reviews for: listing #78975 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Kate's Cottage by the Sea
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $205 - $450 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,800 /wk

sort by:

Great place for all ages

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

This place was a great place to stay and relax. But even better than the home was the overall treatment from Kathy the owner who went out of her way to make our family gathering a wonderful time. You can't ask for a better person to do business with. Thank you again.

Owners response: Thank you, but the pleasure was mine. Come on back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay! Highly recommend!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 11, 2014

Great place to stay. Lots of room. The rooms are nicely sized! Good kitchen and plenty of dining space and lounging space. Conveniently located! The beach is just a short walk away. Quiet neighborhood! Overall great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come on back whenever you can!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT PLACE

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

This is a perfect house for a weekend getaway, great location, great amenities, very comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Glad to have you back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

just perfect!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 30, 2013

we (4 adults +5kids) had a great time there. we will be back for sure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you back (again!) soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Close to the beach and Capitola, nice extras.

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

Kathie was great, bathrobes and boogie boards to use (bring fins). Walking distance to beach and Pleasant Point and surfing. Comfy beds and two showers and a nice kitchen. Away from the madness in Santa Cruz yet close enough to drive. Parking passes provided. Seemed like a nice place close to shopping and restaurants, yet far enough from the main crowds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun and Relaxing

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

Had a wonderful time with my family at this place. It is very close to the beach. I loved that Kate put out flowers nad had condiments there for us to use. I plan to go back again next year

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Surfing Trip Ever So Far

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

Everything was perfect. The house was wonderful and spacious and had everything we needed. The location was great and the place was a good base for us to go and explore Santa Cruz and the surrounding area.

I found the price really affordable. With all the amenities and how well stocked the house was it was well worth it.

All of my party only had good things to say about their stay. We look forward to returning to this place in the future!

Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great relaxing weekend in SC

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We loved the location of your charming house within walking distance to some great beautiful beaches. It was very comfortable, clean and spacious and a perfect choice for a vacation with our teen and his friend. We enjoyed the hot tub after getting cold (the surfers) or having a beach run. The kitchen was great and well stocked with basic supplies for cooking so we had several meals at the house. Our son and his friend loved the surfing spots nearby as well. We hope to be back again! Thanks for everything, The Surfer G family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Katies Cottage

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Good location for the various beaches around, and well within driving distance to many other places.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kate's Cottage has everything you need for a Santa Cruz vacation!

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

My family and I stayed at Kate's Cottage for my daughter's UCSC graduation. The description and photos were "spot on" and the house was just perfect for our family gathering after the commencement. Don't let the outside fool you...it looks tiny from the front, but it is very spacious inside. The backyard is just beautiful, and the hot tub a real bonus!! It was wonderful to have beach chairs and beach towels available because the house is so close to the beach. Kathie is extremely nice and very helpful in all matters. I would recommend this property to friends...and my family is already planning another family trip to Kate's Cottage!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing large private house

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

The house looks small from the front pic but once we opened the front door, our mouths dropped, very large. All 3 rooms were very spacious with TV's. I love the fact that there are wet suits available in the garage and I even used the boogie board provided for the first time in my life, I'm hooked. We walked to the beach which is very private, barely anyone was there all 3 days we went which made me feel comfortable (kids took a tool on me). Speaking of kids, I expected to have to put things high up to keep my toddler from breaking but there was nothing at his level to ruin. Glad I didn't have to baby proof and could relax and not worry he would destroy something. We will definitely be coming back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Heather, boogie boarding is a lot of fun, and I'm glad you were willing to get out there and try it!! Looking forward to having you back any time!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Had an excellent time at Kate's Cottage. Very spacious and just blocks away from the beach. No problem recommending this house to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you, Tony. I consider all referrals to be the greatest of compliments. I promise to take good care of anyone you refer, and I hope you'll be back again soon!
Kathie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

KAte's cottage a great place to stay

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

Kate's cottage was the perfect place for us to stay for a family get together with our twenty something children and small dog. Kathie has thought of every possible amenity when she stocked this home, especially the kitchen! It is a spacious home with a lovely fenced in backyard. We were greeted with beautiful fresh flowers and supplies for a pancake/waffle breakfast which was great after a long flight.The property is located within short walking distance to the beach and also a lagoon with a walking path.The neighbors on the street were also very nice and it is a quiet neighborhood. The house was clean and well maintained,and the yard was manicured!Bathrobes are supplied for after hot tub use,and the washer and dryer certainly came in handy.We hiked at Wilder State Park twice, Henry Cowell State Park, saw the sea lions at the wharf, the UCSC campus and arboretum. We ate at 515, Aqua Bleu,Mobo (sushi), Saturn(veg), top a lot for frozen yogurt, all were good.We had a great time in Santa Cruz and the house was a great place for this vacation stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: You really packed a lot into your week, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed everything. Thank you for being the perfect guests, and come on back anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Birthday Celebration!

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

My friends and I had a great time here at Kate's Cottage. The wide open areas meant that we all spent the whole time together so whether you're in the kitchen or playing foosball in the living room, you'll be part of the fun.

There was everything you would need to ensure that you will have a great time. From the the fully stocked kitchen to the hot tub out back, our stay was constantly buzzing with activity.

Although we didn't have enough time to visit the beach, it was because we were having so much fun staying inside.

We all greatly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great thumbs up! Come back anytime!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Holidays with family

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We are a family of eight visiting relatives in Santa Cruz. We stayed here four nights right after Christmas. The location of this house was perfect for us and we loved that we could bring our dogs. The beach is a short walk and was perfect for walking the dogs. The house was roomy enough for us to spread out and the dining area was large enough to accommodate all of us plus our local relatives. The house is very open so people can be in different rooms but still feel connected. At the same time there are tons of spaces someone could have alone time. We enjoyed nightly dinners of up to 12 people. We thought the recycling could have been more clear with bins clearly labeled and I think we ran out of paper towels and trash bags while we were there. The backyard was beautiful and well fenced. We would definately return to this house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Juliet,
Come back any time! Thanks for the input on the recycling bins and such. I'll see what I can do about that.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Felt like coming home

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We were a group of eight Swedes renting Kathie´s cottage for nine nights and we were so pleased with the location, the house and the peace and quiet we had during our stay. Exactly the kind of retreat we needed after long days at the discgolfcourses in the Santa Cruz area: Pinto Lake, DeLaveaga, CSUMB and Ryan´s Ranch.
The first impression of coming to the cottage was like coming home! Kathie´s Cottage was clean and well maintained outside as well as outside and we were offered more than we expected. There was plenty of room for us and having the beach at walkingdistance, the hot tub ing the backyard made the stay comfortable.
Kathie´s personal engagement before, during and after our trip to Santa Cruz is outstanding - cannot thank you enough Kathie for all your help and you being so forthcoming in all aspects! You gave us the little extra that means so much.
A visit at the Santa Cruz boardwalk and the Mystery Spot is recommended. If we´ll ever be back in this area Kathie´s cottage is our natural choice and we would recommend a stay there to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at the house. It was wonderful to meet all of you, and I sincerely hope we continue to stay in touch by email!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Three Kids and a Dog

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Our family spent four nights at Kate's Cottage and it was absolutely fabulous. We arrived and found a spacious and immaculate home stocked with everything we needed - coffee maker, cooking utentils and bakeware, beach toys for the grandkids (ages 10, 4 and 2). I loved the covered patio area and the large backyard for the kids.

It was the Fourth of July weekend and the neighborhood looked very patriotic. Fireworks were held at the beach and it was spectacular.

The beach is just two blocks away and my dog Buddy enjoyed being able to be off-leash along with other dogs.

There is a place on the corner of 26th that has the most fantastic barbecue ribs. Also located on that corner is a Mexican food restaurant that served delicious food! Along 41st St. is a mall, and many other businesses such as CVS Pharmacy, Safeway, Home Depot, KFC, Burger King, etc.

We took the kids over to the Boardwalk one day, which was approximately 3 miles away, and the kids enjoyed all the rides, as well as plenty of corn dogs and cotton candy. We had so much fun!

Kathie, the owner, was so wonderful to meet and work with in helping make this family get-together a success. Thank's a million Kathie!

I can't wait to get back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you, Lupe! I'm so glad you had such a great time, and look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We grew up in Santa Cruz, so for Bradz 40th, it was only right that we come home ! Kate's was amazing ! She was so thoughtfull, she left a bottle of champaign some candies and a beautiful boquet of fresh flowers !
We got to spend time with high school friends and family we had'nt seen in years. My favorite thing was soaking in the hot tub at night and listining to the waves crashing on the near by beach. Kate has the house equipped with lotz of extras... even pillows !!!!
we will most definately return this winter !!
Thank you so much for sharing your home with us !
Brad & Fawn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you had a good time. It was a pleasure having you stay, and I look forward to the next time!

P.S. Thanks for visiting Kate's Cottage by the Sea on Facebook, too!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

"Pham-ily getaway!"

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

I had family visiting from Kansas, and stayed here at Kate's Cottage! Despite the raining weather, we all enjoyed our stay here , very spacious, pet friendly, pre teen kids enjoyed the hot tub! , we cooked in , BBQ , played board games , accommodated a crib & high chair for the little ones , felt like home away from home! But most important spent quality time with the 'Pham-ily'
Thanks again, cant wait to come again soon.
- Catherine Pham

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: "Pham-ily" is such a cute play on words, Cathy. I'm so glad you all had a good time. Come on back now that the weather is sunny!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Room to spare with beach a short walk away!

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Only two of us stayed at this cottage (though it is much larger than what we would call a cottage)and there was plenty of room for more! The house was warm and welcoming, with a lived in feeling, like the owners just stepped away for a few days and loaned it to friends. Two comfortable living areas (a family room and a living room) each with its own fireplace, one gas to take the morning chill off without having to build a fire, and one wood burning that was very cozy for a long evening relaxing at home. Kitchen well lit with a skylight. Nice covered front porch with chairs to watch the world go by. Very large completely fenced back yard. Wonderful for our dog! She loved the space to explore and smell lots of new things. The yard is so big, we had to go looking for her sometimes! Covered patio in the back as well which is nice for outdoor eating. All one level which is nice for people who don't do stairs well. But of course the best part was the close access to the beach! You can watch the sun set over the ocean right down the street you are living on, or walk one block in either direction to actually put your toes in the sand! So if you are looking for a comfortable place to stay, close to the beach, and not even have to get in your car, this is it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Renee,
So glad you enjoyed your visit enough to have come back with your sisters!

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Kate's Cottage

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Dear Kate,
Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome and at home... we loved our stay in your beautiful cottage with attention to so much DETAIL! We felt like you were a little fairy with a magic wand who fulfilled our every need!
To anyone who is looking to spend a beautiful weekend or week(s) in Santa Cruz, we sincerely and highly recommend Kate's Cottage. It is very very clean, has beautiful spacious rooms, a lovely backyard where you can sip tea outside as the sun rises while listening to the birds sing their morning songs or watch a beautiful sunset at the beach.
And, if you perhaps want to simply rest at home, there is a wide selection of books to read, videos to watch... games to play as you sit next to the wood burning fire place.
We wish we could have stayed longer! We enjoyed going to the beach and watching the beautiful sunset...wonderful that the beach is within a couple of blocks. Our baby loved the water and found the seaweeds and rocks very interesting. She also dug her little hands in the sand and at some point some of it ended in her mouth! We explored our surroundings when the sun was out and rested at home when it was raining. Thank you again, Kate, for this wonderful stay at your cottage! Thanks for the high chair, too!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So great to have had you stay, and I look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Girls Getaway

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Martin Luther King Weekend getaway for the girls! We enjoyed this great little getaway weekend very much. Lots of room in the house to scrapbook
and work on other projects. Walks to the beach were also very
enjoyable. Love this location. Beaches nearby not too crowded and if you need to shop or go out to eat, 41st Ave is right close by. We especially enjoyed dinner at Carpo's. Seemed like the locals go there. Great steak, salad bar, soup and pies! We are hoping to bring our families here sometime soon!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Kim,
So glad that you and the other ladies had enough fun that your husband booked a "guys' getaway" weekend, too. :-)

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review