reviews for: listing #7947 - Nags Head, North Carolina House rental

PrivatePool-Hot tub-Billiards-WetBars-WIFI-GameRoom
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,095 - $3,495 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a blast!

Review submitted: January 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

Thanks for the rental – The house is great!! We all had a blast and looking forward to next time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring Fishing Trip

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Bill,
Thank you for everything. The house was wonderful and so perfect for us- perfect proximity to the fishing dock! No tuna, but caught 60 lbs of Mahi Mahi. We left mid morning yesterday, so no need for the pool care if it can be changed. Everything was cleaned up and should be in great shape! We may make this an annual event and will certainly reach out to you to stay in "We're Down Here" if we do.

Thank you,

Frank

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Expected alot, Got even more... Pleasant surprise

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

I travel all the time, but this was my time in the Outer Banks. All I kept hearing was how much there was to do once you got there, so I decided to book this house for a small family reunion. To my pleasant surprise, the family spent more time together than expected, cause no one wanted to leave the house. It had plenty of room, immaculately clean pool (pool guy was there when we got there and came back on Wednesday to clean again), and I didn't expect it to be so close to the beach (right across the street). My cousin, a professional photographer, loved the view of the beach from the top porch. Everyone was so comfortable and enjoyed the house so much, we have already contacted them about renting out this house and a house close by for next years family reunion. A Great value for the money.

And when I had a problem with the internet, there was a 24/7 service that came out on labor day to fix the problem so I had no problem signing in to work that Tuesday.

I don't know much about places to stay in the Outerbanks, but I know a great value when I stay there. I feel confident in saying "THIS PLACE CAN'T BE BEAT". My family and I can't wait until next yr.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

The truth about this property

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

The truth is that the pictures of this property are very deceiving and the property is not well maintained. For example, the exterior is has both paint and siding missing from the front of the house. More importantly, it was a dump on the inside. It was like a fraternity party took place and the cleaning crew only came in to empty garbage and clean the bathrooms. There was food and beer on the walls and baseboard. The outdoor screen and screen doors were literally soaked with dead bugs and mosquitoes (I have pictures). There is a hole in the ceiling of one of the guest rooms on the second floor. The sofa in the living room is torn and has several openings and if you do sit on it you sink to the floor. The ceiling of the half bath on the top floor had mold on it. I asked the landlord (Bill) to resend his cleaning crew and his response was that you can't get good help in Nags Head and that his crew only cleans the baths and the kitchen and remove all garbage. I spent the entire first day disinfecting and cleaning the house to make sure my 5 month old and 2 year old could stay safely. I bought an extra set of king sheets to cover the sofa after spraying it with Lysol. I mopped the base boards and the walls to remove the unsightly food. The mechanicals of the house do work fine (hot water, cold a/c) and the pool and jacuzzi are sufficient. Also, the house is huge. It is a shame it isn't maintained well. It could be a great vacation home instead it is below average. If you have low hygiene standards and low expectations for your vacation home, then this is the place for you. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Owners response: This review is so untruthful as to not be worth an item-by-item rebuttal.

We have owned our home for over 10 years and have had 25-35 weeks, with multiple families each week, enjoy their vacation here. If the review was true we would not be able to continue to own the property.

Below are a list of items done to maintain the home:
WEEKLY: Professionally cleaned, Followed up by an INSPECTOR who makes sure the cleaners have done what they need to do, Hot Tub EMPTIED and refilled, pool chemicals balanced, decor and amenities checked, grounds and landscaping patrolled

Annually: PAINTED from top to bottom, Carpets steam-cleaned (at least 3 times each season including spot-cleaning as needed) all decor items evaluated with old removed and new purchased. Each year we replace all pool cues, all wine glasses, tons of silverware, about 30% of the artwork (30% REPLACED ANNUALLY), new pillows (25 NEW PILLOWS - EVERY YEAR), power-washing, professional deep clean in the Spring, evaluation of amenities, replacement of all torn screens and a complete top to bottom overhaul of anything needing attention

As Needed: We respond to guests requests on the same day and have someone on site within 24 hours to address any issues they may be having. Because we take great care of the home pre-season, post-season and with the WEEKLY CLEANING AND INSPECTION, our call-outs are very minimal ... but they are addressed quickly when they arise.

The guest leaving this review received about 60% OFF the normal rental rate due to a last-minute cancellation - I am unsure if FREE was what he was actually looking for, but this review is UNTRUE, UNWARRANTED, AND UNCALLED FOR.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable Home

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Well we are on the way back to Maryland after a wonderful week in your home. We left it as we found it and we found it to be a most relaxing and comfortable home. Thanks a bunch. Our family truly enjoyed the time together.

Kathy W

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: December 24, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We had a blast the week we stayed in the house! everything was exactly as described, very clean, a few things were on the fritz but there wasn't anything that we really needed... Only downfall was the smoke alarm going off one night at 4 am for no reason. didn't bother us any!

We will for sure be wanting this house again in the future, Bill was great to work with and provided a very nice home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Fall Vacation

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Bill,
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay... The place was much bigger than I expected, plenty of room for everyone, with all the amenities. The place was in great condition and super clean. The kitchen proved to be a great gathering place for all.

Loved the pool, and it was very convenient to the beach and shopping.

There was so much room I will have to bring more people next time.

Thanks again for a great stay.

Bruce

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Plenty of room

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

we come to obx every year and had a big group this time so we needed a pretty good size house this one was perfect with everthing you need.the pool and hot tub were used at night after a long day at the beach,and it was a short walk to the beach .this is located in a less commercial area of nags head we will be back again next year

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Late Summer with Family & Friends

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Bill,

Been playing catch up, so a little delayed in getting this to you. I wanted to give you some feedback on renting your property in Nags Head.

Everyone loved it! I found it to be well stocked in the kitchen. The gathering area upstairs was perfect. No challenges with wifi, with 4 or 5 going at one time. except when an area outage occurred, but that couldn’t be helped and didn’t last long.

I will have more of these gatherings, possibly 4 times a year and hope to rent the house again. A few of my guests might also be contacting you to rent for their families. If you ever need a testimonial, let me know.

Thanks so much,
Vicki

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review