reviews for: listing #79271 - Seattle, Washington Studio rental

Northgate Villa
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Haller Lake
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $135 /nt

sort by:

Holiday Haven!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

I love Seattle at Christmastime, and this villa is in the perfect place to enjoy it! I stayed with another for 5 nights and felt very comfortable and a little spoiled (jacuzzi, fireplace, kitchen dining room, HUGE bedrooms, w/d, private entrance!) the entire time. The temperature felt a bit cold for me, but I think that is because I came from Hawaii, and so whenever I was chilly I sat in front of the fireplace or piled blankets on the bed (Darcy has plenty of blankets and pillows to use).
I never felt like I was sharing a home with anyone other than the person I came with. Night times and early mornings were quiet, much unlike a hotel alternative. I could hear walking upstairs when I was home, but nothing unreasonable or distracting. Darcy was very friendly when I saw her, and through our communication was very helpful.
I did notice lists of rules when I arrived, and after glancing at them briefly was happy that the owner did have them. They are very detailed, and I would rather have the owner be upfront about how things work (especially recycling, seattle's crazy!) then find out later that I have a charge for something that I didn't realize. I also understand that there will always be those who stay who simply don't know how to respect things that aren't theirs, and her rules are a way for her to keep her a** covered.
I love seattle, and this place was in a great location to explore it. You are certain to find a clean, cozy, and spacious home away from home if you choose this villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unit as described....inflexible owner.

Review submitted: December 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

Let me begin by saying that we came to Seattle to support my brother while he underwent surgery to donate his kidney...thus we were a bit stressed to begin with. I will include details about the inflexibility below...if you're interested. Otherwise....here are some pros & cons:

Pros: pet friendly, elderly friendly (with assistance down the few stairs that do not have a rail), fully equipped and well stocked (kitchen, bath, laundry, etc), reasonably priced, close to I-5, free parking, free WiFi, spacious, and eco-friendly.

Cons: hard uncomfortable beds, broken vent on very small dryer (drying even a few items takes 1-2 hours), rips in furniture, one page list of rules for both internet & hot tub use (felt almost threatening and made use of either cause undue anxiety), can easily hear every sound from upstairs (shower, tv, toilet, dog, etc), fear of being charged $50 if we did not comply w/ somewhat complex recycling rules (and we're big recyclers).

So, I contacted the owner to inquire about flexibility around staying only one night (we had no way of knowing if my brother would be discharged 1 or 2 days after surgery and did not want to reserve a rental beyond his hospital stay). Several of the places she has advertised clearly state that there is a 2 night minimum on the weekends, but nothing about midweek. She informed me that we could reserve both Thursday and Friday (originally I asked about Wed & Thur), and leave whenever we'd like...but the cost would be the same. I completely understand the need to keep a rental full and I was perfectly willing to negotiate, but she was not. Then, I inquired about the possibility of checking in slightly before four (given that the rental was not rented the night before our arrival...the original Wed we considered staying). She informed me that we could check in early for an additional $52.01. Seriously? $52.01? To check in early? Like at 2 or 3? To try and miss the traffic between the rental and the hospital? Apparently. Even in future texts (to inform us about a change in the code), she was sure to emphasize the "4pm or later." This felt quite rigid and unwelcoming to us.

If I had the option, we would have stayed elsewhere....just on principle alone.

Owners response: My thoughts and prayers go out to this family. What a great humanitarian gift to donate a kidney. I’m sorry I did not know about this until this review. This highlights the importance of good communication between myself and my clients. I make a great effort in all my advertising, paperwork for reservations, and Welcome book in the Villa to let everyone know my cell phone and email information for questions and concerns. At any time, please feel free to ask questions, and I will be honest and open with you. I do make accommodations for special requests if I have all the information (requested arrival time – not just the statement: early before surgery) if at all possible. And if I can’t make the accommodation, then I can give you options based on your need. I look forward to working with you.
When I decided to open my home to vacationers visiting Seattle, I set up the Villa based on how I travel. When I travel to your city to explore and learn about your life style, what do I want in my ‘Home Base”? A comfortable place to relax, kitchen for breakfasts, internet connection to research the area, a good night sleep, shower, and perhaps to do an emergency load of wash (hence an apt size Washer / Dryer). I enjoy learning about how others live in their community. Do you recycle? I provide the recycle instructions printed by the City of Seattle – the ones we live by. How do you relax – take away stress? We like to Hot tub, and I have decided to share my private hot tub with my guests. I provide common hot tub guidelines so we can both use the hot tub and know it is safe and healthy. These are all experiences unique to Seattle, and a window into what we value as a community.
I appreciate you taking the time to read these reviews, and welcome any questions. Best wishes for your safe travels.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Rundown Basement Rental

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 2, 2013

Northgate "villa" is a older remodel of the basement of a split level house. The basement has two large bedrooms and a small kitchen and very small bathroom with a stand up shower. The basement has a wet dog smell. The washer and dryer is an apartment stack where you can wash about 5 pieces of clothing at a time. The Dryer and Microwave comes with a warning sign - you can only run one of them at a time or you will blow a circuit. The small living room is dominated by a large sectional that is lumpy and has several rips all over it. You can hear everything that goes on in the upstairs floor including what tv shows the owner is watching. The neighborhood is not very nice. It's the type of place where people park on their lawn. It is right next to the freeway which you can hear and the This place may have been acceptable at one point but it is way way past it's prime.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: My sympathies go out to this young couple. I offer my clients several options to cover damages that result from their stay. Cash deposit, Credit card on hold or a Property Damage Protection Policy from this site. Unfortunately damages resulted from their children or dog being sick and vomiting / diarrhea in the bedroom. With out being cleaned up properly, or alerting me timely, the room ended up smelling like a rotting sewer. To make sure the Villa is safe, clean and healthy for the next client, I had to have the carpets cleaned, linens sterilized and the whole space deep cleaned. The resulting charges were put on their credit card as agreed.
This experience highlights the importance of making good choices for your stay with any Vacation Rental with regards to damage protection, and communication with the owner. I am always available and would have immediately cleaned the accidents, had I known. I take great pride in providing a clean, healthy space for you recover from your days exploring the Seattle area. This review must be confusing considering there are many very positive, highly rated reviews. If you have any questions or concerns about anything written, please call or email me asap. I respond with in the same day. I value your experience, and in the three years I have offered my home to vacationers from around the world, I have never had a problem. Safe Travel on your next Adventure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Home away from home...Perfect

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

The listing description describes this property perfectly. There were no surprises to be found. The beds were quite comfortable. We travel to Seattle a few times each year to visit our daughter and this vacation rental is excellent for our needs. The house was clean and well-maintained. The outside decks were inviting and well-maintained. I would highly recommend this property for anyone visiting Seattle. Very close to I-5, and great access to so many attractions. You will not be disappointed in this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reunion in Seattle

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

This is the first time that I've taken my parents on a trip and stayed in a vacation rental. They were impressed at the comfort and space this particular apartment had. It had all the ammeneties of home plus the kitchen sink! For the price of staying at a 3 star hotel, my parents were impressed. There were two bedrooms. One had a four poster queen bed and the other had two queen beds. There was ample room to sleep six comfortably.

The living room boasted a gas fire place and a huge (albeit antiquated) big screen television which was more than adequate when my parents wanted to watch the Wimbledon finals. And the sectional sofa was very comfy!

The kitchen was small but functional. Well, we hardly were "home" and the only time we used the kitchen was when I cut up some fruit. They had all the utensils that I needed so that was nice. The bathroom was small and tucked away in the farthest corner of the apartment. But, again, it was functional. Towels, shampoo, body wash and a hair dryer were provided.

I also liked the motion sensor lights and the keypad lock for the front door which eliminated the need for a key. But you just have to remember the code which was provided by Darcy in an email. Communicating with her was a breeze! She was easy to contact and responded in a reasonable amount of time.

There were just two things that I would like to comment on. There is a small squarish end table with a glass table top that was located right outside the bedroom with one bed. Since I took that bedroom, I had to pass by this table every time I exited to go to the bathroom. Well, because the edges kind of protruded, I kept hitting the corner of this table with my lower thigh. I suggested to Darcy, the owner, to either replace it with a rounded table top or just relocate it somewhere else where it won't be in the way.

The second thing is the entrance to the apartment. Since the apartment is below ground level, there are steps that lead down to the front door. The apartment is not wheelchair accessible. And since there are no banisters, it would be difficult for people with mobility issues to walk down those steps. My dad uses a cane and going down those steps were a little bit of a challenge.

Aside from that, we really enjoyed the apartment. The weather was superb (no rain and in the lower 80's) all throughout our visit. I recommend this place to anyone visiting Seattle and would certainly use it again!

Thank you, Darcy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Family Base Camp for Exploring Seattle

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

We stayed at Northgate Villa on a heat wave long weekend with 3 adults and 2 children (4 y/o and 18 months). We felt at home from the moment we stepped into the lovely garden space outside the house. The Villa itself was cool, comfortable, and open feeling (the humongous bean bag chair in the living room was of course an instant hit with the kids, as the dedicated beer/wine fridge was with the adults) and everything was in great shape and is obviously well taken care of, with plenty of information provided by Darcy along the way.

The neighbourhood is quiet and green, with groceries, restaurants, and playgrounds nearby. The highway is a 2 minute drive away which puts all of the Seattle area in easy reach. Close enough to go anywhere you want to be fast, but far enough away to be quiet and feel like you're coming home.

Handily exceeded our expectations, and we would happily come back to Northgate Villa if we were again in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As Expected

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

Except for the fishy smell when we arrived (nothing that a little Lysol couldn't solve), the stained sheets (at least they smelled clean) and the loud going-ons upstairs Northgate Villa was as expected. We had no issues with the booking, checking in, or departure. The Villa is well furnished and comfortable and met our needs for location (easy trek to downtown Seattle, and north side sights, as well as Bellevue and the east side of the lake).

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your 4 star rating of the Northgate Villa. I take great pride in my property, and as I mentioned when I welcomed you, and again in the welcome book, 'please contact me immediately if there is anything I can do for you.' I'm sorry I did not hear of this until after you left. Thanks for alerting me to potential problems, and it spurs me on to continue to do all that is possible to improve the experience that all my guests have when they stay. Sincerely, the owner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

Thanks Darcy for opening your home to us! We had a great time in Seattle, and the kids LOVED the big bean bag.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Free Parking and Dog Park Near BY

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

Great location, Easy Free Parking (that's hard to come by in Seattle). Near a Dog Park. Large bedrooms, Large Living Room, Large Dinning Room, Small Kitchen and a Tiny Bathroom. Just north of the Express Lane north entrance so easy access to Seattle

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Northgate Villa

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

This is a very nice spot whether you are out and about or staying in. I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone heading to Seattle. Luxurious is a bit of an overstatement but it is very nice, well appointed and I would try to rent it again if the need arises.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to stay!

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

We stayed here the week of my daughter's wedding. The place was perfect! Close to Hwy 5, easy to get in and out of the city, yet quiet and private. Plenty of room, it made a cozy get away. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The steps down are a little challenge to the elderly, but doable . (My Mom is 86 yr old and she managed fine) It worked out perfectly for us, it was a quiet place to relax in between events for the wedding. I highly recommend it and would stay again in a heartbeat! Darcy was amazing and soo helpful! Thank you !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Post Thanksgiving stay

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

A great villa stay for us. The quiet time was perfect for our schedule and the villa was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the gas fireplace for a little extra warmth when needed. All the amenities we required were available. In addition, the location was perfect for us. Real close to our family.

We would stay there again without question and hope to do so next year again. Thanks so much for the opportunity to stay with you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Stay

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

On our stay in Seattle in October, we had the pleasure of staying at the Northgate apartment. It was like home away from home. We came for our daughter's wedding and it was nice to have a homey place to come back to at night. It was quiet and large enough for small family get-togethers. We would definitely book this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Seattle Stay

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2012

Why you would ever pay MORE for a tiny hotel room is beyond my understanding. This place was PERFECT for our recent Seattle getaway. My wife and four children comfortably fit in this surprisingly roomy yet cozy basement apartment. Everything was provided. Kitchen is well stocked to prepare just about anything. Washer and dryer made it so easy to pack extra light for the trip. Fireplace and big screen TV were a nice plus. Neighborhood was safe and quiet. Great location for Seattle exploring. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect place to stay !

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

We had been here for a week sightseeing, hiking in and around Seattle, a short trip to Vancouver and Oregon and had so much fun and were happy to have found such a nice place to rest. Its a perfect home, quiet, clean, and very good placed. All your needs in shopping, sightseeing, dining can be fullfilled nearby. The Interstate 5 makes this place perfectly situated. The warm and friendly welcome from Darcy rounded up our perfect stay.
If I will have the chance to come back to Seattle I will stay here again.
Thanks from 3 germans

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: My pleasure to be your host and open my home to you. I enjoyed hearing about your Geocache adventures and its good to know it is so popular in the Puget Sound area, and around the world. I enjoy hosting international travelers and do my best to make it easy to enjoy the Seattle area. Safe travels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

We spent four days in Seattle for our daughter's wedding. The villa provided us with a perfect place to get ready for events and then regroup after them. It was very clean and comfortable for the four adults and one two year old in our group. The I-5 access was handy in getting us to many parts of the Seattle area. Other points of interest for us were close to the villa (wedding in Ballard, picnic at Golden Gardens/Beach, Woodland Park Zoo) and since we did much of our own cooking, having a nice grocery store not too far away was great. We all enjoyed the beautiful patio area (sun all four days), spacious rooms, and Darcy's helpfulness. We had never rented a vacation home until this trip. We couldn't have been more pleased. It truly was like a home away from our homes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great place to relax while vacationing!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

We were in Seattle for a wedding, and really enjoyed our stay at the villa. It was very comfy, convenient, and quiet. We enjoyed being able to come back to the villa following preparations and events. It provided us the opportunity to relax and it was large enough that we could invite a few people over for snacks and conversation. The wedding was in the U-District, so this was conveniently located provided the traffic on Hwy 5 was not too backed up!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing the Villa. It was a pleasure to open my home to you and I am glad to know it provided a quiet, welcoming environment. Congrats on the wedding. Best wishes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Hawaii

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

First of all, MAHALO (thank you) to CA, owner of this cozy little home. Our stay was memorable and awesome. Better then staying at a Hotel. With 2 private bedrooms, kitchen, fire place (we used it a lot), dinning room, & complete bathroom. Don't be fooled by the photos cause its bigger then it looks. Our daughter graduated from UW and it was easy to get on & off the freeway to get to places and return without a GPS or map once you've driven around. Seattle & UW was easy to get around even through the back street routes. We stayed for a week and the whole family just loved it. As usual for Seattle weather in June (cold for us Hawaiians) this place is just right. For our future visits in Seattle, this will always be our place to stay from now on. A HUI HOU and MAHALO to CA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Aloha. It was my pleasure to open up my home to you and your family. I enjoyed meeting you and am very happy you had a great vacation. I look forward to your return - hopefully during the warmer weather in August!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Graduation stay

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

This is a fanatastic place to stay. The property is clean, quiet and cozy. There is a wonderful garden patio area just out the door to sit and have coffee We had a place to park off street and there was lighting for safety. The property is in a nice residential area close to everyting we wanted to do. The bedrooms are a good size and the beds are very comfortable..I slept well. The shower was great--just as described. I would recommend this property to anyone using this site. It was exactly what we needed . Thanks again!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind review. I appreciate you choosing the Northgate Villa for you vacation stay. It was my pleasure to open my home to you. I'm glad you enjoyed Seattle.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay with kids

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

This was a very nice suite, and an easy drive to the centre and other attractions. My three kids really enjoyed the movies and games provided by the host, and I found the kitchen nicely equipped. I would happily recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay and good value

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

I stayed here with my three children for a spring day break in Seattle, and we loved it. The suite was nice, it was an easy drive to the centre, and had movies and games they liked. We would happily stay there again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks! My pleasure providing a relaxing get away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Minnesota Nana

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

This property worked really well for me as I spent a month there while offering 'Nana service' to our kids and their newborn twins who live just 10 minutes from the apartment. Darcy was so easy to work with and very accommodating. The pictures accurately reflect the space and it really is quite large. The close, easy on/off access to I-5 is great. Northgate Mall with theaters, restaurants, grocery stores, Target, etc is just five minutes away. And even though it was Jan/Feb the sun did shine for four days in a row!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely perfect vacation rental!

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

This rental is only 10 minutes from downtown, as well as the wonderful and fun Ballard area, also a reasonable drive to the mountains, ferries, and many other great small towns near Seattle. This place is also very close to so many great restaurants in every direction. The unit is very nice, clean, roomy, perfect for a couple, family or friends. I love everything about it. Very comforting and relaxing. Northgate Mall is only minutes away and very easy to get to. I like how the rental is on a nice quiet street with parking available. I would highly recommend this rental to anyone. The owner is very nice as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place to Hang in Seattle and Play

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

Wonderful home, have been here several times, spacious. Pets friendly lots of outside space to play and do their business. Location is right on bus line, easy to get to everything!! Will stay here anytime I need a place in Seattle!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! I look forward to your return. Glad that staying here made your stay more relaxing and interesting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for us!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

As a family of 5 with children ranging 10 - 17, boys and a girl, one with Autism. This was the perfect sanctuary from our big city adventure and family visiting. Close enough to run downtown to Pike's Place, check out the locks in Ballard, get lost in Northgate, and visit the grandparents in Bothell. And still feel like we were on vacation. Even our dog loved it. Close enough to everything, but quiet enough to allow this small town Alaska family to decompress. Great neighborhood to go for a run too. It was wonderfully clean too!! Very important to us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for us!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

As a family of 5 with children ranging 10 - 17, boys and a girl, one with Autism. This was the perfect sanctuary from our big city adventure and family visiting. Close enough to run downtown to Pike's Place, check out the locks in Ballard, get lost in Northgate, and visit the grandparents in Bothell. And still feel like we were on vacation. Even our dog loved it. Close enough to everything, but quiet enough to allow this small town Alaska family to decompress. Great neighborhood to go for a run too. It was wonderfully clean too!! Very important to us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank You. Pleasure meeting you and best wishes.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for us!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

As a family of 5 with children ranging 10 - 17, boys and a girl, one with Autism. This was the perfect sanctuary from our big city adventure and family visiting. Close enough to run downtown to Pike's Place, check out the locks in Ballard, get lost in Northgate, and visit the grandparents in Bothell. And still feel like we were on vacation. Even our dog loved it. Close enough to everything, but quiet enough to allow this small town Alaska family to decompress. Great neighborhood to go for a run too. It was wonderfully clean too!! Very important to us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review