reviews for: listing #78962 - Dana Point, California Studio rental

Cozy & Convenient Orange Co Gem
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dana Point Harbor
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $50 - $65 /nt
    $300 - $420 /wk
    $950 - $1,250 /mth

sort by:

Great location, clean & perfect for a couple

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

Our stay was perfect at this vacation rental. It was the perfect location for Dana Point, close to the beach and the harbour. There are also plenty of shops close by. There is your own parking spot out the front and the area is very safe. The studio was clean and tidy and the pull out bed was very comfortable and easy to operate. There is a large kitchenette and a electric BBQ. The outdoor patio was a perk and we used it to store our stand up paddle boards. The shower had great pressure and the bathroom had his and hers. We had no problem getting our bond back either. Robin was very welcoming and helpful. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place to Rent

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

You never know what you are actually going to get when renting a vacation place over the internet. The photographs of this rental do not do it justice. I was so pleasantly surprised at how perfect everything turned out. I drove 13 hours to arrive late with my pets to the rental. Robin was there to greet me and give me the key. I was able to park my car in a safe designated space convenient to the rental, and walk along a lighted path alongside the building to a gate that led to my PRIVATE patio filled with beautiful plants on a drip system and a spiral staircase to a deck just outside my sliding glass door to the room. From the private patio and deck I could see the ocean. Inside the room I found everything immaculate, all the comforts of home. All you need is your clothes because all the linens, and kitchen amenities are there, coffee maker, refrigerator etc. Robin left a basket of delicious muffins and fruit and a welcoming card that was a very nice touch. All the windows have screens and you can leave them open for the ocean breezes. The temperature was perfect. I am a single gal and the place was VERY safe and secure. The homes in the area start at $800,000.00 so a high end area to begin with. Just down the hill is Starbucks, the Dana Point Harbor area, many beautiful parks and the beaches, Salt Creek Beach in particular which I loved, near St. Regis and the Ritz Carlton. The place was very quiet at night for sleeping. Nice neighbors! Robin was delight, the best landlord ever. I am staying again for three weeks coming up soon. It's my home away from home so I can be near my parents often. There is no other rental like it anywhere down there. A great bargain! I forgot to mention that the separate bathroom is great, nice shower, double sinks, lots of storage. The kitchen area is in the same room as the Couch/bed. I just left the fold out couch/bed made into a bed the whole time I was there with no problems. Because of the spiral staircase, someone with walking disabilities would find it difficult to get in and out. It is PET friendly with deposits. The patio is located in such a way as to get maximum sun for suntanning during the day. I loved the place. Wish I could live there fulltime!! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location! Great Value!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This studio was perfect for our family. My husband, son (5mo.) and I were in Dana Point for a wedding last week and we stayed at Robin's studio. The location was amazing... walking distance to local shops and restaurants. We walked to dinner several times and to the marina and to a park. From the patio you can see the ocean. The accommodations were great. Beautiful patio and deck, comfy sleeper couch (we slept great on the memory foam topper), and roomy bathroom. Having the kitchenette was a nice benefit; we did several meals there using the fridge, microwave and grill. Robin had nice touches that you don't get at a hotel. She had fresh flowers and fruit in our room when we arrived. She also had set out coupons and had printed out info about local attractions. We used this for $20 off dinner one night and it also helped us go to a free concert in the park (also in walking distance). She was very accommodating and nice to work with. We hope to come back next summer! Thanks for a great stay, Robin!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Relaxing in Paradise

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

Dear Robin, Thank you so much for having us in your beautiful beach studio. We so appreciated the beautiful gardens that you share with your renters and the views from the patio were to die for. We were so comfortable in the studio and had everything we needed to relax and enjoy the week. The bed was very comfortable and we appreciated the hand-made quilts. Your location is ideal for anyone wanting an upscale beach community with so much to do. The restaurants in the area were fun and the drives to Laguna Beach were awesome. I particularly miss looking at the harbor, hearing birdsong, looking at your beautiful plants and planning another fun day. We can't wait to return.
Nancy and John

Again, thank you for your warm and generous hospitality!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great value, no problems, worked out well for us!

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We booked 3 nights in Robin's studio to enjoy a few days near the beach before heading home. Overall, it was definitely a good experience. Robin is an experienced property renter and has put a lot of effort into this place. But moreover, she is a very accommodating hostess who provided all that we needed yet also left us alone except for check-in and check-out.

Here were some nice touches:
1. A very soft memory foam mattress on the sofa bed. Be very clear on this: you are renting a studio, not a room with a separate bedroom. There is a kitchen counter with small fridge and a microwave, plus dishes, etc. But the only bed is a sofa bed w/bedding. We were a bit concerned about this, but it turned out to be comfier than most hotel beds, thanks to the topper.

2. Basket of free fresh fruit and water bottles in fridge.

3. Coupon fliers and local maps to help orient oneself to Dana Point and find deals. Plus, Robin offered tips when we arrived.

4. A basket of toiletries (We didn't use them, but how nice to offer them!)

5. A flatscreen TV with DVD player and a number of movies to watch, tho' we rented from Redbox instead (once at Ralphs and once at Circle K). The home is 3 stories, with the garage on the groundfloor. The 2nd floor has a long-term tenant in the front and your studio around back. You go up a 6-step outdoor spiral staircase then enter thru a sliding glass door. Robin provides you with a key upon getting your cleaning deposit (in cash...we got ours back in full with no problems after a brief walk-thru right before we left.) The 3rd floor is Robin's residence.

Living where we do, we were a little surprised by how tightly packed the homes in the neighborhood were. It was awkward to be looking right down into some neighbors' backyards. There was a dog that barked just a little, and a persistent pigeon. A pet bird nearby made a little noise, but not bad. It's a very nice neighborhood! Parked in driveway.

What kept us from giving it a 5/5 was proximity to the ocean. We had hoped to be very near the water. It is walkable, but we drove with all our beach gear. It's probably 1 mile downhill to businesses and the harbor and equal distance if going to the Strand(?) beach just north of the Point. Parking was free at the beach (steep walk down to sand), and some free/some pay at the harbor.

In summary, this rental was a terrific value, very clean and safe, and comfy! Privacy and beach access were the only downers. Thanks, Robin!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A gem indeed

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Robin gave us a warm welcome which was wonderful as it was actually rainy and cold in sunny California the day we arrived. The studio was exceptionally clean and supplied with toiletries and plenty of paper products. It was delightful to be able to see the ocean from the balcony, and in spite of the morning chill, we enjoyed having coffee outside. The studio is perfect for 2 people who do not mind the (easy) opening & closing of a sofa bed and lack of stove or oven (BBQ is available for use and microwave is great for ready-made meals from Costco or Trader Joes). The studio is in a perfect location - within walking distance to the harbor, within easy access to the freeway (less than an hour to San Diego and half an hour to Newport Beach), close to just about everything one would want to see and do. The two charming and historic towns of San Juan Capistrano and San Clemente are 10 minutes away.
In spite of the negative review below, we would not hesitate to come back to Robin's gem as we feel that this was a one-time occurrence.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

I expected a comfortable clean place with a peak of the ocean. What I found was a beautiful place and incredible hospitality. I loved the view of the ocean and horizon and the lovely patio with flowers and birds where I had my coffee each morning. There were DVDs and books and between Trader Joe's and a good microwave and refrigerator (and all the kitchen gadgetry needed), I even had a friend over for dinner twice.

Robin was wonderful and very helpful - I did notice that there was noise from the vent leading from the front unit. When I mentioned it to Robin, she immediately arranged to come in while I was out and she retrofitted the vent (which was no longer used) with insulation and created a homemade "welcome" quilt to cover it. The front neighbor stopped me the same day and apologized and told me to let him know if there was anything he could do to help me during my stay... even though the noise was no more than I have experienced at hotels in the past, it was incredibly kind of Robin to respond so quickly and for the neighbor to respond as well.

I am sorry for the reviewer that had such a bad experience, but I am convinced that a simple call to Robin could have resolved the issue. I now have have family in the area and I would plan to rent from Robin whenever I visit. I would recommend it to anyone who is comfortable with a pull out sofa (I liked it because it gave me a bedroom that transformed into a living room). Another huge plus is off street parking.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Crazy loud surfers partying and vomiting all night

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

We original rented the room for 3 months (Jan - March), however on the 2nd night we knew there was going to be a major problem. :( Upon arrival we found a nice clean studio in a nice neighborhood with a very friendly landlord, and the rent was very reasonable considering that dogs are allowed there. But alas it was too good to be true...

Unfortunately this studio appears to have been created without any noticeable soundproofing between it and the front apartment, and that apartment appears to be a long term rental that is currently being occupied by a surfer and his pals. We ended up staying only a week out of the 3 months, and we were kept up ALL NIGHT by loud, obnoxious, and disrespectful surfers on 3 of the 7 nights! On the night of the 2nd party we banged loudly on the wall at midnight to quiet them down, and yet the party continued until 5am. And this was on a Thursday night, it was not even a weekend...

The parties consist of the tenants drunken friends yelling, howling like coyotes, swearing, playing loud music, etc. You can hear them very clearly through the uninsulated paper thin walls and through the windows that they leave open. I had to sit there and hold my dogs mouth shut to stop him from barking, which is unfortunate because he is a very well behaved dog! We finally fell asleep around 530 am, only to be woken up again at 7am from the sound of them choking and throwing up in the bathroom. You can hear all this perfectly clear from inside the rental studio right through the walls. One can only wonder what else might be going on in there...

Unless you like to party all night, prefer to sleep during the day, or are hearing impaired then I would suggest finding another vacation rental. Perhaps someday the front unit of this residence will be rented to a professional that is respectful of his/her neighbors, but until this happens this rental will be an absolute nightmare to any normal person. And after you leave because of the noisy and disrespectful tenants it will be too late for you to find anything else available to rent and you will be stuck staying in a motel.. like we are now. :(

Owners response: I am sorry this gentleman experienced an unpleasant night in my Studio. Upon his request I immediately agreed to release him from the two month commitment he made and refunded the remainder of his money as I do not ever want a guest to be unhappy. Also upon his informing me of the noise the previous night, I discovered the tenants in the front apartment had just been informed their father had unexpectedly died of a massive heart attack. They were grieving. They expressed their apologies for the noise and assured me it would not happen again. In the four years the tenants have lived in the front apartment, this gentleman’s complaint is the very firstabout disturbing noise thatI have received from many, many guests. I thank this gentleman for his kind comments about the cleanliness of the Studio and the quality of the neighborhood and management. About these, he is in complete agreement with my many, many previous guests.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We stayed at this studio while we were in town for a wedding. The renter was very accomodating and had us just give her a time when we would be there so she could give us the keys. The studio was cute and clean, and only about a 1/2 mile walk to the beach. There's a cute patio available for use, and the renter has lotion, shampoo, and soap for you to use in case you forgot your own. The only thing I would say is that I didn't notice when I booked the studio that we would be sleeping on a pullout couch. It was comfortable with the provided memory foam on top of it, but just be aware that there is no other bed. In general it was a very cute and convenient location and I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review