reviews for: listing #78805 - Maggie Valley, North Carolina Cabin rental

SPECIAL: $129/day Mon-Thur; 2 min from MV County Club
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $149 - $199 /nt
    $849 - $1,000 /wk
    $3,199 - $3,499 /mth

sort by:

Great, great place!

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

No mountain climbing, easy access and very clean (beautiful cabin) and the dogs loved it!!! Bob was an easy contact. Handicap access (which our baby bulldog enjoyed). I would recommend this to everyone---- skiing is just down the road. The creek sound is very soothing.

Thanks,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Jimmy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jimmy, Kimberly and I are very happy that you enjoyed our place. I'm glad you found the ski resort so close and that our cabin was so enjoyable. We love it and appreciate your nice comments and hope to see you again, Bob

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hiking Heaven

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

Beautiful cabin, good location. Listing was accurate. Dr. Bob was very responsive. Close access to Blue Ridge Parkway and lots of hiking trails. We would recommend the cabin to anyone who likes to spend time in the mountains.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Gayle, thanks for much for your kind comments. Kimberly and I are very happy that you enjoyed staying at our mountain cabin. It was nice talking to you both before, during and after your stay. Please do come back, we would love to see you again, Bob

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin and Atmosphere

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation in MV and appreciate the beautiful accommodation provided at Bear Foot Creek. The cabin is exactly as described by the owners, only more than I imagined with all the beautiful furniture and décor. Our son and his family joined us there for 4 wonderful, relaxing days. The creek outside our bedroom lulled us to sleep every night as well as provided many hours of fun for our grandchildren. My only regret is that I wish we could have had more time there. Thank you to the Beidermans for sharing their home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi DeJuana, I am so happy you all had a nice trip to our Mountain home in Maggie. You arrived at a perfect time for the Changing of the Seasons! It was absolutely splendid this year. The creeks on side are so enjoyeable. Please do come again; remember all returning guests receive an automatic 10% discount when they return! A lot of our summer guest are becoming regulars now, so come on back!!

Bob and Kimberly Biederman

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquil

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in MV many summers. We have whittled our list down to some very important requirements (to us); such as: a creek, a covered porch, AC, dishwasher, and if possible, a swing. Bear Foot Creek had it all and more. We long for time away from HOT Florida next to a babbling creek and this home had two.
The pictures depict the cabin beautifully (except now it has a 3man swing on the front corner of the porch next to the creek). It is light filled and not dark inside--important to us being from Florida.
When we arrived it was impeccably clean and not at all pretentious. There were many extra 'homeowner' details that were so appreciated.
We didn't really eat out much, but always enjoy Butts on the Creek and Hurley's both having creekside seating.
AT&T doesn't pick up a signal there so that was disappointing to no fault of the house or the owner.
Bob and Kimberly were always very informative and helpful with any e-mail beforehand and we have ALREADY recommended it to friends.
It was a wonderful location and probably fully accessible in the winter as it's not up on a mountain top. Easy to get to and wheelchair accessible which made it nice to not have to finagle our small blind dog up and down steps.
The covered porch extended the living space when it was rainy which gave us the opportunity to enjoy the outside and the sound of the creeks. We never knew the 'real world' was experiencing a heat wave in mid-late July when we were there because the night time temps were in the low 60's and the daytime temps were in the low 80's--JUST PERFECT!!
Lots of fun memories and truly a wonderful home. Thanks, Bob and Kimberly!! We hope to return soon!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Rebecca and Neil,
Kimberly and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you enjoyed all the new amenities we have added. The new 3-man swing is wonderful to rock on and listen to the creek flow by while sipping a nice cold ice tea. I hope you enjoyed the handmade bear bench and the fireplace by the creek too! Come join us again. Remember, returning guests and/or their families receive an automatic 10% of their next visit! Take care, Bob and Kimberly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Majestic Cabin

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

Bob and Kimberly,
We had an absolutely wondeful time at the cabin. Thanks so much! There was just a hint of snow the first day and then we had quite a snowfall. The scenery was breathtaking. The cabin is immaculate, comfy cozy and so homey. The furniture is exquisite, like a high-end mountain resort. The beds were beautiful with the comforters. Especially the queen and king master. The upstairs sofa was just fine (not sure what the other folks were complaining about). The Ski resort is 3 minutes down the road and easy to get to as is your cabin.We went skiing 3 days straight and had a blast coming back to a cozy fire and warm cabin. We loved the place and have already made reservations to return next month.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family Christmas

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Our family enjoyed this vacation rental. It was a great place for us to spend Christmas together. It is a beautiful cabin and great location. The only disappointment was that the 8 of us adults could not sleep comfortably as the upstairs sofa bed mattress in bedroom is very thin and springs press into back. I called the caretaker our first morning about possibility of swapping that mattress out for another one. He told me that he would check storage, but we never heard back from him. The sofa mattress on loft bed has quilt top and did sleep comfortably. After 5 nights sleeping in a lounge chair (so my father could sleep on the living room couch as he willingly gave up master bed to my 96 year old grandmother) I have to admit my back was hurting. But, even with not great sleeping arrangements, we had a wonderful vacation with lots of memories made.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Davis, I am glad you enjoyed your stay! We enjoyed having you. We have changed out the mattress on the upstairs although this is the first time we had had anyone offer that suggestion. It appears too many people were trying to sleep on the bed and that may have been a contributing factor. I am glad all of you had a nice time spending a fun Christmas at our place with all of the snow! Thank you, Bob and Kimberly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Maggie Valley Cabin

Review submitted: December 2, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Fantastic cabin. Exactly as advertised. Beautiful location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Home

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

We recently returned from a trip to this beautiful home. I want to give props to Bearfoot Creek, because of the many homes that I have rented over the last several years, this surely ranks as one of the best. The reasons are simple - the home was very very clean, the furnishings are beautiful and comfortable, the location is centralized and convenient, and the owners are great to deal with. Over the years, I have rented homes for my young family that look good in the photos, but are far less attractive upon arrival. This is not the case here - everything works, the beds were great, and the place was very clean. My wife and I brought our 3 year old boy and 1.5 year old girl and it was perfect - we walked along the creek at sunrise, took them up to Cattaloochee for their first ski experience, and even hit the National Park for a hike. We hope to return in the near future. Thank You Thank You!
Erik J.
Atlanta, GA

Owners response: Thanks Erik,

We are very happy that you and your your family enjoyed our place. We think we are in an ideal spot, close to Catalooche Ski and Ghosttown as well as just off the beaten path next to the rolling creek so you can escape! As you found out, its a nice place to relax and get away from it all for a while. I'm glad you found us.

We hope to see you again soon...and I will always remember that Saturday on the phone!!

Bob

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a fabulous time!

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2012

Greetings:


Wanted to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful home in Maggie Valley. We have never slept so good and had so much peace. Your home is so comfortable and well built. Love the large wrap around porch. Also, love the Cross in front top of the house facing the street. That made it even more special. Our daughter and her husband enjoyed it also. We let them have the whole upstairs and was private for them and us. Thank you for renting it to us and we took care of things inside like they were our own and left it in good order. Rachel and Jim

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing Cabin

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

This was the perfect cabin location for us.We loved sitting on the porch swing and rockers and enjoying the peaceful and beautiful outdoors. It only had a couple cabins near and was surrounded by streams and trees & felt quite secluded. Our "joggers" and dog enjoyed the easy walking along the road into town or back toward more cottages and farm land. The cabin inside is beautifully decorated and comfortable for seating. It was easily accessible to the shops in Maggie Valley. The Blue Ridge Parkway and mountain hiking were right up the road 10 min.& Cherokee is directly over the mountain for deeper access into the Smokey Mountains. We had a picnic on the river in Cherokee & saw the Indian Village with its presentations. It was well done and next time we will definitely plan to see the play, Unto These Hills. We visited Billtmore Mansion in Ashville.- well worth the money. At dusk, at the beginning of the Newfoundland Gap road near Cherokee , we saw an male elk with all the antlers within 10 feet walking along the edge of the road. I'd choose to go see elk there over Cataloochee because the 13 mile up and down the mountain road is unbelievably narrow curvy and steep with no railings or edge at all. We'd love to return to the cabin with family to relax and enjoy more of Smokey Mountains.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thankyou Evelyn. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us at Bearfoot Creek Cabin. Those creeks are so much fun to be so close to; we go fishing and have had a nice NC trout supper not t0o long ago. Nothing like 10 minutes from the Stream to the Skillet!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Nice Retreat

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

I went to the cabin for a quiet personal retreat. I loved it! It was nice,clean, and quiet. I enjoyed being able to go for long walks, retreat inside the cabin for a nice quiet time of reflection and prayer, and go shopping in Waynesville downtown area. The local people are very friendly and helpful. The cabin itself is a perfect getaway. The streams across the street and beside the cabin ofter such a nice touch. I would love to go back when it is warmer and enjoy the outdoor amentities more. It would have been extra special if it had been warm enough to open windows, sit outside on the deck and use the picnic area. All in all a lovely retreat! Thanks Bob and Kimberly for sharing your cabin with me!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are vey happy that you enjoyed your time and that we were able to share our cabin with you. You are welcome back at any time. Remember, you and all you friends that you might recommend will automatically be eligible for a 10% discount upon your return. Thank you, Bob and Kimberly

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Bearfoot Cabin Stay

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Dear Dr. and Mrs. Biederman,
We enjoyed our week. We spent most of our time on the porch enjoying the swing, rockers, nature and the creeks. You have an awesome vacation Cabin. We loved the woods, the rustic charm and all the beds were very comfortable. Your location is simply IDEAL.
We did not have rain the entire week so the shrubbery and flowers were begging for water so I watered them for you. Thank you very much. We would like to return in the Fall sometime for the Changing of the Colors.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

2 families from Florida

Review submitted: September 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

The cabin was neat and clean. The neighborhood was open and not crowded. We stayed at this cabin in last week of April 2011. There was one full bedroom with a huge closet upstairs as well as a loft with a sleep sofa. The upstairs bedroom had a sleep sofa in it that we did not use. If a child needed to sleep near the parents, this would work. The king-size bed in the upstairs bedroom was uncomfortable. It seemed to have uneven, bar or beam-like support underneath the mattress. The kids sleeping on the sleep sofa in the loft said they slept fine. There was a full bathroom upstairs. The downstairs had a full bedroom and bathroom. The downstairs king-sized bed seemed to be a bit more comfortable. The kitchen was useful and open to the dining and family room. This was nice to be able to spread out but still spend time together. The wrap around porch was great. It had rocking chairs and 2 seat chair swing. Great for reading, relaxing, listening to the stream flow. There was a propane fueled fireplace, but we did not get to try it. It was under maintenance when we stayed. There were shops and restaurants as close as a half a mile and more the further you walked. There were mountain housing areas across the main hwy that we enjoyed walking thru. The start of the those walks or hikes were within a half mile to mile from the cabin. The hike thru the housing areas could last as long as you would like them to. There were many streets to walk up and down.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Bryan, thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Since you stayed at our cabin many months ago we have added a few more features such as a picnic table and a large 4 person "hidden bear bench" (on one side you see a bear coming out of a wooden stump and the other side you see his tail and legs. There are two bears with a large seat for 4 on top of them! It weighs 2-300 pounds). The picnic table and bear bench are positioned near a new fire-pit overlooking the smaller feeder creek perfect for marshmellows. Since you left there are now brand-new sidewalks that stretch for several miles across the street parallel to the main creek (Jonathan Creek). They are fun to walk along as the creek rushs by. This weekend we installed all this as well as night lighting to make your outdoor experience even brighter! We remain one of the nicest hand-hewn Log Cabins in Maggie Valley! Our wrap-around porch is now handicap accessible.

So Maggie is growing and there are even more events to enjoy; do come back again.

Thanks, Bob and Kimberly Biederman

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Peace & Quite

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

I drove up from Mobile and my daughter & her family drove down from Knoxville. We absolutely loved your cabin, It was awesome; roomy, well decorated, clean, all the comforts of home (very comfortable beds). We enjoyed the stream across the road very much & were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the creek that flowed next to the cabin as well. Your cabin is very centrally located to various attractions (Waynesville, Bryson City, Cheerokee). We finally found the new Wal-Mart in Waynesville halfway through our stay (funny story-GPS Recalculating). We had an awesome time and so looking forward to another trip soon. Thank you . . . The Carter Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Log Cabin in the Sky!"

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Hello Bob,
I'm writing this note from a room in St. Croix. I arrived Wednesday and the island is truly beautiful. But I just had to stop, sit down and share how wonderful our Maggie Valley experience was! We drove up from Pinehurst, our older sons drove up from Atlanta and we were simply "mesmerized" by your "log cabin in the sky!" (Although Ghost Town had been a long time family spot for us, and it was sad seeing it in it's current state, your home was a true blessing). We were truly "away from it all" and were able to really enjoy one another even as we enjoyed all that beautiful wood from the ceiling to the floor. As you said, the stream makes for great sleep--and we even had a thunderstorm to contribute a few raindrops of tranquility one evening! I could go on and on about our time away from home, but I must say that your gift to our family truly enabled us to enjoy a home away from home!


Thanx Again,
Paul, Sharon, Kent, Drake, Anna and Greene


P.S. We're already planning for next year!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Beautiful property

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

This cabin is just as advertised. It is beautiful inside and out. The swing and rockers in front of the house by the creek is a nice touch to view the river flowing across the street and hear the creek beside the cabin. The inside of the cabin is very tastefully decorated with upscale furniture and the kitchen countertops were absolutely gorgeous. The manager was very nice and helpful, and the place if very clean and well-kept. We can't wait to go back. Thank you Robert and family for sharing your beautiful property with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sherri, thank you for yor kind comments about our new Cabin. I am glad you had a chance to come visit us and see some Southern Hospitality. I just installed the 3 man convex-shaping wooden swing as well as the rockers so you can literally rock and swing for hours watching the creeks(s) drift by-even watch a NC trout get caught! Both creeks really give our place a spectacular sound, look and feel that is unique; not many places can boast 2 creeks on one property-I am glad you had that same experience that drew us to this spot in the heart of Maggie Valley. We'd love to have you back as our guests, Bob and Kim

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best of times with my family

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

Sorry about the late review but better late than never. I almost didn't post out of greed, wanting to keep this location our little secret, but anyone traveling to this area should know that this cabin is one of the best in Maggie Valley. We want to thank Robert and his family for the rental of their fine Mountain Cabin. My grandparents are in their 80's and the handicap ramp was wonderful. The cabin was great and has everything needed for your stay. the cabin is close to everything my family enjoys in Maggie Valley, Waynesville, and Cherokee. The cabin is in a great location and I was able to walk my JJ several times a day down the sidewalk in the community. Oh, and there is a stream!!!!!!! JJ had a ball trying to fish.

We just hope we can return in 2011 and that Robert and his family will have us.

Thank you Robert and family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Harold, thanks very much for your kind comments. You were the first to use our newly installed handicap ramp; I am thrilled that you liked it-we put a lot of work into it. I am glad you took a moment to post your generous comments and I hope that you all come back soon; we've been working hard since you left with even more attractions in and out of the house! Thansk, Robert and Kimberly

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Spectacular place on the Creek

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2010

Phenomenal! What a place! My husband and I went away on a Dream Vacation and fell in love with your Cabin. We simply were in awe with the beautiful layout, the cute loft and high ceilings, the wonderful furniture and the truly, hand-hewn logs, just as you described. The kids and I played in the creek, so did the dog. We saw quite a few fish and only wished we knew how to fish. The little creek off the bedroom is so enjoyeable to fall asleep to and it's so peaceful at night rocking while listening to nature. We walked to the little quaint shops just as you said we would, that was fun!

Bob and Kim, you know we like it because we have just booked another week for later in the summer. The only thing I would recommend is for you to charge more as your place is understated for the value of your competitors in Maggie that we have stayed at before(but wait till we stay there again to raise the rates!).

Again, many thanks for opening up your home to us, Julie

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

Bob and Kimberly,

Thanks so much for letting us use you beautiful cabin. My 4 year old loved her first experience with skiing and tubing. I loved the much needed R&R. We were snowed in Friday for most of the day but things cleared by around noon Saturday. I was so grateful your cabin was the closest to the street as several of your neighbors could not get down the unpaved street Saturday.

Again,
We had a great time and would love to see the area in the summer.

Thanks again for everything,
Shannon Norris

Hi Shannon, Thx for your kind words, we are glad you all enjoyed our cabin. It is a wonderful place to escape.

Thx,

Bob and Kimberly

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

THANK YOU!!!! Your home was wonderful! Perfect!!!
Jan 20-24/2010
Gina Crosby

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2009   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

Bob and Kimberly: It's a wonderful cabin, we especially liked the sounds of the waterfall. Thank you, Eric, Colleen, Briana and Evan

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2009   Date of arrival: October 22, 2009

Kimberly and Bob: Delightful cabin and surroundings, Blessings, The Santos's

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 21, 2009   Date of arrival: October 21, 2009

Bob and Kimberly, we enjoyed the cabin, great location to see things in the area. It is a short drive to most all of the attractions. The creek flow and noise of the water is so relaxing. Thanks, John and Audrey Kennedy

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

Bob and Kimberly, Very nice cabin. We enjoyed the colors and the snow in the mountains, thanks. Charlene and Betty Cheney, Fort Lawn, South Carolina

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: September 25, 2009   Date of arrival: September 25, 2009

Dear Bob and Kimberly:

Michelle and I would like to thank you for a wonderful stay at your beautiful cabin. We had a wonderful time in the Maggie Valley area and Waynesville.

I was able to take many beautiful pictures of the area, my wife enjoyed the trip to see the elk up close and personal and our two-year old daughter was able to see many new sights and sounds with her first trip to a mountain area.

It was very tranquil to sit outside at night on the deck and listen to the streams flowing past. We look forward to our next stay at your cabin very soon.

God Bless

Dave & Michelle Soderberg

Owners response: Hi Dave and Michelle, we are very happy that you all enjoyed yourself. That's a wonderful way to remember her first trip. She liked the Elk outside, and you all the Moose inside? You are welcome back anytime! Bob and Kimberly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

We have stayed in a lot of wonderful homes in Maggie but this exquisitely beautiful cabin leaves the others wanting. The furniture and tasteful furnishings are superb! The kitchen is so perfect! Bob and Kimberly, you are correct, the 2 creeks put you right to sleep in a way I couldn’t imagine possible-even our kids went fast asleep. My husband and I rocked for hours on the porch with the fans spinning above us. The 3 TV's are a nice touch. My daughter caught a fish that we will send a picture to you as well. The loft is so much fun and that High Country furniture is all you said it was and so comfortable! Thanks for all the hints on things to do that you left for us. We are coming back-we cant wait!

Owners response: Rachel and Daren, Thanks for the nice comments. That looks just like a NC trout! I think I caught him once before! The porch and the sounds of the creek are really high points for Kimberly and I. Thanks Bob and Kimberly

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

Bob and Kimberly, we absolutely loved your place. It was everything you said it was and more. The creek(s) really are beautiful and whispering so they helped us all (even the kids) go to sleep to the sounds of the waters. The cabin is spectacular with gorgeous furnishings-it is like a 5-star Hotel. You all have done a wonderful job decorating. I loved the kitchen; the counter, as you were saying, is marvelous to use and to look at. The loft is heavenly. The whole place is roomy and oh so liveable-we hated to leave last week. We are coming back next year-save us a spot! Ps. Maggie community is superb.

Owners response: Hello, we are happy that you enjoyed our place, it has a lot of Southern Charm. We did spend quite a lot of time and effort decorating; I'm so glad you all liked it. Kimberly and Bob

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review