reviews for: listing #78763 - Bahamas, Caribbean House rental

Oceanfront Home w/ 14' Boat & Truck Included
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $7 - $180 /nt
    $2,200 - $3,750 /wk
    $8,000 - $11,000 /mth

sort by:

Nice getaway!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

This was our second year staying at this beach house. We returned because we loved the location (very remote and secluded, felt very safe), and it was a perfect family getaway for us. Our two young children absolutely loved playing on the beach, just a few steps outside of the back door. They had a fabulous time (so did we!) exploring the tide pools and seeing all of the wildlife - sea anemones, sea slugs, starfish, sea urchins, conch, hermit crabs - you name it! The beach itself can be rocky but you can walk for many kilometres and feel like you are on your own island. The owners have always been very responsive and quick to address any issues. Please take the advice to heart that they provide - this is a SECLUDED location and therefore you need to bring some "essentials" upon arrival; there are no grocery stores or convenience stores that are nearby. Plan on making a trip as soon as you land (or as soon as possible) to stock up on groceries, toilet paper, etc. We also found this second time more enjoyable by working with the great rental car agency the owners recommended - KSR car rentals - very helpful and courteous staff, pick up and drop off right at the airport, very reasonable rates. We wanted to do some more exploring of the island and felt more comfortable doing so in a different vehicle than the pick up truck at the house (that truck is fine for getting to and from the boat launch but probably not for touring extensively around the island with young children). Thanks again to Annie and Jody for renting their lovely home away from home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, Secluded, but had Some Issues

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We've been all over the Caribbean & rented many places on Home Away so I wanted to share our experience. It’s a nice home in a secluded village. The water is beautiful & house is practically in the water it’s so close. If you’re looking for a quiet place away from everything, this is for you. Make sure to visit Crabbing Bay Beach, our fav place on Grand Bahama, 10 min east. Annie is easy to work with, responds quickly to email & returned our full deposit.

Unfortunately we had some issues during our stay I wanted to share w/others. The home was nice but far from 5 star. There were plenty of bath towels but few beach. Most had stains or looked old & gross. Don’t count on there being much in the house when you get there. We were asked to start laundry when we left but there was no detergent. There was no hand or dish soap, detergent, papertowels, toiletpaper, etc so bring it from home or plan to spend a lot of $ for it once you get there. It’s in the middle of nowhere so get groceries for the week before going to the house. It takes an hour+ to get to the grocery. Bahama John's was closed & rumor was he went to Canada & isn’t coming back. Takeout from Zelma's 15 min away is good as is Diamond Sunrise/Doris's, 30 min, for a sit down meal. There are no other restaurants nearby. All the food is deep fried so don't expect to find a piece of grilled fish or a salad. The food was ok we just got sick of everything deep fried.

We lost power for 12+ hrs. The caretaker was nonchalant about it & offered no assistance. Bring flashlights b/c we found none in the house & he said it happens frequently. Fortunately, a neighbor from the US brought us some to get through the night.

It was all rock no sand in front of the house. We were told a recent storm washed it all away. It made fun exploring w/kids @low tide but wish we could lay/play on sand w/out having to go elsewhere.

The boat was ok but water was only calm enough to use it once. It is very small so even small waves make it unsafe. There was no fishing gear so make sure to bring some.

The truck was unsafe & should’ve been replaced years ago. One tire had dry rot & wasn’t safe to drive. There was no gas in it, we had to take our rental car to the gas station & fill a can just to have gas to drive the truck to the station. I’d guess it gets < 10 miles/gal. Don’t rely on it as transportation. Don’t use the Rev’s taxi. He charged $150 to the house but we used a different taxi to get back & only paid $80!

Owners response: Dave & future renters,

We are so glad you had such a wonderful time at our home. You are right, we couldn't get any closer to the water if we tried, the water is pristine, we are in a remote location & try to always be prompt in addressing any concerns, so let's look at a few that you had.

The fact that we are remote, that we are far from the grocery store & many restaurants, that our boat is small-14' length w/ center console, that you do need to bring fishing & snorkeling gear, that you DO need to bring ALL your provisions, such as paper goods, spices, detergents, soap, food, etc... is completely disclosed to you prior to your decision making process & again you are reminded in detail of all the things you will need to remember to have with you during your stay before you ever arrive on the island. These concerns didn't need to be issues if you had taken my detailed information to heart.

More than likely, you chose our lovely home for it's economical weekly deal (which includes the truck to put our boat in the water at no additional charge !!). Our photos show our beautiful home, but clearly it is not your 5 star/Ritz type home. Of course that type of home would & should cost you MUCH more than my home per week!

I am saddened by your comment of "all rock & no sand" on our beach. This is a totally UNTRUE statement! We have lots of sand & even tons more at low tide! Another comment of Rev. Laings transportation service being more could possibly be true. Rates by taxi services are always ever changing. I suggest all potential renters compare prices.

As a very recent review mentions, not all renters feel the way you do, I'm glad you had a good time at our home & I'm sorry we can't please everyone all the time. New beach towels are on the way! Our truck is older, but in great working order to put the boat in the water & to get gas. We also put new tires on just 8 mths. ago! I'm so sorry you had to be on the island when a power outage occured, unfortunately this happens from time to time on any island.

Bahama John was off the island & closed for a bit, but is open now & just catered a party for a renter who just left my home. She had rave reviews to share with me about our home, Bahama Johns food for her party & her complete delight with her stay!

In closing, we are delighted you had a great family vacation with us & thank you for your vacation rental.

Happy vacationing!

Annie & Jody

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

It surely is like finding paradise!!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Wow! What a perfect vacation property! The beach was amazing, the house beautiful! We had six adults in our group and the house could not have been set up more perfectly for us, the pictures on the website are beautiful but you must see them in person! Annie and Jody were great to work with, answered every little question I had, and I am a bit of a neurotic planner....it all paid off though! We brought in as much as we could from home, then Walter, our wonderful van driver, took us to the local grocery when he picked us up from the airport, then onto paradise! We had an idyllic week! The snorkelling right off our beach was amazing, the water was perfect. We usually hit Bahama Johns (say hi to John, Symone, and Peaches!) at noon for a cold beer and cracked conch, then back at 5 (be warned, this is when he closes every day) when he would happily fill our pitcher from the house with Bahama Mamas for our evening sunset. The truck worked beautifully for a little exploring, found a great deserted beach and bonefish flat not far away and a few nice little settlements nearby. Everyone we met was so friendly! Walter was the perfect tour guide, Rev. Freddie was very gracious and accomodating, the whole gang at Johns.....everyone on the side of the road had a friendly wave and smile! It took us two long years to plan and execute this vacation, it was over in a blink. I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh my gosh! You are so incredibly kind! I feel the same way about our little slice of paradise, although I haven't been able to get away for over a year to our home. Now that you have reminded me about how wonderful it is, I've just got to go in May when it isn't rented! I can't thank you enough for posting all the incredibly fantastic reasons to rent our home. Although, in fairness there can always be an "oops" here & there but we will ALWAYS do our best to help our renters with a quick response to ANY concern they may have! I'm so glad you had such a delightful vacation, especially when it was sooooooooo long in the making. I sure hope you & your guests can return again next year for YOUR sake! This kind of "high praise" does our island good, and you are right, Reverend Laing, Walter & John are the epitomy of what vacationers should remember about the hospitality of our TRULY delightful Bahamian neighbors! neighbors !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you again! God Bless!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Come back again

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Many of our guests have returned time & time again. We have had many weddings, anniversaries, re-unions & even a final "good-bye" to a cherished brother who passed away from cancer. Our home envokes the peace & serenity that we all wish for in our daily lives. But, at our home you can truly "kick back" & do just that. Thank you again for all the many years of sharing our slice of paradise to so many of you (since 2002). Fondly, Annie & Jody

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful escape

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

My family, consisting of 4 adults and 2 children ages 3 & 4, had an absolutely wonderful time at the Kelly's home in the Bahamas. It was perfect for us and the outdoor loving children. They chased sand crabs, lizards, and small colorful fish in the beautiful ocean. The house is as lovely as the pictures and Freddie was as nice and helpful as the owners said he would be. We would go back in a heartbeat!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Brandon,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I&#39;m so glad you love our home, community &amp; Rev. Freddie as we do. Hope to host you &amp; your guests again sometime.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

New Years Week 2009/2010 Vacation.

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

The pictures do not do this property and the beauty of this unspoiled beach justice. It is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen, and I have seen many. If you are looking for a place away from it all, this is it. Just prepare to take food and necessities with you! The outside grill was a bonus!! The truck was a huge convenience and worked out well for our family. Four bedrooms were needed to accomodate 6 of us and we never felt crowded. We woke to spectacular sunrises and even better sunsets, over the water from the south facing deck. My husband and others went snorkeling daily right out the back door. It is a photographers dream! My favorite part of the vacation was walking the beach to see what treasures the sea had left for us to discover. I photographed all of them, some of these things I had never seen before like a live conch, an octopus hiding in a tidepool under a rock, a giant sea slug, sea cucumbers, lots of hermit crabs, sanddollars, live sea biscuits, anemones, coral, shells, shells and more shells! we had fresh coconut milk from a tree in the yard. We walked 3 miles and did not see another person. It was the best vacation my husband and I have had. The people are the friendliest you will meet, ready and willing to help and answer any questions. The house is on the beach, sandy and somewhat rustic but very comfortable. AC works great and kitchen is well equipped. Best advise I can give would be to think ahead about your food/wine supply and plan trips to town accordingly. Bring water shoes as some of the beach is very soft sand and other areas have limestone rocks and tidepools to walk through. Can't wait to go back, we dream about it all the time!! Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven with us!

Donna

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2008   Date of arrival: January 16, 2008

PARADISE FOUND AT PELICAN POINT

ANNIE,

I wanted to write and let you know what a WONDERFUL time we had at your home in Pelican Point. Arranging the ride(s) with Rev. Laing worked perfectly, even with our flight arriving 2 hours late. Your home is welcoming and beautiful and comfortable, and from the minute we walked in we were "at home". Per your suggestion we brought most of our food from home and after the quick stop in town were set for the week, except for the occasional run for ice to Smitty's, WOW $6.50 a bag was a surprise. Your ice machine on the fridge wasn't working I'm afraid.

We visited Mcleans Town and later in the week contacted Cap't Phil there, to take us on a 4 hr. snorkeling adventure which was fantastic. What a wonderful man, to be so patient with us as we had a few first timers. I think he laughed at/with us as much as we did ourselves, trying to get the gear on. We found Bishops and he made us a "mean" Bahama Mama and we enjoyed wonderful conch fritters from across the street. We met some of your neighbors on the beach, Darren (with 2 r's), Sister Roberts and all her daughters. One of the daughters, Ali made us a delicious fish and conch meal one evening and even delivered it to us. A few nights later she also sent a mouth watering loaf of fresh from her oven bread over to us. I think she liked exchanging those for all the chocolates we had an abundance of. :)

Mid week we finally forced ourselves to leave the tranquility of our Paradise and ventured into Port Lucaya to the Straw Market for a day of shopping and playing tourists. Believe me it was a pleasure to leave the congestion, traffic and noise and return to Pelican Point !!

Just so you know, I think we made a good size dent in the conch & shell population up and down the beach !! We each brought back our favorites and per the locals made some good finds. Mary found an in tact King shell and I discovered a spider conch shell and a Sea Razor shell.

Upon leaving we contacted Natalie regarding left over food that we thought she and the Rev. may want, as opposed to throwing it out. She agreed very happily to take anything we wanted to leave, hence we did leave the fridge with food inside. We did launder all the sheets and towels and swept the place clean, as well as wiping down both bathrooms and hosing off the porch of sand. Natalie seemed quite pleased with the little bit of clean up we had left for her.

We would LOVE to return

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 30, 2003   Date of arrival: January 30, 2003

If I could live the rest of my life anywhere in the world right now, this is the place I would be. You will definetly wish you never had to go back home. Crystal clear caribbean waters, the BEST reefs, fishing & "shelling" anywhere! We would love to share a visit with you to our piece of Paradise! Our home can be your home (well, at least for a little while!).
Kindest regards,
Jody & Annie

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review