reviews for: listing #79259 - Eleuthera, Caribbean House rental

Paradise Pointe-great snorkling & fishing-DSL & Direct TV!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $350 /nt
    $1,495 - $2,250 /wk
    $4,000 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

An impressed island regular

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

I've visited Eleuthera many times over the last 6 years and have stayed in different locations. This is just a few minutes south of GovHarAirport and on it's own private road. It's very private. This house is a must visit. The island itself and various homes offer beachfront privacy. This is a house on a stretch with rocks, but the entry into the water is just a few steps through a wooded path and down a short ladder, like a pool. Speaking of which, the small area you first step in is like kiddie pool, pretty low during high tide. The only other human sounds I heard one day was from someone taking a scuba dive off to the side of the home's entrance into the water. It echoed a bit up to the house, but didn't bother really. Everything in the house works including the wifi. Many of the things missing in other homes are thought of here like a broom, drink blender, and yes, extra toilet paper. The bathroom showers are nice with plenty of water pressure. The patio is long and faces the water. There are 2 lawn chairs and a table that seats 4. The table indoors seats 4 and the living room is large enough for the capacity of the house as well. You won't feel cramped. I stayed here during the holidays and into the new year, it couldn't have been nicer. What sets this location apart from the others? Privacy, privacy, privacy. Cave on property. Private access to water. Close to airport. 15 minutes to "downtown" Governor's Harbor (groceries, gas and the Friday Fish Fry). Cable&wifi. Nice kitchen. Great view every morning and evening over the water looking west. The owner is very easy to deal with. I would and will stay here again. This is a great first stay if you've never been to the island. If you want "beachfront" look into a book called "Elusive Beaches of Eleuthera" there are so many empty BEAUTIFUL beaches on the island, I've been to many of them even when staying at a beach front home and have enjoyed being the only one on each of the beaches I visited. That is how many beaches there are. Even during the busy season it's very easy to feel that you are by yourself on any beach. The patio catches great sunbathing from around 8am-5pm during the winter. This house is good for kids if you have kids that behave, the rocks outside of the wooded area can be dangerous if not careful. I as an adult even prepared and brought water shoes with me. Get a pair and take them with you even for other areas of the island if you are into collecting shells. Enjoy your stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic view & lovely house

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

The house was lovely and we appreciated the cool, clean decor. It was nice not to have plastic chairs but nice patio furniture out on the balcony. The view from the house is absolutely outstanding and we enjoyed the sunsets each evening. All the amenities one needs were present and the kitchen quite well stocked with basics like spices etc. If there was one thing that was a bit of a nuisance it was the fact that the Wifi didn't function until about 12 days into our month long stay. As it turned out the fix was really easy but it took forever to get someone from Batelco to come out to the house and the caretaker neither appreciated how important internet was to us nor had any idea what might be wrong with it. One other consideration for travelers should probably be that the entry to the water is down a fairly steep sloping path and if someone isn't in good walking shape other houses might be easier. That said the snorkeling right in front of the house is excellent and we saw all kinds of marine life including a pretty substantial lion fish(stay away) and repeatedly dolphins came by. A/C when needed was great and the privacy at the house is wonderful. The location in the middle of the island is also great as it allows for easy excursions in both directions. All of us loved the house and our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. Just a quick note on the Internet which as you know turned out to be a basic cord had been disconnected. I learned that the reason it took so long to fix was that the trouble ticket wasn't called into the right "support" number. Once I found out and called myself, they were out there the next day and fixed right away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time, beautiful view

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here May 2013 to celebrate our 20th anniversary. The home has a beautiful view of the sunset every night. The snorkeling in front of the house is great. Stick to the left side of the rocks. We saw lobster, grouper (we caught two), giant crabs, starfish, sting rays, jelly fish and huge angel fish. Although there is no beach to lay out on in front of the home we would snorkel in the morning and evening here and then explore during the day. The home has everything you need with great views from the master bedroom to wake up to. The porch is beautiful to have your morning coffee on and to eat fresh fish from the local fisherman at dinner time. Thank you for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best house ever!

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful house for 10 days i march! We were 6 persons and everybody loved the house! Its so clean and nice! We can really recommend this house and location! I would like to go back there now! This is a dream place. Deborah the owner is very helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our week in Paradise

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

It has been 4 weeks now since our return from Eleuthera and not a day goes by that we don't talk about it and dream of when we can come back. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a special place (the island and the home). Paradise Pointe is accurately advertised. It felt new and clean and was very nicely appointed. We were very comfortable there. Our days consisted of visiting the beaches of the Atlantic with their crazy aquamarine water and pink sand, but the highlight was to return to the tranquility of Paradise Point and watch the sun sink into the Caribbean ocean with a cocktail in hand and a simple dinner for two.

Another review mentioned trouble with the internet. It worked fine for us the 8 days we were there. I also agree about the car rental. We would splurge for something a little better. Our car had 4 bald tires and the two airbags had obviously deployed at some point and were just stuffed back into the compartment. Now that we know what to expect we'll just ask for something a little better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

April 2012 stay

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Had a very nice vacation stay at this property. The house and property are well represented by the pictures in the rental's advertisement and the listing's description. The property was well cared for, and preped for our arrival. The owner was very helpful when we were making trip arrangements as this was our first stay in Eleuthera. She has a good knowledge of were to go site seeing and the better restaurants to eat at when we didn't feel like using the well appointed kitchen! The owner also made other suggestions to help keep our trip costs manageable including a renatal car provider, (us caution when making arrangements for your car rental, lower cost car rentals are truely no frill's on the island)!
The property is secluded, offering privacy and tranquility during our stay when we were not off visiting the many beautiful beachs the Island has to offer.
The houses central air system kept the house cool and comfortable during the evening when we chose to use it and the bedrroom accommodations were like wish comfortable.
The only negitive worth mentioning is the owner has tried in good faith to provide internet services for their guests, unfortunately the provider, of this service does not share the owners concern for their customers satisfaction and we only had usable internat service for a few hours during our 9 day stay. If you place importance on having internet service during your stay on the island, you would be well advised to check with the owner of the property of your choice prior to arrival for the current status of this service.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An amazing vacation!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

Thank you so much for the unforgettable vacation! The house had everything we needed and then some! The kids had hardly set their bags down before they hit the water to go snorkeling. The beaches close by were wonderful and two days in a row a pair of dolphins came up and swam around us. Eleuthera was perfect for a quiet, relaxing and away from it all vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Just what the doctor ordered!

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

For those of you who would like for me to keep this review brief...it was perfect! For those who want some explanation; the home was well appointed, comfortable, and offered privacy. We were very surprised by the quality of nearby restaurants. We loved picking up fresh grouper and lobster at the docks and cooking them on the outdoor grill. Snorkeling off the property was beautiful. Our tour of the island revealed amazing beauty and resulted in stunning photographs. We would certainly spend another week or two at this property. The owner was very easy to work with. All totaled, I give this property the highest rating. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

2 weeks in paradise

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

The photos of this beautiful new home don't begin to do the property justice. My family (myself, my husband our two children and a friend), spent 2 weeks on this 9 acre estate and had one of our best ever vacations.
First, the house; to get to it you make your way down a long private driveway, passing the look out tower until the home and the Caribbean come into view. The home is elegant without being fussy, very well decorated and wants for nothing. All the appliances are high end and all the small details are taken care of, from the endless supply of lovely beach towels to the pottery spring water dispenser. Out side is a huge barbecue. The privacy is astounding.
The front porch, with it's comfortable table and chairs has a spectacular view of the ocean, I never got over walking outside to look at the sunset.
The property is amazing. We walked down a lovely path to the ocean entrance past a table and benches from which to enjoy the view, and entered the water to go snorkeling. We were in the water for about five seconds, when we found ourselves swimming with a spectacular school of angel fish. Their were also flying fish and my husband and son spotted a baby manta ray.
Another well marked trail led to some dramatic caves on the property, bring a flashlight these are the real thing!
The location of the home is perfect, central to everything. Minutes away from the spectacular "club med beach" (Club Med itself is gone). We were frequently alone on the 2 kilometer pink sand beach with it's pristine turquoise waters. Governor's Harbour has everything you need, restaurants, shops and fresh fish is sold from the dock. You are a little over an hour away from Harbour Island and Spanish Wells.
I.J., the man who loaned us our car (that Deborah the home owner recommended), was a joy to do business with. He met us at the ferry and drove us to the house himself to make sure we could find it in the dark. He stopped by the house after the first week to make sure we were getting along O.K., and even returned a library book we had borrowed when the library was closed on the day we left. I highly recommend renting your car, van or jeep from him.
Deborah herself is a pleasure to do business with. She's very easygoing and great about pointing out all the special things to do and warning of any pitfalls (there were very few).
Overall, I can't think of anything that could have made our trip better. We will be back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Best rental ever in the Bahamas

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2010

Clean newly built home with great snorkeling and fishing right on premises and lots of nearby great beaches. Tons of amenities including internet access and Direct TV. Will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best home we've ever rented in Eleuthera

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We've rented homes in Eleuthera many times and this is the first time we find a property that is so nicely appointed, clean and new. There was so much to do right on the grounds. You really feel like you are on your own small island, yet the house's location can not be beat. Amazing snorkeling right off the waterfront, just an incredible variety of fish and corals, never seen this so close to shore.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We've rented homes in Eleuthera many times and this is the first time we find a property that is so nicely appointed, clean and new. There was so much to do right on the grounds. You really feel like you are on your own small island, yet the house's location can not be beat. Amazing snorkeling right off the waterfront, just an incredible variety of fish and corals, never seen this so close to shore.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This property has everything you could ever want, you could spend a week just exploring the land the house sits on. Great hiking on different trails (some easy, some more difficult), large caves you can actually stand in, very cool viewing tower, great snorkling and swimming right in your backyard and a water view from just about every room in the house. Just amazing! We’ll be coming back next year for sure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review