reviews for: listing #79822 - Waikoloa Beach Resort, Hawaii Condo rental

D-23 : A Special Place in 2013!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Fairway Villas
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $225 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,575 /wk
    $2,700 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Location

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

We have made several trips to the Big Island and we found this location just terrific. This condo is ideally located close to shops and nearby beaches. Several restaurants within walking distance. The condo is bright, clean and well furnished. The kitchen had everything you needed to prepare meals.
We enjoyed the sunrise over Mauna Kea each morning with breakfast on the Lanai. We will be returning next year! Thanks Leanne for sharing your lovely condo with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy you enjoyed it and what a compliment it is to hear you'd like to return next year! Waikoloa really does have so much to offer and it is great to be able to walk everywhere. The Big Island has so much to see and the resort is just one little oasis among it all! Thank you for choosing D-23!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

This has been one of our most memorable stays on the Big Island. The weather was excellent. The condo was beautiful, clean, spacious and it's location is pretty hard to beat. We walked to the Kings shops and the Queens Marketplace many times. Kona was an easy 30 minute drive away. We drove there often to stock up on food and other essentials and to take the kids to the movies. Hapuna beach was an easy 20 minute drive away.
There was so much to see and do. My three children spent many hours in the pool. I especially enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the late afternoon and having dinner out there. I did spend some time in the fitness center and we BBQ'd many meals at the grills near the pool. The children and I went exploring on the petroglyph trails which were literally just outside. We spent a day at Anaehoomalu Bay and we also spent some time exploring the grounds of the Hilton which was also close by.
The owners were very accommodating and very responsive to any questions we had. It was an excellent vacation. We hope that we can return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, all the comforts of home

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Hawaii and we were truly delighted to stay in this unit. Thank you Leanne for sharing. Everything was perfect! The photos do not do the condo justice! The location was great...Kings Shops and Queens Marketplace within walking distance. Same with the Marriott and Hilton. The most beautiful beaches on the island were all a short drive as mentioned in the listing description. An initial trip to Costco upon arrival for groceries is a must. It was indeed a nice touch to have the little extras available (i.e. sundries, dish soap, laundry soap, etc.). Everything was clean, in working order and good condition. Kathy & Lisette were both quick to reply with answers to any questions we had. We would definitely recommend this property and look forward to staying again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great location! Competitive price

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Leanne thanks for sharing your condo with us for the week. It was very comfortable and convenient to my conference at the Mariott as well as shops and beaches. It offered a great base from which to explore the big Island. This was our first visit to the island and my 2 adult sons' first visit to Hawaii from the East coast. They had a blast!
Hope we can visit again next year
JPS

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

mets most of our needs

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Our experience is always such a pleasant one at this location. Lissette is so helpful as well as Liane and easy to work with re: last minute details, etc... pool area gets noisy and busy with young kids but the Marriott is always a nice haven to relax and nap after golf. Safe needed repair and we didn't find a cd player but managed with our own music. In the past, there were 2 small boxes of Tide for the washing machine but not this time. Out of 3 wks., there were only approx. 4 seriously windy days and no rain compared to all of the other islands. We were very lucky to have sunshine and no vog. My husband had pneumonia for most of the trip and Waimea urgent care took very good care of him. A bit difficult to find but the locals helped us locate it. About 20-25 minutes away. Even though he missed a few days of golf, he healed quite well because of the great weather. We would stay here again. Would recommend a flat screen in the living room and a sofa with more support....also lighting above the dining table. We saw 5 whales breach from the ocean course and it was awesome! Can't compare it to anything else in the world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

August 2012

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

The condo was exactly as described. I liked the little extras that you don't normally get, like the bathroom sundries, the condiments in the kitchen and the washing and dishwasher liquid. The furniture and interior of the condo was clean and was obviously well looked after. Would I use this condo again, definitely. We are hoping to go back to Hawaii in 2013 and this would be my first choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

simply wonderful location

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We've stayed in other Fairway Villa condos before and found the location met our needs so well because everything is easy access and we are avid golfers. The lanai is great for any time of the day and because the unit is on the 2nd fl., we felt we had more privacy and safer. Aside from neighboring, rather loud, younger (20's) individuals, post New Year, it was peaceful and beautiful. There's a beautiful chapel up at the Hilton which is easy to get to and a nice Christmas eve service too. We would have preferred a c.d. player and the living room t.v. to be flat screen as we were there for 3 wks. over Christmas and New Year's. The outdoor gym definitely needs to be updated but we enjoy exercising without a/c. With every visit, I try to do something I've never done before and there's plenty of free entertainment nearby, day and night. The drive to Kona for the Scandinavian shaved ice is really worth it and the sea is calmer for paddle boarding. Overall, we would stay there again. Lissette was available and friendly. Thanks for sharing your nice unit with the world. It was a great respite for the 2 of us! Next time we're going to the observatory!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent condo!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! Four students and I stayed at this condo for a week during the Oceans 2011 conference in Kona, in September. The location was excellent, very close to the King's and Queen's marketplaces for food, close to the Marriott and Hilton hotels (where the conference was), and in close proximity to many beaches, which had great snorkeling (and we even saw honu turtles!). We rented a car, and there was a covered parking spot for us right by the condo, which was great. Lissette greeted us at the door, and she was extremely friendly and hospitable - the perfect welcome to Hawaii! The property was very clean and the outdoor patio was perfect for our breakfast every morning, watching the sun rise over the golf course. All in all, an amazing stay, and we all had a great time! The home atmosphere was a great place for us to get to know each other (we were strangers before the conference, and good friends now!), much better than a hotel room. We loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean and Comfortable

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

My husband and I, our 8-yr old twins, and my father all fit comfortably in this spacious condo. Lissette met us upon arrival and gave us a quick run-through of the place and left us to unpack. Everything was clean and neat. The large walk-in closet in the master bath was very nice and the furniture was comfortable. My dad was totally comfortable on the couch and there was room in the living area for him to store his luggage on the side without taking up all the space. I liked the second floor because it provided a bit of privacy. The lanai overlooked the golf course and faced the morning sun and petroglyph field. The grounds were beautifully kept and pool/hot tub is just steps away. I was a little bit worried about location since we had stayed at Kolea the previous year, which had direct access to the beach. But the Fairway villas are much closer to the Queens and Kings shops, so our location was just fine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you for sharing your condo with us, Leanne! It was perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, great condo

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

My family enjoyed two great weeks at Leanne's beautiful condo in May. The location in Waikoloa is perfect for hitting all the best beaches on the Big Island, and the condo was in great condition and well stocked with boogie boards, beach mats, beach chair, cooler, towels, etc for guest use. The location of the condo itself within Fairway Villas was good for access to the pool and BBQ (we did lots of BBQing - just swing by the KTA Village Mkt in Waikoloa Village for your choice of Apple Mtn pre-marinated meats).

Most of our days were spent at the numerous awesome beaches between Kekaha Kai to the South and Mauna Kea to the North before heading out for sunsets at A-bay, or better yet, Hapuna. It was great to have such a nice condo to recharge between activities.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Location in Waikoloa

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

For many years we stayed at Kona. This year we wanted a change. We picked a very good condo,
very clean, spacious, well furnished, and was very well set up with everything you would need to cook.
The sunrise was over the Mauna Kea mountain. This unit is ideally located. A short walk to Queen's
Marketplace and King Shops and the best restaurant in the Big Island--Roys. Another very good
restaurant Cafe Pesto about 20 minutes north at Kawaihae. We enjoyed watching the golfers on our
lanai. Covered parking right next to the elevator. The Property Manager is very helpful. This is the
first time that we have stayed at Fairway Villas and this unit--we'll be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Way To Spend The Holidays

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at your condo. Lissette was very helpful and provided some great information on restaurants and shopping. The condo is excellently located. We walked every evening to the Kings or Queens shops. We enjoyed walking over to the Marriott Resort for a drink in their lounge. We found the condo to be an excellent home while we were in Hawaii. We went hiking to many of the hidden beaches along the Kohala Coast or hike to the Golden Pools was a special treat. Thanks for all your help in making our vacation something special.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! We too enjoy the quick walk to the shops and restaurants. Great recommendation about the Golden Pools and hikes along the coast. Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

This was our second time at the Fairway Villas and we loved staying at
your condo. It was very clean, comfortable, and we felt right at home.
We love the location and how quiet it is. Thank you so much for sharing
your home, we hope to be back again next year.
Merry Christmas
Marvin and Marilyn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

CAL 6 Family

Review submitted: November 6, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

My wife and I just spent 10 days at the condo along with 4 adult children. The unit is beautiful and is in an ideal location within the Waikoloa Resort. We walked every night down to the beach for the sunset. In the mornings we would walk to the dolohin pool at the Hilton to watch the trainers work with the dolphins. We would definetely return and recommend to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad it all worked out for everyone and you found that the Fairway Villas so convenient to everything within the Waikoloa Beach Resort. We too love those beautiful A-bay sunsets and watching the dolphins at Dolphin Quest.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Way to Spend Some Time

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2010

The unit has a terrific layout as you never feel cramped. The living space has plenty of room for dining, watching TV, reading, etc. The unit being on the second floor is an advantage as we slept with the windows open every night and the breezes were spectacular...no need for air conditioning at all. The Quiet Time policy means that the development is quite quiet at night and we seldomly heard others. The bathtub in the master bath is the perfect size for a relaxing soak after a long day of golf, sightseeing and sunning!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

We stayed here whilst competing in the Hawaii Half Ironman in June. Upon arrival, the condo was cooled and Lisette met us, and not only explained the house but also helped with descriptions on the course I was to compete on! Wonderful having that extra local knowledge.

The condo itself was beautiful - had all the utensils so we could do our own cooking and a lovely view over the golf course. This is one of the nicest self-catering place we have stayed in across the world and would recommend to anyone. Whilst there were just two of us, ample room for four.

Thanks Leanne for sharing your piece of paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm thrilled to have had you as our first guests from Australia. I sure hope you'll get a chance to come back. I hope the race went well for you. I'm glad you felt at home in our condo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

This is a spacious, well designed, and well located condo in Waikoloa. The proximity to the shops, restaurants, and the beach is excellent. Our daughter used the gym several times. Leanne and Gary were easy to deal with and very responsive to solve several minor issues. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this condominium and could not recommend it more highly. It is very comfortable, spacious, clean, and is--in our opinion--even more beautiful than it appears in the photos posted on the VRBO website. We stayed there during the winter--the "high tourist season" --and the entire community surrounding the condo was nonetheless quiet and serene. The property manager (Lissette) is very friendly, helpful, and responsive. The location is proximate to great beaches and the Big Island's beautiful mountains. We were awed by the views of Mauna Kea from the balcony. The master bedroom has a very large walk-in closet that doubled as our baby's bedroom - we set up a pack-n-play crib in there. (We rented the crib from Snorkel Dorkel in Waikoloa.) Thank you for the great vacation rental!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 10, 2009   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

We stayed in this beautiful condo back in November. A family of 3. We absolutely loved it. The condo is in a gated complex. The complex is very well maintained. It's nice, quiet, and secure. There is a common BBQ area, a small gym, pool, and a hot tub. Our 5 year old daughter liked being in the pool. The condo itself is very nice and clean. It's got everything we needed during our stay there. There is a fully equipped kitchen which was great for us because we did quite a bit of cooking. We appreciated the boogie boards and the beach chairs that we found in a closet in the smaller bedroom. And we really appreciated FREE Internet and FREE long distance. We could stay in touch with our son in Canada. The views from the condo are absolutely amazing. A green gold course, palm trees, and mount Mauna Kea in the background. It's sunny almost all the time in this part of the Big Island so we had plenty of time to explore several beautiful sandy beaches, all within a several minutes drive. We would like to thank the owner, Leanne Cohen. She promptly answered all our questions. All the financial transactions were smooth. Everything was as arranged. No surprises. We would highly recommend this place. Thank you Leanne!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 9, 2009   Date of arrival: November 9, 2009

We enjoyed this unit. Everything worked out perfect. The place was well kept and Lissette was very friendly and helpful. She is a great asset. The kitchen and washing machine was a big plus since we had very little time to do anything inbetween our daily activity. I just loved the location. The parking and gated community was a plus. The infinity pool was a great way to end a long day. I recommended your place to my friends. If we ever decided to stay in the Waikaloa area again, I'll be sure to consider your place as my top option. I"m so glad we chose your place over staying at a hotel room at the Waikaloa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 18, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

We loved staying at this property. It was spacious, clean, and in a convenient location. There was plenty of room for our family of four. It was so relaxing to sit on the lanai overlooking the golf course, listening to our daughter play her new ukulele. We appreciated having the fully-equipped kitchen to prepare meals and the washer/dryer to wash our towels and bathing suits after long days exploring the island. Having the use of boogie boards and the cooler was an added plus.We would definitely stay at this property again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

This unit, located in a gated condominium complex and was perfect for our family of four. It is clean, quiet, secure and fully equipped with cooking utensils along with state-of-the-art appliances. The in-suite washer/dryer was a great feature, and the tall ceilings (9 feet) makes this unit feel more spacious than it already is. The lanai is large and faces a beautiful golf course. The coffee maker, coffee grinder and filters welcome guests to 100% Kona Coffee every morning. Be sure to purchase your 100% Kona coffee beans when you stay in this gorgeous unit! Be sure to sign the guest book before you leave! Wonderful owners. Highly recommended for your next Big Island vacation. We hope to visit again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 22, 2009

This unit served our young family of 4 very well. It was very clean and spacious and centrally located to shopping, dining and activities at the kings, queens markets and beaches,all with in a short walking distance. The free long distance and Internet in the unit was most useful.The gym, swimming pool and hot tub were great. We will definitely be returning next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review