reviews for: listing #79547 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Brand New Beautiful Condo with All the Extras!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Alii Lani
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,850 - $1,850 /mth

sort by:

A wonderful experience !

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

On our 3rd time to Hawaii- 1st time to the big Island, we decided to try a vrbo unit. We chose the Ali Lani complex. We were very pleased and happy with the unit. It was exactly as the listing and photos described, the property was very clean and well maintained The king size bed was very comfortable and the kitchen and bathrooms had everything we needed. The furnishings were tasteful and enjoyed! The internet was fast. We were spoiled with the big screen TV. The swimming pools and hot tub were great. We ate papayas every day, bought on the market. The town is with in walking distance. We can recommend this unit to anyone. Love to come back next year
Mahalo

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a month in Paradise....

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2012

...hubby & I celebrated 30 years by staying 30 nights in Kona where we eloped...the condo was a great 'home away from home'...the info & photos you see are accurate...it has everything you need! the pools are nice/quiet most of the time & the whole complex is well maintained...the minor problems we ran into (loose/missing towel racks & loose tp holder) were reported to the management co & fixed in a timely manner. Took a few day trips to nearby towns to take in the sights/sounds/smells of the quaintness of it all! And ate toooooo much ONO food....the Farmer's Mkts are not to be missed..fresh papayas at 3 or 4 for a buck were savored every day! Got our pork chop 'fix' at the Manago Hotel. Big Island Grill always satisfies & take home a doggie bag that will last a day or two! the portions are huge! Happy Hour at Don the Beachcomber's was our fav....pina coladas & pupus & local singers & the beautiful sunsets! Huggo's on the Rocks wasn't bad either! The monthly 'strolls' in Kona--town are fun...Alii Dr closed off & oodles of vendors/made in Hawaii top quality arts/crafts/more to be seen/purchased. And after a holoholo day it was nice to go back to the condo & watch tv/movie or read, & snack on the fresh poke we picked up on the way home at KTA &/or Sack & Save! Thank you Eric & Cathy...I would heartily recommend the condo to anyone who wants to live like a local!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A relaxing time in Hawaii!

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We stayed at the condo recently for a month and had a great time. The island is so relaxing! We visited the pool, ate (too much!), slept, and in general were happily lazy bums. We appreciated the kitchen in the condo so we could stash leftovers from dinners in Kona, and have some easy breakfast items on hand. We also loved the huge TV - now my husband wants one. :-) We'd recommend this condo for anyone who wants to unwind in island paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Inaccurate Description

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We have stayed at over a dozen VRBO rentals in the last five years. Truth in advertising.....or listing descriptions on VRBO leave many places wanting. This place is no exception. We stayed for 30 days.
The initial heading "Brand New Beautiful Condo with All The Extras" is very misleading. The condo is 10-15 years old as verified by permanent residents. The new king bed is far from new.....and has a foam pad on it.....hardly necessary for a new bed. The kitchen is sparely equipped and the rugs need to be replaced. While there I repaired both towel racks in the bathrooms and remounted the shower curtain rod several times that was held together with duct tape. The sliding window locks are broken so we purchased wood strips, cut them to size and placed them in the window tracks for security. We mentioned the short-comings to the management firm and their response was minimal. There are positives.....the pool areas are quiet and seldom busy. The big TV is wonderful. Location is quiet and close to town and attractions. Price is a great equalizer and was in this case resulting in an average rating. If your expectations hang on all the "new" words in the listing - you will be disappointed. If you keep reminding yourself of the price - relax and enjoy yourself.

Owners response: We're sorry you were disappointed, and wanted to clarify the description. The building is 15 years old - there's not a lot of new developments in Kona since then, especially the last five years with a slow economy.

What is new? Literally everything else. We purchased this unit bare. In the past two years we've had the place fully repainted, new carpet, new W/D, new electronics, all new furniture, all new linens, all new kitchen stock (dishes, flatware, etc.), a new fridge and microwave, all new decorations - literally everything that isn't a wall or floor. The beds are brand new high end mattresses and all have memory foam pads on them because people tell us they like the extra comfort.

Thank you for reporting the sliding window to the property managers, they've taken care of it. Mahalo again for staying with us!

Cathy & Eric Webster

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A Real Find!

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

Thank you Cathy & Eric for sharing your condo! We truly enjoyed the stay in your well-equipped unit! It was more than expected. The locale is great--close to Kailua-Kona town and accessible to all island destinations. We drove the entire island and were always happy to end our day, hot tubbing in your well-maintained pool area. The condo grounds are beautiful! This was our first trip to the big island and we plan to return. This island has it all--beautiful white, black and green sand beaches, unmatched and diverse vistas, as well as the sea life (turtles, dolphins and manta rays) you hope to see when coming to Hawaii. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We're glad you had a great time and look forward to having you as our guests in the future!

Cathy & Eric

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review