reviews for: listing #7974 - Acadia, Maine House rental

New, Bay Front, 4 BR Cottage Overlooking Acadia
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,350 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Heaven Away From Home

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

I have never been on vacation at a more hospitable place. In booking Goose Cove Cottage, every question was answered and we arrived to an immaculate cottage. Wanda was very helpful and such a down to earth person who became a friend. She had blueberry muffins waiting, brought us lobsters and helped us find activites to enjoy our stay there. I would highly recommend this home and her other home to anyone looking for a friendly, clean, relaxing place to vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Claudia,

Thanks for your kind words, I thoroughly enjoyed you and your friends! I hope you will become "regulars" at our cottages.

Wanda

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Goosecove Cottage was as great as it was advertised! We had 2 couples and 1 single adult and the bedrooms and bathrooms worked out perfect. We all had privacy, but lots of space for togetherness. There was more space than we needed. The kitchen was fabulous! The house was very clean, furniture was comfy and it had everything we needed. The slope going down to the beach was a little steep, but I have bad knees and was able to go up and down without much trouble.
The location was very convenient. We spent time in Bar Harbor, Acadia, Ellsworth and Trenton. Lots of good places to eat close by.
We rented a kayak and canoe....enjoyed the cove very much.
The owners were great. They called to check that everything was okay and even left us blueberry muffins for our first morning!
We would stay here again if the occasion arises. We have rented 2 other homes in this area before (one for 16 people). This one was the most convenient location for all the things we like to do.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your experience at Goose Cove Cottage!
It is nice to hear you enjoyed your vacation to the fullest. We look forward to hearing from
you again in the future! Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Way to Start Our Visit to Maine

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

You really need to just open the front door to understand why we chose Goose Bay Cottage for our first time visit to Maine. Not only is the house great, but the view is spectacular. We spend so many hours out on the lovely deck enjoying every aspect of the day. Wanda was so accommodating and made us feel immediately welcome with blueberry muffins waiting for us on the counter. The home was immaculate and the kitchen very well stocked with all the items you could possibly need for cooking. At the end of the day, we were happy to have the peacefulness of Goose Bay Cottage and to be away from all the activity on Mount Desert Island. The cottage is just close enough to enjoy all the beauty of the Island and all that the park has to offer as well as any other activities one wants to be involved in, but secluded enough to be able to enjoy the peacefulness of the area. We were three couples staying at the cottage and every single one of us couldn’t have been more pleased with the location and the accommodations.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Susan, thank you for your thoughtful comments! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mo. Guests

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

There were 8 of us, and for 2 couples from Missouri experiencing Maine for the very first time, Goose Cove Cottage was the perfect place to stay!! Arriving after dark, we awoke to the most breathtaking views! It was hard to leave the deck to sightsee thru Acadia, but we filled our week with new adventures, and hope to return again to do what we left undone!! Thank you for letting us experience Maine while staying at your amazing cottage!! We loved our stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Katy for taking the time to comment on our cottage! Your week there sounds wonderful, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hearing from you in the future. Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful vacation home!

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

This is our second stay with Wanda and Bill, our first was at Blueberry Ledge. We didn't think things could get any better...and then we stayed at Goose Cove! The home is beautifully appointed, and the view was amazing. The location was perfect and very close to any activity we could ask for.
Having two master bedrooms is wonderful, and the family room and deck provided great entertaining. The yard is spacious and we were outside a great deal of the time.
Can't wait to come back!

Ventriss and Tom

Owners response: Hi Ventriss and Tom,

Thank you for treating our cottage so nicely and for your wonderful review! It looked great upon your departure and we are looking forward to your return. Sincerely, Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Week at Goose Cove Cottage

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this beautiful, modern home! Having lots of amenities, the house had everything we needed to have a carefree vacation! It's comfortable and spacious (with big walk-in closets in the two master bedrooms), and the kids loved the loft upstairs. It was the cleanest and most well-maintained rental we have ever stayed in. Wanda, the owner, was very gracious in answering any questions we had, both before and during our stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this vacation home to anyone!

Although located conveniently close to grocery stores and Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, it is in a very private and quiet setting which allowed us to see more stars than I have ever viewed outside of a planetarium! Being right on the bay, the sea breezes kept us cool in the evening, and the views were just delightful ! I can't wait for the opportunity to return to Goose Cove Cottage again!

Owners response: Thank you for adding your experiences at Goose Cove Cottage!
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the care you gave our
home during your week of fun! We look forward to hearing from you again. Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A truly idyllic getaway

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Your house is a truly wonderful location for a vacation. It is private, quiet, well located for serenity and beauty on the spot and ease to the park and other harbors without the fanfare. Our daughter's family joined us, and it was perfect for adults and our grand children, who loved the loft bedroom. Mornings and evenings looking out over the bay were exceptional. Ease of access to the park with hiking, sailing, good food, and the harbor towns were a great plus. Of particular note Wanda and her family provided a clean, well supplied, welcoming home, and they were very helpful at all times for our needs. It is an ideal spot for a family vacation. We highly recommend to all.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely beautiful vacation rental!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

My family and I completely enjoyed staying in this home for our vacation. The house was clean with many amenities. The views are gorgeous and we watched seals and an eagle from the deck and yard. It is very quiet and private while being close to everything we wanted to do.
The owner goes above and beyond to make this home welcoming and comfortable! There are wonderful details everywhere in this home provided by the extremely thoughtful owner, we will be back to enjoy this home again! I highly recommend this home!

Owners response: Thank you for taking such great care of our home and adding your review!
We are very happy you enjoyed your time there and
we look forward to accommodating your needs in the future. Regards, Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect place to call home!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

Jebb and I have stayed at Goose Cove Cottage over Christmas for the past 2 years. It is the perfect place to call home over the holidays. We can truly enjoy the time here by "turning off" our phones and enjoying the great outdoors. We had a great time snowshoeing the trails in Acadia last year, driving down Route 1 and visiting the many local shops this year, and getting to explore coastal Maine a little better. The home is perfect for 2 or 8, whichever you prefer, so close to Bar Harbor and not too far from Bangor. It has all the ammenities you need. Being on the water, and having the sun wake us in the morning, was enough to make our vacation perfect. And if you chose to turn on the tv, that's there too. We love it here and will be returning in July! Thanks Bill and Wanda, for allowing us to enjoy your cottage!

Owners response: Thanks Christian! We are happy you had a cozy Christmas again this year.
We are looking forard to seeing you and Jebb in July!
Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome vacation home!

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We have rented many vacation homes over the years, but Goose Cottage was, by far, the most well-equipped. Anything you could possibly need was in the cottage. The accomodations were clean, well-kept, and comfortable. The location on Western Bay was beautiful, both day and night (we spent some time one night looking at the billions of stars in the sky). And did I mention how quiet it was? If our kids had been with us (they're all grown up now), they would have loved the upstairs bedroom and loft)
The drive to Acadia took about 10 minutes as it was after Labor Day.
Wanda was thorough with the booking process and very responsive to any questions we had.
We looked at a lot of homes and condos in preparation for our first trip to Maine. When we return, we'll only have to look at one!

Owners response: Thank you, we look forward to assisting with your next vacation!
Kind regards,
Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

AMAZING and very child friendly!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

This is our second year renting Goose Cove Cottage and again, a very homey, comfortable and restful stay. Every little incedental is thought of so all you have to do is enjoy the view and relax. Our 3 and 6 year olds LOVE exploring the beach and playing in the yard. We've been coming to Acadia for years, and have rented quite a few homes, but this one is by far the best and we won't be looking any further to rent again... we look to return to Goose cove cottage again and again! And Wanda- you are so thoughtful and wonderful- the kids love their goldfish containers and Katie just LOVES the slippers- will send a pic in the mail to you. Thank you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Goose Cove Cottage!
I am pleased you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first!
I look forward to seeing the photo and am sorry we did not have the opportunity to meet.
Kind regards, Wanda

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Goose Cove Cottage

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Goose Cove Cottage was perfect in every way! This beautiful cottage nestled in a quiet picturesque setting was comfortable and conveniently located to Mt. Desert Isle and Acadia National Park. The house was immaculate and every possible need was attended to including muffins on arrival! The cozy fireplace was enjoyed as we watched a full moon illuminate the peaceful bay below from the comfort of our living room. It just doesn't get any better than this! I highly recommend this rental and thank Wanda and Bill for sharing a little bit of Maine heaven!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy you ladies enjoyed your stay! Thank you, Wanda

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Location and Cottage

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Beautiful location and house is in great condition, clean and cozy. Helpful hint notes are great. Views of the bay are terrific; quiet and peaceful. Enjoyed sea kayaking, lighthouse cruise, Acadia NP, mini golf and great ice cream, local shops, lobster. Weather was wonderful - it was cool watching the fog roll in and swirling around. Boys named several of the large rocks that are visible when the tide was out - and yes, both managed to get stuck in the muck despite our warnings!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Goose Cove Cottage

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We had a great time at the “cottage”. The home is beautiful and has wonderful views of the bay. With two master bedrooms each with a private bath, it is perfect for two couples. There is an additional bedroom and two twin beds in the loft for an additional couple or the kids. Wanda and Bill made us feel at home and ensured anything we needed was provided. There were delicious blueberry muffins for our first morning.

We rented kayaks for the week (they were delivered to the house) and spent mornings paddling alongside the seals. The house is located within a short drive of Acadia and Bar Harbor. Afternoons were spent in Acadia hiking numerous trails and biking on the cottage roads.

Our favorite restaurant was Kathy’s Trenton Lighthouse just 2 miles from the house. Try the fried clams, sautéed scallops and her amazing crab omelet.

Thank you, Wanda and Bill!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nancy,
Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure meeting you and we are very happy
you enjoyed your stay at our cottage!

Kind regards,
Wanda

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Home 2010

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Our family stayed at this property for 2 weeks in June 2010. It was beautiful and the owners were absolutely wonderful! We saw seals and a bald eagle from the deck. Our 4 yr old daughter loved playing in the tidepools at low tide as we bought her some water shoes so she could "muck" around at low tide.

The location was perfect for spending time in Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The house was spacious and accommodating for the 5 of us. We had a great time during our stay and thank the owners for their hospitality and for sharing their beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Vacation Rental

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

This house was absolutely perfect for our family including four adults and two grandchildren. The house was secluded and had a wonderful view from the back deck overlooking the Western Bay. The owners took very good care of us and ensured that the house was emaculate when we arrived and that anything we needed was provided. They even delivered fresh lobster to the house and provided special goodies for the grandchildren. Our grand kids are talking about going back to Maine already. The house was located within a short drive of Acadia and Bar Harbor and was also convenient to grocery stores and shopping. The only drawback for some might be the lack of cell phone coverage, but I looked at that as a plus. We all had a totally relaxing and memorable vacation. We highly recommend the "Cottage".

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2010 stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

Excellent accomodations - I highly recommend it. The "cottage" (really more of a luxury home) was just as advertised. All the modern conveniences and beautiful setting. Wanda was very responsive and clearly committed to making the visit a good one. Excellent for families or friends, children or adults. Unimportant detail - not much TV or cell phone reception, so teens who want to "stay connected" might not be thrilled.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Copied from the cottage guestbook

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Bill & Wanda,
Thank you so much for sharing your amazing cottage with us! We had a blast between hiking, kayaking, shopping and a ferry tour at Bar Harbor, we were always busy. Maine is such a beautiful state and your cottage definitely made our experience here in Maine even better! And the seafood here is wonderful! We couldn't have asked for more. Thanks again Wanda & Bill, it truly is a beautiful home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Copied from our cottage guestbook

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2009

What a great home to call home and spend two weeks. Beautiful inside and outside. comfortable in all ways. We will sit back and relax and enjoy this beautiful part of Maine.

First morning had the most delicious breakfast of homemade blueberry muffins from Wanda. Then off to explore.

We have covered nearly every nook & cranny around the area.
Saw deer, raccoons, red fox and porcupines near cottage. Filled bird feeder but only a chipmunk was in it. So birds stayed away.

The kayaking is amazing. A little muddy getting in but well worth it when you are able to paddle alongside seals. We wish the weather was more cooperative as we have been fogged in for almost the entire two weeks.

We had amazing fresh lobsters cooked right on the deck. We had to call Wanda to get cooking directions but the lobsters, steamers and mussels came out perfectly! A big thanks to Wanda's Dad for catching those very yummy lobsters!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home and million dollar view!

Review submitted: November 1, 2009   Date of arrival: September 27, 2009

I had seen all the website pictures of this cottage but the house and view still took my breath away upon arrival. It was a great location for all our excursions to Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park, the Blue Hill area and Schoodic Peninsula. Fall was also a beautiful time to visit here. We were very comfortable here and enjoyed the changing tidal views. I have no hesitation in recommending Goose Cove Cottage to anyone who is searching the Acadia area for a great place to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Place To Be

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

The cottage is very comfortable with a great view. The rooms, bathrooms and closets are big and comfortable. There were 8 of us ladies. We had to share rooms, but it worked out well for us. There is a huge deck, which we were able to use each morning for coffee or drinks in the afternoon. Everything one needs is provided and the location is good for travelling out each day and for eating lobster and seeing sights, especially Cadillac Mountain in the fog. Our hosts stayed in touch with us during our stay to make sure everything was okay. I would recommend Goose Cove Cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing, at home feeling vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Experience of a lifetime! House was great!

Review submitted: September 1, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

The cottage was represented very honestly on this site - the pictures and descriptions were very accurate. All of the amenities that were detailed in the property description were accurate and in working order.

The property was clean, neatly organized, and was well-stocked with linens, bedding kitchen supplies, and plenty of hot water, which allowed for 2 families to take multiple simultaneous showers after a long day of hiking in the woods and other outdoor activities!

The house was very clean and was very family friendly. It is a modern construction house in a very romantic setting off of water, however, we did not find the property 'shore line' to be swimmer-friendly. The grounds offered much-needed seclusion from the outside world. Something noteworthy - the address was easily navigated using GPS, so no worries there!

We would highly endorse renting this house to other families that seek a relaxing, modern, secluded get-away close to an amazing national park.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Goose Cove Cottage, Trenton, ME

Review submitted: October 30, 2008   Date of arrival: October 12, 2008

The pictures say it all! This is a BEAUTIFUL home with all the amenities. It is a perfect location with easy access minutes away from Bar Harbor and Ellsworth. I cannot imagine anyone staying here and not having a fantastic time.

The property owner is incredibly sincere and gracious and that is shown by the quality and upkeep of property, as well by nuances such as checking on safe arrival/departure, welcome notes, etc.

The overall experience has been nothing but positive and I look forward to vacationing at this property - or any property by this owner - in the years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 8, 2008

We just got back from our stay at Goose Cove Cottage and we couldn't have been happier with the house, the owners, the view and the relaxing time we enjoyed there.
A perfect house for two families, we visited with our good friends and their children and found there was ample space for quiet reading, drawing, game playing, and watching movies. The house was very clean, well maintained with well stocked kitchen accessories.
At high tide, we kayaked from the shore of the house (our own kayaks) into the bay area.
The photos are accurate of the view and the house. The owners are people of integrity.
We hope to stay again in the future.

Owners response: Thanks for being great guests! We hope to see you again.

Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 27, 2008

We just got back from our stay at Goose Cove Cottage and we couldn't have been happier with the house, the owners, the view and the relaxing time we enjoyed there.
A perfect house for two families, we visited with our good friends and their children and found there was ample space for quiet reading, drawing, game playing, and watching movies. The house was very clean, well maintained with well stocked kitchen accessories.
At high tide, we kayaked from the shore of the house (our own kayaks) into the bay area.
The photos are accurate of the view and the house. The owners are people of integrity.
We hope to stay again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect vacation location

Review submitted: February 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Goose Cove Cottage has been a wonderful location for our Acadia vacations the past two years. The house is beautiful and very comfortable for extended family or multiple families. The location is excellent, and the views are amazing. The owners are extremely helpful with local information and anything else to ensure a great vacation. We're definitely looking forward to returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Location

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

This was our second stay at Goose Cove, we love it! The location is perfect, right on the water, close to Bar Harbor and MDI. We can't wait to come back someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 2, 2007   Date of arrival: July 2, 2007

Our family rented the cottage for nine days at the end of June, 2007. We had a fabulous time, celebrating our 22nd anniversary. While there we saw plenty of wildlife immediately around the cottage: A doe, a fawn, a fox, a raccoon, a porcupine, numerous chipmunks, squirrels and hawks. The raccoon got carried away while looking for some dinner, damaging the bird feeder, much to the dismay of the interested squirrels and chipmunks.

The cottage was in nice, new condition; very comfortable with great views of Goose Cove and Mt. Desert Island beyond. It is less than five minutes driving time from Mt. Desert Island, making it a convenient location to see all of Acadia National Park, which is stunning. We spent several hours nearly every day exploring the hiking trails of Acadia. Even with all that time, we feel as though we only saw a fraction of the Park. Our favorite restaurant: Maddies Diner in Southwest Harbor.

If you like watching TV, this may not be the place for you. Strictly local broadcast with marginal reception in the living room. The reception on the TV in the basement is much better.

Wanda and Bill were easy to work with and we had no problems whatsoever. We can highly recommend the cottage and plan to come back in the future.

Owners response: So sorry for the bad reception upstairs, as soon as the next guests arrived, they phoned us and it was fixed! Nice and clear like the downstairs TV now. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2007   Date of arrival: June 29, 2007

My family just returned from a week long stay at this property. Wow, what a trip! My husband and I along with our 3 kids ages 13, 12 and 12 had the very best time. We travel all over the place and we always rent homes/condos. This was by far one of the nicest experiences. Wanda could not have made anything easier if she tried. She is extemely helpful, but unitrusive. The house, excuse me, "cottage" is wonderful. It is very large, fresh and new. Decorated perfectly and so warm that you do not feel uncomfortable. It was hard to leave the house everyday! There was nothing that we ever needed. The kitchen is fully stocked and every little detail down to the bathroom spray was really appreciated. We spent most of the time in Acadia and surrounding areas. But at the home we rented kayacks had a blast and saw plenty of seals. The mudflats are a riot in low tide, just keep your shoes off! I love the downstairs rec room. We did a big puzzle and hung out. I cannot wait to visit this house and area again. Everything is so close and convienient. You do not want to know about our second week rental up in Nova Scotia...what a nighmare!
Thanks Wanda and everyone else enjoy this lovely place.
Steve, Cindy, Alec, Natalie and Sara

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2007   Date of arrival: April 24, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at Goose Cove. Just what we were looking for and more. The home has everything you need and the views are amazing! We drove through Acadia and our favorite spots are Sand Beach, Thunder Hole and Cadillac Mountain. WOW! What a view. We are planning a second trip out this fall and can't wait. We really miss it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2006   Date of arrival: October 22, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

What a wonderful location! What a beautiful setting! Spectacular vistas from every window. The layout for this "cottage" was perfect for our young family of six plus mother-in-law. We have stayed in many rentals and this one fit our sleeping needs the best.
We came all the way from Texas for our first look at Maine -
Glorious! We especially enjoyed (out of everything we experienced) the Carriage Road biking. The scenery was beautiful and the ease of having fun with kids.
Thank you for everything being so well thought through and presented beautifully. We will hope to come back again!

The Scheffrahns

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 23, 2006   Date of arrival: September 23, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

All we can say is WOW! What beautiful country this is! We love Goose Cove Cottage and vow we will come back sometime. We were here for our 10th year anniversary and Maine has some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever seen. We did a lot - we went through Acadia, saw Sand Beach, Thunder Hole, Jordan Pond and of course the top of Cadillac Mountain which was beautiful but cold and windy. We also went out to Schoodic Peninsula and Schoodic Point. It was magnificint! We also enjoyed time at the cottage-we walked along our beach and we saw deer 3 times while here. I got a 3 stone diamond anniversary band while here which was a total surprise! WOW!
We never got to meet Wanda and Bill but talked with them regularly. If in doubt of places to see, ask Wanda. She sure knows her stuff. I know when it was time to leave-I didn't want to at all!
Thanks Wanda and Bill for the use of your beautiful cottage and your hospitality. We hope to come back again maybe next year? Maine is a beautiful State. We love it here!

Steve and Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 10, 2006   Date of arrival: September 10, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

It was so wonderful to be back in God's Country again. There is no other place that compares to Acadia/Maine. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. The cottage and location are perfect. Of course, we went to the Mountain several times but we also went Downeast as far as Calais. Also, Southwest and Northeast Harbors, Blue Hill area and Bangor. Actually we drove about 1100 miles around Maine. (we first did Vermont, New Hampshire and Massachusetts.)
We watched for the Doe and Fawn every evening but never saw them. Then, while Bill and his Dad were here mowing the lawn, we left in the car and WOW, walking down the driveway were the Buck, the Doe and the Fawn at 11:00 in the morning!!
We highlighted a map so you could see all of our Maine travels.
Thank you so much for your hospitality.
Geoff and Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2006   Date of arrival: September 3, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

What a wonderful place you have here. No, we didn't see any deer or porcupines, but we saw lots of birds and really odd caterpillars.
This house is just beautiful. We had so much room and space. We loved the view and little beach - except when we tried to go down to the water at low tide and got stuck in the mud, it was hilarious!
Thank you so much Wanda and Bill for sharing your beautiful home.
Best Regards,
The Mutinos

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2006   Date of arrival: August 29, 2006

Goose Cottage is a brand new house overlooking Goose Cove. It has a wonderful open feel to it and it is equipped with the finest appliances. Wanda and Bill and their families take superb care of the property. Wanda even delivers lobster from her father's daily catch!!! There are interesting shore birds and little woodland animals. There are abundant activities in the neighborhood, but we just put our feet up on the deck and soaked in the peace and beauty.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2006   Date of arrival: August 27, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

What a wonderful home away from home! This "cottage" far exceeded our expectations and the setting is spectacular. Our future son-in-law said it best, "The house is a vacation in itself". The space is well designed and well appointed. All seven of us were comfortable. We hiked and kayaked and climbed on rocks all over Acadia. We enjoyed the Harbors and towns and tea at Jordan Pond. With Wanda's help we had a great lobster boil on the deck. Many wonderful memories are in our hearts and minds. Thank you Wanda and Bill, for sharing this house and Acadia with us. We'd love to come back!
The Wilkes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 23, 2006   Date of arrival: August 23, 2006

What a great place! We have 6 people in our family and the house was extremely comfortable. It's secluded, yet close to everything. The owners are fantastic and helped by filling us in on great tips about the area. The price was reasonable and the house had everything anyone could wish for. We would highly recommend it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 20, 2006   Date of arrival: August 20, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

What a wonderful house!! The view is spectacular and the landlords are extraordinarily nice and helpful.

We are retirees, who were taking a break from family reunions. We picked a great spot for relaxing.

We saw a doe and her fawn and a great BIG porcupine, the size of a small dog!

Thank you so much for the lobsters. They too, were the best and freshest we've had.

Anne & Peter

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 12, 2006   Date of arrival: August 12, 2006

Entered in our cottage guestbook:

Wanda and Bill,

We would like to thank you, once again, for a wonderful week!
We had such a wonderful time last year at Blueberry Ledge in Hancock that we decided to return---and it was everything that we had hoped for.
First of all, you have done a wonderful job on you new "cottage"; Goose Cove Cottage has everything you could possibly need while vacationing in Maine. Some things like the modern, well-equipped kitchen and washer/dryer are not so surprising; other things like the complete lobster dinner set were; which I must say that we took complete advantage of (twice).
Next, the view of the water and mountains of Acadia are superb. Short of building a house on top of Cadillac Mountain, I dare anyone to find a better view anywhere in the area. We loved it (and even the crows)!
Finally, we really enjoyed the location. When we went to Mt. Cadillac for stargazing, it was just a little drive down the road. Ellsworth and all of its amenities (and those along the way) were also convenient.
Thank you for all of your hospitality-the delivered lobsters, the "excursion", the well stocked house and your always pleasant visits.
Thank you and we hope to see you again next year!
The O'Connors

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2006   Date of arrival: July 20, 2006

My family recently enjoyed the first week of July at Goose Cove Cottage. It was the most pleasant rental experience I have ever had. The house is beautiful, clean, and many extras are provided for your convenience. The house is in a great location with lots of privacy and a beautiful view. The owners were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our vacation wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 8, 2006   Date of arrival: July 8, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

Three generations enjoyed your beautiful new cottage for 7 days. Oops, I mean four generations!
Olivia Kate, the five year old, collected many moths and baby inch worms from the deck. She also saw her first porcupine on a trail at Cadillac Mountain. She did many hikes with her parents.
We were lucky to have a chef in our group. He fixed the lobsters that Wanda caught in her lobster boat. They were excellent.
Don enjoyed kayaking in the bay and near the cottage.
I baby-sat Olivia while Don, Bonnie, Chris and Hillary hiked the difficult trails. They bought a book at the Visitor's Center for $17 which was well worth every cent! It described many things like hiking, canoeing, kayaking and biking.
We enjoyed a day in the park at Bar Harbor watching the Queen Mary 2 dock and bring all the passengers ashore.
We all plan to come back here next year!
The Grandma, Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 25, 2006   Date of arrival: June 25, 2006

Our Cottage has been complete since June.
Our first guests departed this morning and left a wonderful review in our guest book at the cottage. I hope to have an online entry from them soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2006   Date of arrival: June 22, 2006

Entered in our guestbook at the cottage:

Wow! This house was amazing. As soon as you walk in, the gorgeous views of the ocean and mountains take your breath away! We stayed an amazing 7 days here and enjoyed every minute. The house was well equipped and Wanda very receptive to our every need or suggestion. We had great lobster dinners both outside and cooked here at the cottage.
We especially enjoyed the privacy of the cottage and the proximity to The Acadia Park. For future guests, you MUST
see Sand Beach and Thunder Hole & Cadillac Mtn. Summit. Also, for future guests, be sure to wear mosquito repellent while down by our private beach by the cottage.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay! I am sure this cottage will be equally popular w/future guests. The setting is
serene and the cottage is immaculate.
Thank you Wanda & Bill!
Julie and Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2006   Date of arrival: January 5, 2006

Goose Cove Cottage is a new rental and will be available Saturday, June 03,06.

To view comments from our Blueberry Ledge Cottage in Hancock, Maine, please go to vrbo # 33071 and click on comments.

Thank you,
Wanda and Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review