reviews for: listing #79331 - Portland, Oregon House rental

Portland Riverfront Hideaway
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Stafford
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $395 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a very comfortable home, in a beautiful a

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We arrived at the River House for a 5 night stay for our son's wedding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend and return to the River House. It was wonderful August 29th
Our 11 person extended family stayed here for a family reunion over labor day weekend and I just can't say enough about how fabulous this Riverfront vacation property was for us!! There was plenty of room for our group gatherings. We sat on the downstairs couches and talked for hours. The several of us watched a few movies up stairs in the large open very nice common area. The kitchen was sufficiently well equipped and the large grill was on the deck. We swam every day in what were the warm, calm, slow moving waters of the Tualitin River off the backyard dock. We rented kayaks for one whole day from the park just upstream of us and explored up and downstream -- all loads of fun, exceptionally beautiful, and exciting. (We found a secret rope swing for more fun!) The boat rental place opened at 10AM and while they had about 2 dozen or so kayaks, canoes, etc, they quickly sold out for the day, so recommend you get there a few mins before they open. Search Google for "Aldercreek kayak rentals Tualatin" to locate. (We just drove over and paddled back - took just 20 mins to get back to the house. And, paddles and life jackets for everyone were included in the boat rental.)

There is room for at least 5 cars, so parking wasn't a problem. The living quarters are on the 2nd and 3rd floors, so stairs are unavoidable. As a child we used to canoe and swim in the canal off Lake Oswego and swimming here was pretty close experience to this. But, if perhaps you are unfamiliar with this type of setting, young children should be wearing a life jacket anytime they are within access to the water.

This is a very comfortable home, in a beautiful and fun filled setting!! There are homes on either side, but one was totally hidden by mature evergreen bushes, and the other is largely oriented to ensure a level of privacy. And, while we were there we felt as though we were far from civilization, in fact we were only 10 minutes from Costco, Whole Foods Market and all sorts of shopping! Not to mention, only 20 mins from downtown Portland and all the many excellent restaurants in the area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had it all!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

This house has it all. It’s large, comfortable and very well stocked. The pictures highlight all the rooms the house has to offer. There is space for those who love to read, space for those that love to watch TV, the kitchen is large enough for several people so you have company while cooking, there is a room upstairs to play games, put puzzles together and you have access to a computer to research what to do in the area. The location is great! You’re close to shopping and incredible restaurants in downtown Portland. If this is your first visit to the area and you have a sweet tooth, check out Voodoo doughnuts. It’s quite the experience. If you like to read, a trip to Powell’s Book Store is a must. It’s the largest used & new bookstore in the world. Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Retreat Home

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

This home is cheerful, comfortable and fun! Even though it rained while we were there and we couldn't use the outdoor fire pit, there was a wonderful wood stove we could have used. The home had a great view of the river and it was so quiet and serene, yet close to everything you would need to eat, do or see. There was plenty of everything you could need to feel right at home--from pantry items, to extra blankets, to toiletries and more. We had a great time, and you will too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls' Getaway

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

What a wonderful place for a girls' weekend! Such a welcoming place. We had a blast sitting around, listening to music and shooting the breeze. It was so nice to know that at the end of a long day of shopping, we had a comfortable place to relax in, without having to schlep our shapping bags to our room; we could leave it in our cars without worry. The beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was well lit and had lots of ice and glasses for drinks. The white roses on the table were a lovely touch to welcome us to our weekend getaway.

It's too bad the weather wasn't very warm, we would have loved to have a fire in the firepit and maybe dip our toes in the river, slowly meandering by the property. This place is definitely one we want to come back to when the weather is warmer. We had a blast!

The only thing that was missing was reading lamps. We are all avid readers and having a lamp by the bedside would be nice so we could fall asleep reading. Other than that, the Riverfront House was fantastic!!!!

Thanks for allowing us to come into your beatiful home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful backdrop to the Wedding Photos

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Your house was wonderful for our family that traveled from ND, Miss, Nebraska and California. Our daughter was married on Saturday and it was beautiful. Bring able to stay here allowed me to have all my five children together under one roof and this was the first time in 3 yrs. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feeling Like Home

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Thank you for such a great hospitality and great house. We felt like our home. It was way beyond our expectations. Thank you for everything. Tassners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Every Amenity Possible

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The house worked out well for the family to come for our son's wedding. We appreciated having a home with all the amenities. The Lloyds

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the Family Under One Roof

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Thank you for being so accommodating to our large and needy family. We really used this place to its full extent-plenty of resources for us to use. We had 24 people here for Christmas.
Thank you again for all your hard work. This couldn't have happened anywhere else for us. The Burtons

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your house rocks.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We had fewer guests than we planned and it was wonderful being the gracious hosts staying in this lovely house. Everything we could want but forgot to bring was here and now we've added to the pantry. We've rented homes before and yours is the first to have decent cooking equipment - extra points for you. Next time we come to Portland again, we hope you'll allow us to rent from you again. Warmest Regards,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Evrryone seems comfortable and happy.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

What an amazing home; everything you want or need is here. This home is so warm and friendly and just a wonderful place to spend a week. Access to and from the house is so easy. Your house made our stay for our daughters wedding so pleasurable and comfortable. may God bless you and those who stay here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

Your house felt like a home away from home. We've rented many vacation homes and have never had one so well equipped and with quality amenities. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. God Bless, Kelli

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all had a great time.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

Love it, peaceful, beautiful, perfect getaway - quiet, comfy, beds perfect! Amazing. Did not want to leave. What a relaxing and comfortable environment. Stephanie & Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the lovely welcome

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

The homemade jam was a wonderful treat. We watched the Kentucky Derby upstairs and screamed and yelled in the comfort of couches and seating. We enjoyed the deck with warm drinks in hand. The 2 year old ran a few miles around the deck and then slept well. The Pack n Play was a lifesaver. I could go on and on. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for sharing your lovely home

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

We ate, drank, laughed and played. The deck was a splendid place to just hang out and watch the river float by. A great respite from our normal routines.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feelslike we lived here like our own.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to use your impressive roomy home. Everything about it was so enjoyable and the scenery of the river so peaceful. You definitely make us feel at home and very inviting. Keep up the hospitality of your jams etc. Very nice touch. We will certainly recommend your house to others. May God bless you and your kindness to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will recommend to all our friends in the UK

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

June 13th We have all had such a fantastic time in your lovely home. So much room for all of us especially for the 2 year old. The peace within the house is complimented by the river flowing by. It has been a lovely place to spend time leading up to the excitement of the family wedding this weekend. We will always remember your home with great fondness. Our love and thanks and God Bless...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to isit again soon.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Thank you so much for such an incredible home. We had an absolutely wonderful time and were so thankful to have a welcoming, peaceful, rejuvenating space for such incredible discussions.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so much

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Thank you for renting the house to us. We had a beautiful wedding and a relaxing stay. Enjoy the flowers and the chocolate cake.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We woudl definately recommend your house to others

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your house with us. We all felt right at home here. It is a great house for entertaining and still nice and private for a large group. The house was stocked perfectly. We kayaked, toured the wineries, and of course, the main event, the wedding. On the 4th, we watched the fireworks from the deck.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the River House

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

The tranquil views along the water were a welcome site each morning when we woke and was a respite to look forward to after each day’s activities. The fire pit and swing provided a great place for evening smores (especially popular with the teenagers.) Also the kids made god use of the boat dock with the inflatable boat we bought. Finally, we enjoyed cooking for the whole family. Your well equipped kitchen was great. Blessings and thanks,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everyone was so comfortable and happy.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your unique home. We enjoyed peaceful mornings overlooking the river with a big cup of java. We really enjoyed the Saturday Market and farmers market – walking tour, and driving through vineyards for wine tasting. Great trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Peaceful

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Loved it, amenities wonderful, convenience of having so many things here and available. It is all truly appreciated and helpful to vacationers. We were happy to leave some unopened food for the next group. This is a wonderful house and we now have lots of fun memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review