reviews for: listing #7888 - Puerto Aventuras, Yucatan Villa rental

5-9 bedrooms of Luxuriously Casual Oceanfront
  • bedrooms  9
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,236 - $17,850 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Bucket List

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Doug, I just wanted to take a couple of moments to say thank you. I have just returned home to frozen Winnipeg from your slice of paradise and I have to say last week was one of the highlights of my 36 years. The villa was everything we hoped for and so much more. Even with our group of 13 we never felt crowded and it was easy to find a spot away from everyone for peace and quiet. The villa was immaculate and spacious and felt like a home, not some cookie cutter rental property. The staff was very warm and friendly and always had a smile for us. The food the ladies prepared for us was fantastic as well and each night was a new treat. Some of our group was concerned that Puerto Aventuras was going to be too far off the beaten path but soon found that everything we could want was within easy walking distance. I have to also recommend a few of the area attractions. My wife and 8 year old son enjoyed an afternoon they will treasure forever when they went to the Dolphin Discovery. They got to swim with dolphins, manatees, sea lion and even sharks. The facility is well run by very knowledgeable and friendly trainers. A few of us also booked a fishing charter through Capt. Rick’s and went for an afternoon of fishing. We met Leo on the docks and he looked after us like we were family. We went out with Capt. Lala and his 1st mate. As it turned out the fishing wasn’t spectacular on that day, but we still got a couple and had great fun. They also run a first class operation. I spent a few days snorkelling right in front of the villa and have to say it was simply breath-taking. A number of our group had booked snorkelling charters to various reefs in the area, but all came back and said they saw more and in greater numbers right out front. I could go on forever about all the great experiences we had at Brisa Caribe, it helped me cross many items off my life’s “bucket list”. Thank you, and hope to see you again. Feel free to use this email or parts of it for your comments page if you like, I meant every word. Sincerely, S Groves, Feb. 2012

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Week of Unforgettable Memories

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

The house was amazing, spacious, beautiful and very very clean. There were people in everyday cleaning up after us which was a nice touch, especially when you have a group as large was we did. We had people come in and prepare breakfast and dinner for us, which I highly recommend if you can, because the home cooked meals were amazing. Every guest room had their own bathroom, which again comes in handy with a group as large as ours. Before the trip I was a little hesitant when I found on the map the villa was a ways from the town, but in truth Puerto Aventuras is small enough that almost everything is within walking distance. Of course a golf cart comes in handy. I came to celebrate a friends wedding and have to say it was an absolutely perfect week. L. Whan. Feb. 2012

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Special Thanksgiving

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Dear Doug, I want to thank you for renting your very wonderful villa to our extended family. All of us had a very special Thanksgiving week, one that we will remember and talk about for years. I must say, the villa is so well equipped that we did not lack for anything we needed. Especially, I do appreciate all the baby gear (pack'n'plays, highchairs, monitors, toys, strollers and gate) that you had set out for us. That made handling the little ones so much easier. Already, family members have requested that we make a return visit. Just what I was thinking! We definitely shall be back, but probably not until 2013. I received your refund check last week. All was fair. Just wanted you to know that it was such a pleasure doing business with you. Thank you again, Jan J 11/19-11/26, 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Converging From 4 Continents to Celebrate

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Converging from 4 continents to celebrate, anniversaries, birthdays and being together. Walking into the ambiance of rooms reminiscent of lands many of us have been to and viewing the artefacts & decorations so thoughtfully designed for each room. We frolicked in the swimming pool, gathered in the Jacuzzi, played volleyball on the beach and barbequed in glowing moonlight. The God of rain blessed us by not showering us with his might till the last evening when he showed us his glory in spectacular bursts of thunder and lightening. Our grateful acknowledgement and thanks to the staff who so efficiently and graciously made each day flow smoothly and to the cooking staff who satisfied us with tasteful cuisine of this country and introduced us to a variety of new foods. For a vacation we will remember with heartfelt pleasure. Prashant B, July 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gem On The Ocean

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

After a few years of vacationing on the Mayan Riviera, we finally got to stay in the gem on the ocean!! Everything was picture perfect including the meals prepared by Sera, et all. Mary K, July 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gem On The Ocean

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

After a few years of vacationing on the Mayan Riviera, we finally got to stay in the gem on the ocean!! Everything was picture perfect including the meals prepared by Sera, et all. Mary K, July 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Time to Mexico

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Thanks for sharing your wonderful villa with us. This is our first time to Mexico and it will definitely not be our last. My family and I would like to thank you, all of your staff for the attention they gave to our needs... bedding, cleaning, etc. We had lots of firsts. - Deep sea fishing - Swimming with turtles - All of the great Theme Parks. Thanks again.. Ron, Nadine D. Kelowna BC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Full of Neat Things to See

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

This house is so full of neat things to see. All of the decorations you have collected is quite something. The iguanas outside I will never tire of looking at. There are 2 cats I've seen come through here once in awhile as well. So many crabs too.. from small to a large one we saw in the rocks by the waterfall. It was all so amazing.. thank you for the memory. Lori K. Calgary AB. May 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lived Up To It's Billing & Some

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We had a tremendous week. Brisa Caribe lived up to its billing and then some. You have a wonderful Villa that has obviously had a lot of energy and thought put behind it. You should be very proud. We all regretted the swiftness with which Saturday morning arrived and we had to take our leave. We will all carry very fond memories with us of the wonderful time we spent at Brisa Caribe. B. Sharp, May 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Vacation I've Had

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Doug, Thank you for the beautiful accommodations. The villa was more than I had expected. Everything was fantastic: food, weather, culture, scenery. Not only was this the best vacation I've had so far, this was a time for our whole family to get together for my youngest sister's wedding. We would definitely come back. Kimberly F. April 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Outstanding Property

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

My husband and I rented this villa with 7 other couples to celebrate his 50th birthday. I must say it was fabulous. I researched many properties before I chose this one and we couldn't have been more pleased when we arrived on site. As nice as the website pictures are, the villa is much more amazing in person. With 8 couples on the property for a week, we found that we had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy ourselves without feeling as if we were ever in anyone's space. I would suggest that you take advantage of the cook Tina that the villa owner recommends. She does a fabulous job, is very flexible, and is definitely worth the price so that you can enjoy the wonderful setting that this villa provides. We found that the best place to do grocery shopping was Wal-Mart in Playa del Carmen (don't even waste your time with the Sams Club there). There's a little taco house next to the Pemex gas station at Puerto Aventuras gated entrance where you can take very good fish tacos to go (great for lunch). One of the biggest things we were so pleased with is the location of the villa. Our entire group would have been happy to stay on the property for the entire week and not go anywhere but it is so easy to get to Tulum, Akumul, Playa del Carmen, Chichen Itza, and all the cenotes the area has to offer that we couldn't resist an excursion or two. You're not far from anything that you might want to do. When we got home from our trip and thought about the stay at Brisa Caribe, we couldn't think of one single thing that could have been better about this property, and we have pretty high expectations. We would definitely return to this villa and wouldn't consider staying any other place when we come back to the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More Impressive in Person

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Doug, We had a great time at your villa. It was the perfect choice for us in terms of accommodations and location. Brisa Caribe is even more impressive in person than in the photos on your website. The most surprising thing was the ideal location. So much is within a 20 minute drive north or south. Everyone in our group was very satisfied with our experience and would return. Tina did an excellent job taking care of us and she was very flexible with her menu choices…that was a big plus. Your staff did a very nice job as well. Thank you for your prompt attention to returning the security deposit. Best regards, Regina J. March 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Memory Not Forgotten

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

This is a fabulous spot in paradise. The location with all its beauty takes you away from reality for but a short while. This place, Brisa Caribe, is more than a dream because you live it. The accommodations here are top notch and the staff that takes care are excellent. Thank you for opening your home to us, it will be a memory never forgotten !! Brian & Kelly G, Cour d'Alene ID, Jan. 2011

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Not One Word of Puff

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

For a large party I can't imagine a better location. The home is well laid out and comfortable. The services fantastic. The cooks were wonderful. We did not do a lot of tourist things because we simply did not want or need to leave the beautiful Brisa Caribe. Read about this place online and know that there is not one word of puff in the description. It is really as beautiful and wonderful as it is said to be. D. Klaich November 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As Advertised or BETTER

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

After a year of anticipation for our Dream Vacation, Brisa Caribe was everything we hoped it would be! Everything in this wonderful place is 'AS ADVERTISED' or better. A perfect tropical paradise to share with our family. Thank you for thinking of everything so we did not have to think of anything.. Tyson, Michon, Daniel, Delialah, C. November 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the Comforts of Home

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

The Villa is beautiful and has all the comforts of home! The location is obviously perfect too! Tina, does an amazing job cooking each morning and evening! The housekeeping staff cleans and you don't even know they are there...thanks for a super week, again... Cathy K. October 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories Made - Love Shared

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We were all ecstatic to learn of our trip to Mexico especially once we had all researched this amazing beach house that we were staying at. Your house was even better in person, absolutely BEAUTIFUL !! Although this house is big enough to spread out in, more often than not, we all found ourselves together by the pool or on the roof drinking coffee in the mornings -- the sunrise is unbelievable from up there !! After spending a week here, Brisa Caribe went from being your home to becoming our home  - a place where many memories are made and much love is shared.. Muchas Gracias Merida Family Vacation, October 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Special Place for 40th Birthday

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2010

Dear Doug: We wanted to thank you for sharing your amazing Brisa Caribe with us. The house was absolutely fabulous with an administrator, staff and cooks to match! We had an unbelievable time, everyone was so comfortable, relaxed and happy the entire week. Thank you, Andra and Vickie for all of your patience and flexibility in working with us as we planned our 40th birthday celebration. Your recommendations were perfect, the massages, the restaurants, the cooks – Tina blew us away!!! You truly do have a special place and we are thrilled to have been able to spend a week making unforgettable memories there. Sincerely, Joe and Jennifer C, Houston, TX. September 23, 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I Miss Tina's Cooking

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Hi Tina: Oh, no!? We are back home - It's breakfast time and no fresh orange juice - no tray of fresh fruit - no delicious eggs with yummy veggies and spices.? I MISS TINA !!!!!!? I guess I'll be dishing up my own yogurt this morning but with fond memories of your wonderful cooking and beautiful presentation.? Everything was perfect at Brisa Caribe, but you were truly the "frosting on the cake" for me and the element that made it a real vacation.? A thousand thanks and best wishes for a pleasant visit in your homeland. I look forward to seeing you again. Fondly, Judy
Hi Doug: Wow - we aren't the party people we used to be !!! This has to be one of the most affordable and certainly the most enjoyable family vacations we have ever experienced. Everything was just perfect - even the weather cooperated. And you and Tina and Jesus made everything so effortless that it was the best time ever for me. I just left the "heavy lifting" to you guys and sat back and relaxed and enjoyed my family. I couldn't ask for more. I wish a happy year ahead for you and your family and hope to see you again. Judy J. August 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Celebrating 50 years of Marriage

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

What a great place to have your entire family with you to celebrate 50 years of marriage. The house was perfect for the 19 of us including our seven grand children. Our three children and their spouses did a perfect job of arranging this trip & choosing this location. The staff and facilities were GREAT. Brisa Caribe far exceeded our already high expectations. The home, Vickie, the cooks and the maids and caretakers are all wonderful. Everyone agrees it is by far our best location ever. Zanotti & Knight family, June 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Tara's 40th Birthday Bash

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Tara's 40th Birthday Bash May 29 - June 5, 2010 !! Thank you for sharing this beautiful property that is rich in culture, creativity and amazing karma !!! Speaking for myself I can tell you that the memories created this week will last a lifetime !! I will miss Iggy the Iguana, the Mexican sunsets and the personal charm of 'Villa Caribe' May everyone see the beauty I have seen. Nikki, Toronto Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ideal For a Reunion

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

This has been a fantastic week with our family ranging in age from 3 - 75 years. Your home 'Brisa Caribe' was the ideal place for this reunion. It is beautiful and the staff are exceptional. Thank you for the memories to last a lifetime! Great Grandma & Grandpa, Ruth & Bobbie B. Osyosos BC Canada, May 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Reality Was Even Better

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The Brisa Caribe web site described a beautiful, scrumptious villa in an idyllic setting - the reality was even better. An absolutely perfect place that has done so much for our family vacation. Tim H. April 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Truly Amazing

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Doug, Your house is truly amazing and we all 19 of us had a great time. Thanks for sharing your house with us. It truly feels like a "home" and not a rental. I cannot believe how many incredible artefacts you have found during your many travels. They definitely tell a tale! Thanks again for everything and we all hope we can get back soon to stay in Brisa Caribe once again! K Evans, April 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

More Than We Expected

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Brisa Caribe was more than we expected. The villa and the surroundings are simply spectacular. We didn't want to leave. This was a family vacation, from 3/20-27,2010, with our 4 adult children and 6 grandchildren; everyone had a great time. Doug has thought of everything and is very accommodating. The meals prepared by Tina and Sera were so delicious, with plenty of food leftover. What a relaxing setting; many activities are close-by. We swam with the dolphins, went to Tulum, and sailed on a catamaran. The grandchildren enjoyed the pool and the Dreams and Omni Hotels beaches. Can't wait to come back!" Tom C. March 2010

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Fabulous! Your house has been the best house we have ever been on a vacation. Your furnishings, art and decorations are all in good taste and incredible. It is like a museum. I enjoyed looking at every piece you have. I liked that every bedroom has its own bathroom and story. I was born and raised in Mexico City so I know how to appreciate the tiles you have everywhere in the house. I had a great time. Thank you for having us. I will always remember this vacation as it was the place my husband surprised me with the celebration of our 20th wedding vows.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything is Perfect!

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Doug: We are all settled in at Brisa Caribe. Your property manager met us and gave us the orientation splendidly. The house is magnificent and our crew is enjoying it. We put up a sign for a yard sale of all the art and rugs today <g>. What a great property. Everything is perfect here. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You are Taking No Risk Renting This Villa

Review submitted: February 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

Fourteen dear friends from all over the country met at Villa Brisa Caribe for our yearly trip together. Each year we pick a villa and spend a week together. Brisa Caribe was far and away the best of all our trips. The villa is gorgeous, clean, creative, artistic and the art is to die for! You will feel like you are in a museum. Everyone had a big bed with a wonderful mattress. Each bedroom is more beautiful than the next. The owner thought of everything. The kitchen has every item you will ever need. The website he put together answers every question you can imagine. You will find everything there is to do in the area, all the great restaurants, pre-arrival instructions....no detail is left to chance. We were made to feel so welcome and there was always someone available to help us arrange tours and to suggest things to do. I must say though, we really enjoyed chillin' and hanging around that gorgeous villa. We were up on the roof nightly have cocktails and watching the sunset while looking at the ocean. The cooks were fantastic. What a joy to sit outside and eat together with cooks who are willing to make anything you'd like. Everything you see on the website is exactly as represented. You are taking no risk renting this villa. We loved walking into town and dancing at Cafe Ole. There are no better pies anywhere in the world. We went back there three times! SiSiSi Restaurant made amazing snapper. We swam with dolphins, toured Tulum, shopped in Playa Del Carmen, went fishing and shared wonderful times with our friends. We got home just yesterday, and we all can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding in Mexico

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2009

Thank you very much....we enjoyed our stay there at the villa. We loved it for our wedding backdrop. It was a perfect stay for our family.

Thank you again and please let Doug know that we appreciate all of the help and we enjoyed his home very much. I wish we could visit every year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the Mayan Riviera

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

The house was fabulous! The family absolutely loved it. The staff were all very nice; the orientation & check-out went smoothly. Tina cooked 3 dinners and we loved them. She is a jewel. We swam with the dolphins and went fishing with the captain you recommended.

My group wants to come back again and we will stay in touch with you. It would be great to meet you in person next time!

I would have liked satellite TV in the master bedroom, but got more rest without one. Everything was perfect and exactly as advertised.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Villa Brisa Caribe Review

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2009

Our family enjoyed Brisa Caribe for a week in March '09, along with 2 other families. We had children ranging from 10 years old to 20. The owner, Doug, and his staff exceeded our expectations in every way- as did the Villa. <br/>The desription here is quite accurate, it is a lovely VIlla and has been well maintained. Doug has a fantastic staff, who comes each day and spends a few hours inside and out taking care of cleaning and maintenance service. We enjoyed talking to them and getting advice on how we might spend our day.We also met Sera and Santiago, the Mexican cooks who made us some of the best dinners we have ever had. Most in our party had stayed in this general area of Mexico on previous trips, even visited Puerto Adventuras before, but the Brisa Caribe, tucked away on the end of a short street, right on the beach was one of the best finds we have ever made. We never left PA- found everyting we needed right in the Village which is a short walk past the Marina. There are lots of great shops and resturants in the Village. Puerto Adventuras is a gated Village, so we felt safe at all times. We would definately recommend this property, and hope to go again ourselves.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review