reviews for: listing #79846 - Asheville, North Carolina Cottage rental

A Cottage at Willow Pond~17 acres~Hot Tub~Horses~Fireplace~
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Private 17 acre farm
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $195 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,365 /wk

sort by:

Lovely cottage

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 15, 2014

Everything was just lovely. Beautiful location with the pond and horses and privacy. Lovely cottage, very comfortable and very well stocked. Lovely hot tub that we used everyday. Nice king sized bed. The first morning I got up and sat outside in one of the chairs facing the pond and it was so nice. Met Terri and she was just lovely as well. Had friends over and sat in the porch area since our kids were playing inside. Hope to come back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome relaxation

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

My parents and I stayed there for 2 nights. My parents are very picky and critical, and they loved it there. Everything was clean and well prepared. It smelled fresh and clean right when we entered. It was just perfect. There even were fresh farm eggs in the fridge for us. I highly recommend it, and I definitely plan to come back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So beautiful!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for opening up your cottage to our family. It was so nice and relaxing. Our girls enjoyed all the farm animals as well as fishing in the pond. It was so nice being so close to town yet so quiet and serene when at the cottage. We felt as though we were at home with all the little extras that were provided. The fresh eggs were delicious by the way! Thank you again and I pray we'll be able to return soon!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cottage Review

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

We found the "Cottage" was a wonderful place to meet up with family and enjoy the area. The kitchen was one of the best stocked kitchens that I have come across in a VRBO place. Owners were very accomadating also.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Repeat performance!!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 23, 2014

Last year my husband and i stayed at this delightful home and this spring a friend and i stayed there again to celebrate our birthdays!... Truly, i felt like i was coming home when i walked in...there is beauty all around... if not the mountains, then the green pastures with beautiful horses grazing all day. This house is only 15 minutes from the Biltmore Estate and maybe 20 minutes from downtown Asheville. It is minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway and every other convenience we needed. This will be a 'go to' place for us whenever we find ourselves anywhere near Asheville. The home is perfect and the owners are wonderful... Book this place for a vacation... you will be happy you did!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Penny! You are a wonderful guest to have! We will always look forward to return visits.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Easter Weekend at the Cottage

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Our family (4 adults, 2 children) spent Easter weekend at the Cottage and had a wonderful time. The girls loved the horses, bunnies, chickens and especially the resident cat. Although we had a rainy start, the fireplace came to our rescue and provided a cozy, warm atmosphere at night. Once the weather cleared, we spent time in the gazebo and skipping rocks on the pond. The beds are great and the kitchen well supplied with everything we needed. We enjoyed the hot tub too! This is a great place to stay and we would come back again. Thank you to Terri & Clay for allowing us to enjoy their family's cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Very nice family, we enjoyed having you! You are welcome to come visit anytime.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

J C

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful time. We enjoyed your cottage very much. It was nice to be close to Asheville but able to enjoy the countryside .

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Snow

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

Thanks for the great week. My 11 year old saw snow for the first time and my 4 year old loved walking down the road to see the horses. We would recommend to others DuPont State Park, Chocolate Fetish, Biltmore, Hiking any of the trails on Blue Ridge Parkway.
We really enjoyed the fireplace daily and the hot tub.
Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing getaway

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Enjoyed being on the farm. Quiet location and cozy home. Hot tub was a huge bonus as we had cool nights. Home was exceptionally clean and beds were super comfy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect to relax

Review submitted: March 16, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

The cottage was perfect. Easy to find and comfortable. We wanted a place to relax but close enough to Asheville to do some shopping and have a nice lunch/dinner.
Definitely recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great location. Nice cabin

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We really enjoyed staying here for a weekend. It was close to Asheville and to Biltmore. We will stay here again when we can make it back and would recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Come back anytime. Glad you enjoyed Valentines weekend in our cottage.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

Thanks for the perfect getaway spot! Close enough to Asheville,NC yet far enough away, in a country setting. The farm fresh organic eggs were great, as were the selection of teas, coffee and condiments. Very clean, well-kept and cozy- with firewood to burn, too. Thanks for allowing us to stay at your comfy, cozy cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Happy to share and know you enjoyed! It is our hope that guest receive a true blessing here:-). Look forward to having you back again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Friends

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 2, 2014

Our friends and I had such a wonderful time in your house. It's beautiful, and the farm was such an added bonus! We couldn't have enjoyed our time here more, and I hope will be able to come again. Thanks again for your stellar hospitality!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year!

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

Back for our 3rd visit and never disappointed!! You always keep us coming back for more…
We had lots of R&R and lots of fun!
Loved all of the Chirstmas decorations, thanks for keeping them up for us!!
See you next year!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas Week

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Everything was perfect~you provided a wonderful environment!
Regards,

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lewisville, NC

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your peaceful cottage. Our son enjoyed saying "good morning" to the horses every morning. We appreciated how quiet the place is, and we enjoyed visiting all of the nearby sites. Thanks again for the farm fresh eggs-they were delicious!
Merry Christmas!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fl

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

Terri and Clay,
This is our second trip here to your beautiful cottage. It is such a peaceful relaxing get away for me and my family. My boys enjoy the barn and the horses. Thank you for sharing you home with us. We look forward to coming back soon. We hope you have a nice holiday and Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Privacy, peace, pets and proximity--this cottage has got it all

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our dog the first week of November. This cottage is pristine, like all the properties I have rented through VRBO. Pix give a good sense of the place for prospective visitors, and it is easy to find and private without being remote. The owners are friendly, helpful if needed. Their home is just within sight of the cottage, on top of a hill and behind the pasture, and it gave me a sense of security especially when we dropped the keys! The horses, Millicent the cat, the grey heron, the pond, the koi and the hills are all lovely. Beds are just super, and the cottage is charming and well appointed. The Arboretum is about 10 minutes away, and Biltmore about 20 minutes. Airport is probably 10 minutes, but we drove. We would definitely go back, and recommend this delightful property without reservations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Met my wife's approval...You know it is Great!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

I booked this hoping to surprise my wife and kids with a place that everyone would like. Somehow, I did it! My wife loved the seclusion, decor, and the hot tub. The kids loved the animals on the farm. Terri and Clay were great hosts and the only small hiccup we had with the cable TV that we let them know about they had repaired while we were out one day. I hate that they went to the amount of trouble it seems they went through.

This cottage is amazing. All the comforts of home and a bed that honestly sleeps better than my own. We didn't want to leave and look forward to the day that we get a chance to book a stay here again. Thanks for everything!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best of both worlds!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

We had an awesome time at Willow Pond! Very relaxing surroundings, yet close to all places we wanted to visit! Close to Arboretum, downtown Asheville, Biltmore, and Chimney Rock. We loved the Corner Kitchen in Biltmore Village for dinner-YUM! The cottage was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Just as described. We only wished it was warmer so we could use the hot tub. Next time!! We would definitely come back ASAP!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Cottage

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

First time in Asheville .... went down for a long weekend for wifes birthday. Cabin was incredibly clean and well equipped. Privacy was fantastic. This was really the perfect weekend for wife and I. Had a great time and will come back again soon.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

A truly pleasant experience !

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great Home Base for Vacationers & Sightseers

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay.The cottage is close to the Asheville airport, yet the location offers relaxation and privacy when you want it. The cottage is nice and cozy, had everything you might need during your stay; and is close enough to great sightseeing, a grocery store, and restaurants. We loved seeing the barn, pond, creek, and horses each day. We visited the Biltmore Estate gift shop (love that place), the Blue Ridge Parkway, the Farmer's Market, and did some shopping in Asheville. We even took a day and drove to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge! I think we brought some of the FL weather with us, but we did have a small fire in the fireplace the last night! It is not every day that someone comes down the hill on a tractor and brings you fresh baked muffins! Thank you cousin Terri and Clay for making us feel welcome. I am glad you share the cottage and scenery with others. I have many great memories of visiting the farm when I was growing up. We will have to come back and bring the grandkids when the lightening bugs are out! They would love Sliding Rock and Cherokee.
Much love, Vicki and Randy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Fall Vacation

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

What a wonderful stay!!! The house was exactly like the owners describe it. The house was clean, the beds were big and comfy. We had a wonderful breakfast with the organic eggs. We enjoyed the horses, chickens, rabbits and cat. We relaxed by the pond during the day and enjoyed a nice warm fire at night. We will definitely re-book next October. Thanks again for a terrific stay.
Dee
South Georgia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

October 2013 Visit

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

The pictures on the website just did not do this property justice! The accommodations and cleanliness of the guest house far exceeded our expectations! We had a wonderful experience! Very serene and quiet and the location was VERY convenient to restaurants, interstate, etc. Finally, we can't say enough good things about the owners and how they referred us to an auto repair shop when we experienced unforeseen car trouble. We would definitely like to stay again sometime and we will be telling friends and family!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Feel Like You're At Home Cottage

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

The Cottage was even more comfortable and inviting than the listing ! All rooms were spotless and the surrounding property and pastures were extremely well maintained. It was also very surprising to find out how close the restaurants and downtown Asheville were. We had privacy and no sounds from highways or neighbors. Blue Ridge Parkway is minutes away. We found this rental to be the perfect place to just relax, do some sight seeing and go downtown for some great food & locally brewed beers & ales. We would, and will, go back and highly recommend that you go for your own visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Try it you will love it

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

The cottage was spotless, and the nice little things that the owners added made it just that more enjoyable. We arrived to a basket of farm fresh organic eggs! The trails around the property were an enjoyable walk as well. Beautiful setting and a wonderful place to stay. I highly recommend this property. It's close enough to modern amenities yet feels like it's a world away from the crush of those amenities. Loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sharing

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Terri and Clay,
Thank you for sharing your sweet cottage with us. We really enjoyed sitting in the hammock and watching the horses! The house was spotless and the beds were so comfortable! We hope to return sometime soon.
Love,

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Cottage & Location

Review submitted: October 8, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed your cottage & it's location. Everything was clean, nicely kept, and accommodating. We look forward to visiting you again in the future! Thanks again, Brent and Debbie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Long Vacation Weekend

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

Thank you for this beautiful cottage experience.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

This was awesome! Thank you for sharing this beautiful cottage. The weekend was awesome!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

KC

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

WOW!!!! We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs, hotels, cabins etc. We were expecting nice but this totally went far and beyond! It was an amazing weekend trip with family, the fishing was fun, the horses & views were beautiful, hot tub was wonderful after a long day of walking. The cottage was so clean and the set up was great. We will be back! Thank you for sharing your beautiful Cottage with us!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Lovely Holiday

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

We spent 3 idyllic weeks at Teri's farm in August and thoroughly enjoyed it ( as did our dog ) who eventually became friendly with the horses. Teri and her family went out of their way to ensure we had a perfect holiday , on every level it was delightful not to mention the convenience of the property to Asheville, Arden and Dupont Park...And oh yes the one level cottage made it possible for my elderly mother to visit as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This is a beautiful place to stay. It very peaceful and relaxing. You feel at home immediately. It's very comfortable and quite. Wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the horses more. Not far from downtown Asheville. It easy to find and easy to get around. Thanks for the stay.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for the wonderful stay.

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Loved being so close to everything, while still very private home. Enjoyed watching the horses from the hot tub after a day of kayaking then a day of horseback riding.
Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for everything !

Review submitted: September 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

The house was wonderful and the kids had fun boating in the pond and playing with the animals. We loved being on the farm and being able to access everything from the house. Our trip was wonderful. We hope to return next year. Thanks for being amazing hosts!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

NC Mountain retreat

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

The Cottage at Willow Pond was peaceful, quiet, clean and a great home away from home. It was so much nicer than staying at a B & B or a hotel for those who want to have the feeling of a home. Clean hot tub, great towels and sheets. Just a wonderful retreat with many homey touches. After sightseeing all day, it was so pleasurable to return to the quiet of The Cottage. Will go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Well Done

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

The cottage was a perfect getaway spot. Hot tub was enjoyed. Kitchen was well supplied. I would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Experience at Willow Pond!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the cottage. The property was just as described! It was clean and welcoming! The location was perfect! It was a perfect peaceful getaway! Our daughters enjoyed the animals. The cat was actually the favorite! Fishing in the pond was a great way to finish off our days. I would definately recommend this cottage to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing ...in every way!!..

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

The Cottage at Willow Pond was exactly as described. this place is restful and peaceful and clean and has everything you could ever need ... it is updated and being a history buff i loved the wonderful history of this property and the cottage we stayed in.. The first thing we did in the morning was to go outside and just stand and look at the beauty... green pastures , beautiful nature and then the horse added the best part.. they are funny to watch. What a joy it was to stay there.. Our only disappointment was that we should have stayed longer our 5 nights and 4 days went flying by to fast...the sights to see..i.e. The Biltmore, Asheville, Black Mountain were all beautiful too ,but it was this cozy, little cottage that kept drawing us back each evening ... Would we make a return trip?? You betcha we would ...I am checking my calendar now!!!...

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

great location

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

My sister and I came for a getaway to the Biltmore. This location was fantastic. About 8 minutes to the airport. Very quiet in the country but close to main roads. Lots of eating choices nearby. Could have cooked with the fully stocked kitchen but hey we were on vacation! Super clean and so tastefully decorated. Owner was helpful when we weren't sure where to go for a free day of sightseeing. Only complaint ~ could have used some hangers in the closets! Minor stuff in an otherwise great vrbo property.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great trip! Thank you for the tip.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Excellent

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We loved it, everything about it, we hope to go again someday. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charlotte

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

We thank you so very much for allowing us our much needed one night getaway at your precious home! It's so comfortable & cozy! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the location really is ideal!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

44th Anniversary

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

Terri,
It was so nice to meet you and we had a wonderful time at your cottage. The horses were great and I enjoyed feeding them the apples. After that they come over whenever I whistled. A very pleasant vacation for our 44 anniversary.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Raleigh

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

Had a great time and LOVED the cottage-beautiful! Eggs were a great treat and we loved seeing the horses. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Thank you for sharing your warm and inviting cottage with us! It has been the most perfect place for us to enjoy our anniversary weekend getaway. We look forward to visiting again!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful cottage with us. We enjoyed our time and the horses! Morgan, Isaac and Maddox loved the baby bunnies.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy Holidays

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

Clay and Terri,
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in your cottage. My parents, my husband and I all enjoyed the beautiful scenery here in Asheville and all the views from your property. My mom realized a dream to see the Biltmore Estate and we are grateful for the opportunity to stay on your family estate. It was a great start to our holiday season.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Clay & Terri,
Thank you so much for opening your home to us, we all needed a vacation and Willow Pond was just what we needed. The house, property and beautiful horses made our stay just perfect. Our daughter especially loved the rabbits. We hope to be able to come back again soon and stay even longer. This is truly a home away from home. The hot tub was also an excellent addition. Thanks again for everything.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superb beer

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 10, 2013

The weather cleared up and warmed up enough to wonder around and meet the cat, bunnies, and a few horses. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and our jaunts into town for all the great food and superb beer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our dogs loved it

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

What a wonderful, relaxing stay for all of us. The cottage was so comfortable and the scenery just beautiful. Our dogs loved it too!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Belated Valentines

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: February 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage this weekend! We came as a belated valentines weekend. It was peaceful and relaxing---a great escape from our busy lives. We hope to come back again soon. Maybe we can stay longer next time.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Busy Lives

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Thank you so much for having us at your cottage. It was a very relaxing getaway from our busy lives and we look forward to the next visit. Hopefully next time will be for longer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

Dear Terri,
We had a WONDERFUL time at your Willow Pond Cottage! We loved the accommodations as well as the view. It is evident that you all take such pride in your property. It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope we will be able to come back again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easter Eggs

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

Dear Terri and Clay,
Our stay at your cottage was really nice! I thought your cottage was a house with everything! Thank you for letting us stay at your cottage and I hope we will be able to come back! What I liked most is getting in the hot tub and taking pictures of the bunnies and horses!! For Easter your fresh eggs were perfect and your yard was good for hiding them.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Another week in Paradise

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

This was our second visit to the Cottage at Willow Pond. We so love it there. Terri and Clay are great hosts, the cottage is clean and neat, the beds are comfy, and the fire place is wonderful. The setting at the horse farm is idyllic, truly a great country get away but very convenient to the Asheville city life as well. We highly recommend the Cottage at Willow Pond.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Enjoyable Country Cottage Near the City

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our 4 days at the cottage. It's located in the middle of a horse farm, with horses in front, a fishing pond on the side, and walking trails around the edges. We were introduced to the cottage with a basket of fresh, organic eggs; the best I've ever eaten. The cottage is clean, the furniture comfortable and of high quality, and we had all the essential modern conveniences of home. The owner Teri, who gives riding lessons on the farm, is friendly and available. While we felt like we were totally in the country, we were pleasantly surprised to discover that it was only a 5 minute drive to Biltmore Park, a new upscale shopping and condo development. If you want a country experience, with the necessary creature comforts of home and easy access to the highway and things to do, I'd recommend you stay at the Willow Pond cottage.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great place!

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

My family had a wonderful stay at this cottage, which was in a great location and was clean and well-maintained. It was fun for the kids to visit with the horses and rabbits. We also enjoyed lounging in the hot tub! The owner was very accommodating. We liked this cute place a lot and we'll come back again if we're in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GREAT GET AWAY

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We absolutely loved this place! It was very peaceful, had a wonderful view, and the owners went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. My only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!!!

It was very clean , and was equipped with all the amenities that were listed.

The owners did provide very good customer service.

I would recommend this property to 55+, families with children , and also families with pets.

Hope to be back someday

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Staycation

Review submitted: February 24, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We live in the Asheville area, but wanted a "staycation" getaway for me, my husband and son, and our dog. Cottage at Willow Pond was perfect for us. The cottage was very clean and comfortable, and the scenery was beautiful. Amazing horses and we loved hiking the horse trails. The hot tub was a perfect ending to perfect days. We would definitely recommend this property to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Second visit

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

Back for our second visit and it was even better than the first time! Thank you for paying attention to every little detail! As I said before, great location, beautiful property and friendly neighbors!
Happy New Year!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year!

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your hospitality! What a wonderfully charming cottage! We enjoyed every minute! The new camera from Christmas was in full use with the beautiful scenery. Will email you pictures. We hope to be back this year. Have a wonderful 2013!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas in the Mountains

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Your cottage at Willow Pond was a beautiful and restful place for my parents and I to celebrate the Christmas holidays. Thank you very much for your warm hospitality in what I understand was a bit of a cold spell for these parts. Watching and nuzzling with the horses was pure delight! It was a pleasure to share in the serenity you have created here. We depart under blue sky and crisp mountain air.
Best wishes in the New Year!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Visiting Ashville for Christmas

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

What a wonderful relaxing time we had! It contrasted perfectly against the hustle and bustle of visiting the Biltmore for Christmas... and getting back and totally relaxing in a quaint environment. We loved it! Would hightly recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for the goodies! Come visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Paradise, Just in Time!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

We had searched for weeks for a place to stay this fall that was close to Asheville that met our needs and we were so lucky to have found this piece of paradise. It was almost magical, nestled in a 16 acre horse farm was this serene getaway that simply melted away the miles and stress that we brought with us. Super close to Asheville, perfectly accommodated with 2 beds, 2 baths, Internet, cable, and more. This house is beautiful and updated with plumbing, floors, heating/air, and the bedrooms are beautiful too with excellent bedding, and don't forget the wonderful hot tub, the property is simply gorgeous, and the horses are so friendly and tame. We took our 2 year old and she was just amazed at everything. We would come back to this place again and again, thank you so much for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed your family and look forward to watching Bailee grow. Please come back and visit again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Amazingly peaceful get away

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

What an amazing get away this was. We enjoyed this cottage so much. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed.Its location was very close to everything we wanted to visit. The owners were very nice and helpful with anything we needed.I would highly recommend this place to all my friends. The privacy was perfect. We really look forward to visiting again.

Liz

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Liz, We think you should make this your Thanksgiving tradition!
Happy you all had a great time. We hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Happy traveler

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights with our dear friends and dog at the cottage. The cottage was perfect for a peaceful get-away at a working horse farm. Every afternoon we watched young girls on horses trot pass our window. It was a splendid fall vacation. The leaves were near peak, sun shined everyday and the evenings were crisp. The quiet of the night under the stars reminded me of the innocence of childhood.
Every morning we drove to a nearby area to explore. The cottage is a short drive to Asheville, Weaversville, and scenic mountain drives. We especially enjoyed the Western North Carolina Farmer's Market.
The cottage was clean and had every amenity we needed. I am in a wheelchair and found its accessibility met my needs.
We are already talking about returning next fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Sweet Spot at the Willow Pond Cottage

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2012

The cottage at Willow Pond Farm is clean, charming,and if your a horse and outdoor lover quite a sweet spot. The owner is very nice, considerate , and easy to talk too.Thank you for a lovely stay and sharing of your property.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: So fun to have fellow horsewomen here for a visit. Welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pleased visitors

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful and peaceful week at the cottage. Location was excellent for exploring the nearby areas. I am in a wheelchair and found the accessibility of the cottage met my needs. I looked forward to watching the young equistrians ride by every afternoon. We will definitely return for another restful get-away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mary, We were so pleased to have you all here. I wish I could have heard you play your music. Loved seeing you nap in the hammock!
Hope you all can return soon!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Seeker

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

It was my families first mission trip together. My husband, our 7 year old daughter and myself and we were told that we would be staying with local families during reviveasheville. Much to our surprise and our daughters delight we were blessed with a week stay on this amazing property and surrounded by horses. While we left the property while it was still dark and arrived back home when it was dark again we did venture out with flashlights and experience "night life" around the pond. HUGE frogs plopping into the water and scaring us to death and laughing with my family as we realized we all nearly met our maker because of a couple of bullfrogs. Ms Terri came and took time out of her schedule and took our daughter on her first ever trail ride and allowed her to brush and help saddle up. An amazing property, an amazing owner and a community you just have to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Seeker

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

It was my families first mission trip together. My husband, our 7 year old daughter and myself and we were told that we would be staying with local families during reviveasheville. Much to our surprise and our daughters delight we were blessed with a week stay on this amazing property and surrounded by horses. While we left the property while it was still dark and arrived back home when it was dark again we did venture out with flashlights and experience "night life" around the pond. HUGE frogs plopping into the water and scaring us to death and laughing with my family as we realized we all nearly met our maker because of a couple of bullfrogs. Ms Terri came and took time out of her schedule and took our daughter on her first ever trail ride and allowed her to brush and help saddle up. An amazing property, an amazing owner and a community you just have to visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Blessed

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

It was my families first mission trip together. My husband, our 7 year old daughter and myself and we were told that we would be staying with local families during reviveasheville. Much to our surprise and our daughters delight we were blessed with a week stay on this amazing property and surrounded by horses. While we left the property while it was still dark and arrived back home when it was dark again we did venture out with flashlights and experience "night life" around the pond. HUGE frogs plopping into the water and scaring us to death and laughing with my family as we realized we all nearly met our maker because of a couple of bullfrogs. Ms Terri came and took time out of her schedule and took our daughter on her first ever trail ride and allowed her to brush and help saddle up. An amazing property, an amazing owner and a community you just have to visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

This place was wonderful. It had a hot tub, fireplace and hammock which we all enjoyed. I love being surrounded by horse fields as it really took me back to my younger years when I used to work on a farm. It was in the perfect location...close to downtown Asheville but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The beds were also super comfy ... definitely a plus. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Owners response: Pleasant memories are a must here :-)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very clean, pet-friendly, cozy cottage, conveniently located

Review submitted: October 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

I found the property's description to be accurately portrayed in the information on VRBO. It was a very convenient location, with the grocery store, restaurants, and other shopping just a few minutes away. The thing I found most surprising - the excellent quality of the bed linens and towels. The towels were big, "thirsty," and luxurious!! I just wasn't expecting that to be the case at a rental. Another surprising item - the owners provided starter paper products (paper towels and toilet paper.) I've been to several rentals that did not supply any at all. The place was very clean. It was obvious that the owners take good care of the property.

Two things that were a tiny bit disappointing - first, the king bedroom is very cramped as the bed takes up almost all of the room. Second, we found the king bed to be too soft for us. But, that is totally a personal preference on our part.

The horses are a lot closer than we thought they would be. The pasture is just steps outside the door. It was really nice to be able to look out the kitchen window and see the horses grazing. I also enjoyed sitting out on the sunporch and watching the horses.

We did not interact with the owners at all. But, based upon the previous reviews, I feel certain that any interaction would have been positive.

I would most definitely recommend this rental to others.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Cottage in a Great Location!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I stayed at A Cottage at Willow Pond last week and really enjoyed our time there! The cottage was very relaxing, clean, and comfortable. Our only regret was not staying longer! We enjoyed the hot tub and the horses! It really was a peaceful place to stay. The location was great with easy access to everywhere we wanted to go. Thank you for sharing your cottage with us!

Owners response: You are very welcome! Please make plans to return for a longer stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A vacation for all in the family

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

We were desperate to get out of the Lowcountry heat and humidity. We found this rental to be an outstanding choice. Two adults and dogs were rejuvinated by our stay. Walking the dogs on the nearby trails was refreshing. They ran like crazy after being slugs all summer. We adults were pleased to be out walking and enjoying the outdoors. The location is a sweet spot of tranquility in the bustling Asheville area. We had easy access to stores, restaurants and sightseeing and were in and out of the location several times a day. We enjoyed being in the SW quadrant of Asheville area. The cottage is a cozy one. We will look to reserve again for another trip.
We found the rental to be clean and well maintained. The rental listing description was accurate regarding location, configuration and amenities. We enjoyed meeting the owners and their horses. It reminded us of a northern WI cottage. But instead of being on the edge of a lake, we were on the outer rim of rolling horse pastures--not too close. Just right.

Owners response: Glad you were happy! Hope you come back.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We had a great stay at the Cottage at Willow Pond. Very quiet, very clean and very private.

We arrived late at night but the provided directions and great signage at the property made finding the cottage super easy.

The cottage was very clean. The only other houses are across the horse pasture - so it feels very private. It is very quiet - no road noise, no neighbor noise, etc.

Our two year old loved the horses. We went across the driveway each morning and evening to see the them.

Met or exceeded all of our expectations and we would highly recommend this cottage to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Quaint home in tranquil setting

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Willow Pond! The cottage was clean and quaint and perfect for our family of four. The setting was absolutely gorgeous with plush green grass, a pond, and horses nearby. All of the amenities of home were included. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So happy you enjoyed! Hope you visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Pleasent mountain getaway

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

I don't understand why this lovely home is so far down on this web site!
What a great mountain get away that's in the heart of the Asheville area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Cottage at Willow Pond. We have never bookedd on the internet before and were so happy with the result. The cottage is very clean, well equipped and just as nice as the pictures portray it. We enjoyed all the amenities, the lovely fireplace on cool nights, the horses grazying outside our front door,yet just a few minutes from shopping,sights, and local attactions. Terri and Cay were wonderfull hosts and made us fell so welcome. We hightly recommend this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you come back again soon!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pleasant mountain getaway - close to everything

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

What a great mountain get away that's in the heart of the Asheville area! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Cottage at Willow Pond. We have never booked a cottage on the internet before and were so happy with the result. The cottage is clean, well equipped and just as nice as the pictures portray it. We enjoyed all of the amenities, the lovely fireplace on cool nights, the horses grazing outside our front door, and yet just a few minutes from shopping, sights, and local attactions. Terri and Clay were wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome. We highly recommend this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great family vacation getaway!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time on this secluded, yet close to tons of things to do cottage. My husband loves the outdoors, so he was so happy to walk the farm with our chocolate lab day and night and when I wanted to go shopping, go to the movies or get a great meal. we were five minutes away from Biltmore Park...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We enjoyed having your family at our cottage. So happy to introduce Hank to our horses. Hope you return soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Birthday weekend

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

This property was both as described and in a great setting. The fireplace wood was stacked at the door, there were sufficient paper products for our stay and the horses in the pasture were entertaining to watch. I would stay here again if I go back to Asheville, there were several good restaurants just a short drive away.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Sherry

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We just returned from a week at the Cottage at Willow Pond. It was all we had hoped for and more. Everything was immaculate,and just as listed. Our group included four adults, one toddler, and two dogs. It was perfect for all of us.
We especially enjoyed the NC Arboretum and the NC Farmer's market--also the Trolley Tour of Asheville.
I've only been home a few days, and I miss the cottage and it's peaceful atmosphere already.

Will definitely return again. Many thanks to the Vicks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Sherry,

We are so glad you you enjoyed your stay.It was a pleasure having you stay at our cottage. We look forward to you staying again in the near future!

Clay & Terri Vick

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

My husband and son and I rented the cottage over the 4th of July weekend. It was exactly like it was described and was ulta-clean and welcoming. The owners came by to introduce themselves but gave us our privacy. Property was lovely, it was relaxing to sit on front porch or lie in the hammock and watch the horses in the adjoining fields. Hot tub was great after a day of hiking on the Blue Ridge Parkway. I would definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

I did alot of research before I selected home owned by Terri and Clay. Yes, there were "fancier" houses in a similar price range but I kept coming back to this one and I sure am glad I did!! This quaint two bedroom home had all the room we needed for 4 adults and 2 kids. The boys (ages 5 and 7) immediatley ran down to the fishing pond when we arrived. They were delighted to see the horses in the field next door and were even more happy when they could get up close to them. The adults enjoyed the hot tub, the hammock and the peace and quiet. All of this and only a short drive to Asheville! Terri went "above and beyond" when she was able to arrange horseback riding on very short notice for the kids. What a joy it was to see their smiling faces. I can't think of anything that would have improved our visit. We were meeting with family members from Texas who were staying at the Grove Park Inn and they were very impresses with the idealic location, the beauty and the serenity of the home. Thanks very much to Terri and Clay. We had a wonderful time and hope to return again. PS. Terri, Pictures will be coming soon of the kids and their horse friend, Red.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Vacation....One Of Our Best

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

If your looking for a great vacation home for your visit to the mountains, this cottage would be a great choice. The owners are very friendly, the cottage is very clean with tasteful furnishings and decorations, and the horses and pond are an added bonus. Our 6 year old daughter couldn't wait to get back from a busy day to go fishing in the pond. It was truly a great experience for her. We brought our own rod and supplies but there was a tackle box there to use. We loved seeing where the horses would be each day in the pasture. It was great to look out and see them grazing any time of the day. The hot tub was great for relaxing after a busy day of hiking and sightseeing. The cottage in is a great location also. You feel like your out in the country but there is shopping just a short drive up the road. We did many day trips that included the Biltmore House, the N.C. Arboretum, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Downtown Asheville, Cataloochee, and Chimney Rock. We also went to Tennessee and visited Cades Cove, Dollywood, Gatlinburg, and Roaring Fork. We love adventure and don’t mind driving an hour or two to see amazing things such as waterfalls, elk, and other wildlife on walking trails and from the car in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. It was great to come back to the peacefulness of the cottage after a long day of adventure. You will not be disappointed. Thanks again, Terri and Clay, for sharing your cottage with us. We would love to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We REALLY enjoyed having you at our cottage. Thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Warmest Regards,
Terri and Clay

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great getaway

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

This is a fantastic cottage on the outskirts of Asheville. The property is clean, quiet, quaint and offers a lovely view of horses and nature. This two bedroom property is suitable for couples, families, and friends traveling together. Everything that we used was in working order. While this is advertised as a handicapped accesssible cabin it should be noted that a little bit of mobility is required. The bathroom is good size and the shower has bars (although it is not a roll in), but the toilet does not have handicapped bars. The property is close to all the major attractions of Asheville (Biltmore, Blue Ridge Highway, even the Smokies are only an hour away). There are good restaurants and a grocery store within a 10 minute drive. The property has wi-fi with good signal strength. The hot tub is outside and overlooks the backyard and was quite comfortable after a day of hiking. Do beware of the wasps in the backyard (although, it's spring, so I would not say that they are a problem, just present). We were very comfortable in this property.
I loved this property and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful and Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

Peaceful and Relaxing Retreat. We loved being able to sit in the rockers on the porch and watch the horses graze in the pastures. The cottage is super cozy and well maintained. Willow Pond gives you the feeling of being out in the country but is super convenient to restaurants, shopping and everything that beautiful Western NC has to offer. Will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A wonderful mountain getaway!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

I would recommend this to anyone looking to getaway from the busy life! What a wonderful stay we had. We will be back! You can look right out the windows and see horses running, hear the frogs in the pond close by, and relax in the hot tub under the stars. Beautifully decorated and clean. We felt right at home! Close to the interstate and great restaurants, but you would never know it when you are at the cottage. I would highly recommend!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Fabulous Mountain Getaway on the Farm!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

I would recommend this to anyone looking to getaway from the busy life! What a wonderful stay we had. We will be back! You can look right out the windows and see horses running, hear the frogs in the pond close by, and relax in the hot tub under the stars. Beautifully decorated and clean. We felt right at home! Close to the interstate and great restaurants, but you would never know it when you are at the cottage. I would highly recommend!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

We love this place!

Review submitted: February 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2011

We absolutely loved our time spent in this adorable cottage. It was such a welcomed getaway. Very peaceful and beautiful setting. We loved getting up in the morning and seeing the horses out in the pasture. Everything was even more than we expected. The Vick's were very sweet and made us feel right at home. They had thought of everything from books to games to help us slow down and relax. We loved that it felt 'way out' in the country but in a matter of minutes we were in a cute little shopping area called Biltmore Park with great restaurants, shops and movie theater. We have told all our friends and family they have got to plan a trip to Willow Pond. We cannot wait to visit again. One of our favorite vacations so far.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Winter Vacation for some snow & the Biltmore

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

We wanted some quiet time in the country, to visit the Biltmore while decorated for the holidays and hoping that there would be snow and snow tubing available. We got to have it all while we were there!
The horses were a wonderful sight to see on a daily basis along with the quaint farm surroundings that felt so right. It made for a very peaceful and tranquil stay, that was priceless.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Fall Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

We have been coming to NC for many years in October from Florida. Staying at Willow Pond for two weeks was our best vacation to date...
The whole property is beautiful, and the owners are wonderful people. The property is close to everything you would want to do in the Asheville area, yet very private and secluded. Shopping, dining, and movie theatre are conveniently 5 minutes away at the Bilmore Park Town Square. The new Ingles is just unbelievable as a grocery store. Lake Julian Park is a short drive, as is the NC Arboretum, WNC Farmers market, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We will definitely return to the Cottage at Willo Pond for future vacations. Thank you, Terri and Clay, for sharing your beautiful property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay at our vacation rental! We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation and that we could make it wonderful experience for you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Best Wishes !

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

First time visitor

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2010

The property was exactly as advertised. Beautiful horse farm, great views of pastures with grazing horses, quiet, private and well appointed. Everything was provided, comfortably and completely furnished, rockers, hammock and a wonderful hot tub. All that, and just 20 minutes away from Biltmore and Asheville. Don't miss the NC Arboretum just 10 minutes away. A perfect get-away, and a definite do-again. And the owners were wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful weekend!

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The grounds could not be more stunning. My kids enjoyed fishing in the pond, visiting the barn, and watching the horses. The house was beautiful and had everything we needed! We were downtown within 15 minutes, but felt like we were in the middle of country-living. I highly recommend this cottage to anyone visiting the Asheville area! We will be back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 30, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

We had a short window for a few days of vacation this fall and decided on the asheville area.Together with my brother and sister in law we spent the time at your cabin. It was a delightful and very peaceful experience. the setting is beautiful and the ambience of the farm and the cabin is restful. We enjoyed the comfortable accomodations. Everything was provided. We give the total experrience an A+. The location is perfect for going anywhere in the region.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 14, 2009   Date of arrival: December 14, 2009

I wanted to take my husband to a romantic get-away that was close to home. I did not want to worry about doing much packing and scheduling dog sitters. We chose Willow Pond because of its convenience to home and for its quiet beauty surrounded by the pasture and animals. Every thing about it was perfect for us. No hassle, no stress. The accommodations were excellent. Everything ws spotless. We enjoyed the relaxation of the hot tub and then curling up by the fire for a movie. My husband loved his birthday surprise and it was over too soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: November 24, 2009   Date of arrival: November 24, 2009

This is a very charming and cozy cottage that is just a short drive to the Biltmore Estate. We love the idea of being close to everything in town but also having the benefits of being secluded in the country. This place was perfect!! If you love the gracefulness of horses than you can watch them romp, run and play across the pastures right out front. Our children, 11 and 6, are ready to give up the city life of Charlotte after just a few short days at the Cottage of Willow Pond.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

It is a charming place to stay. We could not have asked for a more perfect place. Thank-you!
Joye, Joey , Ruby & Rusty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 29, 2009

The cottage was extremely comfortable, tastefully decorated, and well appointed. Comfortable furnishings, a relaxing hot tub, and a wonderful setting amid the horse pastures. We'll definitely reserve this cottage again on our next visit to Asheville.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review