reviews for: listing #78780 - Kissimmee, Florida House rental

The White House A Unique Tropical Paradise
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Crescent Lakes
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $230 /nt
    $1,095 - $1,475 /wk
    $3,960 - $4,300 /mth

sort by:

False Advertising, Keeps Security Deposit, Scam

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

We were disappointed with the house, it was in dire need of a paint job, new carpets, new patio cushions and a good cleaning. We were asked to take garbage out with us everytime we left the place and dump it so that they did not have to deal with it. Weird, we have never been asked to do this when we have rented anywhere else. Left the place cleaner than we found it and still havent received security deposit back. Lots of excuses but we kept pestering for it. She finally sent us a cheque, IT BOUNCED. This was following a phone conversation where she gave us her word she was giving us our deposit back. Do yourself a favour, rent somewhere else. I do wonder if the favourable reviews are Sharon's family or friends because honestly, I have never felt so "scammed" in my life.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wish I Had Read These Reviews Earlier.......

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

The house was very nice, though I agree with the fact that it needed updates throughout. We had plenty of space for our party of nine, though other than the master bedroom the two additional adult bedrooms only had a twin bed rather than the queens listed. The house was in a very quiet neighborhood and backed up to a nature preserve for additional privacy, but it's about half an hour from Disney as opposed to the 15 minutes listed. The kitchen was large and accommodating, and the pool/spa were wonderful especially at the end of a long day at the parks. You definitely need to get the heat option for the pool/spa. Our biggest complaint and what brings down the overall rating is that it has been almost two months since we checked out and we haven't received our security deposit yet. The owner ignores many of our emails and when she does reply there are many excuses as to why our check hasn't been sent out. While we enjoyed the home and loved our vacation, this delay and unprofessional business practice would make us think twice about recommending this rental.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

The White House A Unique Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Our vacation at The White House was amazing! The White House was accurately described. However the pool area, which looks beautiful in the photos and sounds lovely in the writeup, has to be seen to be fully appreciated. It is amazing. We spent far more time in the pool than we had imagined we would! I loved waking up in the mornings to the sound of the fountain and waterfall in the pool. It was a very well stocked rental home with comfortable beds, nice linens and everything we could need in the kitchen. There was plenty of space for all of us to to hang out together or to find our own spots for some quiet time.
Sharon was always a pleasure to deal with and Barrie was very quick to respond when we needed help, including giving us alternate directions when we got stuck behind a motor vehicle accident in Orlando. I have already recommended this rental property to several people! The house is close enough to Disney that it's a comfortable drive, but far enough from Disney that it feels like a quiet get-away spot when relaxing in the pool enclosure. Target, Walmart, shopping outlets are all close by.
We loved our time at The White House so much that we booked for another stay!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Lorraine

Thank you for the lovely Review. I am pleased that you had a lovely Florida holiday and that The White House Florida was perfect for all your needs. Both myself and my Florida team always work hard to ensure our Guests have a great stay and want to return as you will be doing next summer. Thank you for being Great Guests and I look forward to welcoming you in Summer 2013.

Take Care and Kindest Regards

Sharon

Helpful votes: 2 / 12

 

Very nice house but issues with security refund

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The house was beautiful and enjoyed the pool. Cleaning in house could have been a little better but we enjoyed the house overall. We had huge issue with getting a response in regards feedback on the inspection of the house to receive confirmation on if and when full was going to be issued. I sent several (3) emails to Sharon for feedback on inspection and didn't get a response until after the 3rd email. Then the refund had the wrong number for my address that was on the booking documents. It was one number off. Then I was told to notify them when i receive the refund check to confirm the money was in the bank, they didn't want the check to bounce so they wouldn't have to pay bounce check fees. I eventually received my refund the 2nd week in August after at least 8 emails back and forth. I enjoyed the house but after this experience, I have NO interest in staying at this house again.

Owners response: Firstly I apologise that several weeks have gone by before my response. This is for two reasons mainly I was hospital the unexpected stay meant I was not able to communicate with my Enquirers. So that my Guests, did not end up in a panic I asked my sister to help she knows nothing of my Florida business so she did her best and sent out a reply to any Guests that emailed me explaining my situation.

The second reason I had changed my Broadband supplier and bought a new computer; just before going into hospital; since coming home there have been lots of problems which could only be describe as a nightmare. During the transition lots of emails were lost, some have now been recovered including the Notification of this Review, hence my reply several weeks later.

While in hospital this lady Guest sent me a couple of emails with her feedback on her stay and also asking about her Refund, unfortunately my circumstances gave her cause for concern, which I apologise for, unfortunately there was several days delay in responding when she was informed that I was in hospital and my sister would check with me and get back to her which she did. This Guest actually stayed in The White House from the 23rd June to the 30th July a week later than she has given.

The Security Deposit we always state that Security Deposits are returned within or just after 30 days providing of course the house is in the same condition as it was on arrival as I was in the hospital my Guests waited 38 days which I apologised for as well as for the typo on the envelope it was addressed to number 43 and not 42 but thanks to the US Postal Service it was still delivered to the right person without any delay.

My Guests are important, I want everything to be perfect for them, together with Florida Team we work hard to ensure every Guests stay is enjoyable and they take home lasting memories. If there is anything that is not satisfactory, it would have been more beneficial to me if my Cleaners could have been allowed to attend to the concerns at the time as I know my Florida Team will go the extra mile to make sure that Guests enjoy their stay at The White House Florida.

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Had A Great Time

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We had a really great time. The house had plenty of room and we had everything we needed. The pool was awesome (but the heater was not working) the kids were able to swim during the day but evenings were chilly. Barrie was great to work with. The neighborhood was quite. We enjoyed are walks to the park. Again we thank you for everything and look forward to renting again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Emily,

Thank you for the lovely Review, I am so pleased that you and your family had a lovely stay in The White House Florida. I was so sorry that the Gas Heater developed a problem, the gas heater was new only installed in October, so it was quite unexpected to find we had a problem the parts had to come all the way from California, unfortunately this meant that we couldn’t get it repaired before your holiday ended. To prevent the problem occurring again we have had what can only be called a Chimney added to the top, (I will send you a photo). At least it didn’t spoil your holiday and children still had lots of fun. I would be delighted to welcome you back to The White House Florida our Unique Tropical Paradise and look forward to keeping in touch.

Take Care and Kindest Regards

Sharon

Helpful votes: 2 / 8

 

WOW... Just WOW...

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

All I can say about this amazing property is WOW. Myself, my husband and my children all stayed at 'The White House' for 2 weeks as a new year treat. I was defiantly NOT disappointed.
Firstly the house is spotlessly clean and a pride to the owner. Its great for such a spacious place that everything is perfect. The kids loved the themed bedrooms and were defiantly not bored when it came to entertainment. They had the pool to entertain them as well as a games room with so many activities. It allowed my husband and I to actually have a break rather than worry about entertaining the kids.
There was so much to do that we stayed in most of the days by the bar and actually had some of our relatives over for a BBQ which was amazing as we do not get to see them much.
Barrie filled us in on all of the local 'special places', which my husband was delighted about as even on holiday he managed to get in a few rounds of golf at the local golf course. Its fair to say my husband loved Barrie after this revelation.
I would like to say I used the internet for work but if I am honest, I really didnt have any time for work as we just had so much to do :)
My highlights of the holiday were the Tiki Bar and spa, if you needed to find me I was most probably in the spa watching the kids playing in the pool. The kids loved the idea of their own pool rather than sharing. It was even great for my 2 year old as it was never overcrowded. The down stairs shower room made it easier to sort the kids out from the pool so they didnt have to go all the way upstairs to change.
The master room that I stayed in was fantastic. It was clean, a great size and had more than enough storage for my 2 week stay.
The kitchen had everything you needed to make a lovely meal. We didnt eat out every night so it was nice to have a meal together around the dining table as well as make lunch for the afternoons.
I can honestly say myself and every single member of my family loved our stay at the white house. I doubt the real white house has the special touches this place has.
The owner Sharon was great throughout the rental process, I had a few questions before we got there and she came back to me immediately. The best part was I received my deposit back as well as a voucher for a discounted further stay. I can assure you we will be going back, maybe for a nice birthday treat. How anyone could be disappointed with this place is beyond me. No hassle, fantastic place, people and a great holiday

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Kaley

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The White House Florida, and know your children will have taken home memories that will last them a life time. Florida is all about families especially children having a great holiday. I strive to make the whole process of staying in my villa a pleasant experience for the whole family. I feel my Florida Team especially Barrie goes the extra mile to not only support me but my Guests. Since my husband George passed away I haven’t been able to enjoy the house as much as we planned, I still plan to move out to the house someday but in the meantime it gives me great pleasure to know that others enjoy a share in our dream of a lovely Florida home. Thank you for taking good care of my home I would be delighted to welcome you and your family back anytime and hope that you can take advantage of the Holiday Voucher sometime in the future. Take Care and Kindest Regards Sharon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 

Amazing holiday and stunning home

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Me and my family stayed here from 24th February till 1st March, and I must say that we had a fantastic time, the house was spotless and the help offered from Barrie was amazing , it was our first visit to this part of the world so to know we had the help and knowledge of Barrie was very reassuring.
We had so much fun in the pool and the Tiki Bar, we never left the house most evenings as there was no need to , the games room for the children and the cooking facility's were amazing so both adults and children were catered for, plus the added benefit of the Tiki Bar !!!!.
I have no idea why anybody would want to write a negative review about this house as it is truly stunning with beautiful surroundings and the owner of the house was always very friendly when ever contacted and we received our full security deposit back along with a gift voucher to redeem against a later stay, Because of how much fun was had by all me and my family are looking to stay here again some time later this year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Danielle

Thank you for the lovely Review, I don’t request Reviews, as I like my Guests to use the villa Guest Book so this was a pleasant surprise - thank you. I’m very glad that you and your family enjoyed staying at my villa The White House Florida, the house is very dear to me and I try hard and with support of my Florida Team we always hope that our efforts give our Guests many memorable holiday memories to take home with them. I would be delighted to welcome you back to The White House Florida our Unique Tropical Paradise and look forward to keeping in touch.

Take Care and Kindest Regards Sharon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 

Best house we have ever stayed at!

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

This house was by far the favorite of any that we have stayed at! We arrived on March 1st (even though the date says April 10th as they would not let me post a review that was over a year old) and the carpets had just been cleaned. (We were the family that left right before the others came in that complained about how bad everything was. I was very surprised to hear of such complaints and that is why I am posting a review so long after my trip.) There were a couple of small spots that looked like they might have been stained but by no means were they soiled. Barrie dropped over shortly after we arrived and he showed us everything we needed to know. We absolutely loved the pool area. It was huge and very clean. The lights around the pool added a nice touch. There was plenty of space in the house for all of us to spread out and enjoy our stay. We never had any problems at the house with anything. Barrie did not try to push us into buying tickets as he actually did not mention them until we brought it up. We have stayed at several homes in the area over the past five years and this is the first house that we all agreed that we would like to come back to. We actually did try to book it for this year as well but it had already been booked. We found another house which was nice also but even the kids say they would rather "go back to the a house with the Abigail pool and tiki hut." I would like to thank Sharon for being so accommodating. We respected her home as it was ours and had no problem getting our deposit back after our stay.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Hi Kelly,

Thank you for your lovely Review I am always pleased to hear that my Guests enjoyed their stay and love The White House. Above all else I want my Guests to enjoy my Tropical Paradise as much as I do I try to be as accommodating and flexible as I can. Knowing how much you enjoyed your stay I was sorry when you contacted me about returning this March 2012 and I had no availability. Do keep in touch and I hope we can welcome you back some day soon.

I appreciate you bringing attention to how nice and clean you found the home to be especially as you stayed immediately before the Guests who were dirty that submitted the negative review. It was very upsetting but I know can’t please everyone all of the time.

Do keep in touch and I hope we can welcome you back some day soon.

Take Care and Kindest Regards. Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 7

 

A Tropical Paradise

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Sharons home this was our second visit , the first time we came was earlier in feb 2011 we were so impressed with the house, the pool the spa that we came back again in June 2011 this time we had 13 guest staying. We had a wonderful time , everyone was as impressed with the house as much as we were when we came in Feb "amazing" , Barrie and Sandra were so helpful being right next door he could just hop down and take care of anything u needed just that quick he did not try to sale us tickets, we asked and he gave us a great deal on tickets to all the parks. He helped us out with directions , and bus transportation for him being such a busy man with his mgt company he sure was there for us. Sharon was very easy to work with we let her know we were coming back as soon as we got back home in Feb so i told her to just hold on to my deposit we loved it so much we are coming back in June. The house was clean and very nicely equipped. We did not use the bar b que the first time but we paid her for it and she took it off my bill , We did not use all the money from the pool heat bill either and she refunded me that to, We had plenty of room and the bathrooms were very clean and well stocked with towels , pool towels available also the only thing i could think of that we needed was a maid and butler. We do plan to try to return to her home again hopefully in Oct 2112 if all Goes well , but if we don't get to we will go back. W e have stayed at 2 or 3 other houses but this one was the nicest for the money. Our deposit was promply returned no questions asked Barrie came and did an inspection and we left the house the way we found it we respected her home as if it was our own and i think thats the way she wants you to feal while u stay there.
Thanks again Sharon and Barrie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Marcia,

Thank you for this kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, not once but twice and that you contacted me again with dates for October.

I will pass your comments on to Barrie; he really does go all out to make my Guests stay a pleasant experience. I know I am very fortunate to have Barrie and his wife Sandra as my Care Takers, as you know Care Taking is not his main business Barrie and Sandra have their own business the Attraction Ticket Centre which specialises in tickets to all the Orlando Attractions but never once has he not been able to support me or my Guests, nothing is too much trouble for him.

I hope that your surgery is scheduled soon so that you will be fully recovered to have your Florida holiday in October, but if not I will always do my best to provide you with my best quote and availability. Wishing you a quick recovery. Take Care and Kindest Regards Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 5

 

the white house florida

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Dear Sharon, We just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful vacation at your home in florida, You were so accomadating making sure that all our needs were looked after, the house was gorgeous everything was in great working order and we cant wait to return. thanks again. Wendy C From Brampton.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Wendy,

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The White House Florida. Thank you for being great Guests and taking care of my home during your stay. I would be delighted to welcome you back to The White House Florida and look forward to hearing from you someday soon. Take Care Sharon

Helpful votes: 0 / 5

 

Update

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

I wanted to update my review. I received an email showing Sharon posted a letter to me with my deposit and it was returned to her. She has since resent the deposit and it is going to be here before christmas. I beleive there was a misunderstanding between us and we did enjoy our stay there. Which I never said we didnt. As far as the spa the caretaker did try to fix it and he was accomadating whenever we called him. It was our choice not to keep bothering him about the spa. We did enjoy the pool very much. It was much larger than any other home we had rented.

Owners response: Happy New Year,Following an illness I went away for a month therefore my comments are a few weeks late. I worked with my Guests Tonya to resolve the return of her Security Deposit the item had been returned by the Post Office I am pleased to say that Tonya received the return of her Security Deposit well before Christmas and remains a happy Guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 9

 

Says I am sending out your Security Depposit.

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

I arrived on Sept 4 to the white house. I have to agree with the other review on here. The outside of the home was dirty with some sort of bug nests. There were some stains on the carpet. Although the rest of the house was okay. The hot tub didn't work and I had called the caretaker of the home which is a gentleman who lives a couple doors down. He tried to fix it but it never worked to heat up. I paid an extra $65 for that! Also I have received emails from Sharon stating my deposit was in the mail. I will attach those as proof. It states You will receive your security deposit 30days after your departure. It is November 20,2011 and we departed Sept. 16,2011. Still no refund on the deposit. If I end up receiving the deposit back I will let the readers of this review know by writing another review. All I ask is for my deposit back like promised. I deleted the last names because it states not to leave last names.
Hi Tonya,
October 8th email
Thank you for your email, I'm having to stay in bed a lot not able to be up
for long, but I shall be doing the Refund over the weekend to post off to
you.
Kindest Regards

Sharon
----- Original Message -----
From: "Tonya
To: ""Sharon
Sent: Wednesday, September 28
ANOTHER EMAIL ON NOV 5 STATING IT WAS MAILED
Hi Tonya,

My apologies for the delay, I've been back in the hospital having had
emergency surgery. I'm so sorry for causing you concern.
I can confirm that your deposit has now been sent and should be with you
during the coming week.
I thank you for your patience and would appreciate it if you would drop me
an email when it arrives.
Wishing you a lovely weekend.
Kindest Regards

Sharon
Hi Tonya,

----- Original Message -----
November 16th email
Hi Tanya,

I hope my email finds you well, myself I'm slowly getting back to normal health and hope I might return to work next week, I will be glad to get out of the house again.

I've just been checking my bank account and notice that the cheque for your Security Deposit return has not been deposited yet. Can you confirm if it has now been received and when you might be depositing it.

I hope your weather isn't too cold yet, here in London we have been getting some exceedingly mild weather, which I'm glad we had such a harsh winter last year I don't fancy another cold one.

Wishing you a good evening.

Kindest Regards

Sharon

Owners response: Security Deposits are the Guest money held in case of damage, unless there has been cause it is return shortly after departure usually within a 4 week timescale.

At the time of Tonya Booking I became very sick in hospital and had emergency operations, my friend did email her I appreciate that it is her money and everyone is anxious for the swift return of their Security Deposit under the circumstances I felt that she could have shown some compassion and understanding. Her Refund was posted the Proof of Postage Receipt is the 05 Nov’11. During their stay there was some minor damaged done to the property, under the terms and conditions of the Booking any costs incurred for repairs due to damage will be deducted from the Security Deposit.

When they first arrived they couldn’t get the Spa Heater to come on my Caretaker responded within 10 minutes, pointed out what they had done wrong, he readjusted the controls and left them with everything working just fine; there was no further reported problems. The mud packs on the external entrance ceiling are very much a part of Florida’s many creatures and wildlife; if you love Florida as I do it is a small irradiation one has to sometimes endure. Tonya was informed that they had been treated with insecticide and a power wash was scheduled.

Throughout I have kept in contact; I scanned the proof of postage receipt and a copy of the envelope returned from the US Postal Service marked “Return to sender - attempted – not known – unable to deliver” asked her to confirm her address. I even offered to wire transfer the money to speed up and resolve this issue but she refused to give me her bank details and neither did she want to bear the costs this would involve, which is understandable.

I work very hard to make sure my Guests enjoy their stay at The White House. The villa is maintained to a very high standard and has a rigorous maintenance schedule in place. Many Guests return year after year, this year alone 2 Guests who stayed earlier in the year have returned again and 3 have contacted me with dates for next year. I have not asked anyone to place their reviews on any website, but I do keep a Guests Book and can assure any interested Enquirers that my feed back is very good; excellent the majority of my Guests love the house, love the pool and spa, think my caretaker Barrie is “one in a million” and without any doubt enjoy a wonderful holiday stay at The White House Florida.

Helpful votes: 10 / 13

 

Scam...stay away

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This lady and her caretaker run a scam business. This house was listed as 5 star yet when we arrived the carpets were badly stained, the house was full of dust, the walls were black, the patio door leading to the pool had a damaged track which made it very hard to open and close the door. The pool cover outside had no crank and was filthy. Half the pool lights did not work, the plug for the outdoor lights didn't work. We traveled with my sister and her family who also rented a house in Crescent Lakes and they would come over for dinner and swimming. Upon my arrival home I received an emailed from the owner stating she would not be refunding my security deposit because I used to much hydro and she stated I had more people staying at the home than I stated on the contract. My sister sent her copies of her rental home receipt to prove this was false and the owner then tried to say she was keeping the deposit because we did not clean the BBQ. I told her that we paid for the BBQ rental and included in that was the BBQ cleaning and were not given any cleaning tools for the BBQ. She then sent an email back saying we left garbage in the house so she would keep the large deposit for this. I would like to say that there was garbage left in the house BUT the garbage was in the garbage cans inside the garage. It was not garbage pick up day so I don't understand what she expected us to do with it? She then sent another email saying we broke the outside plug (LIE) AND we got sunscreen on a couch pillow. I was willing to pay for the cleaning of the small arm pillow because it was very possible one of my children did this but I was not aware of it. She stated that the house cleaner washed the pillow and it did come clean, but she wanted the full price to replace the pillow. She sent me a hand written bill for the hydro but refused to send me a copy of the ACTUAL bill to prove she was charged what she stated. She would send email after email claiming different things as to why she was keeping the deposit. I think she does this because she knows her home is not in 5 star condition and she tries to "get you" before "you get her". I would also like to say she states she has a management company looking after her home (LIE) its a neighbor who tries to sell you Disney tickets. She also told me that if I leave bad reviews she would black list my name with other renters. I did some investigating and found out that her home inspections have failed in the past, not surprising!

Owners response: I pride myself in being a responsible Owner professional and I certainly feel my customer service is beyond question as my many Guests will support. I work very hard to see that the whole experience of renting a villa for many their first time from initial enquiry to long after their stay is pleasant. With the support from my Florida team a wonderful couple my Guests are constantly telling me that Barrie is “one in a million” they go the extra mile to ensure my Guests enjoy their stay, and my Cleaner who keeps my home to the high standard I insist upon. In addition we have a regular maintenance schedule for jobs that can’t be done weekly like steam cleaning the carpets on the 29th of February to make The White House Florida a perfect holiday villa choice.

These Guests thought they could do as they pleased because they paid a rental fee. Not once did they complain or report anything wrong. They broke the terms and conditions of their contract on so many points. They were DIRTY people who soiled the beds with urine, and instead of putting fresh linen on the bed and washing the other set after all the house is self catering, they put clean sheets on top of soiled sheets and slept in them. Added to this they had other family members come to stay this was supported by the fact that they had used the spare rollaway beds every set of linen, left excessive rubbish instead of putting it out for collection, and running up higher than average utility bills. Despite what she says Guests are not charged for electricity and gas only for the heating of the pool and spa.

When challenged they denied everything I was informed “we don’t care what we do when we’ve rented a villa my sister stayed in a hotel when their villa rental came to an end but spent the days by my pool” but would not provide me with a receipt. This could have meant my Florida State License as a Short Term Rental being withdrawn.

Due to the condition they left my home in, breaking the Terms and Conditions of their contract along with some damage they were informed that they would not receive a full refund of their Security Deposit.

I tried for an amicable solution and offered them a small refund back but they are banking on this review that they will receive their full Security Deposit back so that I avoid anymore bad reviews. I don’t believe any other Owner would welcome these people as Guests. I’m just glad that the majority of my Guests are not like them. Sharon

Helpful votes: 29 / 30

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review