reviews for: listing #79635 - Sea Ranch, California House rental

Ocean/Bluff Front Home -Ocean Knoll-White Water Vu all Rooms
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $265 /nt
    $1,470 - $1,590 /wk

sort by:

great time

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

Simply love this place. Some nice new touches, like the Gas BBQ. We were there 3 nights and planned on going out at least 1 night, but used the BBQ all 3 nights.
Fresh swordfish 1 night, bacon wrapped scallops next and then steaks. Why go out when you have such an amazing location!
Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning views and crashing waves

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

What a beautiful place to unwind and enjoy the rugged coastline of Sonoma County! We look forward to another visit to Ocean Knoll for a longer stay. We couldn't wait to get up in the morning to watch the ocean and local wildlife from the picture window with a cup of coffee as the sun came up. At night it was so relaxing to listen to the sound of the waves before going to sleep. The trail along the bluff was beautiful too. The house was clean, beautifully furnished and well-stocked with everything you might need with ocean views from every room - just delightful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The House was Even Better than We Expected!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

Oak Bluff was fantastic! It offered everything we could imagine and then some! The online pictures do not do this property justice.

We had a party of four (2 couples) and the house worked out great! Having the master suite and t.v. room upstairs gave us all the chance to have a little alone time, but enjoy each other for dinner and games when we wanted.

I love to cook and the kitchen was an excellent space to work and enjoy myself. It was outfitted with everything one could want!

The property management is right on the ball as well! When we first got to the house we were a bit low on fire wood - one call and they had someone over filling up the wood shed in just a couple of hours! And then called the next day to followup with us - great customer service!

This place is definitely a do again! And we will!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

My family and my parents vacationed together at Sea Ranch and stayed in this lovely home. We loved the quiet area and all the hiking trails around it. My boys, 11 and 13, had fun at the local bookstore. We all enjoyed the 2 Fish Bakery nearby. The views from this home are so calming and serene. A good time was had by all. We will definitely return!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My girlfriends and I have been going on annual weekend getaways for a while, but our experience at this property was above and beyond all of our expectations. The property was extremely well appointed, the decor and furnishings comfortable and inviting, and the views were stunning at all times of day. In preparation for this trip, we were very well-informed about its location (great directions), and what to expect when we arrived. As a bonus, the owner is purely delightful to deal with, and very friendly and organized. The house is immaculate, and we took advantage of the nice kitchen and soothing hot tub. All in all, it was the perfectly peaceful atmosphere to relax and reconnect as friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean delight

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

This home was an oasis of calm in our urgent lives. Comfortable, elegantly designed, artistic, and connected to the glorious bluff trail right outside the door with beautiful picture windows and window seats. We came with 2 adults and 4 teens, so we needed to use the loft area for our two boys and the second bedroom for our two girls. The "loft" was like a small living room with its own bathroom and couch and window seats, so there was plenty of privacy. We hiked the entire trail and played on the cliffs outside the door, even going out at midnight with flashlights to sit beside the crashing surf. We also biked the roads of Sea Ranch all the way to the other end and ate at the romantic restaurant of the lodge, played tennis and used the recreational facilities. But the highlight for our kids was reading on the window seat and feeling the sea by their side. We hope to return again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Far from a maddening crowd

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

This is what was exactly needed to get away to decompress for awhile. The house was perfectly located. Breath taking view from the living room, I found myself sitting on the settee quite a bit just reading a book or gazing out into the ocean. House itself was well appointed and had all that was needed. Very nicely maintained and clean. Perfect for relaxing, hot tubbing, taking hikes along the awesome coast, getting friendly visits from deer every now and then. One of us is a swimmer, so he would enjoy the community pool nearby and swim laps. Again, perfect to get away and down load. I hope to make it back by years end!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location and view

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The home is well laid out with excellent views of the ocean, including when working at the kitchen counters and sink area. It was clean, with good quality linens and towels. The herbs and spices were adequate, and the kitchen utensils and pans were ample. Just a short 50' walk to the bluff trail with picturesque rock formations and crashing waves. There is a cormorant nesting rock a block south of the home. Saw deer and rabbits, along with the normal sea gulls, vultures, cormorants, pelicans, oyster catchers, and other sea birds.

We would stay again and recommend it to others. The upstairs provides a separate living area for two couples or families, each staying on their own floor if they want some privacy.

Needs: The jacuzzi is small and will only fit two comfortably, with possibly a child too. Good views of the ocean from the jacuzzi.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

INCREDIBLE LOCATION! GREAT HOUSE FOR KIDS!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

My family and I spent the weekend at this house and were not disappointed at all. My parents, my kids, my wife, and myself all loved this property. The unobstructed ocean views from every room were amazing. The kitchen had everything you need. My kids loved the hot tub, the kids movies, and the sleeping arrangements. When we were leaving they asked me if we could buy the house so we could visit again whenever we like. What more can I say than that?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Wonderful Time Was Had By All

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this property before and felt it was perfect for a larger family get away. The lay out of the house is great. My husband and I had the downstairs bedroom and my daughter and family had the entire upstairs. The nice loft area is great living space affording wonderful times together and privacy when desired. The home is lovely and the setting couldn't b better.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Visit to Paradise

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our third stay at Ocean Knoll. Over the years, we've stayed at a few different places at Sea Ranch, but once we found Ocean Knoll, we won't stay anyplace else. The location is excellent--ocean views from the kitchen, living room and upstairs bedroom and loft. Caryl, the owner, is quick to respond to any questions. We also appreciate that the home is located on the North end of Sea Ranch so it's a quick drive to Gualala if there's anything we need to pick up. We'll definitely be returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Knoll

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Spectacular location, wonderful property. Loved the fireplace, hot tub, ocean views and sounds.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

oceanlover

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

This is our second time at this home. We came back because we enjoyed it so much that we wanted our children to experience it. And it did not fail to impress. Beautiful ocean views, well furnished rooms, fully equipped kitchen. We couldn't ask for more

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beaders group

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

We loved our stay at Ocean Knoll. All as they said it was. Well equipped, we cooked all meals there and hiked, made jewelry and rested. We hope to be back again next year. Loved this house. As for nearby rec., Sea Trader for cards, books,etc., Surf Grocery for an excellent choice of healthy foods. It's definitely the "Whole Foods" of Gualala.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean Knoll

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

The home is a great place to stay!! It has everything you need to relax and enjoy the view.. This was my 5th stay at this house and I would recommend it to my friends. The owner was very helpful in making my decision to stay here again.. And I will be back...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even better the second time!

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 31, 2013

This was our second visit to Sea Ranch, staying in the same house and we just love it. The location is perfect - You can watch the waves from any part of the house, or you are just FEET from the edge of the bluff where you can go outside and enjoy the sea mist in your face. You can walk on the trail that passes in front of the house, either to the north or south. There are also hiking trails that lead into the hills where the landscape transforms into a lush "rainforest" with moss covered trees, streams, and ferns. We visited the cool little Sea Ranch Chapel this time - a wonderful place if you need to get quiet with your own thoughts. We feel very little need to venture far from the house when we are there - it is so relaxing and we are content eating our meals right there "at home", so we haven't tried any restaurants. We did however drive to Point Arena to walk on the bluffs and explore the coastline to the north. It's a perfect outing for photography lovers! I got some gorgeous shots there as well as right outside our door! Every evening we had a sunset date where we took our chairs, cameras, and shared a couple glasses of champagne on the bluff near the house. It was great fun! And there's nothing like falling asleep at night to the sound of the crashing waves right outside your window! We feel very much at home there. It's a clean and beautiful home and has everything you need. We'll be back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous honeymoon getaway!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 7, 2013

My husband and I took a honeymoon retreat to Ocean Knoll and we were so glad that we chose this house. Ocean Knoll is in a quiet location with fantastic ocean views. You can soak in the views from window seats in each room and watch the water as you wake up in the comfortable and romantic master bedroom or gaze at the ocean from the hot tub. The two fireplaces make the house extra cozy. The house is so well cared for - very clean, well decorated, and cozy. The kitchen is very well stocked for cooking and baking - I brought my own bread and pie pans just in case, but didn't need them. The beautiful wooden dining table is gorgeous and makes eating in delightful. The house is ten paces from the breathtaking ocean trails. We walked one direction to the beach and the other direction to fantastic views of Gualala. Still, the view from the house is so beautiful that we spent one rainy day watching the waves from indoors. Other than the rain we had wonderful sunny weather in the middle of January. This was our first trip to Sea Ranch and we loved the private community, trails, and rec centers. We swam in the outdoor pool with an ocean view and contemplated going to yoga. Everyone was incredible friendly. This trip was incredibly rejuvenating for us. We can't wait to get back to Sea Ranch and when we do we will definitely be staying at Ocean Knoll.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights and 4 days in this beautiful home and we LOVED it. Everything about it was perfect - lots of BIG windows, and the ocean is only FEET away, so it's not just an ocean VIEW, it's the whole experience! You can hear and feel the waves crashing against the rocky shore! Deer walk right up to the house in the morning and because of the reflective glass, they can't see you sitting at the window seat, but you can see them up close! What an experience! The house is great - the rooms are angular, so you don't feel like a hamster in a box. It's got a very open layout and I thought it was perfect! The kitchen was well equipped - I brought some of my own things to cook with because you are never sure about what a place will provide. I really didn't have to bring a thing. They have it all, and I was actually cooking an early Thanksgiving dinner. One very MINOR thing that I want to mention is to be sure to bring your own kleenex and shampoo - none is provided. But that is so minor... Still, if I didn't think to bring my own, I would have had to run out to the store. Also, there is a sign on the diningroom table that it scratches easily, so use placemats, etc. I wish a tablecloth had been provided to put my mind at ease a bit more about the scratches. I used placemats to make sure nothing touched the table. But overall, our long weekend was so relaxing and so enjoyable and we stayed til the very last minute before we had to check out! We hope to make this a yearly tradition!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What's not to love about Ocean Knoll?

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Our 3rd time staying here and we can't wait to go back. It is so beautiful, so peaceful, so well-accessorized, so home-like, and so conveniently located near Gualala and other attractions. The kitchen is well-supplied with cooking utensils so you can prepare real meals here. You're thinking: I'm on vacation, why would I cook? Well, you don't have to because there are plenty of good eats in Gualala and Anchor Bay but we hate to leave the place for too long so we usually do take out to get back to our view and fireplace. If you shop and cook, you could grill fresh local rock cod and you can still have your view at all times! HDTV, Blu-Ray DVD, hot-tub. It's heaven! We have seen fox, blue heron, whales, deer, pelicans, etc. right from our window. Don't miss TwoFish Bakery Cafe and Annapolis Winery, both on Annapolis Road. The owner is always a pleasure to deal with. It just doesn't get any better than this.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect weekend

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

The home was absolutely perfect, exactly as it is described. Our 2 families meet at Sea Ranch every year and we have stayed in many homes, this one is top of our list and hope to be able to repeat next year. The owner was extremely helpful and generous with offering us additional nights at the low rate we reserved originally as they had a cancellation. Love Gualala, visited Point Arena, old diving grounds - and great coffee in the cove. And best of all we came home well rested with limits of abalone!
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

The house was perfect for us. My daughter and my 5 grandchildren stayed, all girls ages 17,15, 12, 10, 8. There was more than enough room for all of us in the house and for some privacy when needed. The views were spectacular. It had everything we could have needed. The only thing thing we could have done without were the racoons. Our fault though. One of the girls left the window of the van down. The racoons had a blast. We learned a lesson. We loved it and had the best time. Cant wait for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and Elegant

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

This was a beautiful house with a gorgous view - we enjoyed everything about the house and it was a real treat to stay there. I would recommend this house without hesitation and hope to return one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

As good as it looks

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Very nice spacious home with gorgeous views and right on the ocean bluff as pictured. We had a very comfortable lovely stay. Good internet, but note that there is no cell phone reception in the Sea Ranch area for AT&T (we were told only for Verizon).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sea Ranch House

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

Great house, beautiful view. We plan to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Walk 50 yards to spectacular crashing ocean

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

What a beautiful home! Very comfortable, lovely rooms. Some of our days were a little cool--couldn't stay outside as much as we like to on the coast. BUT, the house is so light, the views are so enormous & numerous that when you can't be outside you still feel like you ARE outside. So many birds & animals sharing the cliffs: pelicans, seagulls, heron, sea otter, ducks, deer, rabbits.
Great community pool for lap swimming. Trails along the cliffs; long walks. Lovely huge window seat for reading in the sun. Great roomy kitchen, excellent BBQ. Beautiful fireplace & plenty of wood. No skimping--we really appreciated that. Excellent privacy for 2 couples -- one upstairs, one downstairs. Spacious layout. Owners very easy to work with & helped us graciously with crazy changes. Recommend highly!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Memorable Weekend at Ocean Knoll

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

In February we celebrated my wife's birthday over a long weekend and the property was just absolutely delightful. The pictures and descriptions on the website were spot on. Close friends joined us the last two nights (a surprise to my wife) and the layout was perfect for two couples to have their own privacy if they so desired. The views were awesome and the wildlife abundant including a red fox. Being an avid cook I was very pleased at how well the kitchen was equipped. We did eat lunch out one day at Bones Roadhouse in Gualala which is about 10 minutes North and really enjoyed the numerous BBQ items on the menu. Caryl, the owner, was very pleasant to deal with. We certainly will return.

FvB
Napa, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views and great layout to have space from teens!

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

We liked the location , the size of the house and the wonderful design of windows and trees to provide a great view. Nice clean house.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Had a wonderful time at Ocean Knoll. It was what we expected and more. Beautiful views from every window. It was family/kid friendly, a closet full of games and puzzles. Especially loved the well equiped kitchen. Caryl was great to work with, even when we needed to change our dates. We have already booked a return trip in May with friends to celebrate anniverseries and take advantage of the nearby golf course.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely gorgeous!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Ocean Knoll was the perfect destination to celebrate our 22nd Anniversary! From the moment we walked in, we knew we would only be leaving to hike. We saw so many whale pods, birds, deer, harbor seals; it was spectacular! We loved having the view of the ocean from the hot tub and being protected from the wind. The house is fully equipped for making meals in and with the grocery store just a couple minutes away, we were able to get everything we needed for our stay. Caryl was so easy to deal with. Definitely looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

total relaxation!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 13, 2012

beautiful home, stormy ocean just 50 yards away, sweet deer in the front yard...we had a lovely time...perfect birthday escape

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Restful

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

Wonderful home in beautiful private setting! The home was welcoming, well stocked, spotlessly clean. Perfect for 4 adults with plenty of window seats overlooking the ocean view. Private sitting, reading, TV room separate from main living area was cozy and provided opportunity for quiet time. The listing description and photos well represented the property. Caryl, the owner, was professional but with a personal touch. Felt like it was important to Caryl that we felt welcomed can comfortable. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great relaxing home

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

What a wonderful location and comfortable house. The bottle of champagne and welcome card on our arrival was very thoughtful. We saw tons of wildlife each day just while sitting in the living room. Spacious living area and perfect upstairs area for our teenagers to kick back. Loved the master bedroom/bath.
We have stayed in over a dozen properties at Sea Ranch and this is in the top three. We will definitely come here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean front rental at Sea Ranch

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

We had a perfect three night stay. The location near the north end of Sea Ranch is excellent and provides easy access to town. The home is in excellent condition, clean, and well provisioned with all the necessities like an outdoor grill, dishes, firewood, etc. The house is only 50 feet off the bluff trail, so ideal for walking, with a great ocean view of a nearby cove. We spent a lot of time reading/whale watching on the first floor window seats and patio off the MBR. I feel the listing accurately portrays the home, and we plan to stay here again on a future trip. I also found the owners great to work with resulting in a quick and smooth booking. So i recommend this home highly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: November 18, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Ocean Knoll is a perfect place to spend a relaxing time in Sea Ranch! The house is literally 100 feet from the walking trail with amazing views from any window. You can see and hear the waves crashing from the bedrooms. My husband I went alone to get a quick weekend away, but because of the layout this house is also perfect for two couples or a family. We will definitely be back! Oh and the owners are amazingly easy to work with and the rental process is simple.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sea Ranch Home

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

The Ocean Knoll Home has been a favorite getaway for me and my husband of 20 some years now. The home offers ocean views from just about every room. It's a great plan in that one couple can have privacy upstairs and another can have their space downstairs. The hot tub is private - The Sea Ranch trails are the best. Even in rainy weather, the area is totally breathtaking and is THE place to escape for total relaxation and revitalization.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Knoll

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Ocean Knoll! I couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate my 60th birthday! All 4 of us loved the house, the views, and the easy access to walking paths. Saw lots of wildlife, flew a kite, had great shared meals in the house as well as at local restaurants, rode the Skunk Train, etc. Hope to come back some day. The only drawback is having to leave our 2 dogs at home which we understand. Thanks for everything!
anne w.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful view in a comfortable clean home.

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at ocean bluffs. The home was well cared for and very comfortable. We loved to go on long walks on the trail connected to the back yard. We ended each day with a glass of wine in the hottub while watching the ocean and passing boats in the distance.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great way to start vacations!

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Pictures don't do justice of how beautiful this place is, there is really not need to get out of the house as the views are amazing and so relaxing. The house is right next to the hiking trail, so we had easy access to explore all around.
A few extra things we think it is worth to mention:
- There is a iPod docking station
- There is a big selection of movies for kids and adults and CDs.
- There are board games available for kids and adults.
- Gas Grill
- There is not cellphone coverage, we had T-mobile, Verizon and Sprint. Nothing, nada. So don't depend on your phone to get there or to explore around. Personally, I see this as a big plus! (Internet is available in the house in case you really need it)

The booking process was easy and Caryl maintains great communication.

Whenever I have a chance, I would love to come back to this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous sea views

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Everything was in great shape, even better supplied than we expected. Five adults shared easily, with tons of space and lots of cozy window seats for relaxing. The bluff walks and beach are very near and beautiful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at Oak Knoll. The house has a great open floor plan, with lots of windows and window seats where we relaxed and enjoyed the amazing ocean views. The house is well-stocked, very clean and comfortable. The owners were great at getting back to us with any questions we had. Oak Knoll is only about a 5 minute drive into Gualala for stocking up on items we needed. While at Sea Ranch we saw many deer and even spotted a whale breeching in the distance. We enjoyed our time so much that we've already booked our week for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sublime

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

Ocean Knoll is a stunningly simple expression of Sea Ranch's respect for the land. Not only is the view of the rocky cove extraordinary, but the home is graciously appointed and just invites relaxation. Every room has views, including the kitchen.

We relaxed here almost instantly and spent the next 3 days relaxing even more. The place was spotless when we arrived with fires ready to light in both fireplaces. Hot tub hot. Great kitchen. Very comfy beds. Fab location.

Caryl was a delight to work with as were the local management company who were helpful, friendly and provided us with great local information.

All in all, a gem of a vacation rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Knoll - Our Favorite Home

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

Our group, 5 women, had a wonderful time. We have been renting houses at Sea Ranch since 1999. This is our favorite house and we are renting it again next year. Everything about the house suited us. The layout worked well with two family room areas, the hot tub was in a great spot, the views from all the rooms were great. From the downstairs living room we saw many whale spouts and seals playing in the water. The view from the living room is even better than the picture shows it.

We were also impressed with how clean the house was when we arrived. In several of the houses we have rented rented over the years we have had to clean something when we arrived.

A great overall experience.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A restful retreat

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Ocean Knoll offered us everything we needed for a restful retreat. The master bedroom suite has a small balcony overlooking the ocean, a fireplace, a walk-in closet, and a large bathroom. There is lots of separation between downstairs and upstairs. Though only my husband and I stayed there, when he was upstairs watching a video, I couldn't hear the sound from the living room where i was reading. The views of the ocean are splendid, and the location is great: just a five minute drive from Gualala. Since we bring our bikes to Sea Ranch, we particularly liked the location because Leeward, just a block away, offers great biking. Also, we liked being able to put our car (and bikes) in the garage, especially when it was raining. This is an attractive, spacious but cozy house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the best place i have stayed in sea ranch!!!

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

I have stayed at many places in Sea Ranch over the years, and this is by far the best. Every room has a view of the ocean. It is simply, yet tastefully decorated. Hot tubbing in the rain was a perfect activity before lying by the fire. I highly recommend this vrbo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation at Ocean Knoll

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the great location. Practically on the bluff, nice house, well appointed. Two nights of watching sunset with a glass of wine - once outdoors, once indoors.
Great sleeping arrangements. Terrific views from multiple levels: great room, kitchen, both bedrooms, the "game room" upstairs and from the hot tub. Perfect location for hikes - and just stared out the window on the window seat.
We left our brains by the side of the road and had a wonderful, relaxing weekend. Will return for a longer stay.
We highly recommend the Ocean Knoll.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing vacation

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 17, 2010

This was the best vacation I've had for years.The home & its furnishings were beautiful,well chosen, & of excellent quality, with a minamalist, but well thought out approach. I love cooking, & the kitchen is well equiped with top quality equipment. The location is beautiful, with the nearby bluff walk easy, but beautiful, & daily changing. On inclement days, there are numerous window seats for reading & viewing, & a top class entertainment system, with an excellent collection of classic CDs & DVDs for many interests. We can hardly wait until our return. Maureen

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous home

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

You will want to stay in this home. The views of the ocean are incredible. It is a short walk from the house to the trail for long, incredibly beautiful walks. The kitchen has everything you need. The living room is comfortable to sit in. The window seat in the living room is the best place to sit and read or just stare out to the ocean! You could stay here for a month and then regret leaving! Enjoy!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Stay at Ocean Knoll

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

We stayed at Ocean Knoll at the end of July and very much enjoyed our stay. The house was the ideal location for us - just steps from the bluff trails and scenic ocean coastline, less than a 5 minute drive to the Sea Ranch golf course (which we played every day) and 5 minutes to Gualala for groceries, shopping and eating out. We have an 11 month old and the house was well suited for a young child on the go exploring the world. Loved the sunsets and the night sky in the hot tub. The two rooms comfortbaly slept two couples and we also had another adult guest stay over one night comfortably in the sitting room. Kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils, plateware, etc. Free WiFi was nice as well. Only drawback for us was difficulty with the fireplace but given the nice weather that was not a major deal. The owner was great to work with and was very easy to get into touch with and answered all of our questions in advance. Anyone looking to be oceanside, close to the golf course and the town of Gualala, I would highly recommend this house! Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A property and Sea Ranch experience that exceeds expectations!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

We want to let you know how wonderful our recent stay was at Ocean Knoll. Truly WAY above and beyond our expectations in the house, views, accomodations, how it was equiped and appointed, the overall condition of the place and the proximity to the ocean and waves steps away.

Your home provided my family with a lovely spot to reconnect with each other and get away to a secluded spot to enjoy the coast.

We enjoyed preparing lovely dinners and the kitchen was a joy to cook in with all the items one needs to provide and serve a great meal.

Ocean Knoll is laid out in a gread floor plan. We all had our own private areas in the house to enjoy as well as the lovely common area to visit in. The layout was very accomodating to our needs.The way the house is situated was private and provided interesting vistas to observe nature.

Ocean Knoll captured The Sea Ranch spirit of us and allowed me to share it with my family. Ocean Knoll is a great find and great value.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Solitude on the bluff...

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

We were looking for a quiet retreat in nature with the sound of the ocean to celebrate our one year anniversary. We loved the location of the house to the ocean and the amazing view. Great spot! We were luck that noone was staying in any of the house right next to ours so it was quite quiet. Great hottub! Nice fires in the fireplace. We will come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, serene spot near the bluffs

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We would highly recommend staying in this gorgeous home just a few yards from the bluffs. It was one of the best situated and furnished homes we've stayed in at Sea Ranch. Windows with views from almost every room, clean and fully equipped kitchen, comfortable furniture. What more could you want from a vacation rental on the ocean? We intend to stay there again, and again, and again...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly as described! stunning views, wonderful home

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

We've had the opportunity of staying at many homes at Sea Ranch, and this was by far our favorite! In addition to the wonderful ocean views from every room, the home was cozy, tastefully decorated and well equiped for families or two couples. Watching the pelicans and other sea life while walking along the ocean front hiking paths or from the home's window seat, is great, as is kayaking up the nearby Gualala river. Thank you and we look forward to returning again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Outstanding rental

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

Over the years we have rented coastal rentals on a regular basis and this was one of the best. Fully stocked, everything as advertised and some suprising details. The pictures did not give justice to the location--the house is only 100 feet or so from the edge of the bluff. This house is on our return list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

We had a wonderful time! The house was very cozy and had all ammenities our family of four needed. It really was more like a 3 bedroom house with lots of room. The views were stunning from nearly every window. Very private cul-de-sac close to the cliffs. The jacuzzi had ocean views, too. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

We spent some lovely days in this beautiful and extremely well equipped house which offered plenty of space for the 5 of us - even a 6th person would have well fitted in.We always enjoyed the fantastic views, the super walks starting right away from the house and of course the hot tub ... and while it was raining we loved the games, books and movies which are available for guests just as if it was your own home.Everything was in excellent condition and we can only recommend this marvellous place and hope that all guests will take good care of the owners' belongings so that you really think it is yours and not a standard holiday home in terms of quality of the furniture, accessories, masses of plates, glasses and cutlery ...The dear coming next to the house was a super add-on, too ;))Furthermore the rim/ coastline next to the house is very smooth so we could even allow the kids (6, 8, 11) to play outside by themselves as there was no danger to fall down the cliffs.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, amazing views, peaceful and quiet

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Ocean Knoll was the perfect house for me and three high school friends visiting from the East Coast to spend a couple of days on a gorgeous piece of the coast. It had plenty of space, and views from every room -- two bedrooms, incl. large master suite with king and downstairs queen, an anteroom with another queen, and a few daybeds. The house is tastefully furnished, with classic framed b/w photos on the walls, a great living room with huge windows looking out on the ocean from the couch or bench seat at the windows. Kitchen has all the amenities. Woke up to sound of ocean crashing, walked/jogged right out to the bluff and along the water to Gualala Regional Park and river, 1 mile away. Hot tub on deck is ideal to warm up at night. Owner was very responsive and a pleasure to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love sharing our home with such wonderful guests. One clarification to this review: There is only one queen bed (downstairs). There are two twins in sitting room (anteroom) and one King in Master Suite.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed your house. I picked this house based on both the location (close to the water, close to Gualala) but also how comfortably it is furnished. The living room with large windows, large window seats and comfy couch was great by day, and the master bedroom with fireplace, window seat, and large bathroom was very comfy by night. Had a little trouble with the TV, but between books, walks, cooking, and websurfing on your wireless internet connection, we hardly noticed. Hot tub was nice (though raining while we were there). Watched whales swim by from the bluff. Thanks for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2009

We enjoyed the house immensely and, w/several decades of SR rentals to draw on, it’s lovely to be in a home that shows pride of ownership—nice furnishings, art, etc—even tho it’s a second home & rental. We’re very much looking forward to our birthday/anniversary week return in April. (BTW, the towering surf was absolutely awesome to watch from the LR window seat!)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review