reviews for: listing #79775 - Seven Springs, Pennsylvania House rental

Redwood at Fern Mountain-NEW Lux. Mtn Retreat
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Fern Mountain
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $1,100 /nt
    $3,700 - $4,500 /wk
    $10,000 - $16,000 /mth

sort by:

A great place for my mom's 95th birthday celebration

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Redwood is an absolutely beautiful home. Our group had 11 people ranging from 15 to 95, and we found the accommodations to be very spacious, luxurious and comfortable (the king bed I slept in upstairs was incredibly comfortable). The views of the pond and woods from the great room were very picturesque. The kitchen was fully stocked. The tea, coffee and huge coffee pot (with filters provided) were a nice touch. All 11 of us could sit comfortably around the gigantic granite-topped island.

Some other added bonuses - fast WiFi, pool table, multiple large screen TVs, lots of soap and shampoo in all the showers, provided laundry detergent, and finally, a heated massage chair in the master suite.

We went running on miles of empty dirt roads around the home. The not-yet-developed wooded surrounding area is beautiful, particularly on a sunny, fall day.

There were only a few things we came across while we were there. The grill was in need of maintenance, but after reporting it, the owner said she would take care of it. The last hour before our departure, we took showers, ran the washing machine and the dishwasher, and the water pressure dropped pretty drastically. We had not seen this the whole weekend we were there though, so it was probably just too much water usage at one time.

Finally, Shari was great about responding to phone calls and emails with answers to any questions we had. If you are looking for a luxurious retreat for a large group, I highly recommend Redwood.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We stayed there for MLK weekend. The house is so spacious. We had lots of fun cooking, playing pool, watching the game and other activities. Great kitchen cookwares. Plenty of driveway space for multiple cars. It's a bit of a drive from the resort if you don't cut through Fire Tower Rd (due to past experience, we avoided that road), but overall, it was great. The only concern we had was the hot water. Hot water tends to run low when we run multiple showers at the same time. The water can be hotter. Additionally, I would recommend the owner install some towel racks or clothe racks in the bathroom. There is no where to hang our clothing or towels in the bathroom when taking a shower. Conclusively, thank you for accommodating us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fabulous Family Reunion

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Redwood is an amazing home, well suited for a large group. We had family coming from CO, MO, OH, PA, VA, Washington DC, and CT for my wife's dad's 80th birthday party, 4 generations worth of us. The house is filled with luxury touches, large bedrooms, plenty of bathrooms, a fabulous back deck with 2 patio tables with chairs. Definitely a cut above most vacation homes. The level yard was perfect for yard games, the firepit area very nice, the driveway very large to accommodate our various cars. Owner was wonderful to work with - always very prompt to answer my many email questions. We had a small issue with A/C and owner immediately took care of. Would definitely recommend and hope to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Awesome House

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

The house is exactly as pictured, even more beautiful in person! It is very clean and well maintained. The owners were very accomodating and easy to work with. We stayed for 2 nights and had 6 adults and 8 kids (ages 11-5), the house was perfect. We had plenty of room for everyone. There is a nice game room right off the kitchen, perfect for the kids to watch movies & do crafts. The kids had fun running around the nice level yard too. The back deck is huge & there is a nice firepit for roasting smores! There is a pizza place close by that delivers. Also, we ate at a great restaurant 10 minutes away. Seven springs is approximately 15-20 minutes away but it's very convenient. The house is not far off the PA turnpike Donagal exit, it is very easy to find. We would recommend this house and hope to stay there again some time.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Redwood Is Wonderful!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

We celebrate 'Thanksmas' with our family of 11 grown ups and children. Redwood turned out to be the perfect retreat and our laughter could be heard every day. We trimmed our little tree, made a turkey dinner, gave gifts and went to Breakfast W/Santa and Living Treasures Zoo.

The owners thought of all the basic comforts of home. It's the little things that count: sharp knives, fully loaded kitchen, clear instructions, cleaning supplies, more than enough towels, soaps and detergents...they thought of everything! Beautiful pool table! Great tv's and wi fi connections made it terrific for our tech savvy gang.

When we arrived, each bedroom was lovely but the master suite is spectacular. Who should stay there? Our kids said, "You get the suite, mom and dad...because you are old." Hubby said, "It's good to be old!"

Even the yard was fun. I turned the rock garden into 'the moon' and the little ones named each rock for their trucks...Julian Mountain, Tranquility Base, Samantha's Stone and Caleb Creek. We pretended to have a campfire in the cold and sang songs in November. We walked and ran the mountain road.

Memories and pictures. We hope to go back sometime. Thanks for making the planning so easy. Thanks for soft, beautiful beds. Thank you so much for your eye to detail.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Splendid vacation home for large group

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 30, 2011

Rented this spotless home plus the neighboring Sundance for a family reunion ranging in age from 8 to 82, and couldn't be happier with the top notch quality of the appliances, finishes, bathrooms, bedding and layout. Gorgeous public spaces, while bedroom wings afford privacy when needed. Had a great time cooking meals in the chef's kitchens and walking back & forth between properties for visits. Owners could not have been more accomodating throughout whole process with details, directions, & suggested outings. Went white water rafting, go-carting, and toured Falling Water, and although we barely touched the surface of outdoor opportunities in the beautiful Laurel Highlands, we could have just stayed in this gorgeous home and been satisfied. Sarnelli's market & country pie shop conveniently close for the daily food items we forgot or ran out of. Our entire group was extremely happy with the accomodations & the location, and would strongly recommend it to others. Thanks for a memorable time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Beautiful Luxury Home wonderful layout

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

We stayed at Redwood with 16 of my friends and family members just as the new recreation room was being completed. The property is stunning and impeccably clean on the inside. The management handled our transaction professionally and promptly. Redwood at Fern Mountain is a place we will come back to, we especially enjoyed the back deck and campfire area. The horses on the neighboring ranch made us feel like we were out west. The Laurel Highlands has so much to offer that we were not aware of.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review