reviews for: listing #79833 - Hauula, Hawaii House rental

~~ Oceanfront ~~ Rural ~~ Simplicity ~~ $195/ Night
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $350 /nt
    $1,365 - $2,310 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Hawaiian Getaway

Review submitted: August 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

The house was truly cozy and comfortable! Tish was waiting for us as soon as we got there (even though we had missed one of our flights due to a delay on a previous connection). She is so warm and friendly! My friends and I could not have asked for a warmer welcoming even though we were exhausted!

The house was spotless and exactly as the photos indicated. The artwork inside the house is beautiful and all by the owners! The house was easy to locate and in a friendly area. It has easy access to all the home amenities but with breathtaking views of Hawaii. You get to see the breathtaking sunrise off over the ocean of the deck each morning and when you go done to your car you see the mountains.

Tish is available for any advice or questions that you may have. She has wonderful advice for food and shopping there on the North Shore. The house has easy access to the beaches, Polynesian Cultural Center and Dole Plantation to name a few. Bus service is close to the house if you would rather take the bus instead of driving.

I would highly recommend this house and the owners for any stay in Oahu! They are truly wonderful and I can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sharon,
Despite of the missed flight and having no rental car upon arrival, your party of 5 had demonstrated the good spirit which made your vacation complete. Thank you for your kind words. Our goal is always to make sure that our guests have a memorable vacation for a lifetime.
Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Diamond in the rough

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We arrived to a beautiful day and a lovely deck area. Tish was waiting for us. The rental itself has everything you need except a grill. It is in a wonderful location oceanfront. Some of the trees out by the deck could use a trimming to get a full view of the beautiful ocean. The inside could use new carpeting in the bedrooms. Also some updated curtains to make it feel more welcoming. The beds were very comfortable. When the windows are open at night there is traffic noise because it is close to the road. This is truly a diamond in the rough because with a little bit of paint (bright happy colors) and updating it could be so much more than it is. The location is to die for! We had a great time and did a lot of sightseeing all around the island. It takes approx. 1 1/2 hours to get to Waikiki and Germaine's luau due to traffic in the southern area. Waikiki has a lot of homeless people right on the main tourist area along the street that runs right next to the ocean and also the parks. The best place to stay if you want the feel of how Hawaiian's live is right here at Tish's gem. We would stay here again and it is only with love that we suggest updates!

Owners response: Laurie,
First of all, we want to thank you & your family for having stayed with us. We appreciate your honest comments. I apologize for the misunderstanding about the grill. We do have one available for our guests' use. We are also in the process of upgrading the bedrooms including new flooring. We hope to have you all back again soon, may be bring your Mom this time.
aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

unbelievable, amazing, breath-taking

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

WOW! There are no other words to describe! The house was in immaculate condition upon arrival; it was so cozy, just like we lived there! The view every morning was absolutely gorgeous; we watched the sunrise every morning! The water was literally steps away. We could not have possibly asked for a better location. This was without a doubt the most pleasant vacation we have ever been on. It was me, my wife, my mother, and mother in law. The rooms were spacious and comfortable! The paintings in the rooms were so welcoming and soothing. The owners were so incredibly helpful and accommodating. They told us all the best places to eat! I would recommend this specific property to any and all my friends and family visiting the north shore; there is simply no other reason to look anywhere else. We can't wait to go back!

Owners response: George,
I want to thank you, Cindy and both mothers for having stayed with us. It means a lot to us to know that you have enjoyed your stay so much. Hope to have you all back soon.
Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean & comfortable beach house.

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

Clean and comfortable home with a beautiful view and beach access and owners who provided great customer service! We would definitely recommend this property to our friends and relatives.

Owners response: Paige & Jimmy, we look forward to having you back to visit again! Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Hawaiian Home

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 9, 2013

Our stay at this home was absolutely wonderful. The home is located in the country but the drive to town is only about 40 minutes! The home is in a great location if you are looking for something more realistic of life in Hawaii. We went to the North Shore which was great as it was only about 30 minutes away from the house. As many people know, the North Shore is great for its beaches, surf culture, and shops. We went to Matsumoto's shave ice and it was delicious. There is also the Dole plantation out on the North Shore which was really neat. We did the maze which was so fun. We also spent a couple days in town in Waikiki and at Ala Moana mall. We loved returning to the country after a long day of fun in town. We did also spend a couple days at the home relaxing. The ocean right out back is great for snorkeling and the reef made us feel safe. Tish was also so wonderful and hospitable. She always made sure we were happy and comfortable. We would love to come back and stay at this home again!

Owners response: James,
It is great to know that you all had a good time. Thank you for sharing your experience of adventures on Oahu which I think is one of the most beautiful Hawaiian islands. Do not wait too long to visit again.
Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing time in Hawaii

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 24, 2013

We were in Hawaii for 10 days and I rented this house for 7 of those days. We had an amazing time.

- Went with 6 people total so we split the total cost 6ways and it ended up cheaper than beach side hotel in waikiki.
- House is nice and clean, had everything you need, cups, plates, coffee maker, the rooms were nice and the patio view is amazing.
- Tish is super nice and gave us everything we needed
- We bought a bunch of seafood and did a BBQ one night outside on the patio, it was really nice. We hung out in that patio every night it's really nice.
- Wake up early to catch sunrise, one of the pluses for being on the east shore with unobstructed view of the horizon.
- House even had extra things that the previous renters had left behind like soy sauce, spices, coffee, detergent, etc. it's cool to see other renters leaving these behind for the next people. we did the same with a few things like bottled water, honey, more detergent.

Would definitely rent this house again, maybe next year when I bring my family.

Things to think about:

- It's about 45mins to 1hr from Waikiki depending on traffic, so plan your trip accordingly (waikiki sucks anyways, 2 days in waikiki out of 10day trip was good enough for me)
- PLAN, PLAN, PLAN your trip. Be efficient, especially when renting a house at this location. I planned one day for north shore (sharks cove, shrimp truck, waimea falls, waimea beach), then another day for PCC luau, turtle beach, shrimp trucks, then another day in kailua area, etc. Do this so that you dont waste time driving back and forth.. since 30min-1hr drive can easily eat away your day.

Overall our Hawaii trip was amazing and we did everything we planned to do and more, without rushing from places to places. This house is amazing and there's a reason why it's always booked.

Mahalo to Tish and Lance they were awesome hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: AJ, we appreciate your kind comments. My husband & I are especially happy to hear that you all had a good time. Thank you for the recommendations that you gave to my future guests. We would love to have you all back to visit again. Aloha from Tish & Lance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location away from Waikiki

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

The house was a perfect for our family of five. It was spacious, clean and a great location away from Waikiki. Tish and Lance really bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. The house is stocked with all sorts of extras; maps, visitor guides, coolers, beach toys, grill, even rain ponchos. We loved the sunrises from the deck. The location of the house makes easy and quick access to shopping and the north shores beaches. We had a great time.

Owners response: Mahalo to the Sparks family for having stayed with us. It must have been such an awesome experience to bring the children to see the beautiful island where their parents once lived. We are thankful that we could extend the 'spirit of aloha' to all of you. Hope to have you all back again soon. Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Everything you asked for and more!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

What we found when we walked in was way beyond our expectations.

Let's see-very clean,comfortable and spacious. Plenty of room for three couples without getting in the way. The house was clean and there was everything you needed to use in the kitchen and more. The beds were comfortable.

The setting was to die for, you were able to see the sun set every night and the sun rise in the morning from the outside patio. When we were not eating out on all the wonderful shrimp trucks, we would be grilling on the patio and listening to the waves. You had a full view of the ocean (what more could you ask for).

Next...There was so much to see and do within the area. The location is about the best you could ask for. Close to the beaches, shopping, restaurants, grocery stores and the Polynesian Culture Center. Everything was easy to get to by car. We went snorkeling every day at Shark's Cove, what a site.

Finally...Tish was very accommodating and great to work with. She was there to greet us upon arrival and gave us information about all the sites to see, places to eat and shop. Thank you Tish.

We would highly recommend this property and we'll be back to stay!
~Sandi~
Henderson, NV

Owners response: Sandi, I want to thank you & your family & your friends for having stayed with us. I am glad that you all had an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for the information & experience that you shared with which my future guests might be able to use. I do hope to see you all again soon. Wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving and a Merry Christmas!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

The ideal Hawaiian experience

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

The house was just perfect for the family. It was clean and roomy. It was right off the ocean so we had beautiful views all day. It was far enough away from the main tourist attractions so you could get the Hawaiian native experience but not too far from all major attractions on Oahu. It is about 40 minutes to Pearl Harbour, Diamond Head and Waikikiand about 30 minutes to the North Shore. There are several grocery stores nearby. North shore had great restaurants.

Customer service was great. Always available to answer our questions!

We would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Erin,
It is great that you & your family enjoyed your stay. We always appreciate that we can avoid some of the hustle & bustle of the city, yet with the ocean just a few steps away.
Mahalo from Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our 30th anniversary holiday march 2012

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Staying here was like being in paradise. Waking up every morning and walking along this secluded beach was wonderful . The house was lovely, very comfortable and clean with everything we needed. Looking out from the lounge to the sea was so relaxing even if it rained. Trish is a really lovely lady, so friendly and after a few minutes of meeting her you feel you have been friends for years. She recommended the pineapple plantation to vist, a nearby town where there was a great Mexican restaurant and best beaches to vist. The house location is very lush as its so close to the mountains so gets its fair share of rain, however jump in the car and within minutes you can be lying on a hot sunny sandy beach watching the surfers. The pineapple plantation is a must to vist, pineapples never tasted so good. Try the ice cream! The shrimp shacks have to be visited and the fries with onions and cheese......I can taste them now. We hope to visit again and would truly recommend staying here. Great accommodation and a very friendly and helpful owner. Trish, thank you we so enjoyed our holiday in your home. Meg and Eric.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Meg & Eric,
As your host, nothing can make me happier than knowing that you had a wonderful stay, especially on such a special occasion, your 30th wedding anniversary!
Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beach Location

Review submitted: May 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

Both Tish and Lance were perfect hosts. They were very accommodating and welcoming. The house was very clean and presentable. They offered lots of local information and provided beach toys etc for my son. You are right on the beach which was awesome. During the winter the trade winds are strong so the beach infront of the house is not the greatest for swimming or snorkelling, but great for boogie boarding! The house is on a busy road, so you do get traffic noise and you do need a car to get around. I loved the fact that we were in a very "local" area, not many tourists, however it was easy to drive to the North Shore and get down to Honolulu. We loved our stay and felt like we had our own beach!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Mandy,
Mahalo to you, Scott & Ethyn & your parents, Stan & Jean for having stayed with us. One of the unique aspects at this area of the island is that you are able to be in the country, with the ocean on one side and the mountain on the other. I am glad you all enjoyed that.
Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The excellent review category is not high enough. How about SUPERIOR, like being at home!!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2012

The owners became as close to us as family in the 7 days we were so blessed to spend with them. Most of the time we were out sightseeing. However whnever time allowed, or we called Tish was there at our every beckoned call. The home is right on the beach. wonderful views of the ocean and mountains. Out in the country, but close to restaurants and major attractions. 5 minutes from the Polynesian Cultural Center. 10 minutes from Kualoa Ranch, the sight of many movies. 10 minutes from the world famous Bonzai Pipelne. The house is airconditioned in all three bedrooms and very clean with a large deck overlooking the ocean. We have rented three properties from VRBO.com all of them being very nice. This one was by far the best because of the owners. If you want a home way from home this is the place

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Duane, a big mahalo to you, your wife Becky, Bill & Mary & Linda for choosing our humble home for your Hawaiian vacation. I appreciate your kind words and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. I hope you all will come back to visit again soon. God bless! Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

Immediately upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner, Tish. She is so friendly and outgoing, and it's hard not to smile when talking to her. She made sure we were comfortable and asked if there was anything more we needed. Her welcoming made the experience so much better. The house was comfortable and had a nice low-key feel to it. We were not looking for anything resort-like - just an actual home away from home. The view from the front deck is beautiful and you can see down into the water. The sunrises were so gorgeous. Sitting on the deck with coffee in the morning is something I will never forget! During our stay we were fortunate to be able to have a reasonable drive to the North Shore. We went to Waimea, Haleiwa, and the Dole Plantation to do the maze. Town was a bit of a drive, but we wanted more country, so this place was perfect for us! We will be coming back on our next trip to Oahu and we cannot wait to see Tish again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Albert, my goal has always been to share with my guests 'aloha' which Hawaii represents. I moved to Hawaii 36 years ago. The minute I heard that Hawaiian music playing at the airport (Kahului), I decided that Hawaii would be my home. Ever since then, there has not been one day that I do not count my blessings for living in Hawaii. It is her beauty, but most of all, her spirit of aloha that makes life great here. And I am always ready to share that 'ALOHA' with my guests. Come back again soon. Tish

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had a Wonderful Trip!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 31, 2012

We visited Hawaii for the second time. Even though the weather was not what we had expected, we made the most out of it. This home suits us, a family of 5 well. It is right on the ocean. We enjoyed the view & the sound of the ocean. The Polynesian Cultural Center was only minutes away. Tish made great suggestions for us of where to go & what to do. In our short stay of 6 days, we managed to explore almost all of the island. Hawaii is a beautiful place and we definitely will be back. Thank you Tish for your hospitality.
Sandy & Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Sandy,
Mahalo to you & your family. I am delighted that you and your family had a great trip. Good that you can use my suggestions. Hope to see you all back to visit again.
Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great property!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Tish's place. The view was terrific, and it was wonderful staying on the beach. This house is in a rural area. It is very simple and peaceful. Tish and Lance were helpful. Aside from the very tiny second bathroom, the place was perfect for us. We plan on returning as soon as possible and will recommend the rental to friends. Thank you, Tish!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Shirlene,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay Look forward to your return. Meanwhile take care of yourself.
Much aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Little Disappointed

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

This vacation home is fronted onto a very busy highway. 2 bedrooms are facing the road as a result we found our stay at this property very niosy. We needed to use earplugs each night and found it difficult to sleep. The view is very nice but you have to decide if the view is worth putting up with the road noise. I felt we overpaid for what we got with this vacation home.

Owners response: Robin,
I want to thank you & your family for having stayed with us. I care for my guests and I know that all of my guests spend time & money to plan for their dream trips to Hawaii. As a result, I am unhappy when you are disappointed. One of the characteristics of the oceanfront homes on the north & northeast coast of Oahu is that they have the ocean on one side and a two lane road and the mountains on the other. There is a certain degree of road noise. However, as you can read from my other guests' comments, this has not been an issue.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

great house and even better host!!!

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Just came back from the vacation, and everything is beyond words. We are a group of 5, my husband and I, his parents and my Mom. This house perfectly fits us with 3 bedrooms/ 2 baths and a full equipped kitchen. We enjoyed the amazing sunrise from the deck, we enjoyed the "private" beach in front of the house. But all these are non-compare to the help that Tish provided. The parents were all thrilled.

Travelling is never boring, especially for this time. We made a mistake parking our rented car near Kailua beach, and had our car towed away, while having our lunch. I am not blaming anyone, but that was really unpleasant. My husband took a taxi (over 15 miles away) to get the car back, but found out that they required rental contract which we left in the house, and the house is over 20 miles from the place. So, my husband called Tish for help, and Tish helped to get the contract from the house and scanned it for us. If it is not Tish, we will end up paying more than 150 USD taxi fee and wasted all the rest of the day to get the car.

Thank you SOOOOO much, Tish!

Owners response: Zoe & Michael,
I always keep in mind that my guests spend a lot of time & money to make their trips to Hawaii. The least that I can do to help make your visit memorable & enjoyable is to be there when you need me. Thank you for having stayed with us.
Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Truely a "home away from home!"

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

This was our 3rd stay in Hawaii. but a first for our friends, so we chose Oahu because of the tourist sights. This home was a great choice for us since we wanted our friends to be able to sight-see but be away from the crazy traffic of Honolulu! Tish was so welcoming and helpful to us, all we had to do is call her and she was there! One day we wanted to go to Sunset Beach all day and she brought us 2 coolers and snorkel equipment! The home was soooo CLEAN and that was a big plus for us! Te view from the deck was awesome and there was easy access to the beach. If you want alot of beach time, you don't have to leave the house. We walked the beach alot of mornings and found it quiet and relaxing. The main road is close to the house, but we were not bothered by the noise and slept very well. The only 2 suggestions I would have to Tish to make her home even more perfect would be chaise lounge chairs for the deck and a few more towels/washclothes when there are more than 2 guests. We would (and have) recommended this home for your trip to Oahu and plan to stay again on our next trip to Hawaii. Places not to miss when you stay at Tish's...Teds Bakery (pasteries are out of this world..go early!), Shaved Ice and burgers in Haleiwa, the Saturday morning Farmers Market at Diamond Head, and the 3 beaches near the house-Sunset, Waimiea and Sharks Cove(beautiful sunsets at all 3). Thanks to Tish for your hospitality and kindness to us-you are appreciated!and your love for Hawaii comes through!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gayle, I want to thank you & Paul for bringing your friends Loree & Edwin to stay at our humble home. I aprreciate those kind words of yours. My top priority as well as thoughts has always been 'to do the best that I can so that my guests will have a good time because they spend a lot of time & money for this trip'. I am so glad that you all can enjoy your friendship on our beautiful island.It is always rewarding for me to know that our guests experienced the 'aloha' that is extended from us. I definitely take your suggestions into consideration. Aloha & Mahalo from Tish

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Memorable Second Trip to Hawaii

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 14, 2011

This is our second trip to Oahu. We had stayed in Waikiki before and decided to stay in the country side of the island. We made the right choice. The windward side is of lush mountains and turquoise ocean. There are fruit stands, shrimp trucks and plate lunch wagons here & there. Places that we visited nearby are the Macadamia Nut Farm, the Polynesian Cultural Center, the Hoomaluhia Botanical Garden, & the Waimea Falls Park, to name a few. Sunset Beach and Waimea Beach are just two of the many beautiful beaches along the north shore. We golfed at the Turtle Bay Resort. The children enjoyed jumping off the rock at the Waimea Beach. We especially are thankful to our host who provide us the information we needed. Our vacation would not be complete without that. The rental home has all we need and we love the neighbors too, super friendly. Thank you Tish!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the Pressleys for having stayed with us. You are right that the windward side is unique that it is with the mountains on one side & the ocean on the other. It is a good way to experience Hawaii local style. I am glad that the information I provided has helped you to make your vacation enjoyable. Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We like the location of this home, situated in between the North Shore and Kailua, yet away from busy Waikiki. Access to different areas of the island is easy and the drives are always beautiful & enjoyable. We had been in Oahu before, yet the tips and additional information from the host really made us enjoy our trip to its fullest. We had a wonderful stay, we felt at home. Thank you Tish. We'll be back to stay at your "humble' home again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Alex, our goal is to share 'aloha' with all our guests. I am glad that you and your family could use some of the suggestions that I made. Hope to see you come 'home' soon. Aloha!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxed & Refreshing Vacation

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Our family of 5 had a very relaxed vacation on the North Shore of
Oahu. We stayed at this home a year ago. We loved the view of the
ocean, sunrises from the horizon, right in front of us, lust green
mountains on the back side of the house. The warm welcome we received from Tish is what brings us back to this home. The friendly neighbors are a plus. During our last stay, Tish recommended us places to go and things to do. This time we just went to relax. Even though the weather was not the best, we managed to get the most out of it. Thank you Tish, we will be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Lisa,
I am so glad you all go home with a refreshed spirit! Take good care of yourselves until we see each other again soon. Aloha & Mahalo from Tish

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

family vacation/wedding renewal

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

We have just returned from this wonderful home. We will always remember our trip to Oahu staying in such a lovely home. Tish greeted us upon our arrival with a wonderful warm hugs that we felt at home and we had just parked the car. My kids were so happy to be staying in such a lovely home. My husband and I even renewed our wedding vow after 25 years of marriage in the lovely garden. The house had everything you could hope for with a family of 5 to rest comfortably. The North Shore is a wonderful place to stay, and Tish is a wonderful person to rent from. Tish is Aloha in so many ways. Thank you again for everything you have done for us during our stay in Oahu. I would recommend this to anyone visiting Oahu and wants to be away from the city.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha & Mahalo to the Allens for having stayed at our humble home. Congratulations to Tim & Judy for renewing their wedding vow. May you enjoy your happy marriage for the years to come. Thank you for your kind words. Our top priority is to make sure that our guests feel welcome and that they have a good vacation in Hawaii.
Tish

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Lovely view - very loud!

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

While it is very hard to complain while spending time in paradise, we loved the view, but need to let others know about a few things.
We were a group of 5 adults, my parents, my brother and my partner and myself all over 30. I was worried that we would feel on top of each other. That wasn't really the case but a few things that I think people should be aware of.
This is not really a private home. The property is like a duplex with a 1 bedroom rental on the ground level. The beach, or what there was of a beach, is shared with this property. We were lucky that the others departed a few days after, so we had it to ourselves the last 4 days.
On the north shore, the highway is located beside the beach. This made for very very loud evenings trying to sleep. Even with the A/C going it felt as I was sleeping on top of the highway - which I was!! And with the building structure being plywood, which a lot of places are, there was no sound barrier at all!
Tish may I suggest that you do not use polyester sheets, they are the most uncomfortable sheets to sleep in, and you might want to look into investing in a new bed in the second room with the king. We actually couldn't even sleep in it, I actually slept on the couch a few nights (or tried to sleep).
The bathrooms - 1 was great, but the second would be fine for children I suppose. The space was so small that we could not even step out of the shower to dry off, not going to mention how it was on the toilet.
The view almost made up for it all. That I will say!
We were even lucky enough to see a few turtles pop up their heads. We tried snorkeling off the beach - however due to the currents I would not recommend this unless it was summer, or you had flippers and are a very strong swimmer.
One more suggestion would be to invest in a new table for your deck - one that fits more that 4 people.
All in all - Loved the view, the sunrise was gorgeous. There are better houses to rent for the money we spent
You will need a car here!
Aloha and Mahalo

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Sarah, I want to thank you & your family for staying with us. As you mentioned, most beachfront homes have the mountain / road on the other side, this will always result in some road noise. Our simple rural Hawaiian home is situated toward the ocean to take advantage of the beautiful waves and sunrises. All beaches and beach access in hawaii belong to the public and must be shared. I do not use polyester sheets. Thank you for your feedback, it will help us better serve our guests. P.S. We installed a new bed today!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Thank you Tish for the best vacation ever! The sunrise is just beautiful from the balcony as we enjoyed breakfast each morning. Your description of the home is true, it was clean and had everything you said it did. We planned activities while in Oahu and on some occassions hated to leave the beach house, it was so relaxing. We used the snorkel gear, beach chairs and beach towels and were able to wash towels on the property. We will never stay in a hotel again! Thank you for your kindness and generosity. We hope to visit you again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations to the Chaviras for their new addition of a daughter-in-law to the family. Be able to witness families enjoying every moment of their vacations is the greatest reward to me. I hope to see you all back someday with grandchildren. Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Did not want to leave!!!

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

What an amazing house!! We have been to Oahu quite a few times and this was my first time staying close to the North Shore...and loved it!! Far enough away from the hustle and bustle but still close to all the sights. The house was perfect... had everything we needed and more! The best place to spend with family....just STEPS from the ocean!!! We had the most beautiful sunsets and had a blast BBQing on the huge deck, fresh fish we caught that day!!! When the tide is low you can walk along the beach under the moon. I can not wait to go back and we WILL be staying here!!! A great home to make great memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Casey, thank you for coming back to stay with us again and this time bringing a different group of very special people with you. Thank you for Stephanie & the rest of the family. I will never forget the day seeing you all sitting on the beach enjoying sashimi, your catch of the day. Aloha to all! Tish

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome experience

Review submitted: November 2, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

My family & I visited Hawaii for the first time & stayed at Tish's home. We wanted to be away from the busy city and this home was perfect. The sunrise over the ocean every morning was just awesome. We sat on the deck almost every morning, enjoying our coffee over the sound of the waves. Tish was very helpful providing information that we needed to know. Our flight came in late & she waited until late to greet us. Our visit to the Polynesian Cultural Center which was only a few minutes away, the Tropical Macadamia Farm Outlet, Waimea Falls & the North Shore, just to name a few, left us with a memorable experience. The Alii Tour at the Tropical Farm, recommended by Tish, was worth it. We hope we can come back soon and we definitely want to stay here again. Thank you Tish for your hospitality.

The Andersons

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: Aloha to the Anderson family. Your spirit to enjoy the Island all you can is what makes your first trip to Hawaii so memorable. It makes me feel younger seeing your happy children bouncing around. Bring them back again soon. Mahalo from Tish

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

No Beach here

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Very close to the road and noisy. Hard to hear the ocean with all the traffic that comes by all hours of the day and night. Very plain decor and the yard needed attention. Don't expect a refund if you're disappointed.

Owners response: Fred & Susie, thank you for having stayed with us. My greatest desire is that my guests have a wonderful Hawaiian vacation and an enjoyable time here. I am disappointed that my accommodation did not meet your expectations. I offer a simple, rural and affordable oceanfront home to my guests. I always make an effort to answer my guests' concerns before bookings. We do have a beach which is affected by the tides. Almost every oceanfront home on the north & northeast coast of the island are located with the ocean on one side & the road on the other. My home is reserved for my guests usually months ahead of time. If I am able to rebook my home, I am happy to make the refund. This is stated in the rental contract between us. I do appreciate your comments and hope that I can better serve my future guests because of your feedback. Much Aloha, Tish

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding getaway

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

This was a wonderful location for the week before my son's wedding at Turtle Bay. We were able to share the rental with relatives in real comfort. Each evening we barbequed - Tish actually bought a new barbeque! Air conditioning in each bedroom was a lifesaver. Beautiful views of sunrise each morning. Loved listening to and watching the waves. Plenty of towels - bath and beach! Great location close to Polynesian Cultural Center, Turtle Bay and the north shore. Wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Owners response: Aloha Sue, congratulations for the new addition to the family! I am glad to have the new grill ready for the real barbeque lovers. Hope to see you come back with grandchildren! Tish

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Vacation Site

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Eleven days on the beautiful beach at Hauula, who can ask for a more wonderful vacation? Our rental was more than it was advertised. It was more than enough room for four adults and three teenagers to share and still have a great time. How wonderful to watch the sun rise every morning while sipping on a cup of coffee on the spacious deck. The kitchen had all the necessary pots, pans, utensils and plates needed to make some delicious meals and stay within budget. A good size market is close by to get some groceries.
Morning walks or runs on the sands of the pacific were an added bonus. The Mountain View was out of this world. We were just minutes from the north shore, Sharks cove (snorkeling), sunset beach (surfing and swimming), Waimea Beach, Haleiwa (shopping). Ten minutes from Polynesian Culture Center and their fabulous facilities and awesome show. Some snorkeling gear, reef walkers, boggie boards and surf boards were also available for use at the rental.
Ask Tish or Lance about activities and they will gladly provide information on the Arizona, Diamond Head and the swap meet at Aloha stadium. They were super host who only appeared when needed. It was a nice quiet vacation and we would definitely book again for our next trip. Thanks again Tish and Lance,
Mahalo,
Cal and crew

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Calvin, it is always a reward to me to know that our guests enjoyed their time in Hawaii, especially coming from an old time kamaaina like you. I can imagine the sweet memories all coming back when you saw the old neighborhood home that you once lived. Please do not take too long to come back to visit. Aloha from Tish

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

everything we wanted it to be

Review submitted: June 8, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2009

aloha,first time to islands with family of six.the decision to stay on north shore of oahu was the thing we were most thankful of.after doing sea life park and eating at bubba gumps in waikiki, my family was so happy to be heading back to the tranquility of this condo for peaceful downtime. yes,its a little of a drive, and a must for a rental car. but nothing compares to the hassle free living and leisure that this condo has to offer.the owners are very hospitable and anything they can offer you for a better time, then its yours. kayaks, boogie boards, coolers.we stayed a week, and i spent many hours sitting in living area,playing cards and staring out to ocean. From inside the house!!window a/c went out in my son's room, new one in the next day!everything to do is within 45 minute drive east and west. waimea beach on around north shore, great waves, and a falls to hike to, can swim under falls. sea life park, hunauma bay and waikiki beach back to the east. foodland grocery store 7 minutes away, get their discount card for purchases, it helps.
mahalo to the owners again, absolutely adore y'all
from the whitehouse in oklahoma...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

beautiful ocean front country home!!!!!

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

I can't say enough great things about this place!!!!! Me and two friends had a last minute decision to make to get a place on Oahu. We had found this home on the website and checked availability and got it!!! we were met by a Homeaway rep and then met the owners of the home. Met us with true aloha and warmth ! Gave us a tour of the home and property , explained the normal "do's and don'ts ". Gave us a some local help on where to eat, swim, visit, grocery shop and some other great helpful pointers!!!! The view from this home is amazing , just like the pictures shown to you on this property!!! Wake up to a great sunrise (depending on the time of year), still amazing!! Steps from the warm, clear water of the pacific! The owners are very easy to get a hold of if any question's ever come up.This home is blocks from the cultural center , few miles from Turtle bay , which we checked of for some surfing , sheltered swimming due to the winter north swells. Fruit stands close, shrimp stands , great hiking within miles!!! There are all the comforts of most homes at there house, made dinners, and breakfast so much easier, very clean home!
I am planning on going back to this property again this year and have been recommending this place to everyone i know who is visiting the islands! For the price and location you really will not be disappointed . I really appreciate the owners help and aloha with our stay! You , family and friends will love this place!!!!! ALOHA!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

There is no place like home

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 7, 2010

When I vacation in Hawaii, I go for peace, quiet, ocean sounds and views. This rental has all of that and more, it feels like home! Between the kind people, the beautiful setting, and the awesome sunrises and starry nights, the sounds of the waves lull you to sleep and fill the day! It is a great escape and so much better than a city stay! I will be back!! PS The owners are also the sweetest people!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing, clean, fun retreat to run away to!

Review submitted: May 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

The pictures literally say it all. The view is gorgeous, the home is clean & comfortable and Tish has seriously thought of everything! From beach towels to the portable cooler - nothing has been overlooked. I honestly had lowered my expectations considering we had found this home online - it seemed too good to be true. I was so very pleasantly surprised to find it was everything we were looking for. Tish & Lance are so helpful and accomodating - two very genuine and kind people. Thank you both for such a wonderful vacation for our entire family.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This was a wonderful spot for a vacation. The sunrise
is awesome. Beautiful views everywhere. Truly
paradise. The locals are friendly and the fruit is out of
this world. Thank you for opening your heart and
home to us. It was quite amazing.
Susan, Jason, Ed, Jo & Kyle

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Tish & Lance,

What a beautiful place to enjoy the ocean & the
sunrises! We loved walking the beach too. Thanks
for your warm smile & hospitality. Thanks for the
Island information. We especially enjoyed Ted's!
Loved those rolls! We will take home wonderful
memories of your beautiful place. God has blessed
Lance with a great gift! We will treasure his
painting.

Mahalo & Aloha!
Lana & Jerry
MaryAnn & Gordon

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Dear Tish & Lance,
The view from your deck is fantastic! We have
had a great time staying here in Hawaii and
enjoying your home. Now back to the "real world'.
Thanks for your tourist advise, Tish, you are quite a
good "guide". Thanks too for our lovely pictures of
Lance's. It will help us remember our trip.
Connie & Jeannie and Buren & Marilyn

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 18, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

I'm so glad we found you. Had a great time. The deck
and view are to die for. The house is comfortable and
clean. This is a great area to go to all parts of the
island. I feel like we've really toured Oahu.

Aloha and Mahalo
Nancy & Clyde

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Wir möchten gerne einen deutschen Kommentar abgeben. Wir waren in Hale Makani Kai Anfang September 07. Wir hatten eigentlich ein HAUS auf Oahu über das Internet gebucht und bekamen für den Mietpreis eines Hauses eine Ferienwohnung im 1. Stock! Wir waren sehr enttäuscht als wir ankamen, auch dass die Bilder im Internet nicht aktuell sind und im Garten ein Anbau mit noch einer Ferienwohnung existiert, die gleichzeitig auch vermietet war. Unter der Wohnung ist im Haus ist noch die Galerie der Hausbesitzer untergebracht. Das Haus liegt keine 5 m vom Highway entfernt, er geht direkt dran vorbei. Die beiden Schlafzimmer, die auf diese vielbefahrene Straße hinausgehen sind sehr, sehr laut. Sieht man davon ab, dass man gutgläubig ein Haus gemietet hat, war die Wohnung sauber, aber nur absolut minimal eingerichtet. Geschirr war nur für 4 Personen da, obwohl Platz für 6 Personen bei 3 Schlafzimmern ist. Außerdem 8 Handtücher, 8 Duschtücher, 8 Waschlappen, 1 Geschirrtuch, 1 Küchenhandtuch, 1 Spüllappen. Strandtücher werden nicht angeboten, wurde uns gesagt, obwohl man durch die Lage gezwungen ist, an die nächstliegenden Strände zu fahren (ca. 25 Minuten, Sunset Beach). Wir konnten uns dann bei Tish welche ausleihen, da wir aus Florida kannten, dass normalerweise in einem Ferienhaus so etwas vorhanden ist und keine dabei hatten. Das 2. Bad in der Wohnung war absolut klein, ca. 2 qm! Beim Waschen musste man die Türe offen lassen, es war kein Platz! Das andere Bad hatte normale Größe. Sitzgelegenheiten im Essbereich und auf dem Sonnendeck waren auch jeweils nur für 4 Personen. Trotz Sonnendeck waren keine Sonnenliegen vorhanden, was wir auch sehr bedauerten. Im Umkreis der Ferienwohnung ist es mit Essen gehen sehr schwierig, Fahrzeit zu Restaurants Richtung Honolulu ca. 45 Minuten. Abschließend möchten wir aber noch sagen, dass Tish und Lance, die Hausbesitzer, äußerst nett und hilfsbereit waren. Wer eine Ferienwohnung abseits des Massentourismus sucht, ist dort sehr gut aufgehoben und es ist zu empfehlen, wer ein Haus mieten möchte, sollte ein anderes Objekt in Erwägung ziehen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Aloha Tish & Lance,

We thank you both for the nice time we had staying
at your place. It is our second "home" on the island
this trip and gave us the opportunity to see another
beautiful side of your great island. We are now
heading to our next stop: the Turtle Bay Resort.
Thank you again and mahalo.
The Van Alen family from Alphen aan den Rjn,
Holland

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Thank you Tish for a warm welcome to Oahu.
Thanks for your help and advice and your great
sense of humor Tish!! We are sorry our time is up
and we have to go home. We certainly made the
most of our time and recommend the Polynesian
Cultural Centre, snorkeling, water park and
Diamond Head. If you have time take in the big
Island for a day trip. Thanks again and if you come
to the UK, you are welcome to stay with us!

Cannings

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Aunty Tish and Uncle Lance, our extended ohana,
thank you for the use of your hale. My parents were
able to experience a true Hawaii and family. I
dreamed of home and we were able to return after
eight years. The beach was great and we were one
of the very few to actually ride the superferry to
Maui. We consider you like family, so if you are ever
in Oregon, look us up. May be you can stay at our
beach house.

Cathy, Stephen, Emily & Theresa

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Lance & Tish,
Thank you so much for your hospitality. You have a
beautiful home! We have had a wonderful trip!
Thanks for all the great tips! We will never forget
the times we had on beautiful Oahu!
Thanks again.

Love,
The Rustads & the Robinsons

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

Lance & Tish,
We have had a wonderful vacation. Thanks for
being so receptive to the myriad members of our
family. We ranged from a grandmother making her
dream trip in week 1; newly weds in week two and
the three sisters in week three. (Some call us the
twisted sisters but don't you believe it!) This
vacation house has been perfect - great views,
particularly in the morning, great access to all
points of interest without the hassle of the city.
Thanks to you all from all of us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 18, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed with my family at this
wonderful home. We will be returning. We
considered this location to be optimal for us. We
had no desire to deal with the masses of people in
Honolulu, and this house offers the perfect locale
for exploring the 'real' Hawaii, and its stunning
beauty. The house itself is well equipped and very
clean. The best feature is the wondrous ocean view
offered from the living room and deck. One entire
wall of the living room is nothing but a sliding glass
door which overlooks the blue Pacific. Nothing
really compares to watching the ocean with
breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I would suggest renting a car so you can explore all
the local beaches, parks and hiking trails. The
house is located in more rural area of the island
which is a huge advantage if you enjoy beautiful
mountain and ocean views versus the concrete
jungle of Honolulu. I would strongly recommend
visiting Ted's Bakery up near Sunset Beach (20
minutes by car), everything they make is delicious.

Tish, the homeowner, is both pleasant and helpful.
She is good at making activity recommendations, as
well as giving directions. She recommended a tour
at the Macadamia Nut Farm which turned out to be
the best and cheapest tour we did. If you do this
tour, try to arrive at the first tour at 10:45 am, you
won't be disappointed.

I would highly recommend this house to anyone,
and will likely return myself.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 26, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Dear Tish,
Thank you so much for making us feel right at
home. Staying here has confirmed for us that this is
where we want to be when we retire.
The sun, the water and your hospitality have
made this perfect!
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We have had a wonderful time on your side of the
Island. The house is very functional and a great
home base. We have been to Maui, Kauai and
Hawaii, and feel this Island is truly "Blue Hawaii",
the nicest beaches of all! Thank you for your
hospitality. You are very warm people and Lance is
a very talented painter.
With love and best wishes,
From Grace & Richard Thompson & Gino Herrera

This was my first visit to Hawaii. I'm so lucky that
my daughter Grace & her husband invited me to
come with them. Oahu is a beautiful island with
many beautiful beaches. I have enjoyed staying in
your home & meeting you. Lance has a wonderful
gift in his art work. God bless you & your family!
Grandma Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 8, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Thank you Tish for all your help before and during
our stay. Thank you for sharing the stories behind
Lance's paintings - we will treasure the ones we
purchased. Besides surfing with turtles in Haleiwa -
seeing whales from THIS living room was by far the
highlight in a vacation rental! We felt blessed to be
able to be here and experience the North Shore
area. God's blessings upon you ...

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 15, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Dear Tish & Lance,
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay here!
We've had a wonderful time & have appreciated
your hospitality. The sunrises are incredible and the
drive along the North Shore has been more than I
hoped for.
May rich blessings always come your way --
hopefully will be able to stay here again.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 8, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Dear Tish & Lance,
We thank you so much for the warm welcome &
availability if we needed anything. It was a blessing
to meet you and your children. The ocean view &
breeze was perfect & so relaxing away from the
congestion of Honolulu. Snorkeling was "great", the
best was Hanauma Bay & seeing turtles at road side
beach past Turtle Bay Resort as well as seeing
whales jumping off shore. We will gladly
recommend your accommodation to everyone. May
God continue to bless you & your family. Mahalo.

Debbie, Lisa, Brandon & Erin May
Barbara & Mike Henke

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 21, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

No words can express the joy I have had visiting your beautiful Island. This was my first plane flight. The view from the deck is breathtaking as was everywhere I and my family have visited. God bless and take care.

McFadden, Harwell, and Bruce Families
Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 23, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Tish is one of the most helpful people I've encountered when looking for a home to rent. She went out of her way to help with wedding reception information and sights to see while on
Oahu. Not only is her home beautiful but she is a woman with a beautiful spirit that is full of joy. I would recommend her house to anyone who is looking for a place to call home while visiting the islands. Tish takes that extra step to make your vacation a memorable one. Thank you Tish!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 6, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

Dear Tish & Lance & family,

There is no doubt we were guided to your home for
our vacation. What a strong and beautiful spirit you
and the entire State have displayed. We can't wait to
come back!
You truly have a gift of making us feel so welcome.
Thank you, thank you, thank you.
It has been perfect.

Brian & Sarah Leavitt, Calgary, Alberta, canada
Tracy & Julie Leavitt, Cardston, Alberta, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

This beachhouse is truly a wonderful place. The photos are true representations of the spotless, inviting, comfortable and spacious house. Our family of 6 had plenty of space for togetherness and alone time. Ocean views from the deck and kitchen and mountain views from the "back" windows. All you need to do is bring your clothes, buy some groceries and you are set. Simplicity is what we
were looking for. True Hawaiian living at it's best.
The house is supplied with quality dishes, towels, linens etc. The ocean waves and beautiful sunrise greet you each morning. There is a private area of beach for your use. Even the neighbors are friendly!
Something the photos can not show is the wonderful greeting you will receive from the owners. They are knowledgeable about sites to visit, restaurants to sample and " where to go when". I have never met owners who truly want to assist you in making the most of your Hawaiian vacation until now.
We will recommend this rental home to EVERYONE we know. When we return to Hawaii, we will schedule our time for when this home has a vacancy!!!!!! 5+ stars."

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 1, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

Lance & Tish,
We enjoyed our stay so much!! The view of the
ocean and the mountains are just spectacular and
serene. The home is very clean and comfortable.
Even though we are on the country side of the
island, it is so convenient to drive to other
destinations. Driving along the beautiful shore on
one side and the magnificent mountains on the
other is very pleasant. The sound of the waves at
the back yard is so soothing. We had a great time
swimming, snorkeling and kayaking in the ocean.
Thank you for the tips of good spots to go. Most of
all, we want to thank you for your hospitality - the
true spirit of Aloha. We left Hawaii with a renewed
spirit. We definitely will come back!!

Aloha!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

5+ stars Ü

Review submitted: November 20, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

This beachhouse is truly a wonderful place. The photos are true representations of the spotless, inviting, comfortable and cozy house. Ocean views from the deck and kitchen and mountain views from the "back" windows. All you need to do is bring your clothes, buy some groceries and you are set. Simplicity is what we
were looking for. True Hawaiian living at it's best.
The house is supplied with quality dishes, towels, linens etc. The ocean waves and beautiful sunrise greet you each morning. There is a private area of beach for your use. Even the neighbors are friendly!
Something the photos can not show is the wonderful greeting you will receive from the owners. They are knowledgeable about sites to visit, restaurants to sample and " where to go when". I have never met owners who truly want to assist you in making the most of your Hawaiian vacation until now.
We will recommend this rental home to EVERYONE we know. When we return to Hawaii, we will schedule our time for when this home has a vacancy!!!!!! 5+ stars.

Helpful votes: 23 / 29

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Thank you Lance and Tish for sharing your
lovely home with our family. The view is the best!
We appreciate your kindness and sharing info on
the local points of interest.
This was a perfect vacation home for us. We
really enjoyed meeting your family.
Hope to see you again soon.

Charles, Kathy and Julie Leaverton

Sacramento, California

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 28, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Aloha Lance & Tish,

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your hale.
You truly made us feel welcomed on the Island of
Oahu. Your suggestions as to what to do and see
during our stay were greatfully appreciated. We
enjoyed the beautiful sunrises every morning, also
the moon rising over the ocean each evening. It was
great to have our own private beach for swimming.
We were pleased that we had the opportunity to
view the beautiful paintings of the Lance Fairly Art
Gallery.
Lastly, but not the least, we will cherish our
memories of our stay in your home during our
vacation on the Island of Oahu.

Mahalo from all of us.

George and Millie Earle, Wayland, MA
Zigmunds and Carol Kauzens, Holliston, MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 25, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Tish and Lance,
Your home was everything we hoped it would
be. How wonderful to sit on the couch and look out
at the beautiful ocean.
You were both so kind - especially after the
earthquake - you were very generous with any help
you could give us.
Hope to come back soon.
Mahalo from Mary Lou, Larry & Naz Bulbulian
Rose & Dan Terrell

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Aloha Tish and Lance,
Thank you for letting us staying at your house. We
had such a great vacation! Everyone had a good
time especially Tiffany & Hubert. And yes, thanks
for ordering the birthday cake for Tiffany. It was
delicious. The island is very nice. The beach is
wonderful! It seems like one week wasn't enough.
We also enjoy the swimming in the backyard. Again,
thank you and we wish you and your family all the
best.
Henry, Thu, Tiffany, Hubert, Tuyet, Re, Rot & Chau

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 5, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Aloha Lance and Tish,

What a perfect vacation! We had a choice of staying
in Waikiki or here and this was the right choice. The
house felt like home. The ocean was great for
swimming, snorkeling, & etc. The location is Great!
Thank you for the tip about the luau at the Marriot
Ko'Olina. The Fia Fia Luau & Macadamia Nut Outlet
Alii Tour is a must see. We also enjoyed dinner at
the Crouching Lion. Thanks for letting us stay here.

God Bless you and Mahalo.

Ken, Cathy & Alan Trantham

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 29, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Oh my! We had a blast. The beach was awesome.
The house was so comfortable. The view at night
and during the day was magnificent! And did I
mention the beach was awesome! We were blessed
with your home. It was great for us to spend time
with the kids, enjoying this island and its wonders
together!

God bless you.
Aloha and Mahalo from the bottom of our hearts!

Ron, Angie, Bud, Makinsey & Taylor McIntosh

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 14, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Aloha Tish and Lance,

We really enjoyed staying at your O'hana and the
beautiful scenery. Walking along the beach and
swimming was the best part. The gallery is great!
We especially enjoyed the gracious hospitality and
Aloha Spirit you extended us. The whole experience
made coming back to Hawaii so special. This trip in
particular made me realize some very important
things in my life. My son's wedding was a success
also. Aloha mea ke Akua. God bless you.

Marie and Allen Savano
Cotati, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Dear Tish & Lance,

Thank you for sharing your little slice of heaven
with us. The opportunity to be so free and so
comfortable has made us re-think hotel life forever.
Your place is very lovely and so nicely kept. We will
recommend you to our friends.

Lots of gratitude to you both.

David and Amanda
Los Angeles, Ca

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Dear Tish,
Thank you so much for allowing us to rent your wonderful home. The house was spotless and cozy, and in a convienent location with an incredible view! We really appreciated all of your advice on where to explore - you were extremely helpful and gracious with your knowledge of the island. The beaches on the northern part of the island are great - can't wait to return to do some more exploring and snorkeling. You are a wonderful host -thanks again! -Kristen & David

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Lance and Tish,

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home
and for your hospitality. We had a great time in
Oahu and enjoyed every single day - highlights
included Pearl Harbor, hiking Diamond Head,
Hanauma Bay and dinner at Turtle Bay Resort. Tish,
your suggestions and tips were so helpful and
much appreciated. Lance, thanks for the beautiful
print! We would love to return some day.

Carol, Guillermo, Nina, Sara & Alex Mendoza
Fairfield, California

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Dear Tish and Lance,
Thank you both so much for your warm hospitality
and a wonderful stay. It was the perfect place to
enjoy the beauty and serenity of the North Shore,
and it was a joy to see your art everyday. Thanks so
much for your help with the kayak and the delicious
cookies! We look forward to the next time we can
visit. Until then, we wish you the very best.

God bless you,

John, Beth, and William

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had such a relaxing vacation! We visited dozens
of beaches on the North Shore, hiked, and even
risked a day in Waikiki. Thank you, Tish and Lance,
for making your home available. We loved sitting
on the deck, watching the water and the sky. The
stars are unbelievable at night. The house was a
perfect home base for tons of exploration.


Tracey, Kellye, Alex, Mike and Matt
Seattle, WA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 18, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Tish & Lance,

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home.
Everyone had a great time!

Kevin, Loretta, Tye, Christine, Kathran & Sarah

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Tish & Lance,
We really enjoyed our stay here. The kids all had a
blast everyday! Robert and I enjoyed riding the big
waves (felt like teens ourselves!). It was great!
Kayaking, snorkeling, touring, and beautiful sights!
Best vacation ever, topped off with beautiful
paintings to see. Love it! Thanks so much!

Robert, Teressa, Nadia, Scott, Matt & Lauren

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Lance and Tish

Thank you so much for your hospitality! The view
(backyard) is awesome! To wake up & see the
majesty of God's creation truly makes you say "Oh
Lord, our God, how excellent is Thy name in all the
earth.." May God continue to bless you richly!

In Him, Sheila Coady & Joan Aridge

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 24, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Lance and Tish

We have travelled a bit and have had for the most
part good experiences. Meeting you both and
enjoying your pleasant and beautiful home and
surroundings (back view ocean and yard are at the
top of our experiences). What we both enjoyed the
most was meeting both of you. We appreciate you
both doing all that you could to make us feel more
than tourists. We felt like we were guest in your
home. Thank you both so much.

Your New Friends, Michael and Shelia Freeman

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Well, it's a good thing I like rain! If I'm going to ever
be stuck in a place, I'm glad it was here! Thank you
for being so incredibly hospitable from the second I
showed up to your door. It definitely felt like home
and there is nothing better than hearing the sound
of the ocean outside the window.

Mahalo, Barry

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Aloha! We were married on this beautiful island.
Thank you for leaving us with memories that will
last a lifetime. Tish and Lance, your warmness and
generosity will be long remembered. Thanks for the
great local tips!
It's been a great 'home' away from home. Look
forward to seeing you again soon.
Mahalo,
Lydia & David

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 1, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

I just have to take a moment and comment on our wonderful visit to Hawaii. We were lucky enough to find Tish and Lance Fairley over the internet. We rented their oceanfront three bedroom home and despite almost constant rain during our week long stay, we had a wonderful holiday. The house was spotless and Tish provided anything we asked. She let us use their Kayak, boogie boards, & straw mats. She was full of wonderful advice about sight seeing and restaurants. We feel like we've made a new friend. I highly recommend this lovely home to anyone interested in a quiet, beautiful place to enjoy your trip to Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Lance and Tish went way beyond the call assisting
my family during our entire stay. They really wanted
to make sure my families' 1st trip to Oahu would be
special and memorable. The house is pristine &
immaculate! Nothing frayed or worn here. Lance
and Tish did direct us to the "Macadamia Nut
Factory Outlet" which is may be three miles away.
The name is deceiving, they have a $15.00 Movie &
T.V. Tour out back, that's not advertised. It's a total
"Blast!" Hawaiian's put on a awesome show with fire
dancing, & interactive audience participation! Worth
checking out, (don't wear fancy clothes)! Tish and
Lance's beach house is away from the touristy
Waikiki, and the hordes of people. My family could
not have experienced the REAL Hawaii, the way we
did had we stayed in a tired hotel or condo.... The
Aloha Bowl Swap Meet is the best place on the
island for souvenirs, collectibles, cheap pearls etc.
Also check out the Hawaiian singer Brother "Isreal"
he is 100% Hawaiian and appeals to

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 26, 2006   Date of arrival: February 26, 2006

The weather was great, the hike was wonderful. Best of all was your hospitality.
Thanks for everything. Mahalo.

Aloha, I had a really fun time. Wish to come back soon!! Best wishes to all of
you! Thank you. Loved it! From Shea

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review