a nice touch having them available.
The only 2 negatives were that the couch could be a little more comfortable and the TV a little bigger. That being said we throughly enjoyed our stay and have told Eva to put us on the calender for next year. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our stay at Artemis Retreat

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

My husband and I chose the Artemis Retreat as the destination for our belated honeymoon. I was immediately impressed when we arrived by the privacy of the cottage. My husband and I loved the outdoor shower. In fact we loved it so much we never used the indoor shower. Nothing beats coming in from a day on the beach after dark and then getting to look up and see a sky full of stars as you shower off the sand and salt from a relaxing day in the sun.
We had the privilege of meeting Olga the day we arrived. It was nice knowing we had a contact on the island just in case.
The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable. I enjoyed having the vanity in the bedroom off the main bedroom and used that area as my place to get ready for the day or to go out at night.
Eva made booking our stay a breeze and sent us a few text messages to make sure everything was as expected.
The beach chairs were a God-send. We used them every day. Even though we never used the bikes or the umbrella I think it's a nice touch having them available.
The only 2 negatives were that the couch could be a little more comfortable and the TV a little bigger. That being said we throughly enjoyed our stay and have told Eva to put us on the calender for next year. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Artemis House

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

What a perfect place to spend a honeymoon! We were thrilled to arrive and find the most perfect cottage in a very private location. The most amazing beach we have ever seen was only a two minute walk from our cozy nest. All that this wonderful cottage had to offer was as promised by our thoughtful hosts. One of the big favourites was the outdoor shower, what a luxury indeed.

We did rent a car although with hind sight, and use of Artemis bicycles, that was not necessary, but did give us a chance to explore the whole island. We enjoyed the local bars, the Pink Flamingo is a walk up the beach, and Horse Eye Jacks came highly recommended with which we concur!

We would want to stay at Artemis again should we have the fortune to go to Turks again, Eva and Phillip certainly made everything very easy for us, and we had the pleasure of meeting Olga who made as feel at home instantly. For any one who enjoys the islands without being surrounded by fellow travellers, this is the place for you. Thank you for making our honeymoon as perfect as it could be.
James and Fiona

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cottage Overstated

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Having experienced the Turks-Caicos Islands on 2 previous trips, we returned to the North end of Provo. Unfortunately our choice of Armetis retreat was a mistake.the cottage looks very quaint from the outside but very uncomfortable to live in. We arrived with our grandson and my sister on July3, 2011. The first thing I had to do was fix the toilet. After the repair was made and after a long day traveling, we decided to have a cup of coffee and then onto the beach. Again I had to make a repair. This time to the coffee pot. Excited about the 2 minute walk to the beach, off we went to the beach, well our 2 minute walk was over 2 blocks only to realize we could see the beach but had no access to the beach. There's a 10 foot decaying erosion wall where you can not reach the beach. We finally found access to the beach which we drove to for the remainder of our stay. This walk was over a quarter mile, so we drove every day. A truly beautiful beach. A car is a must at the cottage because there is no services within 2 miles. The community which Armetis retreat is located in is not a gated community. Only in the evenings is there a guard on the highway and no one guarding the 7 miles beach access. The house, although charming from the outside, is very secluded and dark in the evening and offers no other security, no street lights either. There is no safety box or safe to store your valuables. Once we shut all the windows to run the air conditioner we realized that some of the windows did not evne have locks. The owner did finally have them installed. The air conditioner is enadequate for this house. One unit above the master bed. The 2 remaining rooms have no air conditioning or vents to supply the cool air. We ran the ceiling fans continuosly. There is no furniture in the cottage. The main room consists of a dinning room table with 2 chairs and 2 benches and and old 2 persons sleep sofa that sits about a foot off the floor. The outside furniture, although it looks like rotan is really plastic with pads,not cushions, very uncomfortable after a couple of days. With the rustic charm of this cottage comes all the problems of rustic. Black flies inside and out. All of our bites came while we were sleeping, bug spray before bed. I am 60 years old and have traveled the Carribean for over 20 years and have never been so uncomfortable or dissapointed in my accomodations. I have never felt compelled to write a reveiw like this before John and Beverly

Owners response: As soon as we learned about the apparent issues we did our best to resolve them immediately. The house is in a safe residential area, but we fixed the window locks the very next day. Windows are generally left open in order to allow the cool Caribbean breeze in, which is nicer than using the air conditioning. In our experience, the AC is only required on the hottest, most humid days of the year. The ceiling fans help circulate the air, and are designed to continuously. The house is in a quiet neighborhood. It is brightly lit and perfectly secure. The guards at the Leeward gate in the evening monitor people entering the area and cameras are on 24/7. We agree with the suggestion for a rental car, though most guests rent just on the days they need one. Otherwise guests use the two bikes provided for local excursions. The furniture is practical and comfortable, and fits the cottage style well. There are sandflies and some mosquitoes that appear at dusk. The usual precautions, need to be taken, I.e., keep screen doors shut, and wear socks and long pants in the evening. The closest beach access was partially eroded by a storm not long before this visit. Guest Guide contains two alternate access points, one of which is only 4 minutes walk to the beach.

Helpful votes: 11 / 15

 

Perfect Get-A-Way Cottage!

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Just got back from a week in Provo and stayed at the Artemis Retreat....would love to come back! House was fully furnished and clean! Perfect area for privacy, yet close enough to everything. There were 2 of us, but the house could definately take a couple more (probably kids).

Thanks Eva!
Ryan and Maelynn

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Artemis Retreat

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Nestled amongst the shady trees lies Artemis Retreat a beach cottage very comfortable, private and very well maintained. A 2 minute walk to the beach brings you to miles of pure white sandy beaches where the water is a powdry turquoise blue we won't soon forget. We had a great relaxing vacation - your oasis on Hummingbird Lane made it special! Bob and Diane

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Hello Diane and Bob, We are delighted that you had such a good time at Artemis Retreat. Thank you for leaving the cottage clean and tidy and thanks for lovely shells, too! Kind regads, Eva & Philip

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review