reviews for: listing #80017 - Honokowai, Hawaii Condo rental

Stunning & Sophisticated Oceanfront Condo Gorgeous West Maui
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hale Ono Loa
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $169 /nt

sort by:

Great Location, Close to Everything

Review submitted: June 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Really great apartment that overlooks the pool area with views out over the ocean. The balcony view is so nice that we opted to cook dinner most nights instead of eating out. Close to shops, beaches, coffee and supermarkets. Has everything you need for a wonderful stay on Maui, complete with resident turtles for an afternoon swim. We'd often come back to the flat and have a late afternoon drink by the ocean side while watching the turtles feed on the reef in front of the condo. Definitely recommend the flat for couple heading to Maui paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Serenity now!

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to enjoy your wonderful condo We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the serenity of the Hale Ono Loa grounds as well as the comfort and views from your condo. We enjoyed our morning coffee and evening sunsets every day on lanai. We did get to experience the resident turtles from the sun deck but due to some high surf did not venture into the water from the stairs...perhaps next time. We loved the location of the condo and took advantage of the proximity to beaches and shopping by walking to Whalers Village along the boardwalk and returning along the beaches. Thank you for the suggestions for dinner as we had the chance to enjoy, Ohana Tacos, Soup Nutz, Cheeseburger Cafe, Pizza Paradiso, and Sea House to name a few. The snorkelling advice was also spot on and we even ventured out to Molokini and Turtle town. The condo was everything we were hoping as it was clean, bright, accommodating, located near shops and dining. The complex was very well looked after and family orientated which was also a bonus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We LOVED this condo!!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

We REALLY enjoyed this condo! It was really nice and relaxing! The owner did an amazing job in making the condo feel warm and welcoming! We loved watching the turtles from the deck and relaxing by the pool. We stayed another place with our best friends....duo honeymoons...so when we stayed at the condo alone, it was nice to sit back and relax before headed home. All of her directions and places to visit were a wonderful to have and all accurate. She also was a delight to work with and to help make our trip perfect! We TOTALLY have already recommended her condo to our friends and family! Would stay here again! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time ! Great Condo!

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

Kristen's condo is in a great location and perfect for 2 people. The complex is quiet and very relaxing. The unit is very clean and well stocked. We are golfers and golfed 5 out of 10 days, each course being more beautiful than the last one. We took the ferry to Lanaii where we golfed a spectacular course. The beaches are beautiful, road to Hana is breath taking, Haleakala (the dormant volcano) a must see and so much more. Kristen provided me with tons of information from where to park when going to the beach, where to eat, where to shop, where to buy groceries, etc. etc.. She also responded to any questions and concerns within minutes. And the weather was great! Definitely a do again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: December 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kristin's condo while we were in Maui for a week in early December.
First of all, I was very impressed that Kristin was so quick to respond to my all kinds of questions, and she is very reliable. Her notes with the information like how to get to the apartment, tips of nearby beach, nice restaurants, and etc. were very helpful.
The apartment was very clean. They even had the beach stuffs such as snorkerling gears, a coolerbox, beach chairs so that we were ready to go to the beach right away!
We could see the ocean from our lanai, and we enjoyed watching turtles from the sunsundeck every morning.
The apartment is located in the very convenient area with coffeeshop, severarl nice take out place, local spa, but not in the middle of the noisy area, and we really liked it.
We are already talking about going back to Maui, and when that happens, we would be happy to stay at Kristin's condo again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time in your condo! It was very clean and tidy. The view from the lanai was amazing; we spent most afternoons out there. We really enjoyed the Honokowai neighborhood, it was quiet and quaint and everyone was very friendly.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Spot

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Maui is a definite must on the bucket list. The condo met all our expectations. Our holiday was cut short due to family illness and Kristen was most helpful in resolving unused time. We hope to return. Thanks again
js

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I miss this place already! :(

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

I spent an amazing ten days at this property. The location is perfect, close to farmers market, grocery store and shops. Walking distance to beach and snorkeling on site. The pool and sundeck area are stunning. The view from the lanai is breath taking, especially at sunset. I did yoga every morning either on the sundeck or on the beach (which is a five minute walk). At night time, we would go out on the sundeck and lay on our backs and watch the shooting stars while listening to the ocean waves. The condo is nicely decorated, very clean and is equipped with everything one could possible need. The property caretakers were extremely gracious and welcoming. We came home one day to find a bag of papaya (left outside our door) that one of them had cut from the papaya tree on site. Kristin was very accommodating and super professional. We couldn't have asked for a better time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing stay on west Maui

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

My husband and enjoyed an eight night stay at Kristin's condo. The condominium fit our needs. The bed is very comfortable and the shower is good. We found that the unit stayed pretty cool when you took advantage of opening windows over the bed and the sliding glass door. We prepared a number of simple meals in the condo. We spent a few mornings having coffee and watching the turtles feeding on the reef in front of the property. Jeff swam in the pool one day and said it was nice. We walked both directions from the property to get to sandy beaches - a half hour in each direction to get to public access. Having free wireless Internet access was very convenient. We rented movies two nights and were able to use the DVD player. I brought CDs for music but did not end up having a way to play them. The cleaning staff let us stay past checkout time the last day to finish watching on our laptop our college football team play for the championship (I checked availability and the next guest was arriving in two days). We used and appreciated Kristin's recommendations and directions for snorkeling beaches and restaurants. We walked the beach trail from Kahala, the Haleakala trail and the Waihee Ridge Trail and enjoyed all three. We snorkeled at Kahala, Honolea Bay, Kailee Beach (mile marker 14,15), Black Rock and a beach out of Wailea called Palauea. Palauea Beach was our favorite and the best for fish. It had a very laid back beach with just a porta potty for services. We found the restaurants fairly expensive. We had drinks and appetizers at Hula Girl and enjoyed the live music. Our last night we went to the Black Rock Restaurant in the Sheraton Hotel. It was very good but very expensive. We used a coupon for 1/2 off the second entry that we found in the Menu magazine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jeff and Jennifer for deciding to stay! The next time you come, I would highly recommend taking a 3 minute walk about 2 blocks south to Honokowai Beach Park to check it out. It’s across the street from Bad Ass coffee shop. It’s easy to miss, as it’s set back from the road behind the grassy slopes. It’s a great beach for swimming, and even has some shallow water that doesn’t get caught up in the waves – great for the little ones! The sand and setting are beautiful, I even have a photo posted below as one of my favorite beaches at sunset! The shoreline and all the beaches in Maui are public, it’s just a matter of getting to the right access point to check out all your favorites (and so many to choose from). Thanks again for the feedback!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kristins Piece Of Paradise

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Stayed here for a week in November and it was by far the best choice of my whole holiday. The condo was located perfectly for the beach and within walking distance of the local grocery shops.
The view from the terrace was fab and we had breakfast every morning watching the perfectly blue sky and waves lapping on the shore. Pure heaven. I would certainly return here and would highly recommend this place to anyone. We also did the Road to Hana by coach and it was spectacular.
Thanks to Kristin for all the helpful information she sent prior to our stay
Eddie &Jessie McIntosh (Scotland)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Kristens Condo

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

Kristens condo was everything it was advertised to be and more. The view is absolutely beautiful. Everything was clean and sparkling. We enjoyed cooking breakfast in the morning at the condo and then touring around for lunch and dinner. Really loved the grounds and the deck where you could watch the turtles. It is located in a very convenient area. Kristen gave us alot of good tips for where to go. I went to the Ritz Carlton and took a yoga class for only $15.00. We also made sure to have dinner at Dukes on the Beach. It was great and not all that expensive. We spent one day laying on the beach and we appreciated having the ice chest, chairs, towels and toys to take along with us. I would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks Kristen for a great job on the place!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: October 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

A big "THANK YOU!" to Kristin for allowing my husband and I to stay in her vacation home for our Hawaii trip! It was absolutely perfect! I have told everyone who will listen to me brag about my experience about this condo. It was very easy working with Kristin making the arrangements, and her recommendations came in very handy since we had never been to the islands before. We had a perfect view from the balcony and the condo has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. If you are planning a trip to Maui, then I highly recommend this condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning beachfront condo

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

Kristin's condo was a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Her condo is conveniently located right between all the action on west Maui- north of Lahaina and Ka'anapali and south of Kapalua and Napili. The condo was updated and comfortable for our family of four with all the amenities we needed. We were able to put the kids down for bed and enjoy dinner on the lanai.
Kristin quickly responded to all of my e-mails and check in and out was very easy. She also provided her own tips on taking advantage of everything that Maui has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Happy 1st Wedding Anniversary 8 day 7 night Stay!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Both my wife and I enjoyed our stay at Kristen's Condo. She was very helpful for the information she provided and her place is very close to all the lovely beaches in the area. When we arrived we liked some of the ideas that where done in the Condo. I took note to the way the flooring was done in the shower which is something my wife and I may do in our home also. One of the days we spent sometime in the later part of the afternoon and saw the turtles swimming in the ocean. The pool was nicely maintained and it was nice to layout on the sundeck that looks out to the ocean and other islands in the distance. I liked the ceiling fans in the rooms and two of them have remotes that operate at a close distance. We were able to use two of the folding chairs and the food cooler and take those to the 5 beaches we visted on the West side during our stay. Thank you very much Kristen for everything you provided and the way in which the mirrors are situated in the condo to be able to see the ocean not only from the Lanai and dining area but also from the living area and bedroom area also.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo getaway!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

Property was relaxing and quiet and is in a perfect location.
The condo is set up nice and was very comfortable.
Highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oceanfront Condo

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

The condo was beautiful, everything you needed and more and what great views. Great info from Kristen. ABC store, supermarket and great coffee shops nearby. Loved to sit on the lanai in the morning for breakfast where we could watch the whales before heading off to one of the nearby beaches. Great snorkelling, surfing, paddle boarding on your doorstep if you want to. Turtles just off the sun-deck – wow!
Lahaina a short drive away also the larger hotels with restaurants, shops etc.
Hale Ono Loa is a quiet and pretty complex with a lovely pool, barbecue area and gorgeous sun-deck. Can’t recommend this place enough! If we are lucky enough to visit Maui again this will be where we will stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would HIGHLY reccomend!

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

Returned from a 8 day stay and had a wonderful experience. The unit was clean and well maintained, the entire complex was also well maintained and quiet as well. The view is fabulous...could see whales breaching in the mornings from the comfort of the lani and in the evenings we would watch sea turtles gather at the reef in front of the complex to eat. We were on Maui to attend a family wedding and one evening we invited the extended to join us at the pool/deck area for a BBQ, it was a great location to gather, not crowded and beautifully remodeled. This place is a true gem!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

It was such a wonderful time. Sitting on the lanai- the beautyful sundowns, whale watching all day long. It is a wonderful condo to spend the vacation.It's very good equipped.All you need is there. You can wash/dry clothes. Very helpful during our Hawaii-Trip.. Kristin was so helpful. Thanks again ;-) Hope, we can return in the future....And than we will return to Hale Ono Loa and Kristins Condo!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beautiful condo and lots of things to do

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

We just returned from this condo and had an excellent time. My kids (14 and 12) had a great time in the pool and taking snorkeling lessons. My husband and I really enjoyed whale watching. The pictures don't do it justice. The ocean view is spectacular. I prefer cooking for my family, and the condo was equipped with everything I needed. Kristin's place was so beautiful, I was a little worried that my kids might mess it up. But her cleaning crew was wonderful and helpful. This very friendly complex was perfect for my family. I would highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Place to Stay

Review submitted: March 6, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

My wife and I come from the Big Island and wanted to take a mini-vacation in Maui. This condo was a perfect place for us. It is ideally situated, in a small complex between the overstuffed Kaanapali resorts and the ultra expensive resorts of Kapalua and north. It is in a quiet, secure building, with fantastic ocean view from the lanai. The building also has an awesome huge, elevated roof deck right on the ocean, with ample outdoor furnishings. It is away from the crowds, but close to all the shops, supermarket & beaches. This unit is ideal size for 2, however, could accommodate a small child as well. The owner, Kristin, not only keeps the condo very lovely, clean, with all the necessary household supplies, and also provides us a list of place to visit, eat etc. Very helpful!
If you want to fall asleep while you are listening to the sound of waves, if you want to enjoy Hawaii weather and spot the blue ocean just right next to you, this is a perfect place to stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This condo is top notch !

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

Thank you Kristin for making this lovely condo home available for your guests. Coming to your condo is like coming home to a friend's home. You have furnished it so beautifully, with such care to your guests comfort. WE LOVE IT !
To every prospective guests: we say this is a real find !! The owner Kristin is so caring and goes out of her way to make sure the place is in top shape. And it is....! It is better than the photos. So well equipped, great ambiance, well furnished . We have recommended it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you Kristin for the perfect stay

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

Kristin I am really impressed by what a great job you did with your lovely new condo. Kudos to you! Your condo is really beautiful and had everything we needed and wanted. We especially enjoyed watching the whales from your lanai. We had our morning coffee and evening meals there too. All the information you gave us about the area was a big help, your recommendations were spot on. I hope we can take time off work in January to come back. Everyday in your condo was like a fairytale, we were really happy and enjoyed.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review