reviews for: listing #79658 - Wilmington, New York House rental

Olympic Dreams Chalet
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Whiteface Mountain
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $325 - $350 /nt
    $2,050 - $2,475 /wk

sort by:

Awesome Time with 2 families with young kids.

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 9, 2014

This was the perfect location and perfect accomodation for our two families of 4 adults and 4 kids. We were there to ski Whiteface, and the location could not be any better. We enjoyed the hot tub and the kitchen and there was more than enough space for 4 kids ages 6 and 9 to putz around without feeling that we were on top of each other. The facilities were clean and I loved that the owners were great about pushing RECYCLING and proper garbage disposal and returnables. It shows that the owners care for our environment as well.

The kitchen was so well equipped. Everytime I randomly looked for something to "test" to see if it was in the kitchen it was there! Even clips for chip bags to keep them fresh. Now, that is attention to detail. Loved it.

The only thing lacking in the chalet was probably that for this number of people, there are never enough hooks for coats (especially during the winter season), and for towels in the bathrooms. Other than that, we will definately come here to stay again next time we ski the face! Oh - and bring body soap!! :)

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: You let me know when you are coming back & we will have more hooks for you. Thank you for such kind words our team works really hard to bring the best to you every time you come, so let me know and I will have more coat hooks and robe hooks for you, Thanks again Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome property right by the mountain

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 6, 2014

The house is relatively new and clearly well planned. The owners of this house have really thought of all the details. Not only do they have a hot tub, but they also have a sauna and a Jacuzzi. Not only do they have a fireplace inside, but they have multiple fire options outside too. The beds are all new and very comfortable and the house is quiet. At risk of making it harder to rent myself, I would highly recommend this place to others. I'll be making a reservation soon for next year.

Owners response: We have 4 homes that are all fantastic. I LOL about your "harder to rent" statement that is super funny. We take great pride in our homes and thank you for your kind words. Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House! Perfect for 8-10 People!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 6, 2014

We have rented dozens of ski houses over the years and this was one of the nicest! Great location, newer construction, 3 awesome clean bathrooms...

Only surprise was that the cupboard was bare, like staying in hotel or timeshare, We are used to there being some sugar, oil, ketchup etc in all other houses we've rented. Also no backup toilet paper or paper towels, only what was left on the rolls...

I actually loved how clean it felt to open a fridge that was 100% empty, just wish we had a heads up. If you bring your own spices/condiments and rolled paper this house will do the rest!


Thank you for a wonderful weekend!!

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words we do not have any condiments there for health reasons and we take great pride in giving you the cleanest home we can. The paper towels, toilet paper, laundry soap, dishwasher soap are are there and we give you enough to get started with your vacation. There is a cute country store 1 mile away that you have to see its a great little place called "the little general store " we are glad you loved the home and wish for you to come back year after year just drop us a note and we will leave a few extra rolls of tp for you. Thanks again Kimmy & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family place

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

For us, it was A traditional weekend family, ski and chat together. We were enjoy the cottage and the fabulous mountain. We'll going back next year!

Owners response: Did you know that 75% of our customers return every year!!!! Thats why we built the latest home Whiteface Mountain Chalet because of folks like you. Thank you for such great kind words about our homes and we can not wait for your return. Thanks again Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

This house was beautiful and very clean with many amenities. The fireplace was perfect and there were directions on everything from the sauna to the light switches, taking the guess work out. We didn't venture out of the house, just hunkered down, cooked, watched Christmas movies and enjoyed each other's company. There were seven adults and one child. We had a blast. The only thing that could be better is if there were more comfortable seating for everyone. There was one sofa and one love seat, comfy seating for five max. That is the ONLY thing I would change. Highly recommend Todd and the Olympic Dreams Chalet!

Owners response: Thank you for the nice things you have to say about Olympic Dreams Chalet. We love that home too it is so comy. Thanks again Kimmy & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful chalet in a great location

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Very nice chalet with all amenities. Well laid out kitchen, cozy living room with nice fireplace, comfortable beds. Thanks Todd for another great vacation!

Owners response: Erica. Thank you for staying with us for many years now. Kim & I want to get you dinner when you come back this Fall for your hiking trip. Please let us do this for you. I promise like allways the home will be perfect for you. Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Upscale Accommodations at Unbelievable Rates

Review submitted: December 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2013

This house was amazing and perfectly suited for an extended family of 7, including a toddler and our small dog. The photos on the site are amazing, and the house lived up to them. The house is either quite new, or really well maintained (probably both). All the amenities you expect from a ski resort are right there in this house. Sauna, outdoor hot tub, high-end showers, etc. I've rented houses before for vacationing, and they "feel" like rentals, kinda dumpy with worn out furniture and bedding. Not this one. I felt I was house-sitting for a good friend rather than renting a ski house. When you feel like this, you can't help but care for the house and I think this is the big reason why the house continues to shine like new, because the people staying can't help but care for the place and not abuse it. You kind of feel like you've been entrusted with a great house, if that makes sense.
The location is excellent for skiing. It's literally a 2 min drive to Whiteface. Before booking this house, I had always stayed in-town at Lake Placid, and was worried I'd be missing out. Well, certainly staying in town is a great experience, but the pros of choosing Olympic Chalet out-weigh staying in town. First pro is the value. This house is the same price per night (even less) than any of the resort rooms I've stayed at, and the house is nicer and more private. The holidays is strange time in Lake Placid, with lots of stores and restaurants closed on Christmas and New Years, so having a fully equipped kitchen to prepare meals on these quiet days is a big help.
All in all, you cannot go wrong with this house. The owner Todd was personable and responsive during the booking period months before, and gave me a welcome call upon arriving. The rental manager Lisa from Century 21 was also a great help in the days leading up with silly questions like, "does it have wifi, and are towels provided?" (Yes to both if you are wondering).

If you are on the fence about renting Olympic Chalet, don't be. It's an amazing house, and I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a better ski house for rent in the area, regardless of price. I just hope all these positive reviews doesn't mean I have a hard time booking next year!

Owners response: David I have never seen you in person but when I do a huge thank you hug is in order!!!!!!! Thanks man Todd & Kimmy. David, YOU ROCK!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family vacation in New York!

Review submitted: December 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Home is beautiful, clean and well maintained. We were very comfortable, the location was perfect for skiing at Whiteface Mountain and we enjoyed our stay, We had a problem connecting to the internet,but the owner contacted the service provider and got us on line. I would recommend this home to anyone traveling to New York.

Owners response: Thank you so much for everything. I hope you love the home as much as we do. I called the provider and they re-set the router so I guess I did not hear back from you so it must be perfect. Thank you for your 5 star review it makes us very happy, again thanks for your comments Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely fabulous!!!

Review submitted: December 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Olympic Dreams for a few days, and it was just wonderful. It was a lovely escape from the hustle and bustle of NYC. The house was immaculate, had every modern convenience one could want, yet still keeping that country feel. It was also very nice getting a welcome phone call from the owner, asking if we had any questions about anything in the house, even though everything had written instructions on them. While there, my friend and I were already planning our next trip to the house, and after seeing all of our pictures and hearing all of your stories, family and friends are all excited to be on the next trip. I will definitely recommend this place for people who just need a little escape...you will not regret it...I promise


Annica NYC

Owners response: It is our goal to provide guest with the best & your kind words make us proud that we have done a good job with the home being in perfect condition. Come back and see us again and once again thank you so much, Kimmy. & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Friends from Jersey

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Thank you very much! The house was perfect. You really thought of everything to make our group of 7 feel like we have a “home away from home”. Loved the hot tub, fire pit and ambiance. Looking forward to our next trip here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home! Great Escape from the city!

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Olympic Dreams Chalet for our honeymoon. The house is a little difficult to see from the road due to an overgrown yard, but nonetheless beautiful! I can only imagine the wildflowers that grow there in spring/summer. Very big house with all sorts of ammenities! Our favorite was the steam shower in the finished basement. The owner allows pets on the property so we brought our two German Shepherds with us and they absolutely LOVED it! They had so much fun running around in the backyard. Being from the city (Niagara Falls) they don't get to do that often. The owner also checked in with us quite often to make sure everything was ok. It was more than ok though! We had a fantastic time and I was very sad to leave. There are so many activities to do in the area as well. If you go, you MUST check out the Flume Trails. Beautiful, beautiful place and not too crowded at all. Wilmington was such a nice little town. Everyone was very polite to us and helpful in any way possible. If you want great food, check out Mad River Pizza. Amazing! We would've loved to go to Rosalia's Itailian Restaurant but it wasn't open at all. We asked around and although we were told her food is amazing, she unfortunately only opens her restaurant when she wants to. Maybe next time! There will definitely be another trip in our future and we will only stay in Todd's amazing homes!

Owners response: I love that this is your honey moon spot! You both where such nice folks, next time we will get you that wine at dinner we promised, Be happy Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

Olympic Dream Chalet was everything we had hoped for. The Internet pictures were very accurate in depicting this wonderful home with all the amenities. Only glitch was we could not get the indoor fireplace to work and one phone call was not returned. Also could not get the outdoor speakers work. But those two items were minor because everything else was better than we had hoped for. Thanks so much for giving our family a truly memorable vacation.

Owners response: We sent our handy man there today to fix the out door speaker and I am sorry about the fire place we called and the service company is getting a new pilot light to put in. Next time you come back i will have a bottle of fine wine at Rosalie's Italian kitchen waiting for you thank you Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Family Weekend

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We stayed at Olympic Dreams for a long family weekend in September. The house was spotlessly clean and even better than the ad in person. My family especially enjoyed the fire pit and our meals in the well equipped kitchen. The bedrooms were comfortable and everyone had plenty of space. We went into Lake Placid and walked around and had some lunch and everyone enjoyed that a lot. Todd the owner and Steve the manager were very helpful and promptly responded to questions and concerns. I would highly recommend this house or their other rentals for a stay in this beautiful area of the Adirondacks.

Owners response: We are very happy you loved Olympic Dreams Chalet and we are very careful on keeping them in top condition our cleaning staff is so good we are happy that they love our homes also. We are building our 4th home now and hope you come back to see us soon. We have over 200 five star reviews on all our homes from fine folks like yourself. Thanks again Kimmy & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had the absolute best time staying at your home!! Loved the house and the decor. Had fun using the hot tub and the hammock. My dog loved the yard! The basketball hoop was a wonderful surprise for my boys. There were endless fun things to do in the area and it was great to come back to your welcoming home at the end of the day. We will definitely be back!!

Owners response: That is fantastic we love Olympic Dream Chalet did you know when we built the home my buddy was in the 2002 Olympics in Salt Lake City, UT and won a medal for bobsleding for team USA we named the house after him. We have done a recent upgrade to the house by putting in a new dry Finlandian Sauna so I hope you liked it, thanks again Todd & Kimmy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home...Simmer weather a challenge here!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My rating is really a 3.5...The house is very nice and well kept. We experienced some challenges due to hot, rainy weather and the lack of an adequate covered grill and the lack of air-conditioning in the main living area. . We were on a family vacation and preferred to eat dinner in..unfortunately there was only a very small uncovered charcoal grill available for outdoor cooking; .on two rainy evenings we were forced to use the indoor oven to cook and this raised the heat level in the house to an almost unbearable level and we ate dinner outside in the rain. A propane grill or at least a charcoal grill with adequate cover would have made this stay much easier. The lack of operable windows in the kitchen dining area also added to some uncomfortable evenings.

On a positive note, the bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely and the house handles a family of 8 nicely.. the kitchen is well equipped and there are more than adequate tv's and dvd set ups for children;one more suggestion would be to have the front lawn mowed or at least tended to..it is overgrown and although the look is designed to be natural, it needs some attention.

Owners response: Dear Traveler,
Thank you for your review of our home. I apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with our home. It is our goal to make sure that each guest is completely informed about every aspect of our homes prior to making a reservation. We accomplish this goal by providing detailed descriptions of the home and its amenities, by providing lots of pictures and even a video walk through of each home. It is disheartening to learn that a guest is unhappy with a certain amenity when we work so hard to ensure that people know exactly what to expect during their stay. As noted in the description of Olympic Dreams Chalet, we provide air conditioning in the two top level bedrooms. The rest of the home stays cool through a combination of location, the windows that are able to be opened and using the screen door to allow air in. There are also 7 floor fans provided in the home to help keep it cool. Also, the charcoal grill is another amenity listed in the homes description. We provide these grills because we have found that they are the easiest for everyone to know how to use. You are correct on our landscaping plan. We leave the front lawn wild during the spring, summer, and fall to provide additional privacy to the home, this to us and most of our renters is a favorable aspect. As you mentioned, we have tried to equip all of our homes with every amenity possible to ensure the complete satisfaction of every guest. We are always open for suggestions and we are constantly maintaining and enhancing our homes to ensure that they are the very best.
Thank you, Todd & Kim Ottenstein

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Olympic Dreams Chalet is the real deal...

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

First of the house is cut off from the road and you can barely see it if you try to find it, personally this helped with the whole atmosphere of the vacation knowing I was shut off from the world. It is away from everything, yet 10 minutes from everything you want to do in the area. The quality of the house is top notch and I honestly could not have asked for more. The vaulted ceilings were perfect, the kitchen was accommodating, the showers were beyond amazing (each one is unique and custom made,) the beds were comfortable, the yard was peaceful. I cannot reiterate how wonderful the Olympic Dreams Chalet was and that this not the house you want for a vacation...THIS IS THE HOUSE YOU NEED FOR YOUR VACATION.

This is a house you will never forget in your life, it is not just another way to stay near Whiteface, it is THE house to stay at near Whiteface.

A big thanks to the owner who was also more than accommodating to my every need and question, that definitely helped my mind at ease as well.

Owners response: Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review of Olympic Dreams Chalet! We are so glad you loved our home and your vacation. You mentioned so many of the things we love about the Chalet. Its privacy away from the road and the attention to detail in the interior are some of our favorite aspects. We also love to think of this house as the little house with a whole lot of character. Your right, its location is perfect for exploring the area and being away from it all. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future! -Todd & Kim Ottenstein

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

5 star accomodations! very clean and well kept! House is much nicer than the pictures show...owners thought of everything to make it a real vacation...modern, warm, and comfortable house..highly recommended!!

Owners response: Hey Chava! Thank you for your review of our home! We are so glad you enjoyed the home just as much as we do. Its certainly in the right location as well! Theres so much to see and do in the area, I hope you were able to get out and explore. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic House!!!

Review submitted: March 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

ODC was absolutely perfect!!! Extremely clean, had everything we needed and GREAT location!! Just around the corner from White Face Mountain. The hot tub was exactly what we needed when we came home from being outside all day skiing! We really liked the Hungry Trout restaurant, good food, good drinks and very close to the house!
We can NOT wait to go back next year to take our 6 year old skiing again!

Owners response: Wendy, Thank you so much for your review of our home! We are so glad you loved the home and the area. Your right, the folks over at the Hungry Trout do an awesome job! One of the best parts of skiing is that its a family sport, keep the little one on the slopes and hope to see you out there one day! Thanks again!! Todd & Kimmie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Winter Vacation!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed at Olympic Dreams Chalet Dec 22-29, 2012. I've always wanted to take a ski-vacation, but my non-skiing husband was hesitant about this. Our week at Whiteface/Lake Placid was awesome and we both agree that it was the best vacation we've taken in a long time. The house is gorgeous (exactly as pictured) and had everything we could wish for. Everything was clean, well-maintained, and well-labeled. No problems figuring out which light switch controlled which light! And no problems with cell phone coverage (Verizon) or WiFi access. The location was perfect for me and the teenage kids to ski Whiteface for a few days. My husband dropped us off at the mountain (a whopping 4 minute car ride from the house) and headed back for a day of reading and napping in front of the fireplace. During our stay, a snowstorm dropped a foot or so of snow overnight. Although we weren't planning on going out that particular day, it was a pleasant surprise to see a plow clear the driveway early in the day. Only "oops" during our stay occurred when we got locked out of the house, however the property manager was there within 10 minutes to save us from ourselves. Kids loved the plastic sleds they found in the house. We kept them in the trunk during the week and were ready whenever we stumbled upon an unexpected hill. The house is a straightforward drive from all the Lake Placid activities - some further than others, but all very easy to find. We did all the "Olympic touristy stuff" and still had so much more we wanted to do at the week's end. If you are in the area on Christmas Day, definitely do the Rocket Sled at the Bobsled Complex! We all agreed that if we ever are in the area again, regardless of the season, we would definitely want to stay at the Olympic Dreams chalet again. Thanks Todd!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ted and Marilyn Review

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This is our 3rd time staying at this property. We love it! The hot tub is great. The owner will bend over backwards to fix anything, and get you anything you need. This year the leaves were peak. The DISH TV is great also. The channel selection is outstanding. We will be going here again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Adirondack Home

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We enjoyed a family reunion at the Olympic Dreams Chalet, complete with young grandchildren. The home accommodated us all well and we had a great time. The fire pit is great for s'mores and the hammock very relaxing. The yard is lovely and natural and the grandchildren enjoyed collecting pinecones in the forest. We all enjoyed the Wilmington town beach. The kitchen is great too. We recommend this home for a family gathering.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Home, Perfect Location

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Wow..pretty much sums it up! this house was exactly what we like in a vacation home. We loved the location...it was close to everything in the White Face Mtn - Lake Placid area. The house is beautiful with alot of ammenities. large family room opened into the kitchen area great for having everyone centrally located. bedrooms and bathrooms located on all three levels. very comfortable setting throughout the house. Wonderful hot tub located on the back deck overlooking the wooded area. nice firepit with adirondack chairs. the owners are wonderful and friendly, they were fantastic to deal with and they couldnt do enough for you....they really cared and were great with making sure our stay was a pleasant experience, we will be looking to rent from them again in the future. if your looking for a home to rent in the White Face Mnt - Lake Placid area do consider this house....you wont regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peace

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

A wonderful, peace filled home, well located in the midst of the mountains. We enjoyed all the wonderful amenities and felt right at home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded our Expectations......

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This house in Wilmington really exceeded our expectations. The pictures cannot convey the warmth and charm of this home. It is very bright and open with great space for family entertaining. We celebrated a birthday and college graduation with enough room for the extended family to stay with us.
Our golden retreivers really enjoyed the visit as well.
I have already recommended this home to a friend and she booked it for the next winter. It is a house that can be enjoyed for all seasons. Will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

I am so sorry this took so long for me to write! My family stayed at Olympic Dreams in November. We had an amazing time. My kids loved having their own "quarters" to spend time in. The house is beautiful. We especially loved the hot tub out on the deck under the beautiful pine trees. We played music outside and spent time with our teenage girls and it was fun for all. The house is beautifully decorated and spotless. The owner made a special call to us to make sure everything was great and pointed us in the direction of the wild life preserve, which was well worth it. I hope to be back again soon, we loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Much Needed Retreat!!

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

My wife had originally looked at several properties in the area before finding this home. It far exceeded all the others offered in the area and had amenities that many others couldn't even begin to offer. It was also in the middle of nowhere, while being in the middle of everything!

This was to be a birthday present/vacation for us both. We both work long days all year and prefer to be able to relax as good as possible when we get the chance. THIS WAS IT!!!

The place was spotless when we arrived and the fireplace was so inviting that we spent the first couple days just relaxing in front of it. The iPod dock and surround speakers made it easy to play our favorite music while relaxing :)

We used the hot tub and fire pit outside a lot. Even when it was snowing these amenities were well used!

Being able to bring the entire family made all the difference as well! We have a Bassett Hound and a yellow Lab. They were instantly at ease in the place, which is almost never the case with a new house.

If you like seeing color in the yard, we would suggest waiting for the warmer days of the year. The yard is made up of wild flowers and during the colder portion of the season these are cut down to disperse seeds fro the next year.

Even with no flowers we all enjoyed the yard and the trails in back of the house. The location is, in one word, perfect!

We are planning on making this an annual event and trying to invite more friends and family with us each year!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

No snow review

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

We stayed at the owners other house, identical in layout to Olympic Dreams, newly built nearby. House name is Lookout Mountain Chalet, totally beautiful, the view from the windows is like looking at a postcard. We were able to have a bonfire outside, hot tub time after skiing, and there is a wildlife refuge within walking distance to the house. Great for kids and parents too.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

We rented the Olympic Dreams Chalet for our family Thanksgiving. We had plenty of room and the place is just beautiful....With Lake Placid being near we found a lot to do and the children were never bored....The Chalet had everything we needed and it was very cozy and comfortable. The owner was great! as was the location!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Better Than Home

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2011

This house is incredible. Everything is in immaculate condition and cared for. When we walked through the front door we felt like we were walking into our own home, although our own home with upgrades. Not only is the house the greatest, so are the owners Todd and Kim. These two could not do enough to accomadate you and are probably some of the nicest people we have ever met. I could see why the the Olympic dreams is perfect place, it is an exact match of Todd and Kim. Will recommend to anyone who is looking for a perfect getaway. First Class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the ODC. Jared successfuly turned 30 and lived to see saturday! The house is very well equiped for a house full of creative looks! Think we all easliy gained 10bs in 4 days! I highly recommend a drive along 9/73 to anyone wanting and easy view of some great scenery. Thanks for creating a wonderful getaway in the adirondacks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

We had a wonderful stay. Accommodations for 3 couples was great enough potties for all! Comfortable home near everything but off the beaten path for some wonderful peace and quiet. The KOA is a nice touch like having our own mini mart! Thank you for your attentivnesses.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 21, 2011

Todd & Kim,
The Chalet is fabulous! We had the greatest time here! The kitchen provided us with gormet dinners and glorious conversations. The ambience was splended and overall it was just what I like and more. Outside fires, smores, movies the 12 foot screen(mine!) what more could one ask for. I was able to provide my family with a remarkable trip that created wonderful memories. Thanks for providing the perfect venue for a weekend of fun and reflection I recommend this house to anyone lookin for relaxation and bonding. Any problems we had and they were few Todd and his crew answered right away. Thanks Todd & Kim for a great trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 20, 2011

Todd & Kim,
I have just spent 4 days in your lovely home as a guest of denise and candice. I began comming to the adirondacks as a writer in the 70's. I was at the "miracle on ice" hockey game in 1980. I have to say that this visit ranks up there with the best times. I have been a builder for 30+ years and I am impressed by the design and construction of your home. I look forward to a possible return here thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Dear Todd & Kim,
We had a wonderful stay in your beautiful home. The adirondacks was a perfect place for a family reunion. We had 20 people staying in 3 homes. Everyone enjoyed hiking, fishing, and swimming. Our son's favorite part was the bobsled ride. All of the little kids loved the north pole. We hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Could not ask for a nicer place to vacation. Went without nothing, only thing i can say is im sad to have to leave...Mark

I personally have renamed this location as "not in my wildest dreams chalet"! We had the vacation of a lifetime and our husbands achieved the current goals of there lifetime. Ironman finishers. Thanks so much for such a beautiful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Dear Todd & Kim,
Thank you for a wonderful week at "Olympic Dreams Chalet". This was a perfect place for Iron Man Lake Placid as I utilized the hot tub and steam shower for recovery. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home! My husband, brother-in-law and his girlfriend and our cat all had a wonderful time. Did some hiking, site seeing, cooking, reading and lots of relaxing. One day was rainy so we tookd a trip to montreal. We were never brave enought to try the NASA shower but its sure looks interesting! Everything was perfect and we look forward to comming back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Todd & Kim,
We had a great family vacation in your house. My son Danny who is on the autism spectrum really loved it. He went in the hammock, space shower and liked his room. My daughter also loved it and said it was her best vacation (and they have been to disney 3 times). House is close to everything. Kids loved the wildlife refuge we had guests from syracuse who also loved it. Kids walked across to the KOA for freeze pops. We hope to come back. Todd is a great host and takes good care of his guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Todd & Kim,
Loved the adirondacks. Hope to return again soon. The boys loved the fishing and kayaking. House was comfy and definitly a true family vacation. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

Dear Todd & Kim,
We really enjoyed staying here the hot tub and steam shower were great. And each teenager had his own tv had a hard time getting them out of the rooms! We communed with the wildlife took pics of the male humming bird saw a deer our the kitchen window laughed at the fuzzy orange cat in the drive. We had great views the drive to whiteface, hiked to knob, bouldered at mckenzie and got lost trying to find the rock scramble on catamount will have to ask the folks at the wildlife center for help next time. They were great. Spent several hours hiking and talking there. Best day was rock climbing with the folks at the rock and river. The owner ed was very helpful and our guid bill was fantastic! Looking forward to a return trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We enjoyed staying here. Had fun hiking tabletop and phelps! The steam shower was great. Thanks for the stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We absolutley adored our stay at olympic dreams chalet! Weather was very good in general. Your accomadation was more than what we had expected WOW! Our group made the most of everything the chalet had to offer hot tub, fire pit, kitchen, sauna. tv, and patio deck. We hiked algonquin on saturday took sunday off to relax. We hope to see you soon come back in the fall! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Todd,
Thank you so much for welcoming my friends to your home. This place was/is fanastic. Everyone was blown away as soon as they walked in the front door. I hope your next project is as welcoming and polished as Olympic Dreams Chalet.

This place was fantastic and a perfect base for my batchlore party. We all enjoyed it and took full advantage of everything. I hope to make it back to do this again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

This house is awsome! I couldn't of asked for a better mini vacation. The view is amazing and breath taking. I took your advice and had dinner at Nicola's on main and the food was exellent!!! The fireplace last night ended the evening just right. The weather was also amazing! Can't wait for the next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The caretaker guys were really great and helpful with the hot tub! We loved the mountain! This area is beautiful. We appreciate the bikes and the ample linen and towels! Thanks for being so available anytime we needed help.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

Great memories with family and friends we will always cherish. We loved your home and whiteface. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

We had an awsome week here with our family and friends. Your Olympic Dream house was a DREAM! Thank you for sharing it with us. The kids loved the hot tub and steam shower. The guys loved the heineken tower the ladies loved the decorating! We hope to come back again. Whiteface mountain rocks very kid friendly. The only bummer was Scott breaking his arm at the top of the summit! He definitley handled it well though next time baby colby will be skiing. Thank you Nonnir got sll you help this week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 22, 2011

A fanastic week of weather, sunshine, skiing, outdoor activities, food, family and fun. Thank you next year we conquer the slopes a perfect march break! P.S.- a terrific wolf walk at the wildlife reserve and out own "olympic dreams" skate at the oval.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Thankyou for the weekly stay in your beautiful chalet. It was a gorgeaus week weather wise and your chalet could not be better located to take advantage of all that the area has to offer. Loved the hot tub. The chalet is very well designed and well thought out.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We loved the Olympic Dreams Chalet what a beautiful place in this wonderful location, close to the slopes just the best. Thanks for sharing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guestbook

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Thanks for the use of your wonderful home. We really loved the new Olympic memorbilia and faith and sarah loved the patch from the shuttle. This is our second year here I guess that makes us "repeat offenders"! We've really enjoyed the hot tub and fireplace again this year. Our daughters turned eleven this year while we stayed. How fun is it to get to ski lookout below on your birthday! Hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

So glad we decided to come here for our annual holiday adventure. The house had everything we could need or want and the proximity to the mountain and downtown activites was fabulous. Thanks to the holiday blizzard 2010 we go to brave the coldest weather most of these native charlestonians have ever encountered! Skiing, skating, tubing, sledding, cross country and shopping kept everyone buisy and entertained. The food was fabulous and the people were so friendly and kind. Thanks for making our holiday memorable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Absolutly beautiful house. Awsome family home. The kids can't wait to come up next summer! We will be seeing you guys again! The north pole was great! We are off to the wild today.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay. We didnt want to leave. This place is awsome and we'll definately come again soon. We took a nice hike while we were here. We also took a ride into lake placid for some shopping. While at "home" we enjoyed the sauna, hot tub, and fire pit and even cooked nice lasagna. Many Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From the guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

Can't thank you enough, we had a perfect weekend here. This is beautiful and feels just like home. Loved the NASA shower and enjoyed the hot tub thinking about getting one ourselves. The weather turned out to be great. We were able to get alot of hiking in great views and quit a few laughs on the way down. We would love to come back and stay again maybe do some skiing (and stay a little longer than a weekend). Thank you for everything. P.S. Miko and Rocky also loved it here and would like to come back thanks for letting them stay with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 31, 2010

Hey everyone. We came up here for a relaxing change other than a normal crazy halloween weekend in NYC. We hiked, it rained, we cooked steak and danced all night. Thank you for a lovley weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We had such a great week. Enjoyed the house and the senic setting.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

This was by far the most amazing place to stay! Thank you guys so much. I had a nice conversation with a doe this morning...For great food Nicolas bar and grill tops the chart-you were right.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

Dear Todd and Kim,
This may just be the most memorable amazing and life altering weekend journey of my entire life. We arrived wednesday and thursday we hit the mountain what a gondola ride what an amazing snowboard ride down. And then at the view from the top...All of a sudden my boyfriend gets down on one knee and says "Baby,I Love You" will you Marry Me? A sweetly silly had to say yes as i meet him on bended knee. Thank you for letting us use your house its nothing short of a dream. This house has the power of letting dreams take flight. I wish you both the best as you continue on your personal journey. I'm happy to say that your house and the mountain were such a significant memory of mine of ours.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

Todd and Kim,
Had so much fun of course. We skied hard i can barely walk. What a great mountain forget killington we will be back here. We cooked some gormet food in you amazing kitchen. Of course the jacuzzi is key after a long day at the mountain. My brother proposed to his girlfriend on the top of the mountain which was so memorable. We then had to celebrate pretty hard with lots of food, wine and liquor. Thank you keep renting we will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

Todd and Kim,
Loved the house! We should have brought our puppy penny she would have loved it next time. I did not ski or bobsled but I shopped! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Kimme and Todd,
This has been the "BEST". I didnt even miss lou, but dont tell him. If he comes up one day tare out this page. Loved the house, loved the food, love you both.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2010

What a wonderful chalet! We had a blast skiing and snowboarding at whiteface. We had so much fun visiting lake placid in the evening we even got to meet Andrew Weibrecht bronze medalist in 2010 olympic games Vancouver. The highlight of our trip was comming "home" to your wonderful chalet. Thank you so much for sharing Olympic Dreams with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

We had an exellent stay here at the Olympic Dreams. What fun it was to be here and enjoy the 2010 games on the tv while curled up by the fire. The hot tub did a great job soothing our sore muscles from snowboarding on whiteface. Can't wait to come back! Thankyou for a memorable trip and a great first rental experience. Be back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guestbook

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

Todd and Kim,
Thanks for your terrific home. The six of us (me,my husband,two daughters,and two dogs) had a wonderful time. We loved the gas fireplace and especially the hot tub which we all put to good use every night! Our pups were happy not to be home alone and long walks by mirror lake. Highlights for us included skiing at whiteface, snowtubing at gore, toboggan, dog sled rides on mirror lake (the toboggan is fun every year). The messgae at the Inn at mirror lake (really terrific)! Favorite resturaunts were McDougals for wings, and a good margarita, Lisa G's for everything, Milano for the kids ziti, Casa de sol fore mexican and The Wilderness for being like goin to grandmas house. We also loved the olympic theme especially since were here during the games!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

Our second trip to your AMAZING home. And we hope to be back again next february. Can't say anymore thant i said last year this house is a dream and we love it here. Love the new olympic torch addition the tree still rules!!!! See ya next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

Thankyou Todd, our few days here were great. The house is beautiful and we had a wonderful time visiting the wildlife refuge wish we could of spent more time there. So much information to gain. Hope to come back next summer. Thanks again. P.S. The hot tub and steam shower was amazing. Would also recommend skiing at whiteface and snowmobiling at gus diner. We also had a nice time outside over the fire pit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guestbook

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

Dear Ottenstein's
Thankyou for giving us such a nice place to stay. We stayed at trout landing last year and this year was even better, next year camp beaver creek here we come. The olympic chalet has such a great location...especially for some late risers. We has a wonderful time here with all of the nice views and even the (-5'F weather) Jacuzzi! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

Amazing view from the large open windows. Loved the home, very warm after a long day of snowboarding. The fireplace was a winner for all. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

We had a great time staying in you chalet. We made great use of the kitchen (lots of bacon), and the robo shower 9000 also seemed to be a favorite. We even ventured into the hot tub when the temp was 1'F oustide (worth it). Your displays of the heineken kegs are impressive we are leaving one more behind for the collection. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Dear Todd & Kim,
How can we ever thankyou enough for the incredible week we just had. This is absolutely PERFECT! We felt as if were our own home actually...we wish it would be the location is perfect. Then we skied and snowboarded 2 days we went bob sledding, hiking, and had a fabulous dinner. New Years Day at the hunry trout down the road delicious and we highly recommend it again. Thankyou and we will definitley be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guest book

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

Dear Todd & Kim,
Your cabin/chalet was great. We had an amazing time. The bathroom downstairs is really cool thankyou for giving us instructions to that. The view was wonderful, especially when it snowed. We enjoyed watching dvd's around the chimney. We own a very large city dog who spent his time in your spacious backyard. There was a lot of room for storage and comming back to the warm house after skiing/snowboarding was great. Thankyou.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2009

Spent a fun (but way to short) weekend at Olympic Dreams. "Space" shower was a big hit. A trip to Steve & Wendy at the wildlife reserve was wonderful and very educational. The group was divided about the heineken tree (I loved it). The house was very inviting the location was great and out stay was enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our Guest Book

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2009

Awsome Vacation! Your place is beautiful and homey. So much to do so much to see. We will be back cannot see everything in one week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Awesome Vacation"

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

This is a place you won't be disapointed in...trust me!!! it's cozy and not chinzy. It's well appointed and will lend to a great experience for any group outing no matter what the season. We had the most pleasurable time at Olympic Dreams. Nice set-up for both privacy and group activities which is important because we all need our space. The outside deck and firepit lends to the charm and ambience of the overall location. The kitchen is great for large meals and has easy access to the items you need to feed a large group. We solved the problems of the world sitting over dinner at the bar during mealtimes. The bathrooms and bedrooms are all nice and comfy and make for a good night's sleep. A favorite topic of conversation every morning concerned the steam shower or as we called it the "transporter" and each newfound trick it held. Overall it was a great place and provided my group with everything I had hoped for and more. For me this was a weekend of allowing friends who have minimal time to bond and refuel and we did that and more, Oh yea, and the surrounding area well what more needs to be said about the most beautiful part of New York State I mean that goes without saying. If your looking for comfort and good vibrations Olympic Dreams is your place....I look forward to my next visit. Last but not least Todd is great to work with he called me in less than ten minutes after I posted an inquiry and he was on the phone minutes after I arrived to make sure we were happy and that all amenities were covered. We needed a propane refill for the fireplace and it was taken care of in just a few hours. I highly reccomend this place for anyone wanting to experience the High Peaks area!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of the best!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

My husband and I wanted a week away from it all, so we rented Todd and Kim's "Olympic Dreams". This was probably the best decision we've ever made! The house was in pristine condition with every ammenity we could need. There was plenty of stuff to do (or not to do) so we were never bored. There was also relaxing luxurious ammenities like the hottub and the steam shower! We were able to cook in the kitchen and relax by the fireplace, as well as go out to eat. This is an amazing house with really great owners, I will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

INCREDIBLE place!!!!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 9, 2011

I have stayed in this area many times before, but I must say, this house has been my absolute favorite. A large group of friends (8) and I stayed at this house in January so that we could hit the slopes. After a few days of skiing we were exhausted and decided to just relax in the house, which was about as comfortable and clean as possible! The steam shower, was incredible, and the coolest shower I have ever been in (i never thought I'd call a shower cool..) but it helped me recover and relax. The entertaining area and kitchen area is open and allows everyone to hel pin the kitchen or to be near by, so that we didnt lose time with our friends. the scenery is beautiful, I honestly cannot say enough about this house. Todd, the owner is a pleasure to work with and I most definitely will be returning!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and restorative

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My sister and I took our families including 3 young people ages 21 to 23 to the Adirondacks. At first, the kids thought there was nothing for them to do, until they got into the free Kayaking at the Ausable Loj, did some fishing, and went shopping in Lake Placid. They also did the local microbrewery tour one day while we adults did sightseeing and languished in the hot tub. The house is amazing, immaculately clean, very tastefully done, and my handicapped husband had all he needed and was able to stay on the first floor. We took our 4 Labrador retrievers with us and they loved walking the road and trails in the Adirondack state parks. The locals are friendly and the house feels like a ski chalet with the hot tub, chiminea and fire place. You need to go to the Ausable Loj and learn about their animal rescue activities which are amazing. We might go back next year. Steve is a great host.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Beautiful home and great location! Todd called to make sure everything was ok the first morning of our stay. House is relaxing and easy to enjoy the peace and quiet, even saw a deer outside of the kitchen window. Teenagers really enjoyed having a TV in thier rooms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome, well kept, incredibly clean

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We stayed there over Memorial Day weekend. The kitken was fully stocked with plenty of china so we didnt have to run the dishwasher after every meal. The refrigerator was spotless on the inside. The bathrooms and showers were super clean. It was probably the best place i stayed in over the last 6 years and a great price too

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Best Stay in the Adirondacks

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

We stayed (10 adults) at the Olympic Dream Chalet from May 19th to 22nd 2011. I have been hiking in the region approx. 15 times already staying in different accommodations (camping, hotels, and condo/chalet rental).

This was, by far, the best chalet I've stayed in!!!!
The owner is very friendly and cared a lot about our well being during our stay. The chalet was very clean and the kitchen was amazing. We enjoy pretty much everything it had to offer; the hottub outside, the chimnea, the indoor gas fireplace, the IPOD Docking station, the surround system, the firepit, and of course, the Heineken mini-keg.

We also very much enjoyed visiting the refuge and using the kayaks in the Ausable River, which is very very close to the chalet (2-3 minutes drive). all this is included.

I would stay there anytime again (and.. as soon as possible ?!! :-) )
I would recommend this chalet to large groups that want to cook good food and have a good time together. It is very warm and there is a "home" feeling that is very hard to get sometimes when traveling.


You won't be disappointed !!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dreamy

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: March 20, 2011

We just returned from a great trip to Whiteface with family and friends. Olympic Dreams is everything Todd said it was. The photo's and property discription is right on. The house is absolutly beautiful, right around the corner to Whiteface. Todd was great to work with, we loved the welcome gift of Heineken, nice touch. The kids loved the basement bedrooms and steam shower, it was if they had their own suite. We hope to return soon, want to also visit in the summer. I understand Todd is building another house identical to this one. It would be great to rent both houses with a few families. Thanks for the wonderful accomodations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Olympic dream chalet...exactly what I expected

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

My three teenagers and I stayed at the Olympic dream chalet for a week during our Quebec school break.

We enjoyed the perfectly located chalet near Whiteface mountain. The place is nice, clean and modern.

We skied for a couple of days and also visited the Olympic facilities in Lake Placid. We also visited the nearby Adirondaks Wildlife reserve. We enjoyed all the amenities the chalet has to offer.

As Farniente was also a key word for our holiday we spent some time in the hot tub, used the steam shower watched tons of movies (cable) and played cards. The layout of the chalet was perfect for us and I really like the kitchen and its open area.


I would like to go back again to do outdoors activities during spring of fall as well. This area is a gem.
My boys where also very happy with their vacation and they also would like to go back.

I would definitely recommend this Chalet

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

'Home away from home'

Review submitted: February 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

This was our home away from home for 5 weeks! Loved the close proximity to Whiteface, large picture windows overlooking private wooded setting, open concept living space, cozy fireplace, hot tub and the steam shower! It was nice to have 3 full bathrooms. Had a great time skiing, visiting Lake Placid and trying out all the Olympic facilities. Todd was very responsive to anything we needed. Hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing House for an Amazing area

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

It's rare you meet folks as enthusiastic and helpful as Todd & Kim. From the first day I contacted Todd about his house through the end of our visit, his #1 goal was to ensure my wife and I had the best vacation possible.

The house is outstanding and its proximity to Whiteface is incomparable. Nothing beats sitting in a hot tub 10 minutes after leaving Whiteface - especially after 6-7 hours of hardcore skiing.

It's likely this house has the most comfortable couches anywhere - full stop. The rest of the place is very nicely appointed to boot. With all there is to do in the area, simply sitting around the house was absolutely enjoyable - although this didn't happen often given the spectacular snowfall during our stay. The layout, comfy beds, the awesome kitchen, the "Spaceship" in the basement, all combine to make this the best vacation house we've ever rented.

To sum up: The house is top notch, Todd and Kim are top notch. You're missing a treat by not staying here summer or winter. Book now.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Gracious hosts...

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 25, 2010

I recently had the pleasure of visiting the house & meeting Todd and Kim for a personal tour. This is truly a great place to to stay, Not some trumped up dump with skewed photos that leave you disappointed upon arrival. Todd & Kim Take great pride in providing all the comforts one might want while on vacation.The setting is perfect regardless of what season you stay, awesome views of Whiteface. The house is set up perfect for creating vacation memories. Go For it!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

from Our Guest Book

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Our favorite memories from our week at Olympic Dreams:
The beds! they where so comfy!
The hot tub. we literally spent half our vacation in it!
The bonfire pit. We had 2 bonfires!
The steam shower, it was awesome!
The hammock, a great place to rest!
The outside speakers, we love music!
Thank you so much! Truly a wonderful, peaceful Place - and we loved the wild lif refuge!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Todd & Kim - What an amazing 2 weeks! We loved introducing our 1 & 3 year old boys to a place we had close to our hearts. Your house was wonderful - we enjoyed all the amenities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Perfect week to be here, leaves changing. Pick a direction, and every scene is beautiful & the location is perfect; close enough to Lake Placid & Lake Champlain. Definatley go to the top of Whiteface Mnt. First, to get your bearings on mountains and lakes. Spent the last night here over on Clear Lake at a detination restauraunt called Hoymeyers pricey, but worth the experience. Could not figure out the steam shower and got a little paranoid about our trash re-cycling abilities - think we did ok. This was our 1st trip to upstae New York & Vermont - we'll be back.
P.S. rent movies at the market down the road and get soft ice cream there.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From Our Guest Book

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

Todd & Kim, We loved this place! The showers! The scenary! The closeness to Whiteface! The beds! The Hungry Trout for dinner! & Nicolas Restaurant! By the way, we did see Mike & said "hi" for you. Great restaurant and Mike is a very nice guy! All in all we had a great stay - oh, YES! the hot tub!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Todd (the owner) Is So Accommodating

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

My wife and I loved our stay at Olympic Dreams Chalet. Although we had many days of rain, we still loved staying in the house - reading, soaking in the hot tub, just relaxing, and watching the great TV, which brings me to the TV cable story. The TV only had basic cable. Not many stations. I called Todd to ask him how to light the gas fireplace. He explained how, and I got it working. I just happen to mention that we were hoping for more TV channels – we like TCM and CNN. He said no problem, and the NEXT DAY the cable guy came, and we had our channels. Todd is great! I think he would do just about anything to keep the customer happy. We will definitely return next year.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

What a beautiful home. The pictures do not do it justice. This house truly took my breath away. It was the perfect place for me and my family to spend our vacation. There was something for everyone to do in the area, but our favorite part was sitting out by the fire pit talking and laughing under the stars. I can’t wait to come back to this house again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW Dreamy at the Olympic Chalet

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

I can only say WOW! we had the best time here, and want to recommend it to anyone inquiring. The house was super CUTE,and set up perfectly... The interior is superb! the owner even has all switches labeled to show what works what. Attention to detail in all rooms! 2 min from the mountain and close,walking distance to many world class hiking trails! We had such a blast in this home and cannot wait to come back again... PS we have been there in the summer Winter and Fall..next yr we will try spring...no need to look any further! TOP SHELF
The Batal Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

We had an awesome stay! The Chalet is so close to Whiteface, hiking/XX trails, kayaking! The house was clean inside and out! Comfortable, relaxing. The hot tub and deck were great for viewing the amazing stars in the Adirondacks! Great kitchen! Great fireplace and fire pit outside! Close to Lake Placid with great restaurants and the Olympic Village is excellent! Todd and Kim left us a gift certificate for a great restaurant in Lake Placid! Nice! We will be back in all seasons!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Home!

Review submitted: May 24, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

My family and I were looking for the perfect getaway and we found it at this cozy cottage. The home was amazing in every aspect! If you are looking for the "right home" this should be your first choice. Words cannot express just how grand it is!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: May 21, 2010   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

A beautiful place to rent! Exactly as advertized! The house was so tastefully decorated, spotless with plenty of space and all the conveniences.The highlights included the steam Jacuzzi, fireplace, and the high-tech kitchen. Not only was the inside of the chalet elegant, but the lovely landscaping and tranquility of the area provided the perfect holiday experience.Thank you so much for a wonderful stay Todd and Kim . We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review