reviews for: listing #79523 - San Diego, California Apartment rental

Poolside Guest House in San Diego Beach Community
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Point Loma
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,090 - $1,290 /wk
    $3,000 - $4,300 /mth

sort by:

vacation rental

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

I enjoyed staying at the rental property and enjoyed my interaction with the property owners. Very relaxing and i cant wait for my next visit. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, bright and excellent service.

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We have just finished our visit with Pete and Solveig and again cannot say enough about their kindness and hospitality. They are always available to assist and make sure that things run smoothly for their guests.
Their accommodations are tasteful and well maintained with a high standard of cleanliness. Bright and cheerful colours and artwork create a comfortable environment for beautiful sunny warm mornings. Plenty to do, great dining experiences, marine life and displays of surfing at the beach make a great vacation.
This is our third year with the Fuentes and we look forward to returning next year.

Owners response: Thanks so much! This is a return visitor, he emailed me and said he meant to rate 5 stars but the home away site would only allow 4 as the highest score. I will call home away to inquire. In this case 4 stars, means 5.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Calm and serene poolside property

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

The poolside guest house will not disappoint. Close to all major San Diego attraction and amenities (Sea World, Sea Port Village, Gas Lamp Quarter, San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Mission Valley Shopping, Ocean Beach) and only minutes away from the airport.

Enjoy the morning sunshine and have breakfast poolside. Cool off from the San Diego sunshine with a dip in the pool and you don't have to worry about bringing towels since the owner has provided a great selection of pool towels.

On site laundry is also available, so don't worry about having to pack too many clothes.

There is a separate, private bedroom and a Murphy bed, perfect for families. Plenty of room to spread out and relax, plus available barbecue for by the pool dinners. Close to several restaurants near Ocean Beach on Newport, you can choose to grab a burger at Hodads, or hit the OB Noodle house for those days where you feel like dining out, it's only a few minutes drive away. Drive just a little further and you can dine at some fine restaurants in Little Italy or head up to Hillcrest on your way back from Balboa park.

The owner are so friendly and accommodating and the rates are very reasonable. You will want to plan your return visit before you leave.

The Poolside guest house is quiet and private. Parking is provided. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is the place to go.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This was our first trip to San Diego and we will definitely be going back. The owner provided excellent customer service and although there were no issues with rental, I felt that if there would have been, the issue would have been dealt with in a professional and timely manner. The owners gave us our privacy but were also readily available for any questions we had about the city, different beaches, and restaurants. The rental was very clean and we would recommend staying here. We are already planning our trip for next summer and will be looking to stay at another property. The condo on Sunset Cliffs looks very promising.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! The other condo the guest refers is my other rental on the beach here in San Diego, and available on homeaway. I pride myself in offering great customer service in all my rentals. It was a pleasure to serve this guest, I look forward to your visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A cheerful getaway

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

If all life could be this easy and enjoyable, no one would ever complain. We were in San Diego to visit our son and his wife, but decided that their one bedroom appt. was going to be too cozy for four. The poolside guest house was wonderful -- the appliances were modern, the decor southern California retro, floor to ceiling windows looked onto the pool area. There is easy access to the freeways, it is close to Sea World, the airport, and beaches. Even so, it was private and quiet. The owner always returned calls and emails, and welcomed us as friends when we arrived. We'll return for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! Our home away from home is just that, a home! We are proud to say we just added some improvements that make our place even better! Come stay for awhile.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Back to San Diego !

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

We found the Guest House as described and the photos were very accurate. The property was in a very nice neighbourhood and felt very safe. We were able to walk to nearby Ocean Beach a few evenings (20-30 min) depending on your walking pace, or a few minutes in the car. Pete was businesslike and very friendly, helpful and accommodating and, as he lives just upstairs, was almost always available to offer assistance and advice. I would say without fear of contradiction that the pool has to be the cleanest and best cared for pool in San Diego and Pete prided himself in making sure that it was always sparkling. The Poolside Guest house was an ideal base for us as we usually do quite a bit of sight-seeing. I know that Pete has plans to add a clothes washer and dryer to the property - These will be a great bonus. The kitchen area and equipment was adequate for preparing meals, although the two ring hob could be slightly restrictive when cooking and some glassware would definitely be a nice addition. I did miss a flat-screen telly in the bedroom but the property did have wireless wifi, and all in all we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. I would be happy to recommend the poolside guest-house as it was bright and cheerful with no hidden horrors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the compliments, It's always comforting to know you are happy, and safe, and that you had fun. I am already working on the items you mentioned. I just hooked up a washer in the unit. I have plans for much more including that TV. These comments helps to better serve you. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our favorite pool house

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

We loved our stay at Pete and Solveig's poolside rental. They are great hosts and were very friendly and helpful. They answered our many questions about vacationing in San Diego and made great suggestions of where we could eat and site-see. Our young grandsons were with us so we all made good use of the pool and rental. They made quick friends with Pete who always had a smile and kind word. The rental is a great location as it is close to the beaches, downtown San Diego and the many activities visitors want to see. We made the rental our home for our week and it was clean, efficient and fun. We highly recommend this poolside rental and hope to return someday with our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 21, 2012

Great location, within 5 miles of everywhere we went - Sea World, downtown, zoo, Marine Recruit Depot, Sunset Cliffs, Old Town! Property was clean and exactly as pictured and stated in the description. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Enjoyed eating at Anthony's fish grotto, El Indio and just cooking out on the deck! Peaceful, quiet location would stay again if in the area!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review of Beach house

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Certainly enjoyed ourselves at the Beach House. Loved Pete and Solvi. Property was fairly clean and well-maintained. Enjoyed having access to the pool and the walking that we did. Access to many attractions, facilities, friends and family. Beautiful weather and access to ocean. Would recommend to a couple or small family. Felt very safe and secure. Pete and Solvi were gracious hosts and fun to be with. Became good friends. Great service.

Consider upgrading the kitchen appliances. I would have loved more access to more appliances. The kitchen facilities were limited. Thanks for having a good size frig.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

San Diego Visit

Review submitted: February 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

My visit to San Diego was AWESOME!! I chose this rental simply because I didn't want to be right on the beach with a ton of people whistling by making noise. I'm a light sleeper and enjoy my rest. I chose it for the feel of a home atmosphere and hospitality.

I arrived on a Thursday which was a nice night to do so because of the Salsa Dancing in Downtown Gas Lamp District. I also visited La Jolla which is minutes away for Salsa Dancing on Saturday nite. I went to the beach which is close by. I ate at some famous places on the beach and really enjoyed shopping and purchased gifts. I rarely shop, but the quaint places I visited intrigued me to do so.

This location is perfect for beach and an escape to downtown San Diego. The property was clean and well maintained. The pool is nice! The owner provided the best hospitality and was helpful with directions to places and where to park etc. His recommendations on fine dining and dives was very helpful.

My favorite activities for this trip and I specifically chose this city for was the Night Life and Latin/Salsa Dancing. San Diego was recommended by a friend and she was right about the town simply AWESOME! There are a ton of attractions and special events to visit which are minutes away, but this trip was purely a Dancing Venture.

I'm planning to visit this year for the Comic Con Convention in San Diego and hope this rental is available for it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fun Fun Fun

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2011

Our stay in San Diego was teriffic. The accomodations were great. The pool side place was very cozy and we had everything we needed. The owners were very helpful and gave us great reccomendations of places to eat and sites to see. The pool was so refreshing to jump into when we got back from our days of sightseeing. The location was very conveinent to stores etc. and close to attractions. We would go back again and stay longer!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect pad in San Diego

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2012

Thank you for a great stay in San Diego - this was a perfect spot for our weeks vacation. The place had all we could want - a bedroom, kitchenette and living space with TV and WiFi too. The pool was great to take a quick dip or just sitting out in the California sunshine. What I didn't realize until we started exploring was what a great location this place is in - you are minutes drive away from Point Loma, Ocean Beach, Sunset Cliffs, SeaWorld and downtown San Diego. We could take advantage of all the sights during the day and the nightlife downtown. Having a kitchenette was key too so we could do our own breakfasts at "home" and save money for the San Diego Zoo, etc. We will be back for sure!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The place was great

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

"We were looking for a place that was central to San Diego, and it's many attractions. We found it! Our stay was made easy in your guest house. Not only did we enjoy the sights but had a peaceful place to call home for a month. Will return, count on it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pool House review.

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: February 13, 2013

Hola from Canada
We are enjoying the hospitality of Pete and Solveig's pool house and beach house
for the second season. Everything is very clean,bright, and cheerful in Solveig's
happy California style. Our home away from home is well equipped with all the
amenities and with Pete's assistance we settled right in. We have been watching
the OB Parrots while relaxing poolside and look forward to the surfers and seals
and other ocean life at Ocean Beach. We anticipate return visits with our pleasant
hosts .
Enjoy,
Allen and Judy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review