reviews for: listing #79674 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

Turkey Creek Log Cabin - Lake Lure
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Riverbend
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $185 /nt

sort by:

Loved it!!!!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Our stay was great! The cabin was stocked with just about anything we could think of. Everything we needed to cook with including spices and foil were on site. The hot tub and game room only added to the amazing weekend. We will definitely stay here again if we have the chance!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

We had an absolute amazing time! Best girl's trip ever. Thank you for letting us make so many magical memories in your adorable cabin. We enjoyed building real fires, drinking coffee while experiencing gorgeous sunrises and seeing snow flurries! We could not have asked for a better cabin in the woods than this!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Comforts of Home

Review submitted: November 1, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Enjoyed our visit to Turkey Creek Cabin and the views were everything and more than we had hoped for. Our experience coming up the mountain was less than pleasant even in our Ford Edge. Once there we found the cabin to be just fine. Very well stocked. Plenty of room and lots to keep you entertained. We did have a huge problem with Ladybugs during our visit. We know to expect a few more unwanted guests while visiting the mountains, but these little pests were in the cabin and would be dead each morning, mostly in kitchen, so we would begin each morning sweeping away the dead ladybugs. We were very fortunate to have wonderful weather throughout our stay. Enjoyed many local sights but would always plan to be back before dark. The road back up is very dark and not to be dealt with at night (in our opinion}. Thanks for all the nice wood and wood starter. We really enjoyed a fire in the evenings. Cheers,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are thrilled that you enjoyed the cabin. We built in the woodlands to be close to nature. Sometimes nature can be as much a pain as a pleasure. The cold weather each year brings the Ladybird Beetles flocking to mountain homes with large windows - where they swarm, sneak in and die. We do our best to guard against pests, but these little critters are difficult to deter.

Please come back and visit with us again - the mountains are beautiful in every season.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A room with a view

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

This is an excellent property with all the home comforts you would want to ask for when on vacation. On entering this property you notice how clean and well maintained it is. It is well stocked with everything you would be likely to need on a holiday in the Blue Ridge mountains. There were cupboards full of everything from Marshmallows for toasting in front of the fire pit at the back of the property to all manner of utensils and pots.

The views are breathtaking, with the most amazing sun rises to observe from the balcony that overlooks the mountains. We were frequently entertained by humming birds feeding on the food provided by the owners.

After long days visiting the local sights, such as white water rafting, you can relax in the hot tub attached to the property and then sit in one of the rocking chairs watching the sun set.

To fully enjoy this property you need to be driving a 4-wheel drive car to comfortably access it, as it is located high in the mountains (how else could you get such excellent views).

8 of us (adults and children) had a great time in a lovely property - thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Cabin!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 17, 2012

They truely have thought of everything - perfect location for a large family and cleaner than most hotels.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Turkey Creek Delivers!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

One of the best vacations we have had. Not only does TC have awe-inspiring views, but also the homey feel and facilities. The ride up was quite a thrill! Enjoyed the stay very much. Thanks for sharing your home with us. We will look forward to coming back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cabin is awesome!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Wow, what a ride! The cabin is awesome! We chose this cabin as a getaway for some much needed rest and restoration. Boy, does it deliver! The privacy was great and we could just sit in the hot tub and let the day roll by. Our stay was shorter than we would have liked, but would love to come back. The view is hard to beat. Thanks, what a treat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Couldn't be more impressed. Everything was perfect. Will recommend the cabin to all our friends and loved ones. As well as a return trip for ourselves in the near future. Once again, couldn't have asked for a more beautiful place. Outstanding time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a beautiful home you have!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

I don't know when we have ever come ot a home that is so well stocked and comfortable in every way! The weather is perfect and the view spectacular. Thanks for sharing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Real Cool Really

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Super Cool. Super big and super fun with the darts and the hot tub and buck the deer and the telescope and the bunk beds and the pool table. We had a lot of fun. Thank you very much for everything. From a kid!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We had a great time. Great views and a great cabin. Even though we had a little trouble getting up here on the roads, we had a lot of fun. We definately loved the deer. My favorite song was by Blake Shelton. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful mid-week getaway! It was literally a breath of fresh air.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

It has been awhile since we all had a family trip. This was a great place to get away and enjoy some new adventures and scenery. We got to sit on the edge and enjoy the sunset - great ending to a vacation and amazing start to 2012!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Views!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2012

Great views, fully stocked. Sunrise is spectacular. Hot tub super awesome. Plenty of space for entertaining. thanks Turkey Creek - sad to see you go!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise-wild turkey calls & a million stars

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Our family enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at Turkey Creek. The cabin is super clean and comfortable, with high-quality furnishings and linens, and stocked to the nines with everything one could ever need to have a fun and relaxing vacation in the mountains. There's so much relaxing to be done right there, with a superb view from the rocking front porch and with a huge hottub complete with built-in music and lights, and a cozy fire-pit below. The game-room can also keep you entertained and the movie collection is amazing! We spent a day exploring down-town Asheville and another fun day inflatable-kayaking down the lower Green River. There were just not enough days to have all the adventures we wanted to try that are close by, such as hiking and swimming and ziplining. We really enjoyed this family vacation and recommend it to anyone :)

Also, unless you need a good adrenaline rush, or have an SUV or 4-wheel drive, you may want to arrive before dark to navigate the steep gravel hairpins that get you to this paradise :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Holiday Getaway

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

We arrived at Turkey Creek late on Christmas Day. It was one of the few properties we found that allowed a holiday check-in (a real plus for us). We were ready to unwind from the stress leading up to the holiday and we found the perfect place at this beautiful retreat.

The cabin was decorated for the season and was so cozy. We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars and got up early just to see the sunrise from the rockers on the front porch. The cabin was one of the cleanest properties I have ever rented and the owners provided great directions and instructions. It was quiet, peaceful and the view was amazing.

The road to the property was a little tricky, but since the cabin was stocked with everything we needed, we never had to leave.

An A+ and just what we needed to cap off a great holiday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorable Visit

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2011

You know a place is amazing when you're already planning your next visit before you're even off the mountain! My wife and I loved this house for the character it offered in the view, seclusion, and peacefulness. We also loved the amenities this house offers with the hot tub, fire pit, and all the games in the downstairs living room. We were pleased with how well stocked the kitchen is, as we cooked almost all our meals there. I can't think of anything this house is lacking. We could have been perfectly content by never leaving, but there's too much to see/do in the area. We spent our days exploring Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, the Broad River, and the Parkway. Thanks to the owner for making our visit so easy from start to finish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

The owners of this cabin have done everything right...besides being helpful and friendly, their cabin is fabulous. The photos cannot do this property justice...If you are looking for a place to relax, get refreshed and still have plenty to do in the area...this cabin is for you. The property itself is fully equipped and did not lack any conveniences...we especially loved the fire pit! The location could not have been more picturesque. The towns of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock were fun with lots of shops, a variety of restaurants and activities. We would definitely recommend this cabin to our friends and neighbors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

The owners of this cabin have done everything right...besides being helpful and friendly, their cabin is fabulous. The photos cannot do this property justice...If you are looking for a place to relax, get refreshed and still have plenty to do in the area...this cabin is for you. The property itself is fully equipped and did not lack any conveniences...we especially loved the fire pit! The location could not have been more picturesque. The towns of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock were fun with lots of shops, a variety of restaurants and activities. We would definitely recommend this cabin to our friends and neighbors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

The owners of this cabin have done everything right...besides being helpful and friendly, their cabin is fabulous. The photos cannot do this property justice...If you are looking for a place to relax, get refreshed and still have plenty to do in the area...this cabin is for you. The property itself is fully equipped and did not lack any conveniences...we especially loved the fire pit! The location could not have been more picturesque. The towns of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock were fun with lots of shops, a variety of restaurants and activities. We would definitely recommend this cabin to our friends and neighbors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous vacation

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

The owners of this cabin have done everything right...besides being helpful and friendly, their cabin is fabulous. The photos cannot do this property justice...If you are looking for a place to relax, get refreshed and still have plenty to do in the area...this cabin is for you. The property itself is fully equipped and did not lack any conveniences...we especially loved the fire pit! The location could not have been more picturesque. The towns of Lake Lure and Chimney Rock were fun with lots of shops, a variety of restaurants and activities. We would definitely recommend this cabin to our friends and neighbors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend get-a-way....

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Thank you for a relaxing weekend getaway! Great view! Lots of privacy! The cabin was very clean and cozy! Certainly a "home away from home." Owners were very helpful in answering all of our questions and supplying us with accurate directions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything promised, and then some...

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family (5) just returned from a relaxing week at Turkey Creek. A beautifully decorated log cabin with everything we needed; exactly as described. Located about 3/4 of the way up the mountain, the view of the valley in the morning is breathtaking. The owner was quite helpful with tips for making our stay most enjoyable. Having linens provided (and of excellent quality) was a real plus. We were totally satisfied and recommend Turkey Creek highly.
Suggestions for activities in the area: the golf is quite good, and reasonably priced; an afternoon on the lake on a rented pontoon boat is a must; great hiking and views at Chimney Rock; Biltmore Estate is less than an hour away; and you HAVE to eat dinner at Larkin's on the Lake - one of the best meals ever!; La Strada Pizza, which overlooks the lake near the Lake Lure Inn is also quite nice for a more informal dinner or lunch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything promised, and then some.....

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family (5) just returned from a relaxing week at Turkey Creek. A beautifully decorated log cabin with everything we needed; exactly as described. Located about 3/4 of the way up the mountain, the view of the valley in the morning is breathtaking. The owner was quite helpful with tips for making our stay most enjoyable. Having linens provided (and of excellent quality) was a real plus. We were totally satisfied and recommend Turkey Creek highly.
Suggestions for activities in the area: the golf is quite good, and reasonably priced; an afternoon on the lake on a rented pontoon boat is a must; great hiking and views at Chimney Rock; Biltmore Estate is less than an hour away; and you HAVE to eat dinner at Larkin's on the Lake - one of the best meals ever!; La Strada Pizza, which overlooks the lake near the Lake Lure Inn is also quite nice for a more informal dinner or lunch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a family getaway

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family (5) just returned from a relaxing week at Turkey Creek. A beautifully decorated log cabin with everything we needed; exactly as described. Located about 3/4 of the way up the mountain, the view of the valley in the morning is breathtaking. The owner was quite helpful with tips for making our stay most enjoyable. Having linens provided (and of excellent quality) was a real plus. We were totally satisfied and recommend Turkey Creek highly.
Suggestions for activities in the area: the golf is quite good, and reasonably priced; an afternoon on the lake on a rented pontoon boat is a must; great hiking and views at Chimney Rock; Biltmore Estate is less than an hour away; and you HAVE to eat dinner at Larkin's on the Lake - one of the best meals ever!; La Strada Pizza, which overlooks the lake near the Lake Lure Inn is also quite nice for a more informal dinner or lunch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Romantic Cabin with Amazing View & Great Location

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Overall:
This was a great place for a great price. This was one of our first vacations, and we were incredible happy with our decision to stay here!

Location:
It's close enough to Lake Lure to be able to get into town, but far enough for you to have your own privacy! It is also near enough to Asheville for a day trip, as well as many parks! You will not be able to get over the view.

Travel:
We rented the smallest car we could rent and made it to the cabin. I don't recommend a small car, but it's possible. What a great adventure! It's close enough to airports to rent a car a drive to.

Owners:
The owners are tremendously helpful, courteous, and informative. They gave me multiple suggestions for things to do and places to go, which was very helpful. They were both professional and personal! They were very prepared for visitors.

Amenities:
We loved the amenities! We used the grill, fireplace, hot tub and outdoor chairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome romantic getaway!

Review submitted: July 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Overall:
This was a great place for a great price. This was one of our first vacations, and we were incredible happy with our decision to stay here!

Location:
It's close enough to Lake Lure to be able to get into town, but far enough for you to have your own privacy! It is also near enough to Asheville for a day trip, as well as many parks! You will not be able to get over the view.

Travel:
We rented the smallest car we could rent and made it to the cabin. I don't recommend a small car, but it's possible. What a great adventure! It's close enough to airports to rent a car a drive to.

Owners:
The owners are tremendously helpful, courteous, and informative. They gave me multiple suggestions for things to do and places to go, which was very helpful. They were both professional and personal! They were very prepared for visitors.

Amenities:
We loved the amenities! We used the grill, fireplace, hot tub and outdoor chairs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

If you want peace and quiet far from civilization...

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

The cabin is gorgeous. The view great. We (family of 6 ) had loads of fun sitting in the hot tub each night star gazing and making our own constellations. We saw a few shooting stars. When we arrived the electric was out. The electric co. was quick to respond. It is definitely a get away. Lake Lure shops are fun and climbing on the rocks by the river a must with older kids. If you like to come and go a lot this is not for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular Cabin

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

This cabin is everything as described plus some. The view from the cabin is like looking at a picture, completely breathtaking. Great place for someone who wants rest and relaxation. We had 7 people plus a baby in our group and it was perfect. We were also feeling adventurous and tried ziplining and have now all become addicted, would recommend it for anyone, even my 11 yr old who is afraid of heights is addicted!! Cabin is very clean and very well supplied with just about everything imaginable. Owners were very helpful, especially on getting us to cabin which was a lil tricky!! Would definitely rent again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

I'm a beach person, but my boyfriend is a mountains person. So, for his 40th birthday I surprised him with a mountain trip to Lake Lure and we were lucky enough to stay at Turkey Creek. I always do my homework, so I knew the property had all the "basics" I wanted. When I called the owners to ask additional questions, they were so nice, friendly and welcoming... right then I knew I had found the right spot. The cabin has a warm cozy feel, and the views are spectacular! The photos cannot do them justice! We enjoyed the hot tub, watched movies in the family room, roasted marshmallows... took advantage of all the cabin had to offer. And, before we left, we were already thinking of reasons to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

40th Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

I'm a beach person, my boyfriend is a mountains person. So, for his 40th birthday I surprised him with a trip to Lake Lure and we were lucky enough to stay at Turkey Creek. I always do my homework, so I knew the property had all the "basics" I wanted. When I called the owners to ask additional questions, they were so nice, friendly and welcoming... right then I knew I had found the right spot. The cabin has warm cozy feel, and the views are spectacular! I agree... the photos cannot do them justice! We enjoyed the hot tub, watched movies in the family room, roasted marshmallows... took advantage of all the cabin had to offer. And, before we left, we were already thinking of reasons to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nothing could be finer...

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

This was simply the most wonderful weekend I can remember. It was very cold and rainy but we kept a fire going making for a very quiet, romantic getaway. The view was spectacular and the amenities so comfortable. We could have stayed for a much longer period of time. There was nothing we wanted for. The owners are fantastic folks to deal with, providing information and suggestions as well as complete directions and guidance concerning the property. We look forward to a new tradition of yearly visits to this very special cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Mountain Getaway

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

The description and pictures of this property don't even come close to describing how wonderful it is. The owners have thought of every single detail to make your stay here relaxing and memorable. You could very easily pack a few clothes and some food and you wouldn't have to leave the cabin until your vacation was over, which is exactly what we did. This rental is truly perfect for a couple's romantic getaway, or for a large family vacation. Both the inside and outside were spotless and very well maintained. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for the ideal mountain retreat. We plan on coming back as soon as we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

You cannot beat Turkey Creek!!

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Turkey Creek cabin is absolutley fabulous! everything you could possibly hope for and much more! very new and clean. The description of amenities,etc. were exactly as explained.The owners are the best to work with! you will be amazed at the time and effort they put forth to make your time there unforgettable!! We will be back as soon as possible and would recommend this cabin to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Turdey Creek was like a home away from home

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

We CAN'T WAIT to come back if that tells you anything. The cabin was PERFECT! We used the fire pit and smoker all weekend. The swing, rockers, telescope, hot tub...everything was better than waht we had imagined. The house would be a little small if we had 10 people in one room (kitchen/den for exat mealtimes) but for us it was perfect. We left the cabin for a day to go to Biltmore. We can't wait to come back and never let the car leave the driveway the entire time we are there. We hiked on the mountain the cabin is one and wish we had done that the entire time. It is absolutely beautiful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review