reviews for: listing #79163 - Cocoa Beach, Florida Condo rental

Penthouse...Corner Unit...Direct Oceanfront..Newly Renovated
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cape Winds
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $1,800 /wk
    $2,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Needs attention and care

Review submitted: August 20, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

My family recently stayed in Drew's apartment. While I feel that Drew is a really nice guy he seems to be disconnected from the property enough to allow the condition and cleanliness of the unit falter.

The apartment has some amazing features. The corner views of the ocean are amazing. The living room is nice and bright. The location of the building is really great.

Where I feel that apartment really falls short is in the lack of regular maintenance and cleaning. The apartment seems to be feeling its age, since its remodel in 2010, with nearly every wall covered in dents and scratches.

What was really hard to live with was that the property was simply not clean. The walls and doors are filthy, the kitchen counters were sticky, the cabinets had dried grease and fingerprints and under the beds and furniture was disgusting. It seems that the property gets a quick wipe but never a good deep clean.

What really sent my wife into orbit is when she found stains and pubic hair on the bed linen and pillow cases.

We really wanted to leave the apartment immediately upon our Saturday night arrival. However, it was difficult to find another property on the weekend when most offices are closed and without notice. When we contacted Drew to voice our concerns it seemed as if he was more concerned about a review that would affect his business than taking care of the problem during our stay.

I really wish our experience with this property was similar to the reviews from others. Unfortunately, it just wasn't.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome with fabulous views in all directions

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

Just returned home from a fabulous week stay in this unit. The view is outstanding for both sunrise and sunset! The location on the middle part of Cocoa Beach offers an opportunity for a variety of activities within a short walk in either directon. Everything that would be needed for a beach day for any member of your family is already there waiting for your arrival. We have stayed in one of Drew's units previously and will again and again. From the first contact he was very professional and prompt with any questions or requests. This building was quiet and relaxing and very well kept and worth every penny. I highly recommend this unit or any in this building.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FIVE STAR CONDO

Review submitted: May 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Rate your stay will not let me give this property a five, but it is a five. Clean, comfortable, and wonderful views. Close to everything imaginable. We went to NASA Space Center in less than an hour. Our top wrap around deck had sunshine all day. Outside there is a nice pool, whirlpool, sauna, and a guest room to use for lunch or dinner for a group that may have several rooms. there are also outside grills and a wooden walk way to the beach. Everything is secured with a key except the boardwalk. If we return to this area we will be sure to call Drew. Scott & Bonnie Indiana

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Condo With Amazing Views

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

My family and I just returned from a 2 week stay at Drew's condo and I have to say we were very impressed. The views of the ocean, as well as up and down the beach are unparalleled. You can see everything from the Kennedy Space Center (north) to the Cocoa Beach Pier to the south. We even got to see a nighttime rocket launch on our last night there.

The condo was very clean and more than sufficiently outfitted. The kids appreciated all of the beach gear. The pool area was extremely well cared for and appeared to be the nicest heated pool in the vicinity. Drew was very accommodating and always promptly responded to any questions we had.

For a family it was truly the best of both worlds. We were able to enjoy time on the beach and in the pool as well as time in Orlando visiting the theme parks. It is only an easy 1 hour drive (almost all interstate) to the Disney and Universal Studios parks.

We would definitely consider renting from Drew again, whether it was this condo or another.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Best of Cape Canaveral and Cocoa Beach!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

We stayed here the last week of January. The condo is on the top floor and has an extended balcony overlooking the beach with full sun exposure all day. You can view sunrise and sunset and work on your tan without leaving the condo. Beach access is very convenient with a boardwalk next to the property. The heated pool and whirlpool were appreciated. The condo was very clean and fully equipped for onsite cooking and dining. But there are numerous restaurants in the vicinity to satisfy those desiring to eat out. There is a wide assortment of beach gear for the whole family. Secure internet connection is available. We would recommend this unit and would anticipate any of Drew's other units would also be worth a look. Drew was very accommodating to us and we are already looking forward to our next trip to the Cape and Cocoa Beach areas.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Incredible view

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 16, 2013

My sons and I stayed here while visiting for a launch at the Space Center. The condo was perfect. Very well kept, beautiful view facing southeast right over the beach. The heated pool (important at night in November) was just a few steps below us. Beach access walkway likewise right below the apartment. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

I have never stayed here, however I intend to in the near future. This property is one of the most beautiful ones I have seen for rent. The place looks extremely appealing. When one lives in Quebec, and knows how cold it gets in the winter, this place looks like paradise. I will recommend this place to my friend that is leaving in December.
Butterfly :0)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 14

 

A home away from home at the best part of Cocoa Beach!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The listing description was accurate in all respects including the location, condo appearance and amenities. We are sticklers for cleanliness and very often bring our own cleaning supplies to rentals, but we didn't have to lift a finger in this regard upon arrival. We were immediately in beach-relaxation mode because of this!

Some previous comments mentioned the uncomfortable beds. Either Drew got new beds, or we have a (brand new, heretofore unknown) affinity for firm beds. We slept like babies all week! I understand the comments about the rusty bathroom frames, but they weren’t dirty, they are just slowly succumbing to the salt air. The same is likely true of the balcony doors that are a little difficult to open, but in the face of salty sea air and sand, I think they are very good!

The views from the wraparound balcony of the condo are beautiful. The tile floors are also beautiful and feel very cool on feet that spent all day on the beach. They’re also easy to keep clean.

For us, one of the must-visit local attractions is the Kennedy Space Center, which is a very short drive away from the condo. Our two favorite restaurants are the Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse and Grills (where you can watch the fishing boats come in all day and sometimes even wave "bon voyage" to a huge cruise ship as it disembarks from Port Canaveral – tip: always get the fish of the day).

Some of us look forward to this one "beach week" all year! I think Drew knows this, as he is a very responsive host. He demonstrates a very healthy respect for how much a week at this condo means to renters.

Without hesitation, I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

A home away from home on the best part of Cocoa Beach!

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The listing description was accurate in all respects including the location, condo appearance and amenities. We are sticklers for cleanliness and very often bring our own cleaning supplies to rentals, but we didn't have to lift a finger in this regard upon arrival. We were immediately in beach-relaxation mode because of this!

Some previous comments mentioned the uncomfortable beds. Either Drew got new beds, or we have a (brand new, heretofore unknown) affinity for firm beds. We slept like babies all week! I understand the comments about the rusty bathroom frames, but they weren’t dirty, they are just slowly succumbing to the salt air. The same is likely true of the balcony doors that are a little difficult to open, but in the face of salty sea air and sand, I think they are very good! The views from the wraparound balcony of the condo are beautiful. The tile floors are also beautiful and feel very cool on feet that spent all day on the beach. They’re also easy to keep clean.

For us, one of the must-visit local attractions is the Kennedy Space Center, which is a very short drive away from the condo. Our two favorite restaurants are the Tokyo Japanese Steakhouse and Grills (where you can watch the fishing boats come in all day and sometimes even wave "bon voyage" to a huge cruise ship as it disembarks from Port Canaveral – tip: always get the fish of the day).

Some of us look forward to this one "beach week" all year! I think Drew knows this, as he is a very responsive host. He demonstrates a very healthy respect for how much a week at this condo means to renters.

Without hesitation, I would recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Corner Unit

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

Excellent. Would do it all again. Pictures are current and exact. Only thing I would improve are the beds. Needs a little cushiioning but easy to obtain. For those of you that like a hard mattress you will love it. I will be back again next year. Enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fly Girls

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The unit was well maintained and charming. The showers had great water pressure and the kitchen was well equipped. The views were amazing and we enjoyed beautiful sun ups and sun downs. The building was quiet, and we loved the pool and the jacuzzi. We had all the amenities we needed and the stores were all close by. The beach was beautiful. We are already looking forward to renting again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We had a fabulous time at the Cape Winds Condo !!! Our family of 5 were very comfortable. The views are spectacular as well as the amenities at this facility. Will definately stay here again should we return to the area.
Owners were very receptive to feedback and will be looking into the minor negatives (needs new mattress and no grill available) as soon as they are able. Highly recommend this unit !!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful time at Cape Canaveral

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

My husband, son (age 25), my son's girlfriend (24), and mysself spent a week at Cape Winds in early March. We were very pleased with the condo and the location of the resort. This is the first time our family has used the VRBO website to find a vacation location. We were a little nervous about it, but Drew was excellent about all aspects of the rental process and the unit we rented was just as described in the listing.
The condo has a beautiful view and the unit has everything you need for a beach vacation. We are particularly fussy about cleanliness, and we found the kitchen and the entire condo up to our high standards. The pool and hot tub were very popular with my son and his girlfriend. The residents of the building are very friendly and quiet.

We plan to rent again from Drew!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great views

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

November 2011 - Love the off season, very quiet and not too many folks on the beach. It was fun watching the cruise ships depart. With binoculars, we even saw our son on the back deck of the Disney Dream! (that is one massive ship) He could see us on the condo deck! The corner location lets you watch both the sunrise over the Atlantic and the sunset over the bay. The hot tub was HOT and the pool was warm. The sliding doors were a little hard to slide and the mattresses were very firm (I like soft), but over all, a great location and lovely condo. The owner was responsive and well organized.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Somewhat renovated

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2011

The view from the balcony is incredible which we enjoyed from sun up to sun down. The beach is not crowded and walking to either pier is great exercise. Sitting in the condo has a great view due to the doorwalls. On the downside. The bathrooms are not renovated. The master bathroom shower was dirty, moldy and rusty. The master bedroom mattress is EXTREMELY hard which made for sleepless nights all week. I do like the complex overall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Views and Very Laid Back Atmosphere Made the Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Thanks Drew for allowing us to experience a wonderful getaway vacation in your condo! The view was amazing! I don't think I had ever been to a beach that wasn't packed until we visited last week! I didn't wanna leave and come home! The condo has everything you need to enjoy a relaxing vacation. There was plenty of beach accessories for the kids as well. The glassfront living room was great! We will definitely be back next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best view on the beach!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My wife came down for a week in the beginning of June and it was awesome. This is the top floor corner unit facing the ocean, so you can sit on the couch and look out at the ocean and down the beach. It's not a big public area, so the beach isn't crowded.

The listing is accurate along with the pictures. The place was very clean and well maintained. The owner was very prompt and helpful with all my questions. There's plenty of room, has nice appliances, and even has some beach toys avaible for use. The pool and hot tub were both really nice. The wifi is great to have even though it's not the fastest. There is also a lot of places to eat nearby. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Also, you should try charter fishing, Regular Guy charters. It was awesome!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review