reviews for: listing #79823 - Mauna Lani, Hawaii Townhome rental

Golf Villa D-3: A Very Special Place in 2013!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mauna Lani Golf Vill
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $325 /nt
    $1,750 - $2,275 /wk
    $5,600 - $7,100 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this home, middle of January to middle of February, 2014. From the beginning Leanne worked so well with us, answering questions and giving us excellent advice. It is obvious that there is much pride of ownership.

Lissette was also so helpful in getting us settled. She even offered to print an email if we needed the information regarding the car rental. Lissette was always available and responded well to any inquiry.

We were very impressed how well equipped this home is… everything that you thought you needed was there. There are two sets of keys available which gives lots of flexibility between couples or family members and that was very thoughtful and useful. Never in our many home rentals (Europe and Untied States) have we been given two sets. There are also many shopping bags available a Hawaii has banned all plastic bags. Another thoughtful touch.

The home was exceeding clean, with enough amenities and supplies to get started. Lots of towels available (for bath and pool) and there were three propane tanks so we never ran out of gas.

We had a wonderful time!

Thanks, Leanne

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm so happy that you found our place so comfortable! I know you have already inquired to book again for next year which is such a compliment. We are happy to share our home and appreciate that others find the comforts of a home away from home too! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

excellent stay

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We rented this condo for a family get together and it was perfect Everyone enjoyed having so much space and every room had its own bathroom. We cooked every night and the kitchen was very well outfitted. The Beach Club has fantastic snorkeling and amenities. We appreciated having snorkeling gear, beach towels, beach chairs, and cooler available. It made everything easy. Definitely would recommend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy to hear that you all felt at home there!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location-Beautiful Villa

Review submitted: August 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We had a family vacation with 7 people. The Villa was very comfortable and was in a great location - close to great beaches and the beach club was fantastic. Best snorkeling I've ever done! Some of the small appliances in the unit were inadequate for a larger group and/or were damaged - most snorkel equipment was unusable - unmatched fins, broken masks, but we just rented some from Snorkel Bob. Those were minor annoyances and did not detract much from a great stay. I would return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous and Very Comfortable

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful week @Mauna Lani. The condo was super clean and very comfortable. We were there for the Ironman 70.3 race and the location was perfect and the use of the Beach Club was great as this is where my son did his training swims. Would love to return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic accomadations

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

This was our first visit to the Big Island. I booked our condo on line and had continued communication with Leanne including the day we arrived. We were greeted at the condo and given all the information we needed for our stay. The property was super clean and looked better than the photos. We would definitely return and stay there again. My one suggestion is to buy your grocery's at Target or Costco. Do not buy them at the grocery store in Waikoloa. Super expensive like $2.00 more for almost every item.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional! Lovely Hawaiian Home!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

My husband and I have been to the Islands for the last 30 years, and your lovely villa is one of the finest we've ever stayed in! As mentioned by others, your home is comfortable, very well maintained, and most convenient. Our entire involvement from our first contact to book Mauna Lani to our returning the keys went smoothly. Lisette offered great suggestions for restaurants, drives, and answered any and all questions we had regarding your lovely home. The rooms are spacious, the furniture throughout very comfortable. The kitchen has most everything you need, and plenty of room to maneuver. The pool area is beautifully landscaped, and a great place to meet others. We too encountered great weather, while there were storms on Maui and Oahu.Our week's stay was not enough! We wish we could have extended, as Kilauea volcano was acting up the day before we left. We'll simply have to come back again! Also,we had dinner at Napua at the Beach Club our last evening and it was the perfect ending to our Hawaii vacation. Thank you, Leanne, for sharing your lovely home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to hear that our guests go away with wonderful memories. We too always feel our stay is too short. The Big Island never disappoints in taking the stresses of everyday life away! We really hope you will return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

My family of 7 stayed in this awesome villa. It was comftable for all of us. I have been coming to the big island for 10 years in search of the perfect place to stay and this is it. Let me tell you why-
Location- Has private beach club, restaurants, Hilton (swim with dolphins), golf courses and grocery stores.
Affordable- Compared to a hotel or one of the overpriced condo- there is no question this is best deal
Weather- this is a big one. We spent a fortune going to Kuaui and it rained like crazy. The weather pattern in this area is that it rarely rains. It was 85 degrees and blue skies the entire time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love the great weather too and the Beach Club really is a special place. I'm so happy it all worked out so well for your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2012 in paradise

Review submitted: December 25, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

We were two families ( 4 adults and 4 kids) spending Christmas on the Big Island and Leanne's condo was amazing. The condo is very spacious, it was perfect for the time we spent there. It has all the necessities one would need for a week stay. The pictures do not do it justice. The bonus to the large condo is the area it resides in. We spent each morning exploring the manua lani area. The private beach access, black sand beach and the historic walking paths was a welcome surprise. We definitely will be back and would recommend to anyone who wants a perfect home base for your big island stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

We celebrated a week at Mauna Lani for our 50th wedding anniversary. There were 10 of us. The home was perfect for such a large group. The kitchen was well supplied and roomy for all the helpers in meal preparation. The swimming pool was ideal for the various ages of the group. The ocean beach for the Villas was great - also for all ages. The Mauna Lani area was relatively centered to be able to go to Hilo, the Volcano, Kona, the National Parks, etc. The lani in the morning - with breakfast - overlooking the golf course was the so-o relaxing and enjoyable. Needless to say, we truly enjoyed our stay at the Villa on the Big Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: I am thrilled that our condo was instrumental in making your celebration so memorable! Many more happy years to you and your husband! Aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family getaway!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

We just returned from an amazing trip to the Big Island and the Mauna Lani Golf Villas were the perfect spot for our group. We had plenty of space for the 7 of us and we preferred the set up to a hotel because we got more quality time together by sharing the communal areas. We really enjoyed the beach club - not too crowded, beautiful snorkeling & walks, cafe for food & drinks. The beach is a quick trip, but you will definitely want a car (you will want one on the island anyway). We can't wait to make a return visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad the townhouse worked out well for you all and you were able to enjoy some good bbq time together at the house. I too love the convenience of the beach club and that we can park right there with the security pass.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful December Holiday

Review submitted: February 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

Our family stayed at Leanne's condo Dec 5 - 13 2011. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Myself, my husband, our three teenage boys and my mother and father in-law stayed and not once did we feel crowded. The condo was beautifully decorated and clean and the grounds were incredible. We cooked all our meals in the well stocked kitchen. Only thing missing is a brush to clean the BBQ grill with. My husband and I golfed twice. Once at Big Island Country Club with the golf cards provided and once at Mauna Lani South Club. The kids and grandparents watched and cheered us on when we passed the condo on the 10th hole. I definitely recommend these courses to golfers staying there. Snorkelling at the Beach Club was amazing. We paid money to go on a snorkelling trip in Maui 4 years ago and didn't see near the fish we saw right there. We took a cocktail every evening over to the pool and hot tub after dinner to relax before bed. Every thing about the location was great. We did a lot of walking, exploring the fish ponds, tidal pools, and lava trails around the Mauna Lani resort. Our boys spent alot of time exploring on their own as well. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this condo to anyone wanting to stay on the Kohala Coast and really hope we can return ourselves one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It makes me smile to hear how much fun you had! Treasure those family vacations when everyone's schedule allows to be together. You did all the things we love to do when we are there. I sure hope you'll be able to return again. Keep those memories alive for now. PS. The bbq brush must have gone missing or we need a new one. Sorry about that.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas 2011

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

5 very contented senior citizens from Oregon spent a wonderful week at the villa. It was like an art museum with so much aloha spirit! So attractively decorated and it had all the conveniences one could want out of a high class resort! Lissette was a joy to work with and was very attentive to our questions and needs.The villa was very spacious and we all loved the the freedom to move about. Kitchen was well equipped and because we like to cook ,it suited our needs just dandy. Loved the view from the lanais. We were in just the right spot to experience the Kohala Coast many gorgeous and wondrous sights. Having access to the beach club was a plus because there is super snorkeling there, besides being just a great place to hang out. All in all it was a fantastic Christmas Holiday and we look forward to returning. Mahalo nui loa, Cohens.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad it all worked out and you had such a great time. We hope your memories of warmth stay with you throughout the cold months and you'll return to explore more of the Big Island in a future trip. Mahalo for treating our home so nicely!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The British Family from UK, California and Australia

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

Thanks Leanne, for the use of your lovely house at Mauna Lani and for providing the bed guard for the toddler's bed. We were a family group of 6 adults and two toddlers, meeting up for a family get together and Special Birthday. The house was ideal, lots of space,chairs and very comfortable. The children loved the pool and the beach club, with its grass, golden sandy beach and cabana chairs. Also the nearby turtle beach. The oldies were fascinated by the petroglyph trail and enjoyed visits to Waimea Farmers Market, Halewa and ,of course , the volcanic park. We visited beaches the other side of Kailua-Kona but decided that they were not as good as the Mauna Lani Beach Club, which was right on our doorstep.
When we first arrived at the airport, we were taken aback by the sight of all the lava fields, but during our ten days enjoyed watching the different colours that suffused them at dusk and especially at sunset..
We would definitely recommend this lovely house to friends and relatives

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

R/STan Family (Vancouver, BC)

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

WOW! Just spent a fantastic week on the Big Island & stayed at Leanne's wonderful townhouse. It was absolutely the best place! Leanne was really nice to deal with & very helpful & accomodating. We were looking for reasonable places to golf & she was kind enough to provide that info to me. Then when we checked in she had 2 golf passes ready & waiting for us. Thanks Leanne! I would highly recommend booking this beautiful house with Leanne & wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The description & photos were accurate but don't do it justice. It's a lot nicer in real life!

At check in we were met by Lissette (Leanne's terrific on-site property manager) who gave us the warmest welcome & walked us thru' the house, sharing tips & info about the resort & the many nearby beaches, shops/restaurants & points of interest. At check-out she even came by to say good-bye.Talk about wonderful customer service!

The Mauna Lani resort is a quiet, beautiful resort with many on-site amenities like a private beach club, pool & is closely situated to some amazing beaches. We liked Hapuna Beach the best. The wide white sand beach is super fine & the waves are perfect for body surfing. Leanne provided plenty of nice, thick beach towels & all sorts of beach gear; everything from snorkeling equipment, boogie boards, beach chairs to fishing gear.

Her 2 level house is a beautiful home away from home. It's extremely clean and immaculately maintained as well as being spacious with a well laid out floor plan. We shared the place with my brother's family & the 9 of us never felt crowded or underfoot. The interior is tastefully decorated and very well appointed. We totally enjoyed kicking back cold beers while grilling steaks on the BBQ/patio after a busy, fun filled day of activities.

Our guys golfed the Mauna Lani South Course & it was so cool to watch them from our upstairs lanai, overlooking the 11th tee. The kids cheered on their dads. Another day the guys played the Big Island Country Club (with Leanne's passes) which they found more challenging. The younger kids enjoyed the 4D movies while the older kids rented scooters & jet skis. We all enjoyed the pool, beach club, Hapuna & "A" beaches, snorkeling, shopping & dining out. Try the deep fried sea bass at Monsterra restaurant. It's a bit pricey but delicious! For cheap local fare you've got to try the mixed plates at L&L BBQ.

Overall a terrific place with lots to do or just to relax. Will definitely return. Mahalo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

2nd Time and plan a 3rd

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

This was our second stay in this Condo and we will return again. It has everything we could ask for. We take our two kids, Granny and baby-sitter and everyone has plenty of room. Having Lissette on property is a big plus too. We highly recommend this unit and complex, however, it is a quiet complex so don't plan any loud parties!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful stay at wonderful place

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Our stay at the Cohen condo was wonderful. The condo is very spacious, clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. It is an easy walk to the pool, yet on a quiet dead end street with hardly any traffic. The Mauna Lani development has a lot to offer: golf, great private beach, small shopping plaza with market and restaurant, spa etc.The owners and on island manager Lisette were very kind and helpful. We would stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wouldn't hesitate to return

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 5, 2011

Our family was a guest in the Cohen condo for ten nights January 2011. Honestly, I was a bit skeptical about the accommodations since is was much cheaper than the conference hotel at the Fairmont. I must say, I was not disappointed. In fact, the condo far exceeded our expectations. The decor and amenities provided were a nice touch too, especially the kids snorkeling equipment and boogie boards. In short, I wouldn't hesitate to return to this condo in the future. My wife and three kids enjoyed the spacious layout allowing privacy for each as we wound down from our busy days on the island. The location is ideal and my girls really liked the pool. We snorkeled at many spots but the Beach Club was one of the best. Do yourself a favor and give Leanne a call and book this condo. You won't regret it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's so great to know that other families find as much joy there as we do! I'm thrilled that your conference went well and everyone had a great time. I sure do hope you all will return!
Thanks for treating our place as if it were your own.

Leanne Cohen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Not really knowing what to expect, we were thrilled when we arrived at this lovely condo. It is immaculate and beautifully furnished. The Mauna Lani is the perfect spot to vacation on the big island and this condo is in a great location, only minutes from beautiful beaches and all the amenities of the resort. The condo is very comfortable and we had a fantastic time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Townhouse

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2010

The pictures do not do it justice. We went with our kids and another couple and were very comfortable. The golf course was beautiful and the beach was fabulous (you have to drive there). The pool down the block was a great place to relax at the end of the day. There is a great Keiki golf course on the resort, and of course, so many restaurants and things to do. The little grocery store in Mauna Lani is very good, so don't overbuy at Costco. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and think this is a perfect place for a small gathering (6-7 people).

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 18, 2009   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in the Golf Villas. The "private" beach and beach grill was really nice. The unit was very clean and nicely decorated. It was quiet and my kids had a great time at the pool. I would highly recommend staying at this condo and look forward to a return trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 4, 2009   Date of arrival: November 4, 2009

We had the best time here at Mauna Lani. Gary and
Leanne have a beautiful home with everything you
would need. We loved the boogie boards! There
are some amazing beaches within minutes of the
condo. We loved Hapuna, Mauna Kea, and the
condo's private beach was perfect for snorkeling.
Every morning we went for a great job around the
area, onto the golf course, and then to the beach.
The condo was such a nice place to come home to
every night. Comfy beds and gathering areas. We
had 4 couples and there was plenty of room for all
of us. Thanks again for the wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

Leanne, This unit was beautifully decorated. The amenities were great. This villa is a wonderful place to relax and unwind! Will definitely return! There were 9 of us that stayed at your place and it worked out great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 29, 2009

This unit was beautifully decorated. The amenities were great. This villa is a wonderful place to relax and unwind! Will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

We are long time Big Island/Mauna Lani visitors and were very happy with the Golf Villas and this unit in particular. We spent two weeks there in the Springtime and had a wonderful time. We all mentioned how comfortable the beds were (something that we have found can be an issue at other properties). The complex is small and quiet. The pool is beautiful. We highly recommend the Mauna Lani Resort, the Golf Villas and particularly this unit. We will be returning.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 17, 2009

We recently stayed at the townhouse and it was great experience. We shared with another couple and three kids and there was plenty of room. We cooked most of the meals in and packed lunches when we went exploring. The Mauni Lani beach and Black Sands Beach were our favorites and only minutes away. It was a great experience and we are making plans for next year and hope the townhouse is open---well worth the value.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2009   Date of arrival: February 16, 2009

We enjoyed our two weeks. It was wonderful weather, great facilities and beautiful condo. The beaches in every direction were totall enjoyable. We could not have found a better spot for our wonderful relaxing family vacation. Give it a try - you won't regret it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2008   Date of arrival: September 8, 2008

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your beautiful place. We very much enjoyed it!!

Thank you. We really enjoyed our stay.
Lisa & Leon

What a beautiful house. I had a wonderful memory of my time here.
Amande

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 13, 2008   Date of arrival: August 13, 2008

The condo is wonderful, well maintained and nicely funished, and in a very nice area. Some better pots and pans for cooking would be nice. However, I highly recommend this place, and will return if we choose the same island. The nearby beach is second only to Mauna Kea in my opinion, so no need to look around for better beaches. It is only 3-5 min drive. Great place for snorkling and swimming. Lounge chairs, showers and restaurant are right on the beach and the sand is perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We did love your place. Everyone enjoyed the stay very much. Your place is very comfortable. We would have loved having better weather, since the wind blew a lot this year, but this had nothing to do with your wonderful place. Sitting out on the lanai and watching the golfers go by kept everyone entertained. We had great walks everyday to the beach. Never hardly took the same route twice. The whales, Tommy Bahama's, etc. can't wait to return again someday or maybe sooner. Thanks again for the great stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review