reviews for: listing #79854 - Montezuma, Costa Rica Villa rental

LUNATICA*lounge...let us take your breath away!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Horizontes Montezuma
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $1,200 /nt

sort by:

SUPERB

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Superb house in a superb setting. Lunaticalounge is elegant and chill at the same time. Gorgeous inside and out. We've rented villas all over the world and can say definitively that this lovely spot ranks among the highest. Not to mention the superb infinity pool. If you're heading for Nicoya - this is THE place to go. It's close to Montezuma's funky center but when you cross the ravine and head up the hill, you feel a million miles away. Lovely cove beaches lure you down to the water, but the house pulls you back up. PERFECT vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Unmatched experience !

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We are experienced Costa Rican travelers and have been to Montezuma probably a half dozen times over the years. We love the funky town, great restaurants and amazing beaches. Upon arriving to Luna Tica Lounge, our group was so amazed with the property, setting and views that we actually decided to trim back our plans and just spend as much time as could at the villa. The property has so many design details and clever touches that you'd think you entered the featured property at an architectural expo. At the same time, the breezes, views and privacy were so impressive and everyone in our commented that the place made our Montezuma experience the best yet. Highly recommendable rental!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Our stay at Lunatica Lounge for a week in May was paradise. The location of the house is private and the view is amazing. The house has movable glass doors which allow you to feel like you are bringing the outside inside. We loved all the different showers, we tried a different one each day. I love to cook, the kitchen allowed me to prepare and serve great meals, wait to you see the house at night. The lights in the house are whimsical and the pool light change colors. We saw lots of wildlife on the property- howler and whiteface monkeys, iguanas, many birds and butterflies, We enjoyed the town of montezuma, We had a great dinner on the beach one night. Make sure to hike to the waterfalls and go swimming on montezuma beach. Since we had rented a SUV we also explored some of the other towns nearby. The staff, including Billy and Lisavette were very helpful. This is the second property that we rented from Ralf, the owner. He was great to work with. We would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2013

My husband and I just spent a week at Lunatica Lounge to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. I really can't say enough good things about this house. It is just as beautiful and amazing as the pictures and the views are even better. The location was great and the service was equally wonderful. We were greeted by a concierge to show us to the house and do a full walk through. In addition, they helped my husband in the planning process (the trip was a surprise to me). They made some fabulous recommendations to include dinner being prepared for us at the house (some of the best food I've ever had) and massages one morning. They also gave us the "lay of the land" and gave us restaurant and excursion tips. It was an amazing experience and would recommend this house to anyone. We are already planning a trip back with a group of friends!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A magical experience!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week at Luniteca Lounge. My only regret is we didnt take a second week! The house is at least as beautiful as the photos; very dramatic and magical. You feel like you are vacationing on a movie set! More importantly, it was also fully equipped for family living and impeccably clean. The staff was lovely; helpful and incredibly pleasant. You got the sense they were personally invested in making your experience the best. We took full advantage of Lisavette's concierge services- she helped with everything from massage therapist to yoga teacher to private cook, etc. A word on access. The road up to the house is rough. Definitely get an suv. We rented ATVs for the week too, which were fun and useful. Montezuma is a cool and funky town, with lovely beaches. Do the waterfall hikes for sure. Definitely eat at the restaurants they recommend in the guest book. All were great! Also take a ride to the beach at Santa Teresa; the town is not charming like Montezuma but the surf is extraordinary. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

More Amazing Than The Pictures

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Travel for me these days means renting beautiful houses around the world. I do this a few times a year and, by far, Lunatica Lounge is the most beautiful that I have come across. The pictures reflect the stunning architecture but it doesn't show how at peace the grounds and the surrounding area will make you feel. It doesn't show the wide variety of wild life that you might catch a glimpse of as you sit and look out at the rain forest.

I highly recommend having Chef James prepare his amazing gourmet meals. The managers, Lisavette and Billy were more than helpful in making sure that we completely enjoyed our stay. This was the perfect vacation!

The only way I was able to come to grips with leaving this wonderful place was to plan a return visit as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great house in an ecellent location

Review submitted: February 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Just a short note to let you know how much we loved our vacation at Lunatica Lounge. The house is magnificent, actually better than the pictures we saw, and the place is great for a fun vacation. We all want to thank you for sharing it with us. We loved the setting, the views, the town on Montezuma. Your concierge was most helpful with all of our requests. We hope to come back some time in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

LUNATICAlounge is an amazing vacation rental. Set in beautiful Costa Rica, with the jungle all around. Monkeys visiting at 4:00 pm every day. Iguanas walking around all over. Sunrises that won't allow anyone to "wake up on the wrong side of bed". Add the beautiful bird sounds and espresso to those sunrises for the ingredients of a wonderful day. The house, the pool, and the jungle setting is absolutely lovely and rejuvenating. It's in a great location for exploring as well. You're 5 minutes from the Butterfly Gardens, where some waterfalls are. You're only 10 minutes from Montezuma and 30 minutes from Mal Pais and Santa Theresa. We had a wonderful time, thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!!!

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

We just returned froma 1 week vacation at " Lunatica Lounge" in Montezuma , Costa Rica. I can't say enough great things about this house.The views, architecture , pool and the setting all exceeded our expectations. This truly is a great house in a great place. Everything was exactly as stated in the information about the house. I would highly reccommend renting this home .Thank you so much for building and renting out this architectural gem!!!!!! MFC Philadelphia, PA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

escape to paradise

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

my new bride and i decided to get married at this home and spend our honeymoon there...it was AWESOME! very romantic with gorgeous views and an architectural triumph! we highly recommend this home for a anyone who wants a relaxing, secluded getaway with a touch of adventure.
i wish i could give you all of the details, but just trust the owner and the house staff; you won't be sorry.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Lunatica was truly one of the most memorable and enjoyable properties at which we have ever stayed. We travel extensively throughout Latin America and have been to Costa Rica (staying at different houses) eight times but nothing compares to Lunatica. Ralf and Nina thought of everything - comfort abounds, aesthetically the house and grounds are spectacular (the views amazing) and the privacy is unparalleled. The staff was friendly, efficient and not obtrusive. The house is meticulously maintained. Perhaps one of the nicest features was how incredibly helpful the owners were in preparing us for the trip as well as when we were on-site. We are already anticipating our next visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Montezuma Mirage

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

It must be a mirage, it can't possibly be this wonderful! From booking the property to assistance at arrival working with the owners was a joy. The drive to the property is an adventure but it is all worth it once you get onto the property, drive between rows of palms, round a corner, and see your private modern masterpiece beckoning. Wow. And that's just the first glance! The living areas are beautiful and grand, the kitchen so much fun to use, the bedrooms over the top fun and glamorous, the master suite unbelievable, and the pool, oh, the pool, connecting it all and offering unbelievable views of the jungle and ocean below. Wow. What can be said? Waking in bed to either a wall of glass or, for the more daring, slide the glass away to be fully open to step into the pool and the view of the sunrise. We understand that the area offers some of the best beaches, surfing, hiking, tours, and adventure in a country known for all of the above but...We were here for one week and it took five days to get us to leave this amazing home for any reason other than more food and wine!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

My vacation at the Casa de Lunaticas in Montazuma was the most memorable vacation I have ever had the opportunity to enjoy. The house is stunning and majestic, straight out of a design magazine. Although it's size would come across as intimidating, my partner and I had no problem taking advantage of the whole space and every sureal view it has to offer. I loved making dinner in the open living room/ kitchen and seeing my partner laying on the patio soaking up a one hundred and eighty degree view of the ocean, or take a sunrise dip while preparing coffee in the morning. This place is breathtaking! We also think quite often of the sweet support staff that made our trip so special. We could never thank you enough for the experience of a lifetime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

Dear Ralf,

My family and I would like to thank you and your staff for making our stay at your Montezuma property one of our most memorable vacations ever. The property was honestly the nicest we have had the pleasure to vacation at.Congratulations on the architecture of this home.The grounds were breathtaking, with gorgeous views which are surrounded with exotic fauna and animal life. My adult children who rarely travel with us were quick to accept this invitation when we showed them the property on your wonderful and inviting video. We were certainly not dissapointed because from the moment we arrived we had a difficult time leaving it.
Your staff namely Giovanni and his wife Lucetia were professional and the nicest people ever. We highly recommend this property for rental and can't wait to go back.
Drs Patricia and Gabriel Malka
Montreal ,Canada

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rock Star Paradise

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Think of those glossy magazine articles with impossibly beautiful people in impossibly beautiful places...in Lunatica Lounge, that's you! The grand scale, the style; you're almost thankful for the semi-challenging drive from town because it keeps out the papparazi. This was a perfect space to chill with friends, spend hours in and around the sparkling pool, read a book, tease the monkeys or turn up the music and dance. The lovely folk who took care of all the household stuff were cheerful, unobtrusive and faultless. In a way, Lunatica Lounge is too nice. Almost everything else you'll experience in Costa Rica will be, at best, at least one notch down,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review