reviews for: listing #79645 - Melbourne Beach, Florida House rental

Beach AND River Family Fun Retreat
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

A Private Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

My husband and 4 kids and I had a wonderful week at this property. It was way more than we expected! We enjoyed the beach everyday and the walk wasn't far at all. My husband and boys loved having the surfboard there and tried to surf everyday. We had the beach all to ourselves every day...that was awesome! Everyone fished in the river all week. We caught 26 catfish and 2 other fish. We seen bonnet head sharks, dolphins, a sting ray, and lots of fish while we were fishing. At night we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub.

We got a chance to meet the owner John while we were there. He was a super cool guy! He told us about the history of the home and told us some things to check out while we were there. He was very helpful and we really enjoyed talking with him. It was absolutely perfect!! It was a vacation none of us will ever forget! We will definitely be back!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Private Piece of Heaven!!

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 29, 2014

My husband and 4 kids and I had a wonderful week at this property. It was way more than we expected! We enjoyed the beach everyday and the walk wasn't far at all. My husband and boys loved having the surfboard there and tried to surf everyday. We had the beach all to ourselves every day...that was awesome! Everyone fished in the river all week. We caught 26 catfish and 2 other fish. We seen bonnet head sharks, dolphins, a sting ray, and lots of fish while we were fishing. At night we enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub.

We got a chance to meet the owner John while we were there. He was a super cool guy! He told us about the history of the home and told us some things to check out while we were there. He was very helpful and we really enjoyed talking with him. It was absolutely perfect!! It was a vacation none of us will ever forget! We will definitely be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Week in Paradise!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

I found this house on VRBO and convinced my father-in-law to book it for our spring vacation. We had a pretty big group of people with two families with kids and my mother and father-in-law. Everyone had a bed to sleep in! The house was fully stocked with everything we needed, including kayaks, fishing equipment, beach towels and toys etc. It had a magnificently big yard far from A1A, which was perfect since we had little kids. The yard was so big, we even had an Easter egg hunt on Easter Sunday! Our boys enjoyed fishing from the pier almost every day and checking the crab traps regularly. The Tiki hut by the beach was great with all the needed chairs and equipment. The hot tub was great. It was even greater after my brother-in-law gave it a good cleaning! We could find almost nothing wrong with this place. Our only complaint was the small living room. We felt like the game room and living room could easily be switched to make more room for people to sit in the evening to relax. It was by far the best Florida rental we've ever stayed in and fun was had by all. We're hoping we can return next year for another sunny fun filled week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Place

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Was everything we expected and more! The beach was beautiful, we saw only a few other people and they were just walking by. Tiki hut was nice and all the water and sand toys were well used. The river was beautiful, we took the kayaks out and saw dolphins and many other fish. We fished and enjoyed the beautiful weather. The outside shower was a definite plus when coming in from the beach! The house was perfect, could not have asked for anything else. We had 7 adults and 3 kids the house accomidated us all fine. Everything we needed was close by. Best vacation ever!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great escape

Review submitted: January 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

This house and owner was awesome, our original beach house we rented for this week, the reservation was all messed up so we had no where to go, so enroute I called Pam and asked her if her house was available, it was and she had to rush to get someone to clean and get it ready for us in a couple of hours and she did it. She rescued us from a vacation going bad. We had people from all over the country coming in and there was plenty of room and the river and beach access was awesome. Entering the house is like going into a house that someone else just left and left all their stuff...It was great we needed nothing. We did have a septic issue the first day and Pam got it fixed very fast. The hot tub never worked but we did not miss it either. We realize it takes awhile to get somethings fixed, ordering parts and what not...If not for the Hot tub it would have been a perfect 5 stars. We will definetely go back and work with this owner anytime on any of her rentals she was awesome and so was this home, go you will not be dissappointed

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Heaven on earth family vacation

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

We are a family that lives on the coast and vacations on the coast but that's how much we love the water and let me tell you, this area of the Florida coastline is not one to be missed! We had adventures unfold on a daily basis from dolphin feedings on the inlet side to surfing one mile down the road at "Spanish House". We saw manatee in the river, ate pompano from the ocean, drank wine from the dock at sunset, surfed from the beach side of this property, watched the sunrise from the ocean with hot coffee... It was a true Florida experience and I must say that the people in this area are some of the most genuine we have come across in a long while. The Biddulph's property is a traditional Florida style home where you feel you can relax and you don't feel you are going to "mess up" anything. The game room is fantastic for families, the hot tub is supreme for post surfing, the dock is best for sunsets and campfires with smores in the evening. With this home in particular, you have a true advantage of inlet activities and privacy of the ocean access because of their ownership of the oceanfront lot across the street. In our opinion, this sets this property apart as a rental. I can not say enough nice things about the Biddulphs and their timely repsonses and phone calls back whenever we needed to secure their home for rental.
We will definitely be back and look forward to it! Thank you for blessing our family by allowing us to rent your piece of paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Family getaway

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

This was perfect for our family getaway nestled between the ocean and river. We love that the beach was private and we didn't have to fight for our space on the sand. The boogie boards were in constant use. We enjoyed seeing all the turtle tracks and evidence of turtles hatching. The river was a special draw to the fishermen among us and it was fun just to see all the hermit crabs as well as those crabs caught in the trap. We saw dolphins jumping in the river which was a treat. The house was very comfortable. John & Pam were very accomodating and helpful. It was a nice touch to have videos for the children to watch in the evenings, and the air hockey game was a hit. We had some problems with the gas grills cooking evenly, but nothing we couldn't work around. There were many mosquitoes and biting insects, especially near the river. That's to be expected so take lots of insect repellent with you as well as your sunscreen. This was an ideal vacation destination from Grandma & Grandpa down to the one year old.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful Retreat!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

We did nothing more than enjoy the surf of the ocean, the calm of the dock, and a 4 mile drive down to the Sebastian Inlet. Enjoyed the wildlife immensely; manatees, dolphins, pelicans, gopher tortoise, osprey, lizards.....
We are relaxed!
Cheryl, David, Daniel and Matthew
Rockwood, Ontario, Canada

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Lilburn, GA

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Thank you so much for making this beach home so welcoming and fun! The waves were amazing, the beach toys were well used, and the fishing was a wonderful way to spend our afternoons. Getting the six cousins together is always a fun event and we'll have beautiful memories of your home and property with us for many years to come!
Thanks so much!
from GA and NM

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From California

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Thank you John and Pam for our stay in your lovely little house.
Steph, Dre, Jessica, Michael and Jeanie.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful Combination of Beach and River!

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

I can't say enough about this vacation home! The owners have done a great job with the photos and video to show you all the house has to offer, and the reality does not disappoint. We were thrilled with the proximity to the river and beach, the house is spaced equally between the two. The river was lovely, although the noseeums were out and biting while we were there. But as long as we had bug spray on we were fine. We saw dolphins each morning, and even came across a trio of otters a couple days! The kids had a blast fishing, the house has lots of poles and tackle to use, and the boats were a plus too (as were the life jackets)! There are bait shops just a short drive from the house that will help you with the local fishing.

The beach is a short walk across the 2-lane A-1-A (which wasn't busy while we were there), past a wooded area, to the tiki hut. Oh the tiki hut, I could have slept there (I did catch a nap there a couple times). The hammock, lounge chairs, sand toys and boogie boards made the hours spent by the ocean so enjoyable. I know the homeowners have no control over the waves, but they were truly awesome. Playing in the ocean was more thrilling and adrenaline-filled than riding a roller coaster!

The home itself had everything we needed. We had 5 adults and 6 children, so it was a big group, but everyone of us had a bed. The pullout sofa in the living room was comfy, and the master bed room was very nice. The queen and twin beds showed a little age, but everyone was so beat from the ocean that nobody complained! The game room kept the kids occupied, and the outdoor shower was great for cleaning all that sand off! We had some problems with the heat in the hot tub, it got cool 3 of the nights we were there, so we couldn't use it. But Pam was very helpful and it was working again by the last day of the trip.

The landscaping around the home was gorgeous, it was obvious to me that someone spends a lot of time caring for this home. With the beautiful trees and shrubbery, and the sound of the ocean waves while sitting on the porch, it reminded me of being in Hawaii! The low light area made star-gazing perfect too. The outdoor seating around the home, at the dock, and in the tiki hut meant that if the weather permitted you could spend every moment outside soaking up the sun! We always say we want to go back to beach houses, but in this case, I really do. Thanks to Pam and John for sharing this home with us vacationers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

rest

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

perfect place to rest and do nothing or knock yourself out having fun in the sun I opted for nothing it was so good

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of The Beach & River Retreat. Melbourne Beach has that effect on vacationers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Place in Town

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Definitely the best place in town to be!!! LOVED IT... AMAZING EVERYTHING ABOUT THE PALMS IS INCREDIBLE... We'll be back !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Arizona and Texas

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Dear John and Pam,
We had a wonderful week together at your lovely beach house. Thank you for taking such care and providing all of the amenities for our ease and enjoyment. Our grandchildren loved the surf and boogie boards and we all enjoyed the games and the beach, river and roasting marshmellows. It will always be a fond memory for my daughter and her children and two happy grandparents. We hope to see you again. The sea turtles and all of this place are beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th of July

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Thanks for letting us stay in your house. It is beautiful here. Sea turtles nesting everywhere, last space shuttle flight and great fishing. Only wish we had another week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Make Time Move Slower

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

John and Pam,
We had an amazing week in Melbourne! The "Private Beach" and River kept us busy all week. Sunset kayaking with the dolphins was unforgetable! We had dinner by the river and watched the sunset on our last night. The fresh flowers in the house were so lovely! We just needed to make time move slower. :) Thanks again. Forest City, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Arizona and Texas

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Dear John and Pam,
We had a wonderful week together at your lovely beach house. Thank you for taking such care and providing all of the amenities for our ease and enjoyment. Our grandchildren loved the surf and boogie boards and we all enjoyed the games and the beach, river and roasting marshmellows. It will always be a fond memory for my daughter and her children and two happy grandparents. We hope to see you again. The sea turtles and all of this place are beautiful. Betty and Duane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th of July

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Thanks for letting us stay in your house. It is beautiful here. Sea turtles nesting everywhere, last space shuttle flight and great fishing. Only wish we had another week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Make time move slower

Review submitted: September 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

John and Pam,
We had an amazing week in Melbourne! The "Private Beach" and River kept us busy all week. Sunset kayaking with the dolphins was unforgetable! We had dinner by the river and watched the sunset on our last night. The fresh flowers in the house were so lovely! We just needed to make time move slower. :) Thanks again. Forest City, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

John and Pam,
One week in Melbourne Beach was fantastic! We enjoyed the beach access, Tiki Hut, and hammock. Location was great allowing us easy access to Kennedy Space Center for the day (unfortunately the shuttle launch was delayed). We really enjoyed the pier and river. We saw lots of birds, caught a few fish and crabs and enjoyed kayaking with pods of dolphins and a family of river otters! Your place became a great place for two families to share a great week. It is amazing to think 44 years later two childhood friends would bring their families to Florida for a great vacation. Winchester, MA and Elliocott City, MA


Helpful votes: 0 / 0

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

John and Pam,
We really hate to leave. We have had such a fun and relaxing vacation here! Thank you so much for everything. We enjoyed the privacy of the beach area and Tiki Hut everyday. The sunsets over the pier on the riverside were gorgeous! Jerry loved fishing on the ocean for the first time and caught many fish! The kids loved finding crabs at night on the beach. The hot tub was also great at the end of the day at the beach! The kids relly enjoyed the game room too. They never were bored for a minute here! We were originally planning to go to the zoo and a few other places after Disney, but we never wanted to leave the beach, so we stayed here and played all week. Anyway we hope to come back soon! Thank you.
Jerry, Traci, Kevin, Megan, Matthew and Emily


Helpful votes: 0 / 0

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Reunion

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

John and Pam,
One week in Melbourne Beach was fantastic! We enjoyed the beach access, Tiki Hut, and hammock. Location was great allowing us easy access to Kennedy Space Center for the day (unfortunately the shuttle launch was delayed). We really enjoyed the pier and river. We saw lots of birds, caught a few fish and crabs and enjoyed kayaking with pods of dolphins and a family of river otters! Your place became a great place for two families to share a great week. It is amazing to think 44 years later two childhood friends would bring their families to Florida for a great vacation. Winchester, MA and Elliocott City, MA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Elkhart, IN

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

John and Pam,
We really hate to leave. We have had such a fun and relaxing vacation here! Thank you so much for everything. We enjoyed the privacy of the beach area and Tiki Hut everyday. The sunsets over the pier on the riverside were gorgeous! Jerry loved fishing on the ocean for the first time and caught many fish! The kids loved finding crabs at night on the beach. The hot tub was also great at the end of the day at the beach! The kids relly enjoyed the game room too. They never were bored for a minute here! We were originally planning to go to the zoo and a few other places after Disney, but we never wanted to leave the beach, so we stayed here and played all week. Anyway we hope to come back soon! Thank you.
Jerry, Traci, Kevin, Megan, Matthew and Emily

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Our family of 6 stayed at this home during August 7-14, 2010. We had a wonderful time! The beach was beautiful & uncrowded - very short walk from the house with a great sheltered cabana with boogies boards, surf board and picnic table. During a few rainy afternoons & before bed, our kids loved playing in the game room - we had some great competitions! They also loved the hot tub. It was a very relaxing family vacation. We will be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

D & J's excellent adventure
Rating:
5 out of 5

Wonderful location and a great value for a getaway vacation. We had a family reunion with 8 adults and two grandchildren. My wife and I live nearby so for us it was a 'staycation'. A great beachy feel with all the toys for plenty of entertainment. When sitting at the beach it is not too big a leap to imagine yourself in the Islands.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

one of a kind

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Our experience at the cottage was fantastic! The beach was great in every regard, especially the tiki hut; loved having the shade and comfortable seating in addition to the gorgeous view. The hot tub area was another one of our favorite spots. I definitely recommend taking advantage of the bikes that are provided, as the bike path that goes along A1A offers a nice smooth ride and there many close by areas to ride to and explore. It is evident that the owners put a great deal of time and care into preparing the property for their guests. I would love to stay again when if and when I am able to, hopefully in the near future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

D & J'S Excellent Adventure

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

D & J's excellent adventure
Rating:
5 out of 5

Wonderful location and a great value for a getaway vacation. We had a family reunion with 8 adults and two grandchildren. My wife and I live nearby so for us it was a 'staycation'. A great beachy feel with all the toys for plenty of entertainment. When sitting at the beach it is not too big a leap to imagine yourself in the Islands.

Recommended for: Age 55+ , Girls Getaway , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , People with Disabilities , Romantic Getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Conneticut Familyof 5

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Our family of 6 stayed at this home during August 7-14, 2010. We had a wonderful time! The beach was beautiful & uncrowded - very short walk from the house with a great sheltered cabana with boogies boards, surf board and picnic table. During a few rainy afternoons & before bed, our kids loved playing in the game room - we had some great competitions! They also loved the hot tub. It was a very relaxing family vacation. We will be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

ocean/river retreat

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

I had very high expectations for this vacation as well as this property, unfortunately it didn't work out so well. To start the majority of the furnishings and fixtures were very old and not very clean, the recliner would barely recline and has a huge tear in the arm rest, huge dead bugs in the cabinets, the whirlpool was unable to be used due to all of the mosquitos, as well as going to the lake, you just got eaten alive literally. The propane ran out of the grill the 1st time we tried to cook a meal. To go to the ocean you had to walk accross the property and then across the highway to a path between 2 houses and through trees and weeds to get there. The tiki hut is unusable due to the weeds and grasses so high, the bugs are in heaven. Once in the sand it is very enjoyable (its getting there thats the problem). There was no privacy at the lake (theres boat docks all the way down the coast on both sides of you). It definately is away from town for everything! (atleast 20 min for anything for teenagers and probably much further) Owner is in the process of redoing landscaping. The master bathroom is connected to master bedroom by outside entrance and outside shower area. Master bath shower has no light in it. The wood floors throught the main part of the house are nice however. We left a day early to try to salvage any kind of vacation for us and the teenagers. We tried everything for the bugs, but there was no slowing them down, unfortunately. The owner Pam was very nice and she did offer 2 free days in the fall if we can make it back for a week. (prob not due to the expense of the entire trip)

Owners response: It is always our goal for our guests to have the best experience possible and that is why we offer a unique combination of free amenities. We encourage guest feedback and rectify any concerns immediately. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather, mosquitoes, or situations that we are not made aware of. We haven’t had mosquitoes for a long time.

The Tiki Hut is less than a 3 minute walk from the house to the ocean with a stepping stone path on our vacant .76 acre ocean parcel. The sea oats, sea grapes, and palmetto palms are a natural part of the ocean setting and not only help to protect our beaches but also are environmentally protected.

Most of our guests find our 1+ acre on the Indian River very private and enjoy the Dolphins, Manatees, Ibis, White Herons and Otters. While there are neighboring docks on the river, we rarely see any boats or neighbors.

Our ocean to river property caters to the outdoor naturalist offering many outdoor activities, kayak, fishing poles, surf boards, boogie boards, bikes, and outdoor sports equipment. Melbourne Beach is known for its privacy and lack of tourists. More “action” and night life can be found in Cocoa Beach and Orlando.

We take the utmost care in maintaining a clean and beautiful cottage. The furniture gets a good workout with sand and many wet bathing suits, but is continually being upgraded. The recliner was repaired immediately and a new one has been added.

We continually improve our landscaping. The new Emerald Zoysia lawn at the front of the house is soft as the beach sand. To add to the tropical feeling, we've added a tree-lined driveway with 11 Queen Palms and a large Chinese Fan Palm. Also on the river, we've planted a fruit tree grove with 18 trees: Lime, Mango, Avocado, Passion Fruit, Blackberry, Cherry, Peach, Guava, Fig, Blueberry, many Papayas. Papayas are picked regularly by our guests.

To get a bird’s eye view of our property, "Google Earth": 8120 S. Hwy A1A, Melbourne Beach, FL 32951.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review