reviews for: listing #79632 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Waterfront Villa W/ Boat on Pristine Lake Minutes from beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,500 - $3,700 /wk

sort by:

A Great Thanksgiving

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

My family love this place..my kids want to eat breakfast every morning on the boat.. what a great setting and we would love to come back again....

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great location for your Disney Vacation

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

My wife and 17 month old daughter found this place online for our Disneyland vacation. We wanted some place that was near Disneyland but also not too close to be away from it all after being at the parks all day long, This was just the place we needed, The house was located in a quiet community that had easy access to the freeway. It was about 15 to 20 mins to Disneyland and just blocks away to the nearest grocery store. The house was clean and well maintained. It was complete with everything you need in a vacation home. It was actually more than what we expected. The outside area in the back by the lake is very nice and comfortable and we spent most of our nights enjoying the view and cool air by the lake. My daughter loved being on the electric boat and checking out all the ducks around the lake. I loved the fact that I was able to fish every night after long day at Disney. The best part was that the fishing was great. I caught lots of catfish the biggest I would guess to be around 30 lbs. It was great that they had fishing gear for us to use. They even had poles to use for pier fishing just in case anyone was to drive to the piers that was not too far away. I didn't get to drive to the pier but will definitely go on our return trip.
Steve and Dave was great to work with, I communicated with Steve over the phone and emails and he was very prompt and very eager to answer all my questions, Dave met us at the house and took the time to show us around and made sure we knew how to use everything. We are looking forward to staying at this house in the future and have already recommended it to some of our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Fabulous Week

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

What a fantastic week our family spent here. Steve is a wonderful host really friendly and helpful and even meets you at the house to show you around and explain the facilities - not just a key in a lock box here! The house is really fantastic and is just as the photos, the view from the living room onto the fountain and lake is just beautiful and lovely to wake up to the visiting ducks and geese. Everything you could ever need and more is provided, and the place was really clean and well maintained. Master bedroom really spacious and very comfortable bed, all the bedrooms have their own outside access right onto the jacuzzi. The boat is great for exploring the lake and getting across to the club house and swimming pools. My son caught a really big cat fish from the jetty and was so excited taking photos before returning it safely to the lake. The house is ideally situated in a very nice residential estate close by to the supermarket and some restaurants, all within a few minutes drive. We used the house as a base and visited the surrounding areas which are all lovely Laguna Beach especially with so many restaurants and art galleries. We got the Amtrack to San Diego which was really easy as Irvine station is very close by. The Balboa Island cruise is a great bonus with Dave who is a wonderful guide. My only regret is that we didnt stay for longer as the house was so nice we would have liked longer to spend just relaxing around the lake, but there is so much to do and see you have to get out and about! We will definately be back! Thanks again Steve.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Haudi from Saudi

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We are a family of 6.

We were pleasantly surprised with the property, view and the friendliness of the owners.

It was really home away from home. Everyone in our family enjoyed the house.

Steve was very helpful, even before we arrived, he helped us planning our trip. His hospitality is second to non.

I definitely will stay at his home whenever we travel to the area anytime.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

THE Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

This was the perfect place for our family (from Las Vegas & Colorado) to vacation. Steve is a super nice person and definitely makes his home feel like your own. We spent the day at Newport Beach, saw Disneyland, fished on the lake, and also had Dave cruise us around Newport. Dave is quite the tour guide and was very patient with our kids asking lots of questions! The locations is just beautiful on the lake. It is a nice view to wake up to in the morning. We are still talking about our trip and can't wait to go back. Thanks Steve & Dave for making our vacation comfortable & fun!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: please post this review

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

We had an AMAZING time at your place Steve. Our 4 year old and 2 year old just loved staying on the lake. They named the TV area the “whales mouth”. Although we were there on business, at the end of the business day, it felt like we were on vacation somewhere away from all the hustle and bustle. Location was perfect distance from all the beaches! We went to a different one each day. We also went to Disneyland which seemed like it was just down the street. In fact, my husband drove everyday to the Anaheim convention center without any problem. Thank you Steve so much for making us feel so welcome. We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you had a great time! Hope to see you and your family again soon. The boat willl be waiting for you! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

Short sweet and simple, Our family had a great Thanksgiving vacation! My grandsons loved fishing & the 4 yr old even caught a big fish he got so excited. Loved sitting outside in the morning in the sun with a cup of coffee enjoying the beauty of the lake, very relaxing. At night we sat around the fire pit and just talked about old times, watched some tv, listened to music and laid in front of the firplace. The master bedroom was very comfy, loved all the pillows, it was nice that all the rooms had their own separate entrances, every thing was clean and neat and well stocked. My hubby liked working out in the garage with the weights as others were sitting in the spa drinking a glass of wine. The added bonus is the boat that you can take out and just relax some more. Have I mentioned it was relaxing?? lol

Steve and Dave were great to work with very helpful, even left my family a bottle of champane with cheese/crackers n grapes. Very nice. Thankyou

I'm planning on returning sometime in the near future, have told my friends about your place. Take care. The Montellano Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home from Home

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

We are a family of 5 who enjoyed the holiday of a lifetime at Steve and Rene's beautiful house. It is extremely well stocked with household basics which made our stay comfortable. We found the house clean and homely. The children loved the Duffy boat, taking it across the lake to play basketball at the community centre. They enjoyed fishing although they didn't catch anything! My husband and I enjoyed the hot-tub! The bedrooms were well appointed with lots of cupboard and wardrobe space. The master bedroom was spacious with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The bathrooms were well stocked with towels, the showers were great and all clean.

The house is situated in a delightful residential area with a small shopping centre close by for groceries and a bank. We found the drive to Disney about 35 mins. We enjoyed shopping at Irvine Spectrum and South Coast Plaza both within a 15 minute drive of the property. We had an amazing evening taking a tour of Newport Harbour with Steve's friend David on the larger Duffy boat. Enjoying the Christmas lights on all the properties and walking around Balboa Island.

We took the train from Irvine to San Diego Zoo which runs along the coast with the most amazing views of the Ocean. We had Christmas Eve at San Clemente Beach, lunch at one of the pier restaurants, paddling in the ocean and taking in the relaxed atmosphere. Laguna Beach too was beautiful, with super restaurants and art galaries.

We can't wait to return and would recommend this house to any family. Returning to a cold damp UK, I carry with me a picture in my head of sitting on the deck early in the morning, looking at the geese on the lake, enjoying the peace and looking forward to the sun heating up and being able to lie on the sunbed later on reading my book and relaxing. Eveything you could possible need is in this house and on the doorstep. Ruby's diner at the end of the pier at Balboa island was a highlight as was Vegas for New Years Eve.

Thank you Rene, Steve and David for the holiday we had dreamed of and hope to return to before too long. Sally, Sean, Will, Dom,Duncan and Hannah.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review