reviews for: listing #79804 - Rome, Italy Apartment rental

Great Location Across from the Colosseo Free Wifi AptFernand
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (EUR) €100 - €135 /nt
    €650 - €900 /wk

sort by:

Awesome location, great owner

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 days in Rome at this great apartment. The owner was excellant to work with and was extremely friendly. He met us at the apartment and helped us get situated when we arrived. The location is great. Walked all over Rome from the apartment. Great restaurants and grocery stores 1 block away. I would stay again. Highly recommend.
Steve and Sandy

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Apartment near Colosseum

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 3, 2014

The apartment is very large, one of the bedrooms is in a loft so it is not entirely private, connected to the dining room by spiral stairs but it has a connected bath. The other bedroom is connected to the living room by a spiral staircase, is private but no bathroom, have to come down the stairs for bathroom. Strange layout. The location is fabulous. There are a LOT of stairs because the ceilings are very high so the distance between floors is more than usual. There is a sewage smell from the first floor bathroom, not sure about the upstairs bathroom because we did not use it. But the apartment was very clean and well equipped.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: hello,
the condo manager will do a work to eliminate a sewage smell. It's a sudden problem. Best regards. Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Minnesota Traveler

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 12, 2014

We loved being so close to the attractions, close to the Metro, close to restaurants, close to grocery stores. The property was as advertised, a great value for a family.

The Vatican Museums are a must, as are walking through the ancient parts of Rome, and eating at sidewalk cafes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The apartment in front of th Colosseo was perfect.

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: December 17, 2013

It was the perfect place for my family. The location couldn't be better it has a great view of the Colosseum. It is close to restaurants and a convenient grocery store. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Large apartment with a great location!!

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Apartment was very spacious and had all the amenities you need in a home away from home. Description and photo's on line are very accurate. Property was very clean and well maintained. Fernando was great and provided prompt responses to each of my inquiries in order to ensure we had a great vacation. Location is amazing across from the Colosseum and taxi transportation is right outside your front door for trips that are too long to walk. I would definitely plan your trip in advance especially for tickets to museums, Vatican, Colosseum, etc. as the lines if you don't have tickets can take several hours. Presto tours was great with small groups of less than 15 people or less. I would definitely recommend the apartment to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful location! Great accommodations. Spacious

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

The apartment was located in an excellent area with restaurants, stores, metro, and Roman ruins at the doors. Very clean, spacious, light, good Internet, nice kitchen, everything you need. It is up 90 steps so be aware if you have issues with stairs. We would stay again!,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Colosseum!!!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

The location of this rental cannot be beat! One does need to know that this is on the 5th floor of the building with no elevator. I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: hello,
The apartment is on the 3th floor of the building, but the rooms of each apartment are high 4.50 meters. I have already mentioned on the website that there is no elevator.
Best regards

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great apartment!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Incredible location...across from the Colosseum and near the metro and bus stops. Tons of room for everyone to spread out. Washing machine very useful, wifi worked great. Alessandro was very helpful and the apartment was stocked with lots of basics. If I ever am in Rome again I will absolutely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great apartment!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

Incredible location...across from the Colosseum and near the metro and bus stops. Tons of room for everyone to spread out. Washing machine very useful, wifi worked great. Alessandro was very helpful and the apartment was stocked with lots of basics. If I ever am in Rome again I will absolutely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Location

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this well-equiped apt. The location was central to all the sites we visited. We were able to walk across the street to the Colosseo, The Forum, Palatine Hill and the Capitoline Museum. Transportation was within two blocks and we discovered the #3 electric tram stops right in front of the building. There were very good restaurants wthin three blocks, especially Luzzis. Alessandro gave us good information about the apt. The only thing that might be improved would be a new mattress on the big bed. But we were so exhausted from being busy tourists that we could have slept on a granite slab.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WOW!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Ok, while not perfect, this apartment is seriously spectacular. It is charming, and has an incredible amount of space. There are three spiral staircases in this place leading up to extra bathrooms, bedrooms and sitting rooms. You could fit a small army in this place. The view from our bedroom window was of ancient ruins. The view from the front door is the COLOSSEUM! There is a ton of steps, so do not take this apartment if you cannot do steps. It does have AC, but we liked sleeping with the windows open. Warning: The birds and traffic are extremely loud starting around 5:30-6:30 am. That being said, you can shut the windows and external and internal shutters and pretty much block out all noise and light. It is a trade off, but one worth having the option for. It is very touristy in the area, but if you're a tourist, then I guess you're in the right spot. We would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Asolutely correct about location-could not have been more convenient!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

Facilities were excellent-beds comfy, and baths good. Other than lots of climbing of steps we would say it would be great for most folks. Grocery and restaurants nearby and bus to Vatican around the corner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

The apartment is located right in front of the Colosseum and a short walk from the metro station, making it ideal if you are planning to explore Rome. The apartment itself was in excellent conditions and made our stay very comfortable. Alessandro was very nice and attentive, and even put up with my loud-mouthed uncle when he received us.

One thing to keep in mind is that the apartment is on the fourth floor and there is no lift. This was no problem to us at all but it may be to others. Besides that, it is an excellent place to stay with a prime location and will make your holiday in Rome very pleasant!

Owners response: Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

WE loved our stay in Rome. The location was fabulous, right across from the Colloseum. We had everything we needed in the apartment and 6 of us fit in comfortably. There were a lot of stairs, but this did not cause any problems. We were met right at the door and felt very welcomed. Thanks

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a wonderful place for our family holiday!

Review submitted: January 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

The place was as great as we expected it would be! Nice owner, incredible location (in front of the Colosseo - our young children were just crazy about this!!!), beautiful old building, lovely and clean appartment with everything you need (including soap, shampoo, tissues, extra towels...in the bathrooms - and coffe, tea, sugar, oil, vinegar, salt... in the kitchen). Everything worked well. We really felt just at home, and enjoyed very much our stay. Our three kids were really happy and loved the place (each one could get a room!).
Let's mention the nice neighbourhood as well, with beautiful churches not-to-be-missed (San Clemente, San Pietro in Vincoli...), a park (around the Domus Aurea, with a children playground), grocery stores where you can get quite cheap but good products, some nice places to eat (in the streets nearby), a beautiful café (Propaganda), etc.
Surely would we highly recommend this property to friends & relatives (in fact, we already gave the tip to very good friends!!!) and we'd certainly stay there again!!!

Owners response: Thanks. Fernando

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

muy bueno

Review submitted: December 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2012

excelente localizacion, al salir del edificio teniamos de frente el coliseo, ademas una parada de taxi, y muchos cafes y restaurants no turisticos en los alrededores
franchesco fue muy puntual y amable con nosotros
el unico detalle es que esta en un 4to piso y no tiene ascensor, por mi no habia problema pero a mi madre le resultaba bastante dificultoso.
el apartamento tiene 3 habitaciones y todas las comidades y electrodomesticos que puedan necesitar.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic apartment and location!

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

We were 2 couples staying at this apartment for 10 days and we all enjoyed it! The location is fabulous: we were able to visit all attractions on foot (if you are willing to walk about 40 minutes to get to the Vatican, though) and all the shops and restaurants were close by. But explore a bit around: do not get cought up in the tourist traps! The layout provided plenty of privacy for each couple and the apartment was exactly as described in the ad. The 3 floors to climb to get to the apartment were not much trouble for us, but they indeed were a bit tiring at the end of a long day visiting Rome.

Owners were very helpful and responded promptly to all communications. We would definitely stay at this apartment again when returning to Rome.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place!

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We had a great stay at the apartments. Kids loved the lofts with curvy staircase in apartment. There was tons of space for 4 of us. Alessandro met us and showed us everything in the apartment. We were able to leave our luggage in the morning around 10 and came back in the afternoon to checkin. The apartment is in a wonderful location - right next to coliseum and train station. We will definitely return and highly recommend this apartment in Rome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

We stayed here for a few days in April and it was perfect! The location is AMAZING (literally across the street from the Colosseum). It's super convenient for the metro system, taxi stand at the front door, steps from sightseeing buses and a couple of grocery stores on the same block. The host was friendly and made great suggestions for restaurants and activites. They provided a bus schedule and map. The beds were comfortable but the shower is small (my dad is 6'4" and couldn't bend over or raise his arms with the door closed. There is plenty of space for 4 people to stay comfortably. It's clean and great to experience Rome in an apartment instead of a hotel. Be prepared for a work out, though. It's a walk up and it was on the 4th or 5th floor. I highly recommend this apartment. Great place, great location and great price.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Greatness

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

The apartment was a great location. There are lots of stairs to climb ot access the apartment but it sidnt bother us! It was easy to access the subway. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes so it was easy to cook. There was lots of space. We were extremely happy with the apartment!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Unbelievable!!!!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

If I could give 6 stars, I would, but can only give 5, due to VRBO's limits. Alejandro met us at the Condo, took us up all the stairs (lots), and showed us everything. Everything was wonderful; great to have A/C. Ceiling fans would have made it even better. Couldn't have been more happy with the price. The location is great- next to the Colloseum and metro, also 100 yards (meters) to the #81 bus stop that will take you to the Vatican City. There was a great restaurant right outside (Gladiatore) that had the best Breschetta in Rome. A gelata (ice cream) stand was around the corner along with a small grocery store. Keep your empty water bottles as you can fill them up at fountains all over the city with incredible-tasting water as good or better than anything from a bottle- not like tap water here in the us. You have to dress appropriately for the chapels and the vatican, but forget everything you read about dressing like an italian to avoid crime. There are people walking around everywhere that are from other places in the world, looking like tourists. Don't wear fluorescent colors, but everything else is ok, even white sneakers. It is said if you throw a coin in the Trevi fountain, you will return to Rome one day. Well, I did throw in a coin; so when I return to Rome, I'll be looking alejandro up to stay in his wonderful Condo again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2010

We LOVED this place. It is extremely large, with room for many people. The homeowner was very helpful. There is also a good grocery store around the corner. We learned not to waste our money on tourist-trap restaurants, which are impossible to avoid if you're not a Roman. So just good dinner using the fantastic ingredients from the corner market.

A couple notes: The stairs can be tiring after a long day, and there will be some walking to get to sites like Trevi fountain.

This was our first experience renting apartments, and it was a wonderful one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful 3 days

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

This trip was my third to Rome in the last ten years. My wife and I decided to bring our three kids along as well, ages 12-18. We were fortunate to find this very accommodating, affordable and well located apartment. We found the apartment had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay, including some important points such as a small but fully functioning kitchen, separate sleeping areas for each of our three kids and a well-stocked, closely located grocery. It was also great to have access to wireless internet, particularly at the end of the day to check emails and upload pictures. Obviously, the location was amazing. The ability to walk out the front door and see the Colosseo across the street was simply awesome. There were always cabs right outside the apartment and the metro was only a 5 minute walk. The Colosseo metro stop was only a couple stops from the Termini to catch the trains to other cities. In terms of potential negatives, some Americans might find the kitchen small for anything other than a quick lunch or breakfast and the third floor location with no elevator as issues, but we found the location and cost of the apartment well offset those minor inconveniences. Would highly recommend this apartment as a great base to quickly and affordably see Rome!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great starting point

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Apartment very well located, close to subway and tourist attractions. This is the apartment for the budget traveler, but the price is satisfactory. 2 bathrooms is ideal solution for larger groups. Super-equipped kitchen for cooking, a lot of dishes, pots, glass. We came back very happy to stay in this apartment.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Inessa

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Great location, helpful owner, very clean and convinient appartment. One note, If you have small kids or you have an issue walking up the stairs this appartment may not be for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great situated flat (foot)near to many sightseeings

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We (2 adults and 5 children) spent a week in this very clean and comfortable flat. The flat lies in footwalk to many destinations and has very good traffic facilities (bus, metro). The owners were very friendly and helpful. Nearby there is an supermarket (2 minutes) and many places to eat. We had a great stay and can really recommend the flat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Location Ever

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

My family of 6 stayed at this property and it was perfect for us! Plenty of room to move around and get a break from each other, and in the best location ever! It is truly right across the street from the Colosseum! Amazing! We were greeted promptly on arrival and given a tour of the property, any questions we had were also answered. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: thank you very much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Apartment Opposite the Colloseum

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

This apartment is in the most perfect position for viewing the Colloseum as it is right across the road! You can then jump on a Hop On Hop Off bus and take in all the sights of Rome and be still so close to home at the end of a big day. We are a family of 5 (3 children - 12, 9 & 6 years) and we also walked to the Spanish Steps, Pantheon and Trevi Fountain and discovered some amazing little streets and Cafes from the apartment. There is also a large park with a little playground area for the children close by. We were very comfortable in the apartment and everything we needed was there. It was also very clean and well maintained. We were greeted by Alessandro who was very helpful. All in all a perfect place to stay with our family and we would return. Trudy, Australia

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Colosseo Apt

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We stayed in this apartment over Christmas and New Year's, having a mini-reunion with four family members from California, and two of us currently teaching in Beirut. This apartment is ideally located and an amazing value. Being across the street from the Coliseum and three minutes away from a metro stop made up for the stairs, by far! The neighborhood is quaint, and has several great eateries (Cafe Cafe, Pasqualino al Colosseo) and a grocery store within a two minute walk. I found the owner to be very easy to work with and the apartment charming. We had six adults (2 parents, 2 daughters and their husbands), and didn't feel cramped at all due to the layout and the lofted beds. We would love to return. Thank you, Fernando, for an unforgettable family vacation!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome value!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

My wife and I just stayed here on our honeymoon and it was great! Fabulous location, quiet, and safe. Everything is handy and it's only a couple of minutes walk to the Metro.

My one piece of advice would be to stay away from all of the restaurants on the street below, particularly Caffe Martini. They get you in and won't let you look at the drink menu and then charge 6 EUR for a coke!

This apartment is much bigger than we thought and was perfect! We will definitely be back! We just wish there was a toaster :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent Location and price to match.

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

Everyone comments on the stairs and so will I. we stayed in three places in Italy and none had an elevator. We got in great shape going up and down, and had no problem later climbing up the tower of Pisa. Great location for the subway and getting to the ancient sites. Cab stand and bus stops right outside the door. Restaurants and groceries all around the place. The room layout needs to be explained a bit to make sure it is right for you. There is a master bedroom with a loft above it (not sure whether this could be used as an additional bedroom if needed. There is a second loft bedroom wtih its own bath and separate sitting room (with couch that could also be a bed). This one has its own bathroom and there is a door to the bedroom. The third bedroom is also on a loft and this one has no door. This was not at all a problem for us, and having the lofts meant the kids could get far away from us and each other. The living room is small as shown in the pictures and now has a small couch. This is a great setup if you are looking for a hotel alternative. If you need a large central living area for gathering, however, this one is not for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pleasantly Surprised

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

My family (a group of 7 adults) recently returned from a fabulous 2 week vacation in Italy that ended with 3 night at Apartment Fernando Colosseo. I choose this apartment based on location but was pleasantly surprised at how spacious the apartment was, it was perfect for our group. As mentioned in other reviews, the steps were a challenge but if taken slowly very doable. I was also surprised by the security the apartment building offered with a locked foyer and door man available during the day. If you are driving to Rome, I recommend you park in one of the nearby parking garages and rely on public transportation easily accessible from the apartment. We were able to walk to restaurants near by and for the most part found great places to eat. Unfortunately, the only bad meal we had in Italy was at Pasqualino Al Colosseo in Rome (we were served appetizers still frozen in the middle - when sent back they were served the same way a second time - we finally gave up). The apartment however was very clean and the location was perfect. We would certainly stay here again if given the opportunity - a real bargain for the money.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great apartment

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

A very comfortable apartment with a great location. The only negative is the stairs- it is 3 floors up but the ceilings in each floor are about 20 feet. But this is a small price to pay for such a nice place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

We just stayed at his great apartment last weekend and it was perfect. It was super clean and much bigger than I thought it would be. Great location and a fun place to come home to at the end of the day and see the Coliseum lit up. The wi-fi was helpful as we could research the next day's plan online and even downloaded movies to watch. It is quite a hike up the stairs but the exterior and the entry way were well maintained too. I would definitely recommend this place for families because there was plenty of room for kids to sleep on all the beds.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Apartment in Rome

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 15, 2011

We were a family of six staying in the apartment. It is a great location for getting around in Rome. The ower was nice enough to keep our bags upon an early arrival. We cooked most nights and the kitchen is fully equipted for all our needs. I would highly recommend this apartment for a large family.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for a cheap stay in Rome

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 21, 2011

The apartment is right outside Colosseum and Metro station is just 5 minutes walk. The place itself is quite old and nowhere near luxerous, but it is clean with everything you need (there's wifi in this place) and lots of bedrooms upstairs if you have a lot of people in your party. Owner is friendly and met us at the door on time to give us the keys and helped us with the appliances in the apartment. Arranging for payment is also quite straightforward and easy. Bad part? The shower space is quite small and stairs in the apartment are quite flimsy and makes squeaking noises. Also, there's no elevators so you will have to carry your luggage up. This is common for most apartments in Italy though.
Overall, we would definitely recommend this apartment for any travellers who is looking for a clean and convenient place to stay in Rome on budget.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a location!

Review submitted: March 11, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2011

The owner should really post a photo of the view from outside the building. Literally you cross the street and you are on the Colosseo grounds. Each morning we had an amazing view as we walked to the Metro.

The price was fantastic - and the flat accommodated 7 people very nicely. 5 adults and 2 young teens. There was plenty of room for people to have their own space. We didn't feel crowded or on top of each other at all. For an apartment in Europe, this is amazingly roomy.

My niece and her parents had stayed in Rome at a hotel a few months prior to our visit. She said the hotel was disgusting and the price was much more expensive than Apartment Colosseo. She was VERY pleased with our accommodations at Apartment Colosseo. It was clean, we had fresh towels in plastic bags on each bed. The kitchen was stocked with everything but food. The wireless Internet was extremely easy to access.

The owner was very communicative prior to our visit. Upon our arrival I didn't have enough cash to pay the balance due on our contract and the amiable gentleman that met us with the keys willingly and without complaint walked me to the nearest ATM, which happened to be just around the corner.

Apartment Colosseo is within walking distance of most attractions and the Metro is less than a block away for those attractions that are a bit further (Vatican City). It was very simple to navigate the city and the Metro. There seem to be signs everywhere pointing you in the direction you want to go.

Upon departure I did not want to deal with our luggage on the Metro so I asked one of the many cabs outside the building to take four us to the train station so we could catch a train to the airport. He offered to take us directly to the airport for cheaper than train tickets, which was very nice.

There is a washing machine in the hall closet.

My only words of caution: If you are a plus size person (say women's size 26) this location may not be ideal for you. The quaint spiral staircases to the 2 upstairs rooms are quite narrow, as is the downstairs shower - the upstairs shower is a bit short, one of our group showered downstairs because she was too tall for the upstairs shower in her room. Also, the stairs can be daunting after a full day of walking around Rome.

Those cautions being said, I would stay here again. It was ideal for our group.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of 6

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

Location was perfect and the view of the colosseum is really breathtaking. The apartment is sober but complete and very clean. Only thing we missed after a long day of sightseeiing was a couch to relax in. You could only sit around a table on straight chairs. (Upstairs is a small couch, but during our stay it was converted into a bed because of the size of our family). Nevertheless we would highly recommend this apartment and would love to come back during our next visit of ancient Rome.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for your positive feedback.

I want to specify that, as shown in the photos, a couch was bought just few days ago to let people relax after a long day walking.

Regards

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our first visit to Rome!

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

This could not have been more perfect accomodations for our stay in Rome. The Coliseum was directly across the street! The listing description was very accurate, we all chuckled at the stair climb to the apartment. Clean and well maintained, we highly recommend this apartment and would stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location, good deal for the price

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

We stayed in this apartment for a week in Nov 2010 and loved it - we were 5 adults (one couple). *Great* Location (directly across the street from the Colosseo, near the Metro & taxis, etc). We walked to almost everything we wanted to in Rome. Also close to cafes and supermarkets.

I definitely echo the comments of 'Glitzy' - no privacy (only one bedroom has a door to close it off), and would love a couch. We also gathered around the dining room table which worked, but wasn't the best. Appreciated the wi-fi and the washing machine. Kitchen is spartan and there aren't a ton of dishes or cookware, but enough to make a big meal possible (with some improvisation of course) - we cook more than most other travellers probably.

I would definitely recommend this apartment to the budget traveler and would stay here again if I visit Rome again - really convenient. Be warned that there are A LOT of stairs. Arranging the rental and payment, as well as arranging to meet up to be let in was quick and easy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your positive feedback.

I want to specify that, as shown in the photos, a couch was bought just few days ago to let people relax after a long day walking. About privacy, i remember that all the rooms in the house are equiped of doors that isolate the various rooms, also the rooms on the loft.
Best Regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic location at a great price, by great hosts

Review submitted: November 17, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

We have spent 5 nights at the flat in Nov 2010, 6 adults (3 couples) and a baby.
The flat is located in the heart of Rome, walking distance to most sights, and just a few mins from the metro for those longer journeys.
The owners of the flat are nice, responsive, hospitable, friendly, everything one would want. The rental was easy to arrange, pay for and there were wonderful little extras like soap and coffee at the flat.
There are 2 downsides which are worth noting; one, the flat does not have a lounge/sitting room and is something worth looking into by the owners as we often gathered in the dining room and it was not the most comfortable solution. Would have been nice to have a sofa to relax on after a day's walking around Rome.
The other downside is the lack of privacy (and quiet areas) - there is one enclosed bedroom; the other 2 are on mezzanines above the dining area and the vestibule, respectively. Nothing much can be done about that but its worth being aware of arrangements before booking the flat.
Overall, recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the positive feedback,but i want to specify that there are two confortable armchairs at the entrance hall to relax. I bought a new couch. About privacy, i remember that all the rooms in the house are equiped of doors that isolate the various rooms, also the rooms on the loft.
Best Regards

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice apartment in the heart of Rome

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We visited one week in October 2010 and we liked very much. We are two middle age parent and two children 9 and 14. There is plenty of room, internet connection and feels like home – not hotel.

If you are disabled some way there might be problem with 4th floor you have to climb but we felt it like an exercise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Outstanding Location!

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Imagine our joy when we first arrived, and only 100 yards away was the Colosseum! Only a short walk from the Colosseum train station, the apartment is ideal for those wanting nice, comfortable rooms within walking distance from traditional eateries and of course the entire Colosseum and Forum tours.
Everything was handled professionally and gracefully.
We will stay there again!
The Fletchers (family of 5)
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Location!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

I brought my mom to Italy for her 63rd birthday. Our stay in this apartment was amazing! There is plenty of room in the apartment. The stairs were a little harsh after a long day of sightseeing, but easy to recover from once you got up there. It is a cozy, comfortable place to spend your time in Rome. The view when you walk out the front door of the Colosseum is priceless. There are quite a few restaurants around the neighborhood and a market right around the corner. The bus location for the hop on/hop off bus tours is right across the street and up the block a short walk making the sightseeing from this location very easy. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed to survive our trip to Rome. We would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone travelling to Rome!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Roman Holiday

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

We had a wonderful experience in this flat. It is certainly NOT a 5-star hotel and so if you are looking for that, keep looking. However, there was room for 6 people very comfortably. As you walk out the door you are at the largest attraction in Rome and you can easily walk or ride the bus to anywhere in Rome from this location. There are two grocery stores within a block or 2 so it is easy to purchase your own food and eat at least some of your own meals at home.

We were told that there was a laundry mat near by. We could never find one and none of the locals were aware of a laundry being available (including the doorman, police officers, etc.) However, we purchased laundry soap from the local market and did laundry in the sink, hanging clothes out on the line provided and it worked out fine.

Everyone comments on the small upper bathroom. My son is 6' 4" and he needed to kneel down to take a shower. However, you can always use the other shower. The floors were a little dirty and needed a good mopping. Other than that, the apartment was clean and tidy. The kitchen was adequately stocked with supplies and utensils. There were clean sheets, blankets and towels. The air conditioning did little to cool the place, but the windows opened and allowed some cooling breeze. (I guess this is why Italians go on holiday during August. Even the Pope leaves Rome during August.)

If you want to feel like you are getting a taste of actually living in Rome, I think you are going to be hard pressed to find much better than this. If you want to be pampered and stay in a luxury resort, this isn't the place for you. But, you won't be living at one of the great landmarks in the world either. Overall, it was a wonderful holiday and I would recommend this to my friends.

Finally, some tips--The Roma Pass works great. You can buy it at the subway station and then use it for your ticket to the Coliseum. This will allow you to skip all of the lines and you don't have to pre-purchase your tickets. Plus, you will then have 3 days of unlimited on/off on any of Rome's public transportation (which is excellent).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: September 8, 2010 I bought a washing machine. Best regards . Fernando mattiacci

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My family and I stayed at this wonderful apartment for 1 week in August 2010. It was clean, air-conditioned, comfortable, (with 2 bathrooms!) and conveniently located across from the Colosseum. Some of the businesses were closed in early August, but we managed to find a small grocery store, markets, coffee shops and great restaurants nearby. Check out the neighbourhood - it has some amazing places, especially the Pizzeria Li Rioni Restaurant. We could walk to all the famous sites - the Trevi fountain, Piazza Navonna, The Spanish Steps, of course the Colosseum, and the metro was also close by for the more distant sites. Alessandro was very helpful meeting us at the door, showing us around the apartment, and giving us directions to everything. We are planning to come back to Rome again, and hope to be able to stay in the Apartment Fernando Colosseo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

We are a family of 5 and had a wonderful time at "Apartment Fernando Colosseo". It was very easy to reach (even with all our lugguage) from the Metro we took from the train station. A gentleman named Alessandro (spelling?) meet us at the door and helped carry our bags to the apartment. He gave us some maps and a booklet of summer activities. He showed us around the apartment. The apartment is newly updated and very clean. The description, location etc is accurately reflected on the site.

The kids had a wonderful time there. There is no couch, but we didn't mind, we were sight seeing most of the time we were there. The kitchen is nicely equipped. There are many restuarants nearby and a market. The Colosseum is right across the street. We visited other neighborhoods and we would stay here again and recommend as a place to stay. There are 82 steps to the apartment and no elevator. Not difficult to climb but could be for someone who has trouble climbing lots of stairs. We had fun with the stairs and didn't mind them.
Enjoy your stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Apartment in Rome

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Very good location. Would have been good if there had been a washing machine but otherwise there was everything that you needed. We had a good time in Rome (family with three children 10-16 years).

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: September 8, 2010 I bought a washing machine. Best regards. Fernando Mattiacci

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Sicily

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

The apartment was in a great location just as described, across from the Colosseo. It was very clean and comfortable and had everything our family of 5 needed for our Rome holiday. The air conditioning in the apartment provided very welcome relief during the heatwave of our stay. The photos listed on the website were a true indication of the appearance and amenities in the apartment. The convenience of both Metro transport, supermarkets and numerous restaurants closeby made it an ideal base in Rome. We will definitely recommend it to all our family and friends.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Location

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Location, location, location, walk out of the front door and look directly at the Coloseum across the street. The apartment is rustic but has everything you need, it's on the 3rd floor with no elevator, however the steps are shallow. If you walk from the apartment away from the Coloseum, there are some great small restaurants, with inside and outside seating, after a couple of nights we were treated like locals. Around the corner is a great supermarket, gelateria and internet store if you need to print documents, although the apartment has high speed internet. The metro is five minutes away, taxi stand and bus stop are right outside the door. Most of the more famous sights to visit are within walking distance or a short metro ride. The area is very safe even at night as is most of Rome, except the area around the Termini train station. One thing, make sure your valuables are very secure, especially on the metro, the pickpockets are very talented in Rome. Fernando is very easy to deal with and very laid back, don't worry if you don't have a contract etc, he will be there to meet you as promised, great guy. We will definately use this apartment again when we come back to Rome. Loved it!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: thanks for the good review. Fernando mattiacci

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

stayed a week

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

OK, stairs..whew. But-what-a-location! Every morning exit the building to a MAGNIFICENT view of the Coliseum, easy access to the subway, an ATM right around the corner and a grocery a block away. Restaurants nearby. Excellent service and, again, a beautiful location. We recommend it highly!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

http://www.vrbo.com/264797#comments

Review submitted: April 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

The apartment is the same:

http://www.vrbo.com/264797#comments

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Apartment Fernando Colosseo

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

Excellent location - directly opposite the Colusseum. We are a family of 4 from Australia, We found the apartment to be very clean and cosy, Close walking distance to most of the tourist attractions. Around the first corner is a small supermarket for the budget concious traveller as well as lots of nearby cafes and pizzarias, The Metro is directly across from the Colusseum and therefore in very close proximity to the hotel. Handy for those attractions that are just out of walking distance. The Metro is easy to use and a very cheap way of traveling in Rome, Just outside the front doors of the hotel is a taxi stand, so getting to and from the airport is easy. Alesandro was helpful in where things were and helping us with directions to things when first arriving, The hotel is clean and cosy with heating and cooling, all necessary utensils as well as a good broadband connection, I would highly recommend the Apartment Fernando Colosseo to anyone who wants to stay in Rome.

Steve and Tamara

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in Ancient Rome!

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

My husband and I and our three kids (12, 10 & 7) stayed here in March 2010. The location was awesome. Walking out onto the Colosseum every morning was truly breath-taking. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed, and just two blocks from the Colosseo subway stop. We were easily able to walk all through ancient Rome and beyond. There are lots of restaurants and a great little grocery store within the surrounding blocks (we also took in the 3D Rome movie, just across the street at "Rewind", kind-of cheesy, but the kids loved it!) The owners were very kind and accommodating (because I got my dates wrong when I originally booked and didn't realize until just before we left - also we lost our luggage coming from the airport and were quite late for our meeting). Great place and great price. (If you do stay, make sure to get the Roma pass, so you can jump the giant queue at the Colosseum, you can get it at the subway station)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome apartment right next to the Colosseum

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

We stayed in the apartment December 2009. We never got lost in Rome because all we had to do was get back to the Colosseum and we could easily find our place! It is literally right acorss from the Colosseum. We were pleasantly suprised with apartment. Great apartment, very clean, lots of fun nooks and cranny rooms that make it bigger than you think. We had 2 couples and it was the perfect size for us. The upstairs bathroom and smaller side bedroom did have a very low ceiling (our 6'4" friend definitely could not stand up straight, but the downstairs bathroom is big and spacious). The owner was very nice, and even though he speaks very little english, we managed to figure it all out. Would highly recmommend this apartment. Great price, great location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay and location in Ancient City

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

My brother, father and I stayed here for 12 days. We were not in any way disappointed with this apartment. The building itself is situated directly across from the Coliseum so the views are spectacular. And becasue of this walking to all of the great city highlights was easy., If you are not in the mood for walking there is a taxi station in front of the building.

The flat itself was roomy and it supported the 3 of us fine. We were able to spread out and have our own privacy and also enjoy a family gathering setting. We had a couple of bathrooms and showers, plenty of fresh bed linens and towels and a full kitchen. I would recommend this rental for anyone who wants a great location in the heart of the ancient city. Around the corner are great restaurants (must go to Maud) and cafe's as well as a grocery market for all of you culinary wishes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

Great place to stay and spend your vacation time right in the heart of Rome! You are close to everything, you fell like you are living the city from the inside! I've been there with my husband last Christmas, it was the perfect time to be around: Rome decorated for the holiday it's even more spectacular! The place is adorable as well as the owners: they warmly welcomed us, they waited patiently for our arrival (we were horribly late!) and they also gave us directions and useful tips like where to go eat (ask them for the best restaurants in town, they are really into food!)and what to go see. The apartment is really charming, stunning views from every windows and impeccably clean! We had such a wonderful time we are thinking about going back there, maybe for the summer ^_^ It's a must, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review