reviews for: listing #78932 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Sunny Cove Retreat: Dream House, on the Beach in Santa Cruz
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sunny Cove Beach
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $850 /nt
    $3,900 - $5,600 /wk

sort by:

Perfect for a Group Retreat

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

Sunny Cove was absolutely perfect for our group's retreat! The large living area allowed us to get plenty of work done and still enjoy the beautiful cove. Everything you need for a great getaway is provided! Highly recommended for groups of friends or large families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place for large groups!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The Sunny Cove Retreat was the perfect location for our company retreat! Large spacious house that is extremely close to the beach! The property owner was quick to respond to our request and extremely helpful! Thank you so much for such an incredible weekend getaway!

Would highly recommend this rental for large groups i.e. family reunion, group trips or company retreats!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place for a group getaway!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The Sunny Cove retreat was the perfect place for our company retreat! Close to the beach and equipped with a pool table and hot tub, Sunny cove is the ideal place for large groups!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place for Large Group! Close to beach!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

The Sunny Cove Retreat was the perfect location for our company retreat! Large spacious house that is extremely close to the beach! The property owner was quick to respond to our request and extremely helpful! The rental was also complete with a pool table and hot tub making evenings super fun! Thank you so much for such an incredible weekend getaway!

Would highly recommend this rental for large groups i.e. family reunion, group trips or company retreats!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house for retreat

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

A nice home right next to the beach in a quiet neighborhood. Great for a relaxing retreat for a group. It's decorated like a getaway house, and feels very homey and relaxing. Kitchen was great to use as well as the grill and pool table. Quite a few bedrooms for everyone in our party. Joyce was prompt in replying and arranging our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for retreat

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

A nice home right next to the beach in a quiet neighborhood. Great for a relaxing retreat for a group. It's decorated like a getaway house, and feels very homey and relaxing. Kitchen was great to use as well as the grill and pool table. Quite a few bedrooms for everyone in our party. Joyce was prompt in replying and arranging our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house, great views

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

The house was exactly as expected, big and in a fantastic spot. We were a large group of guys and the place easily accommodated us and the kitchen and grill area were easily large enough.
The main draw for this house is location. Each morning we would enjoy our morning coffees while watching dolphins and whales from the front yard. The beach across the road never got crowded and at night bonfires were common and we met some interesting people around the fires. You can easily cab downtown, but the place was great to chill out in and if you're looking for beach front with lots of space (and a hot tub) then I definitely recommend this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family Reunion Home

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Our extended family traveled from across the western US to meet at Sunny Cove Retreat for an after-Christmas reunion and a little beach time. The setting could not have been more ideal. From the moment you enter Sunny Cove Retreat you feel that you are in a home, not a vacation rental. The décor, pictures, books, etc. all fit the beach theme and add to the feeling of hominess. Our group had 7 adults and 2 small children and there was plenty of room both inside and outside the home.

The kitchen was wonderful and had all of the amenities you could ask for including an awesome Wedgewood gas range. The pool table at the front of the house is surrounded on 2 sides by picture windows so you can watch the ocean in between shots. The pool table was in almost constant use by our group. Out back is a private hot tub and along the drive is a large patio with a built in gas grill and extended outdoor seating.

Sunny Cove beach is right across the road and was a beautiful secluded beach that was not very busy during our stay despite the beautiful weather. The location was perfect for those that wanted to take a quick stroll on the beach or watch the sunset. Most of the adults in our party walked to the marina and Boardwalk from the house one afternoon, although this would be too far for small children and the elderly. The neighborhood is very quiet although there is a steady stream of vehicles parking along the cliff's edge during the day to view the ocean.

Be aware that this is not a location for loud parties; the owners request quiet in outdoor areas after 10:00 pm and have posted reminders at the side doors and hot tub to avoid offending sensitive neighbors.

I would thoroughly recommend this home for families and groups looking for a quiet homey location right on the Santa Cruz beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Gathering Spot

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

I hosted a family gathering over several days at Sunny Cove Retreat. We slept 8 to 10 in the house and had up to 16 people during the day. Our crowd was from 6 years old to 80 years old. A good time was had my all.
Sunny Cove beach is a great beach, isolated from the chilling winds and offering tidal pools and good bird watching. The kids made sand castles by day and cooked marshmallows on a bond-fire by night.
We all visited the farmers market just up the street on Sunday. We cooked lots of good meals in the large kitchen and used the large BBQ on the side porch.
The pool table was a big hit. i expected that from the kids, but was surprised to see the seniors have such a good time with it. We didn't use the hot tub, but it was warmed up and ready to go. We did use the bicycle and skateboard provided. We gathered around the large indoor fireplace at night and told stories and sang songs.
The house was clean and in good shape. A good time was had by all. The family wants to make it a regular event.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Gathering Spot!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

Entertained about 15 family members here in late November, early December. We had a great time. The house is large and well equipped. We are 'foodies' so we made lots of use of the extra-large kitchen and nice BBQ grill. There are beds galore and the two larger bedrooms have their own bathrooms and lots of space for an entire family to operate out of. The pool table got lots of use by all age ranges. We used the inside fireplace and also had bond-fires on the beach. There is a Sunday farmers market just up the street. We made use of the toys available: surfboard, bicycle, skateboard. Sunny Cove is a great beach, sheltered from the wind and there is a great 'blow-hole' in one direction and caves in the other direction. There are tidal pools to explore and several restaurants within walking distance.
The house was clean and in good repair. Several family members have already suggested we make this a regular gathering. I am local and used this rental to add capacity and be right on the beach, it worked out great. Thumbs-up from me.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family gathering spot!

Review submitted: December 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

Hosted a dozen or so family members here. Slept 8 to 10 in the house. Beautiful beach right in front of you. We had bond-fires at night and explored tidal pools and made sand castles during the day. The house is great, room for everyone. The kids and adults made lots of use of the pool table. The kitchen is great: large and well equipped. The house was clean and in good repair. We respected the 'quiet hours' and had no problems, we moved all festivities inside by 10. We strummed guitars and had a bit of a sing-along around the large fireplace inside. I highly recommend Sunny Cove Retreat for family gatherings or a quiet get-away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunny Cove Reunion

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

I don't think words can quite portray how amazing our weekend was at Sunny Cove Retreat, but I'll give it a try... 11 friends and family, from all across the US, came to Sunny Cove Retreat to celebrate 4 birthdays in one long weekend. Between the great company and the beautiful landscape (not to mention the beach being across the street!) I couldn't have asked for more.

Each morning we woke up, and enjoyed a cup of coffee on the front porch while catching up with one another, stopping every so often to point out a whale, or a sea otter, or a school of dolphins, or just to admire the scenery. That was followed up with either beach times or surfing for the day, only to return when we were ready for some BBQ! Then we topped off each night with the hot tub, billiards, and hanging around the outdoor fireplace.

There is plenty to see and do in Santa Cruz, but we had so much fun at the place and the beach that we didn't even end up leaving! I would highly recommend Sunny Cove to anyone looking to get a choice waterfront experience in SC.

Big thanks to Joyce and Adam, they're great to work with and made our trip that much more enjoyable!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunny Cove Reunion

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

I don't think words can quite portray how amazing our weekend was at Sunny Cove Retreat, but I'll give it a try... 11 friends and family, from all across the US, came to Sunny Cove Retreat to celebrate 4 birthdays in one long weekend. Between the great company and the beautiful landscape (not to mention the beach being across the street!) I couldn't have asked for more.

Each morning we woke up, and enjoyed a cup of coffee on the front porch while catching up with one another, stopping every so often to point out a whale, or a sea otter, or a school of dolphins, or just to admire the scenery. That was followed up with either beach times or surfing for the day, only to return when we were ready for some BBQ! Then we topped off each night with the hot tub, billiards, and hanging around the outdoor fireplace.

There is plenty to see and do in Santa Cruz, but we had so much fun at the place and the beach that we didn't even end up leaving! I would highly recommend Sunny Cove to anyone looking to get a choice waterfront experience in SC.

Big thanks to Joyce and Adam, they're great to work with and made our trip that much more enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunny Cove Reunion

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

I don't think words can quite portray how amazing our weekend was at Sunny Cove Retreat, but I'll give it a try... 11 friends and family, from all across the US, came to Sunny Cove Retreat to celebrate 4 birthdays in one long weekend. Between the great company and the beautiful landscape (not to mention the beach being across the street!) I couldn't have asked for more.

Each morning we woke up, and enjoyed a cup of coffee on the front porch while catching up with one another, stopping every so often to point out a whale, or a sea otter, or a school of dolphins, or just to admire the scenery. That was followed up with either beach times or surfing for the day, only to return when we were ready for some BBQ! Then we topped off each night with the hot tub, billiards, and hanging around the outdoor fireplace.

There is plenty to see and do in Santa Cruz, but we had so much fun at the place and the beach that we didn't even end up leaving! I would highly recommend Sunny Cove to anyone looking to get a choice waterfront experience in SC.

Big thanks to Joyce and Adam, they're great to work with and made our trip that much more enjoyable!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever.. Perfect for a group getaway

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This is the perfect home away from home. It has everything you can possibly need and want in a rental. It is a large home and accomodated our big group of couples. I love the fact that Joyce and Adam kept the vintage feel in the home it makes it more cozy. I have stayed places before where you felt like you couldnt touch anything. The amenties we took full advantage of. The hot tub, pool table, ping pong, bbq, surfboards, beach cruiser we did it all. We were overwhelmed with activites. The BEST part of the entire trip was just lounging on the front lawn overlooking the ocean we never wanted to leave. You walk across the street and you are in the sand. We played on the beach all day and even did a bonfire at night. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners Joyce and Adam upon arrival and they are wonderful. The process of booking was seamless Joyce was very quick to respond and any questions I had were answered quickly. I could go on forever with how amazing this house was and is the pictures don't do it justice. We plan on renting this house in the future for sure and it is the perfect getaway. Can't wait to go back thank you Joyce and Adam again for allowing us to take away the best memories look forward to working with you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Rental

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This is the perfect home away from home. It has everything you can possibly need and want in a rental. It is a large home and accomodated our big group of couples. I love the fact that Joyce and Adam kept the vintage feel in the home it makes it more cozy. I have stayed places before where you felt like you couldnt touch anything. The amenties we took full advantage of. The hot tub, pool table, ping pong, bbq, surfboards, beach cruiser we did it all. We were overwhelmed with activites. The BEST part of the entire trip was just lounging on the front lawn overlooking the ocean we never wanted to leave. You walk across the street and you are in the sand. We played on the beach all day and even did a bonfire at night. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners Joyce and Adam upon arrival and they are wonderful. The process of booking was seamless Joyce was very quick to respond and any questions I had were answered quickly. I could go on forever with how amazing this house was and is the pictures don't do it justice. We plan on renting this house in the future for sure and it is the perfect getaway. Can't wait to go back thank you Joyce and Adam again for allowing us to take away the best memories look forward to working with you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This is the perfect home away from home. It has everything you can possibly need and want in a rental. It is a large home and accomodated our big group of couples. I love the fact that Joyce and Adam kept the vintage feel in the home it makes it more cozy. I have stayed places before where you felt like you couldnt touch anything. The amenties we took full advantage of. The hot tub, pool table, ping pong, bbq, surfboards, beach cruiser we did it all. We were overwhelmed with activites. The BEST part of the entire trip was just lounging on the front lawn overlooking the ocean we never wanted to leave. You walk across the street and you are in the sand. We played on the beach all day and even did a bonfire at night. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners Joyce and Adam upon arrival and they are wonderful. The process of booking was seamless Joyce was very quick to respond and any questions I had were answered quickly. I could go on forever with how amazing this house was and is the pictures don't do it justice. We plan on renting this house in the future for sure and it is the perfect getaway. Can't wait to go back thank you Joyce and Adam again for allowing us to take away the best memories look forward to working with you again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks so much, and it was super nice to greet you when you arrived, since we happened to be in town!

Joyce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Fun

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

I stayed here over my anniversary weekend and spent it blown away. We were literally feet from a small locals only beach which we spent a large chunk of time at. A block away had a funny store and a taqueria that was authentically amazing.

The house itself felt very homey, comfy and warm. The pool table with a back drop of the ocean really didn't hurt either. The kitchen made me want to dance around, not modern but huge and would make anyone who likes to cook very happy. Sadly I never did get to using the hot tub, but that just means I have to go back, which I will!

Overall I loved the house it was fluffy and functional without the over bearingness of a hotel/motel, it was a home is got to barrow for a few days. Santa Cruz is an awesome place itself and not far away, but you can easily lose a couple days exploring all the beaches near by. I'm happy I went and I'll be going again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent house with lots of amenities

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This is an amazing vacation home with lots of convenience features. The house is pretty big and comfortably accommodates a group of 15+ people. It is fully loaded with all the necessary material. Excellent location next to a semi-private beach. Lots of space for kids to play around the house. The owners were very cooperative and nice people and it was a joy working with them. We have surely gone back with good memories from the home. Surely want to come back here when ever possible.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sunny Cove is great!

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Sunny Cove was an amazing rental experience. House if fully equipped with everything you need and more to enjoy your time and feel right at home. BBQ, hot tub, fireplace, outdoor fire pit, pool table, spacious kitchen, plenty of sleeping options for guests are just a few of the great features of this house!!! Location and proximity to the beach is fantastic and you can see the ocean from the house and yard. What a view! Close by to surf areas and a quick drive to the main SC town area. It was a pleasure to work with Joyce, she was extremely quick to respond to any questions I had and I couldn't have asked for more from a vacation rental. I would go back to Sunny Cove in a heartbeat.

Owners response: That is *so* wonderful to hear!!! It's this kind of experience that warms our hearts and encourages us to continue making this amazing house available.

cheers!!!!
-adam & joyce

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Glorious

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

*I actually stayed here in January 2012 but the calendar wouldn't allow me to go back any further.

Back to the good stuff...this place has it all. Great location, beautiful home, tons of space, open floor plan so it's perfect for big groups. I really can't think of anything about this place that I didn't love. If you really want to make the most of a weekend (or longer) in Santa Cruz, you can't go wrong staying here. The only issue is that you won't want to leave.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A perfect Santa Cruz beach house for a crowd

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Sunny Cove Retreat was perfect for our purposes. We are a student group that used the house for our annual retreat. Sunny Cove had beds for everyone in big, bright rooms, and a great common area in which we held our meetings. We loved the outdoor seating area on the side of the house. The house is cheery, well-maintained, and stylish, and the location can't be beat.

Many thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

B E A C H Heaven

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Some friends and I stayed at Sunny Cove Retreat almost a year ago and shame on me for not writing a review untli now. I was reminded to do so as we all can't stop talking about what an amazing weekend it was and I think we are headed back soon.

To keep it short, the house really does have all of the character and toys you could ever want and you essentially have a "private" beach in your front yard. Also, the separation of space in the house is really key in terms of going with a group and feeling like you can still have some peace and relaxation. I cannot recommend this incredible getaway highly enough!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

We had a great stay at Sunny Cove. The location is great – exactly as described with easy access to the beach. We spent a lot of time just hanging out on the front lawn looking out on the ocean – beautiful! The house itself was comfortable and in good shape. You could tell that the owners paid attention to making sure the little things were right for our rental -- there were ping-pong paddles, the right kitchen equipment, etc. They also left good detailed instructions so you knew where to find things and how to work them. They were a pleasure to work with. We had a great stay and will certainly be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay on the Beach

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

I just got back from a weekend at Sunny Cove. It was the perfect house, with a wonderful ocean view and easy access to the beach. The house had everything we needed from a spa to a pool table. House had a lot of character and charm.

I received wonderful service throughout the process and would highly recommend this house for a large family or group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunny Cove Retreat: Dream House, on the Beach in Santa Cruz

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

A very enjoyable older beach house with great views and access to a protected beach. Plenty of beds and space for 16 to dine at the pool table with its own table top. Large gas BBQ, wood fireplace and relaxing hot tub. Good location for a variety of excursions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to vacation!

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Sunny Cove Retreat is truly a spectacular place with all the beach charm you'd expect from a proper beach house. From the hot tub in the back yard to the pool table next to the view of the ocean over the front yard you will fall in love with this place. The view is so good from the front yard in fact that we often sat there in lawn chairs instead of the beach. An unforgettable experience, perfect for a big group of friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mrs. K

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

If you want a party pad near a great beach this is the property for you. If you want a nice, uncluttered home to stay with your family I do not recommend this house. There are four bedrooms but two of these bedrooms have a set of bunk beds. There is no place to unpack because of the clutter in the closets. There are no dressers to put your belongings in. This house is so overused it will always feel grimy no matter how good of a job of cleaning the cleaners do.

Helpful votes: 8 / 12

 

Perfect house!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Sunny Cove was an amazing rental experience. House if fully equipped with everything you need and more to enjoy your time and feel right at home. BBQ, hot tub, fireplace, outdoor fire pit, pool table, spacious kitchen, plenty of sleeping options for guests are just a few of the great features of this house!!! Location and proximity to the beach is fantastic and you can see the ocean from the house and yard. What a view! Close by to surf areas and a quick drive to the main SC town area. It was a pleasure to work with Joyce, she was extremely quick to respond to any questions I had and I couldn't have asked for more from a vacation rental. I would go back to Sunny Cove in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Beach House!

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend reunion of old friends at this rental and it was just perfect! The house is comfortable and relaxed as if you are staying in a friend's house.The kitchen was large enough for many to cook at the same time. We ate out on the back patio by the fireplace. At night we sang songs around a bonfire on the beach. Later we moved back up to the house and sat around the living room by the indoor fireplace and took turns going in the hot tub out back to warm up! The ocean view and proximity to the beach was fantastic! We even saw porpoises one day. The owner was very easy to communicate with. She promptly helped us get all our needs met if we had questions or concerns! We plan to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: thanks! it really warms our hearts when people enjoy the house as much as we do.

joyce & adam

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing and comfortable

Review submitted: April 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

My one sentence review of Sunny Cove is that I would book it again. Of course I will elaborate :) This home is one of the properties that we always check for availability when we stay in Santa Cruz, and for this trip it was perfect timing! Our stay at Sunny Cove was relaxing for our local get-away and also met our needs as a comfortable location to host family visiting from Colorado. The weather was hit and miss but we didn't miss a beat- the kids spent hours learning, playing and improving their skills around the pool table. When the kids went to bed, the adults took over and much fun was had debating if we should have spent more time in college playing pool! Rain or shine the ocean view was wonderful to drink in. The beach was so close that we could watch dolphins swim by in the wind and drizzle then run back up to the house to warm up inside or jump into the hot tub. The kids always venture into the water regardless of the temperature and spent hours playing in the sand. The beach was perfect for skimmer boarding as well as watching the brave body surfers plunge in and ride the waves. The neighborhood was very quiet, we could hear the waves and the beds were comfortable so we all slept well. The house was also big enough that we could spread out, find space to take a nap or read a book in peace. Ten of us (five adults, five kids ages six to eleven) inhabited the house during our four night stay and there were plenty of extra beds. Joyce was pleasant to work with, accommodating and easy to reach before and during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Home.

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Dear Joyce, Its so difficult to come up with words for your BEAUTIFUL home in Santa Cruz. We loved the stay in its entirety and hope that the 3 days would never end.

The best things we liked - Pool table, Ping Pong table, music system, BBQ grill, fire place, walk up to the beach, floor to ceiling windows overlooking the ocean and the amazing collection of music. We had a cpl of kids with us and they too enjoyed thoroughly. Also like the fact that the kitchen was so well equipped that we felt we could have traveled way lighter !! :-)

I would not think twice to rent this place again and will strongly recommend to all our friends and family.

And lastly, it sure was a pleasure interacting and working with you, Joyce. Thank You for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sunny Cove

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We loved our stay at Sunny Cover Retreat. The owners were so great to deal with and the house was spacious and filled with amenities. The hot tub was large and in a spacious private back yard we used a lot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful family beach holiday

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

A big crew of us stayed at Sunny Cove Retreat for 3 days. Between all of us there were 7 adults and 5 small children. This is a pretty decent sized group to accomodate in a single holiday house. Sunny Cove was perfect for the task. What a great homily set of spaces it is. For different reasons all of us were in desparate need for a relaxing holiday. We spent the days lying on the beach reading books, playing frisbee, swimming (it was cold but doable) and building sand castles with the kids. With the retreat across the road there's no need to worry you forgot to bring something from the house. We'd go back for deck chairs, food and drinks etc - so easy!

At night we would all sit around the big dining table (the pool table with a covering) having big communal dinners. Aftwerwards we'd often sit around a fire whether it be the fireplace in the lounge room, the chimenea in the front yard, the fire table or a fire on the beach - all of which we did! We played pool and had hot tubs. The house is so packed with great cosey spaces to hang out with and activities to engage in - too many to do in a few days (when we left I expressed remorse at not having played table tennis!).

I thoroughly recommend staying at Sunny Cove Retreat. Take your family, take your friends. What a great way to hang out and spend time with loved ones. You will all leave feeling relaxed and enriched after a homily communal beach holiday. I have such fond memories of these types of holidays when I was growing up and now I'm bringing the same experience to my kids :-)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delivered as advertised

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2011

We booked through vrbo and stayed here in September 2011. Place checked out just as advertised and we had a good time.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Best Location

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

Sunny Cove has been the get away beach destination for my family for 50 years. This was our first stay at the Sunny Cove Retreat home and by far the best location of all we've tried.
The view is stunning and the neghborhood can't be beat. We had a family and friend reunion. We had several teenagers and young adults and even a couple toddlers. Between the ocean, hot tub, pool table, ping pong table and family game nights, there wasn't one bored kid in the group.
Highly recommend this home

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely beach house!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

We had 12 adults and 5 kids and this place was fantastic!! It's a really pretty home, right across the street from a perfect little beach- wonderful for kids. The kitchen was a great size and seemed to have everything we needed, beds were comfy and there were many of them and they had great toys! A ping-pong table, a chimnea, a hot tub, a pool table, a movie projector, a big grill- really fun. It's on a quiet street, not far at all from a little shopping area. Really great location.
The owners were fast to respond, really easy to communicate with and very understanding when we broke a tray. Couldn't have been easier.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect beach side location!

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

This rental was fantastic. The location was without equal. It's right alongside a spectacular, nearly private beach with easy direct access. From the front lawn, porch swing, and massive front windows you have a wonderful view of the ocean. The home makes great use of it's space, providing plenty of beds for larger groups or families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

My fiance and I had our bachelor and bachelorette parties at the Sunny Cove retreat. We both had great weekends and really enjoyed the house. It's a fantastic location and a great house. The living room is very comfortable for large groups and there were plenty of beds to go around. There's a beach 30 feet away from the front door, and great views from the living room. I'd definitely recommend this place for large get togethers. The owners were very easy to work with as well, and were very accommodating of our special requests.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: quick note: normally we don't allow bachelor/ette parties, but I knew these people from my last job, and could personally vouch for them. Anna-- thanks, and I'm so glad you guys had fun!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

beautiful getaway

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

i loved our retreat to this house. I felt like a rockstar. The views are stunning, the sound of the ocean lulled me to sleep at night. The beautiful beach was less then a stones throw, and we could have fires on there. The house is well equipped with everything from super fast internet to games, and dressing gowns, and blenders. We loved our time here, and will definitely be coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: thanks!! we love the house too, and it's really heartwarming to be able to share it with others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very good property for extended family gatherings

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

The property was as pictured and described. While 2 days of our 6 day stay were icky weather, it was cozy to play games/cards, visit and eat (and eat and eat). Very pleasant place to celebrate Christmas - kids enjoyed and there were hiking and sightseeing places close by, including Monterrey Aquarium, walks by the ocean, etc. Never got time for the beach bonfire, but I would definitely recommend. Hard to go back to MN and blizzards after this.....(good customer service also)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: December 23, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

Sunnycover offers so many options for so many differnt people. Famliles can enjoy the space as well as couples. It offers a great getaway to the beach for anyone!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunny Cove

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We stayed at Sunny Cove to celebrate my 30th birthday. The house is as described; large, fun and clean. The kitchen is stocked with all kinds of awesome stuff and the game closet did not disappoint. Ping pong in the garage, basketball in the driveway, football on the beach. We had an awesome time in a great house.

Regarding the neighbors and noise... We are not nearly the quietest group of people. But we were in the house by 10pm as the owner asks and we had absolutely no issues. We were on the front porch during the daytime playing music and having a good noisy time and the neighbors were cool and came over and chatted with us and there was no problem. They were nice and respectful, and I believe that the only thing they want is respect as well and to be able to sleep at night.

Overall, great experience. Adam and Joyce were flexible, understanding and cool. Rent this spot.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

October Living in Santa Cruz

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

Spent the week here with the wife and kids. October is a great time to be in Santa Cruz. Not yet cool but everyone is back at work/school. We practically had the beach (across the street) to ourselves. The Kitchen and BBQ are great for staying in and cooking some great meals -- bought our provisions at Shoppers Corner (http://shopperscorner.com/) and lived the good life in this home away from home.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the perfect beach house

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

Sunny Cove Retreat is an amazing place-- I've been there many times and always look forward to going back. Beyond the perfect views and private little beach, it has an gestalt about it-- perhaps it's the smell of the ocean and fireplace, perhaps it's the authentic 1950s decor. Bring friends and you'll end up closer. Bring family and you'll never want to leave. Host a Madmen party and you'll be set.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WARNING!!! Next door neighbor *very* sensitive to noise! Please tiptoe

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

I waited 6 weeks before I wrote this review so I could actually take some time and reflect and I still find that while the owners did everything they could, I cannot in any way recommend renting this as a retreat. The property is as described and very clean however,

We rented Sunny Cove for our beach wedding in August. We envisioned a wonderful kick back weekend for all our wedding party who were flying in from around the country, not just a beautiful wedding and reception (but of course those were part of the package).

Just one month before the wedding we were informed that the neighbors of the house were "up in arms" and very sensitive to noise and so not only did we have to be concerned about having our event invaded by angry neighbors, but we had to worry about being very quiet. We were given an exception on the night of the reception that as long as we were all inside by 10 pm it would be ok.

We were offered a refund, but how do you arrange for another venue, move all of your vendors, and considering all of our attendants and family were staying with us at the house, arrange for their accommodations one month away from the wedding? The owners were required to make the offer due to the contract, and they did but all of us knew that was an impossible situation. They did apologize and they did additionally pay for a security guard during the reception.

I would not recommend this for a vacation spot for an event, a family reunion, or even a family vacation. The reason is that in spite of the beautiful location, the lovely side porch, a delightful hot tub, nothing can be done outside after 10 pm. We were told if we even USED the hot tub after 10 pm and the neighbors heard our whispers we would lose our deposit. In fact, if anyone made any complaint at all we would have lost it.

Needless to say, we spent much more time worried about whether the people out on the side porch were being noisy than enjoying our "relaxing time" at the retreat.

Here is what was written on a white board at the cove when we arrived:

"WARNING!!! Next door neighbor *very* sensitive to noise! please:
-move inside by 10pm sharp
-shhh! tiptoe in driveway after 10 pm
e.g. no talking, slamming car doors, etc.
Thanks! - owner
P.S. they're not crazy-
their bedroom is right
next to the driveway!"

You will not enjoy this retreat unless you 1) go to bed at 10 and 2) don't have anything that makes much noise during the day (including kids).

We were very disappointed.

Owners response: We worked extensively with Jeannie and John on coordinating the details of their rental, and are surprised and disappointed with her negative review, particularly after her positive post-event comments to us . We’re also proud of the many positive reviews other than this one. We love sharing this house, and we believe very strongly in having respect for our neighbors, who are our friends. This rental was to be for a quiet post-wedding reception, and by accounts, that's what it was.

After we had booked the rental with Jeannie, in late June we learned that a Santa Cruz Supervisor had begun trying to severely limit vacation rentals in Santa Cruz (see http://blog.goodneighborsofsantacruz.org). So we redoubled our existing efforts to make sure that our house guests respect local laws, and created signage in our house and alerted all of our guests that after 10pm all outdoor gatherings should be taken inside. It's absolutely true, this is NOT a good house for large parties, bachelor/bachelorette parties, etc. -- and we no longer rent for any of these purposes.

We have always had a policy of no noise after 10pm, and there is a city-wide noise ordinance in Santa Cruz. When she booked the house in March 2010, Jeannie and I discussed her event ending at 8pm, and she also said "there won't be loud music at any point in the stay".

We don't ask guests to go to bed by 10pm - we’ve never had issues with activities going on indoors after 10pm - with windows and doors closed, the house has great noise insulation.

We could have canceled the rental completely, but we decided to try to work with Jeannie. Jeannie sent us an email after the rental saying that she wanted a discount of over 56% on the cleaning fee. Cleaning after an event is costly, but instead of charging the official cleaning rate, we just charged this at cost. Finally, Jeannie’s payment of the rental balance was late - she called me to tell me that she couldn’t afford to make the full payment by our standard deadline. We also made another exception for her and extended the payment deadline.

Helpful votes: 4 / 9

 

Sunny Cove Retreat

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 24, 2010

Sunny Cove Retreat is perfect. My family and I stayed for 5 days and needless to say, we didn't want to leave. It was clean, charming and cozy with the ultimate view of the ocean. Sunny Cove had everything we needed and more. We can't wait to come back.
I am picky and have stayed at many rentals, Sunny Cove was far and above the rest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunny Cove - a great get away

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2009

After a family weekend at Sunny Cove Retreat, my sister said it best: "18 unhappy people are leaving". In other words, it was wonderful and we hated leaving! It's great real estate: It has Location, Location, Location. And the amenities are fabulous. Lots of fun watching a movie outside projected onto the neighbor's house. Nice clean environment, kletchy-fun-interesting stuff to look at. Love the curtains and the furniture - Microwave with toaster? I've never seen that before! Worked great! Beautiful pool table (still didn't help my game!) - doubled as a perfect table top for our entire family - wonderful! We were gifted with watching a pod of dolphins Sunday morning. Full moon on the ocean at night... After seeing the larger beaches and masses of people, I especially appreciated our "private beach". Hey, I could live there! Hey, I would also return. Thank you for offering such a splendid retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the Sunny Cove Retreat beach house. The home is warm and very welcoming. It truly feels like a home away from home. It will make you wish you lived there.

It is literally right across the street from the ocean. You can climb down some stairs to access the beach or, you can walk to the next block for easier beach access. We took advantage of the 2 wet suits, and boogey boards that were provided, and had a blast. Its great to go to sleep and wake up in the morning to the sounds of the ocean.

The house itself is big and was very comfortable for our group. There are 4 bedrooms, 3 in the house and 1 in the garage. The house bedrooms are all spacious.

The living room has 2 (wide) couches and a single futon sleeper that is very comfortable. There is probably room for an air mattress here as well, if needed.

The King room is next to the living room and includes a king bed and two twin beds. The Queen room sleeps two and is in the center of the house. The children's room is in the far back of the house and has two bunk beds. IMHO it will accommodate 4 children or two adults. An air mattress would fit comfortably in this room as well. Note: the bunk bed mattresses are made for kids. Adults sleeping in this room may prefer to bring a sleeping bag for a little extra cushion.

The 4th room...The "Tiki" room is in the garage and is very quiet and private. It has a heated waterbed that is "heavenly". It is a small room,..only big enough for the bed, but it is very, very comfortable. It realistically sleeps 1 normal adult or 2 very petite adults. Occupants of this room must use a house bathroom.

There are numerous amenities in the house...washing machine/dryer...big screen tv, regulation pool table, ping pong, stereo, bbq grill, games, free long distance, free wifi...etc.

The house is close to shopping, groceries, restaurants..and only a short drive to the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Wharf.

The two minor issues we had with the house was the lack of a communal bathroom and the need for more coffee cups.

Overall, we had a great experience at Sunny Cove and we are looking forward to going back again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunny and Relaxing

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

My family (young and old) spent a long weekend at Sunny Cove. We loved the house and all the amenities. One story great for the seniors and across from the beach for the kids! We couldn't ask for more! The weather was absolutely beautiful and so was our long weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

the ideal spot for a mini vacation

Review submitted: May 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

I have rented through VRBO before, and some of the places I have been in have, let's say, varied in quality. This is by far the best place I have stayed in. The view is absolutely incredible, a sight to behold. The amenities are comprehensive, including the recently installed home theater system, a fully featured "Mad Men" style kitchen for large dinners, and comfortable large bedrooms. If you are looking for a place to stay where you can really *stay*, where you can read out in the front lawn listening to crashing waves, where you can stroll to a farmer's market on Sunday and mingle like a local, this is it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Getaway

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

We had such a great time at Sunny Cove Retreat. The location is ideal as it is truly just steps away from a protected cove with plenty of sand and water. The layout of the house is wonderful for large groups and kids of all ages. The 3 baths are all full baths which makes it easy for everyone to get ready. Adam and Joyce are so easy to work with and make every effort to ensure that your stay is an enjoyable one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Views, Excellent Location, Cozy

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

I felt really lucky to have found sunny cove/. It is a wonderful home, with all the amenities, tucked away in a secluded cove. It's location is excellent for exploring the Santa Cruz area, as it is situated between the City of Santa Cruz and Capitola Village. So whether you want to ride the Big Dipper at the Boardwalk or taste wine in a Capitola Wine Bar, Sunny Cove is the perfect location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sunny Cove: Beach lifestyle, delivered

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

You've found it -- Sunny Cove, the ultimate beach retreat. You may have had the experience, as I have, of properties that do not live up to expectations. Sunny Cove exceeds. This is beach lifestyle, delivered.

First, it is is ON THE BEACH. You have an dramatic view through the huge living room picture windows of breaking waves at one of Santa Cruz's most picturesque beaches. Yyou'll hear the crashing waves from the living room (amazingly, I've never noticed the crash of the surf from the bedrooms which are further back in the house). Watch the surfers from home or pop down to the beach for a picnic, frisbee game, or evening bonfire. Take a glass of wine, grab a friend, and watch the sun set over the water from the front steps. There is nowhere you could go for better -- it's not just conveniently all yours, its the best.

Back in the house, hop in the hot tub. It's big and totally private in the backyard, directly accessed via French doors from the rear bedroom (the one with bunk beds) and its attached bathroom. This bathroom's closet offers an unending supply of plush towels and soft terrycloth robes -- just one more way Sunny Cove is set up to embrace beachside vacation lifestyle.

By now hopefully you've gotten the one member of your party who won't get in the hot tub to stoke up a fire for you. This is not just your average wood-burning fireplace -- it's more like a giant hole in the wall where you can shovel in wood to burn. Next to it is another hole in the wall full of wood to burn. And in front of it, right there in the living room, is a single mattress where you can lounge with a glass of wine and let the flames enchant you.

Local services abound. Immediately nearby you'll find Star Bene (one of Santa Cruz's best Italian restaurants), Nuevo Southwest Grill (great for brunch), and Aloha Island Grille. Within a ten minute walk you'll find the Crow's Nest Restaurant, a popular restaurant and bar right on the beach. Also find a terrific farmer's market (9:30am -1:30pm Sundays most of the year), top notch coffee shop, and liquor store.

In their description of the property, the owners indicate that "I share this house with friends and relatives all the time, and it's set up as a great space for lots of people to enjoy together." This is clear. It's not just an advantageously located residence offered for rent -- it's a lifestyle-forward Santa Cruz beachside retreat.

- firefly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Beach House on Central Coast!

Review submitted: April 11, 2010   Date of arrival: December 11, 2009

Sometimes you go to a beach house and it's all stuffy and full of weird pine-cone knicknacks, and you feel like you're in a hotel. Not Sunny Cove! This beach house has comfy overstuffed couches and chairs, corners tucked with books you always meant to read, bits of art, and just enough beachy kitsch to be fun. You could bring your folks and family there for your parents' 50th anniversary party, or all your college buddies for a "hey, we can still hang out!" weekend, whether you're a Boomer or a Gen XYZ type. There's also a great yard out back where kids can play, and of course you're right across the street from the beach (look both ways, now!).

Sunny Cove is like the beach house you always wanted when you were sketching all the cool places you'd have when you grew up. OK, it doesn't have the elevator to the submarine dock, but it has pretty much everything else-- The big family room with the fireplace, great sound system, and pool table. The shade porch with comfy couches and a huge BBQ. The kitchen with the little formica table and the tall barstool hanging-out counter, two ovens, and the huge old-fashioned stove that makes breakfast for a huge crowd and keeps your plates warm in the middle compartment. Hot tub. Bunk beds. Multiple bedrooms that have their own bathroom (and adorable old-fashioned rubber duck decor).

We adore Sunny Cove and can't wait until our next visit. It makes a great weekend getaway 'staycation' for Silicon Valley, even if you do nothing but sit out front, on the lawn, and watch the ocean. But you owe it to yourself to get out to all the great Santa Cruz activities just a few minutes away-- Moe's Alley jazz club, the Seabright Brewery, the classic Beach Boardwalk where you can still grab for the brass ring on the carousel and make the clown light up if you toss it in his nose, the Ben Lomond and hill area wineries, and more restaurants and wine bars than you can shake a stick at.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for the whole family

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

My family stayed the weekend at Sunny Cove Retreat and we loved the experience. The kids enjoyed hanging out at the beach and we enjoyed being able to come back to the house for lunch and bathrooms. There is a comfortable outdoor eating area on the side and a nice front yard to play at and watch the sunset.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunny Cove: Beach lifestyle, delivered

Review submitted: April 8, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

You've found it -- Sunny Cove, the ultimate beach retreat. You may have had the experience, as I have, of properties that do not live up to expectations. Sunny Cove exceeds. This is beach lifestyle, delivered.

First, it is is ON THE BEACH. You have an dramatic view through the huge living room picture windows of breaking waves at one of Santa Cruz's most picturesque beaches. Yyou'll hear the crashing waves from the living room (amazingly, I've never noticed the crash of the surf from the bedrooms which are further back in the house). Watch the surfers from home or pop down to the beach for a picnic, frisbee game, or evening bonfire. Take a glass of wine, grab a friend, and watch the sun set over the water from the front steps. There is nowhere you could go for better -- it's not just conveniently all yours, its the best.

Back in the house, hop in the hot tub. It's bit and totally private in the backyard, directly accessed via French doors from the rear bedroom (the one with bunk beds) and its attached bathroom. This bathroom's closet offers an unending supply of plush towels and soft terrycloth robes -- just one more way Sunny Cove is set up to embrace beachside vacation lifestyle.

By now hopefully you've gotten the one member of your party who won't get in the hot tub to stoke up a fire for you. This is not just your average wood-burning fireplace -- it's more like a giant hole in the wall where you can shovel in wood to burn. Next to it is another hole in the wall full of wood to burn. And in front of it, right there in the living room, is a single mattress where you can lounge with a glass of wine and let the flames enchant you.

Local services abound. Immediately nearby you'll find Star Bene (one of Santa Cruz's best Italian restaurants), Nuevo Southwest Grill (great for brunch), and Aloha Island Grille. Within a ten minute walk you'll find the Crow's Nest Restaurant, a popular restaurant and bar right on the beach. Also find a terrific farmer's market (9:30am -1:30pm Sundays most of the year), top notch coffee shop, and liquor store.

In their description of the property, the owners indicate that "I share this house with friends and relatives all the time, and it's set up as a great space for lots of people to enjoy together." This is clear. It's not just an advantageously located residence offered for rent -- it's a lifestyle-forward Santa Cruz beachside retreat.

- kara

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful place for fond memories

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

I have been at SunnyCove quite a few times. Some of my fondest memories are at Sunny Cove. The place has a lot amenities. Great kitchen, fireplace, hot tub, pool table and the beach that is literally a couple dozen steps away. There are plentry of beds and if you like you can even sleep in the living room as the fireplace dies down and you fall asleep to the waves. What a nice way to go to sleep. The location is perfect too. A quick drive to Capitola, Santa Cruz Boardwalk and downtown Santa Cruz. Overall the place is sized nicely which is perfect for a family get together, a weekend get away or just getitng a group of friends together for a nice weekend. I personally have used it to spend a weekend writing poems and recording music in the living room. No matter when you decide to go, as I have stayed there throughout the years in different months, the place and location has a lot to offer. I love it sunny or raining. It really is a perfect place to go and relax and enjoy a nice Martini. I personally know the hosts and they are very friendly, open and warm. They are really good people that have decided to share Sunny Cove with you. Cheers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

With my regular routine, it's always rare to find some time to get away and relax - not worrying about the time, walking around, reading a book, or even just sitting in a hot tub. Every time when we go to Sunny Cove Retreat, it allows us to leave our daily lives behind and abandon our car. The house is right on the beach, so you can walk around easily, and close to the market, to pick up groceries or even food from restaurants. The house is warm and spacious with a hot tub in back, and a fun tiki room as well.

The beds are comfortable too, I don't think my boyfriend has slept so well anywhere else before. Besides the hot tub, my next favorite feature of this place is the fireplace and the couch that you can curl up on, to read a book, or just take in the view.

Sunny Cove Retreat is clean and spacious, definitely a home that would allow many to get together and have some fun - the possibilities are endless ;)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review