reviews for: listing #80023 - Seattle, Washington Cottage rental

Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Three Tree Point Com
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $245 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,395 /wk
    $4,200 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

My new favorite 'Happy Place'

Review submitted: April 16, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

We're so fortunate we found this hidden gem, what a great experience! The cottage is private, the view from the hot tub on the deck is picture postcard perfect and you feel like you're in a quiet relaxing part of the world, yet only minutes from downtown Seattle. Eileen & Dave were friendly, helpful and loved the fresh fruits and pastries provided daily. Thoroughly enjoyed every detail, and can't wait to return again and again.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for you kind review. We would love to have you back anytime of the year. There is so much to do in Seattle and we do feel fortunate to be close to a lot of the main attractions, but far enough away to experience the true beauty of the Pacific Northwest; from the Olympic Mountain range to the Puget Sound Waterways. Next time you visit you have to do the Mt. Rainier loop. It is breathtaking and a perfect day trip that I know you would thoroughly enjoy. You can easily do it in one day, then come back the cottage and hot tub and relax after an amazing hike. We look forward to your return visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Service, Great Accommodations, Convenient Location

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Sept 2013. The cottage is beautiful, looks new and the views are spectacular. It was perfect for our first visit to the Pacific Northwest. Easy access to all Seattle has to offer, yet private and secluded. There are about 6-8 steep steps which my older husband who uses a cane found difficult, but once there the hot tub alleviated all his worries. Fresh fruit, eggs,pancake mix, pastries....all were there and replenished daily. Very private and comfortable. Hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind review. We love the hot tub too and are so happy you were able to relax in it after a busy day. You have been wonderful guests and we do hope you can return someday to the Pacific Northwest!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Perfect Seattle Experience!

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We traveled to Olympic View Bed and Breakfast for our honeymoon, expecting a lot, and Dave and Eileen did not disappoint! Dave & Eileen were amazing hospitable! It is such a short drive from the airport, but we didn't hear a single plane during our entire stay! The cottage is kept extremely clean, and was well maintained throughout our stay! The bed was extremely comfortable! The cottage is plenty of space for two. The pastries and other deliciousness (like fresh fruit) that were left for us each day were amazing! The view from the deck, especially the hot tub, is unmatched. Despite Dave and Eileen's house being next door, we still had a lot of privacy, and felt completely comfortable on our honeymoon! It was a fantastic experience and we hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Phil! We are so happy you choose Olympic View Cottage for your honeymoon stay and it was everything you expected and more. We have put a lot of thought into creating our Pacific Northwest get away and we love sharing it with guests from all over the world! Congratulations again on your marriage and we look forward to seeing you and your lovely wife for one of your anniversaries in the near future. The Schmidt's

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

WOW OH WOW

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

“WOW and WOW”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 June 2013
I spent more days than usual but far less than I ultimately wanted to at Olympic View B&B. I cannot begin to describe how glorious this place is. From the tastefully furnished, well laid-out and super clean cottage, to the superb private deck with a massive hot tub, and finally this spectacular view. The bed is so comfortable that I had sweet dreams every night. My hosts, Eileen and Dave were so friendly, could not do enough for me, and yet they allowed me my privacy. Frankly, I wish I could afford to live here forever. I've stayed at many B&B's, but never one which supplies, not only breakfast items, but also a cupboard full of oils and seasonings, useful in the full kitchen, together with cheese, mini quiches, a variety of milk's (yet) and so many other things that there is no review space long enough to list everything. Eileen and Dave have done themselves proud. I look forward to returning and have already booked time there for February 2014.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Sylvia! It was a delight to have you all the ways from Australia and we so looking forward to your stay in 2014 with us. All our best! The Schmidt's

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanks for a memorable escape...

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We arrived on a warm sunny Sunday in July. We had won an overnight here in a charity auction and were looking forward to a much needed break. This trip being the first since my wife was involved in an auto-collision last March.

We followed the GPS to the address but were not exactly sure we had arrived because they don't have any signs out due to privacy and such.

Dave came out as I was backing down the driveway greeted me by name and cheerfully told us that "the garage was ours". He offered to carry our bags but my male ego would not allow this, thank you very much.

He showed us to the cottage entrance, chatting the whole time as we did our initial walk through. The door was open to the deck area and it was very "Feng-Shui Happy". We got the complete tour along with instructions on how to use the Jacuzzi and the Do It Yourself breakfast provisions.

Eileen also came in and we made introductions. While we had never met Dave and Eileen before they made us quickly feel like friends. After more friendly chat we were left to our own devices and if we were to need anything we could just call. Meeting other family members was very friendly and pleasant.

Our initial impressions were very good. Everything is so impeccably clean and tidy. The view from the deck and hot tub is nothing less than spectacular and this is coming from a local who has hung out quite a bit in and around Burien, WA. We think you will find this little town a Gem as we have, but I digress.

What made the experience stand out for us, was how quiet it is there on the hill and how you can take in the "Million Dollar View" without craning your neck. At the table or in the hot-tub, it was just great. We got our stuff settled and "hit the town" for shopping and an early dinner, then a nice stroll down at Ed Munro Seahurst Park.

It was a warm day but it had started cooling down by the time we returned to the cottage. I put on a pot of java, a nice "Northwest Bold Roast" that they so kindly provided for us. Then it was time to fire up the Jacuzzi so we could watch the sunset from the hot tub, something we hadn't enjoyed in years. With the sun painting colors on the horizon and shadows across the mountain tops, it was truly memorable.

The plentiful breezes off of Puget Sound, really DO cool things off nicely. With the ceiling fan going and the windows and door open it was just perfect.

The bed was comfortable and

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Roger and Jeanne. It was a delight to meet you both and to read about what a great experience you had. We love sharing our little slice of heaven with other guests from around the world and we are delighted you appreciate all the beauty as well. Please come back and visit us again when you are in Seattle! The Schmidt’s

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Mixing business with pleasure

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We stayed here while my husband attended a conference at the Convention Center in Seattle. It was a great base for both my husband to get into the city and for me to occupy my time while he was at the conference as you are just 10-15 minutes from Downtown. The house itself is lovely and the views from our balcony were amazing. We were able to enjoy the sunsets over the Sound from the hot tub and enjoyed watching bald eagles fly around while we ate breakfast on the deck. Dave was absolutely fantastic and no wish was left unmet. We also loved the fact that the breakfast was self-catering because some mornings were up early and other we slept in, so we could eat when we felt like it and didn't have to worry about keeping to the innkeepers breakfast schedule. The variety on offer was great and to top things off, they did the dishes! We are already looking forward to a return trip!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind review. We welcome you both back to the cottage anytime of the year. The Pacific Northwest has the 4 seasons and our views are ever-changing. From the snow capped Olympic Mountain range, to the kite boarders on the Sound, and the amazing sunsets, there is always something interesting happening right in front of your eyes. We feel very blessed to live in our beautiful paradise and enjoy sharing it with our guests from around the world. Thank you again for sharing your experience. Sincerely, Dave and Eileen.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Olympic View B&B recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We loved the privacy of the little cottage and the amazing view of the Puget Sound from our private deck and hot tub! The B&B was lovely; clean and the comfortable and always stocked with goodies. Dave and Eileen are the most gracious hosts ;-)

We definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet, unhurried, romantic place to stay--conveniently located close to Seattle and the WA wine country!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful B&B

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Olympic View B&B for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. We spent most of our days exploring Seattle and Mount Rainier, however when we came back to the B&B it felt like home. We were always excited to see what fruit, pastries and drinks were stocked in the frig for the next morning. I loved waking up in the morning and going to sleep at night with a view out the bedroom window of the trees, mountains and water. It was asolutely beautiful. The hot tub was a great relaxer for us, especially after long days of hiking and walking about the city. The place is very clean and updated. We hope to come back to visit soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Views/ peace and quiet

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

We arrived a little early after following the directions given, but were made to feel welcome and shown all the amienities from comfy bed to hot tub on the balcony to washer and dryer which was much needed after we had been travelling for a few weeks. We loved the town of Burien and all it had to offer just a minute up the hill. We found the well stocked pantry with eggs, cheeses, milk and many other items for our use.I loved to sit on the balcony with my cuppa and my book and soak it all up. The views of Puget Sound were beautiful, you couldn't get enough.We had our own private space and weren't bothered by any noise. We would highly recommend it to anyone

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Class act

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

Olympic View B&B 's owners are a class act. The property is meticulously maintained. Their level of presence is just right. David was always available when we needed him, but not intrusive. He & Eileen got our first trip to Seattle off to a fabulous start! The views are breathtaking and there are several very good restaurants nearby(The 909). The quiet residential neighborhood provided a tranquil setting that felt safe. Downtown attractions were easily reachable & our return to this oasis was anticipated daily for hot tubbing & sunset viewing. We hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Serenity

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Having been to Seattle numerous times in the past 13 years I was looking for a slightly different vacation, and I can honestly say this experience was beyond my expectations. Convenient to major highways, minutes from Sea-Tac and a short distance from downtown Seattle, easy to find with Dave and Eileen's directions and yet...so far removed from the hustle and bustle as to be nearly magical. This quiet seemingly secluded cottage nurtured my soul with it's views of Elliot Bay, Puget Sound and it's island and the Olympic Mountains backlit by the setting sun. I spent every breakfast on the deck enjoying the solitude and the view and ws there for many of the sunsets as well.
Well maintained with a relaxing palette it's hard not to spend all ones time at the cottage. Still, had time to go hikiing on the Olympic Penisula, do the salmon bake at Tillicum Village, ride the new Ferris wheel at Pier 54 and generally bask in the stunning July weather. The notebook of local options is fabulous and I highly recommend the short walk to Three Tree Beach along the Indian Trail + a meal at the Tin Room and Cafe 909.. Both were recommended by Eileen who never steered me wrong. I'd never rented from an internet ad before but I have been telling everyone about this and would happily stay here again. Clean and airy... one of the nicer B&B's I've stayed in. Although it would make a great romantic getaway, I greatly enjoyed it as a single female traveler and look forward to returning on my visit to Seattle.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Stay

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Olympic B&B so much that we will no doubt visit again in the future. Dave and Eileen were wonderful hosts! The cottage is very clean, comfortable, and well decorated. We enjoyed the breakfast choices they provided everyday especially the option to prepare what we wanted and when. No early rising for us that week! The desserts waiting for us each evening were a delight. What more can we say? The view- amazing! The food- amazing! The hosts- amazing!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it so much we wish we could live there!

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My husband and I were so happy with our accommodations at Olympic View Bed and Breakfast that we were already planning our return trip the first day we were in town. Of all the sight-seeing we did during our week in Washington, our favorite view was from the cottage. We enjoyed watching all the ships travel up and down the Sound as well as watch the sunsets behind the mountains.
The Olympic View Bed and Breakfast provided the perfect level of service and privacy. When you stay here, you are the only guests and every space belongs to you: the bathroom, bedroom, living room, kitchen, patio and hot-tub. Dave and Eileen were available for anything and took care of everything we needed. Eileen called us the day we were to arrive and offered to make dinner reservations for us at a nearby restaurant since we would be arriving late in the evening.
While the cottage is located in Burien, just outside of Seattle, we were never in the car for longer than ten minutes for anything we wanted to do downtown: Victoria Clippers, Pikes Market, the Space Needle, and Pioneer Square. We also enjoyed the convenience of Burien: we were minutes away from coffee shops, boutiques, and the grocery store. When Dave and Eileen mailed a map to us prior to our stay, I was concerned about how close to the airport the cottage is located, but I did not hear a single plane during our stay.
We enjoyed our stay so much that I find it difficult to describe how happy we were our entire time. Joe and I honestly feel like we not only made friends with Dave and Eileen, but we left feeling like family.
Thank you so much, Dave and Eileen, and we’re looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

That pretty much sums up our experience at Olympic View this past week! This B&B is the BEST we've ever encountered. The description on this website is "spot on" to what you'll find at the B&B. Dave and Eileen are the consummate hosts and have thought of everything to make your vacation experience unforgettable. The cottage is first rate, with a private balcony with table, chairs and umbrella and private hot tub. They also have a TV with VCR/DVD combo along with a good selection of DVD's to watch in the event you are tired of enjoying the breathtaking view of Puget Sound! Mornings are a treat choosing from pancakes, french toast or just nibbling on one of the fresh pastries brought in from one of the local bakeries. If you are looking for a quiet, private retreat from the busy pace of everyday life, this is your destination. We can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: ...and we can't wait to have you back anytime of the year. You both traveled around so much during your stay here. A day hike to Mt. Rainer and Mt. St. Helens. And the memorable Pike Place Market is always an experience. When you come back we have some great restaurants to add to your list and attraction sights that are a must see while in Seattle. Thank you so much for experiencing our little hide-away. Have a wonderful summer! The Schmidt's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WHAT A B&B !!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 21, 2012

This is the best little b&b ever, I would suggest to anyone looking for a excellent experience. Dave and Eileen spoil you so rotten you don't want to leave. The fridge is always full, the counter always has fresh pastries, bread,and bagels. They got us hooked on using cinnamon bread for french toast yum. It was nice coming home in the evening the breakfast dishes were done and there was a chocolate by your bed. The view from the hot tub was just gorgeous and it wasn't hard to loose track of time when you were there it was so peaceful. All the reviews you read on this place are so true. We will return and pass this on to friends and family even though we would like to keep it our little secret but I guess we will share. Thanks Dave and Eileen for the wonderful holiday

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful, Private Cottage

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We can't say enough about our wonderful stay at the Olympic View Bed and Breakfast Cottage. Dave and Eileen had thought of everything to make our visit comfortable. The cottage is a separate home, independent of any other guests giving us complete privacy. The cottage has windows the full length of the dining, kitchen, and bedroom so we had an amazing view of the Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountain range. On our private deck, we were able to enjoy the hot tub with a lovely view of the Puget Sound waterways. My husband and I relaxed each night with a bottle of wine and cheese on the patio while watching the breathtaking sunsets. A nice big king size bed with high end, comfy sheets gave us an incredible night sleep. The home is decorated with warm relaxing colors, very tasteful. It was so appreciated to have our kitchen restocked each day while we were away with coffee, fresh pastries, eggs, cheese, juice, sliced fruit parfaits, yogurt, butter, soda, milk and a nice variety of breads. We even were provided with homemade buttermilk pancake mix, granola, and oatmeal. What more could you ask for? If you enjoy antiquing, Snohomish was a great find! Angelo's Ristorante in Burien was amazing. Thanks Dave and Eileen for the perfect 3 day weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing and Charming

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

We spent four relaxing days at the cottage and highly recommend it. It is a great base for visiting the Seattle area. We would travel around the area, then return to the cottage to nap, relax in the hot tub, and enjoy the gorgeous view. The accomodations are very comfortable, clean and exactly as pictured. It is perfect for two people. The local area of Burien is delightful and we probably enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed Seattle!
The hosts have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. The towels are nice and thick. the sheets were very soft. The food they provide is replenished daily, and the fresh breads/pastries were tasty. There are plenty of books/brochures on things to do and see.
If you go into Burien, we enjoyed Mick Kelly's Irish Pub and the Tin Room. (excellent Lemon Drop Martini's at the Tin Room)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend !!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Dave and Eileen -- thanks so much for the wonderful weekend -- truly a special treasure location in the beautiful northwest. The place was warm and inviting -- the hot tub sweet -- the views fantastic. The walk to the beach and down to the Indian Trail was special to Three Tree Point. The views and sunset were beautiful-- even in February. Thank you very much. Kevin and Melinda

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Romantic hideaway

Review submitted: January 31, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

Great romantic hideaway - like having your own apartment with gorgeous views and comfortable amenitities. The inkeepers were very friendly! We will definitely go back.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Review:
Olympic View B&B is something of a hybrid, neither the on-your-own austerity of a hotel nor the borderline obtrusiveness of some B&Bs. Having the cottage with all the privacy and amenities one could wish made our stay there so enjoyable, and the location, with the beautiful view of the Sound right outside the large bedroom/living area picture windows was incomparable. There are so many things right about this place: close to a nearby town with shopping, restaurants, etc. Close enough to downtown Seattle (within 15 min)with all the attractions to make for a good number of day trips. Close to SeaTac airport to make arrivals/departures easy, and the best view of the Sound (esp. from the hot tub) one could imagine. The proprietors (Dave & Eileen) have thought of everything. The cottage is immaculate and tastefully decorated and fully stocked with attraction brochures/restaurant info, dvd's, videos (VHS), books, even pens & pencils. The kitchenette has everything you need to cook and homemade pancake mix (with accompanying eggs & buttermilk) is supplied; along with staples like butter, milk, juice, etc. Incredible breads, bagels, & pastries appeared like magic when we returned from our day trips; we used them for breakfast and sometimes desserts. The bed has a very comfortable mattress with high-quality bed linens. While accommodating, the owners are very unobtrusive and afford you all the privacy you could wish while being just a phone call (or knock on the door of their adjoining house) away. Oh yes, even a full washer & dryer is provided! Everyone told us we were traveling to the Seattle area at the "worst time" of the year and we had a ball! Pikes Mkt and the Space Needle are a must in our book, as is also a stay @ the Olympic View B&B.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfully Relaxing Cottage!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

My husband and I had to stay home during the holidays this year so we decided to find a local B&B to spend time at. We found the Olympic View and are so glad we did! We arrived on Christmas Eve and the innkeeper was so nice! They were having their own Christmas celebrations yet took the time to make sure all our needs were catered to. The seclusion of the cottage from the outside world was wonderful. So quiet and peaceful, we never heard anyone! The hot tub was a highlight! Soaking in the hot water while admiring the night sky was heavenly! On Christmas Day we baked our own Christmas dinner as the cottage had all the pans and utensils needed. Dave called us in the afternoon and inquired on us and wished us a Merry Christmas! That was a very nice sentiment. The view from the cottage is beautiful, watching the fog roll in over the water and watching boats sailing... it was just delightful! We will definitely be going back when we can. Thank you Dave and Eileen! I wouldn't have you change a thing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything advertised and then some more

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

We spent eight days and nights at this cottage. Dave and Eileen are very gracious hosts, willing to go the extra mile to make your stay a fantastic experience. The views, ammenities, hot tub, and location were all top notch. Breakfast ingredients were always restocked as needed, and use of the gas bar-b-que made for a memorable grilled salmon dinner. Advice on activities, transportation options and restaurant recommendations were all accurate and appreciated. We highly recommend this cottage. Very convenient to Seattle and Ferries to other points of interest.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cottage With a View

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

We cannot say enough good things about this cottage rental experience. The view of Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains is outstanding, expecially when viewed from the private hot tub on the deck. Located in a very quiet and safe neighborhood, the cottage is a short walk from the beach. However, the hills are steep and steps to the cottage might make it a bit difficult for anyone with accessibility issues. This cottage is by far the cleanest and best maintained property we have ever rented directly from the owners. The owners are wonderful hosts with excellent suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants; they even made dinner reservations for us and provided directions. The B&B concept of stocking the kitchenette with breakfast supplies was an added bonus for us. It allowed us to prepare our own breakfast at our leisure. The kitchen space was sufficient and well stocked, so we could cook other meals when we wanted to eat in. A car is a must as there are no restaurants or shops within walking distance. We have already recommended the cottage to others and hope to return ourselves.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable Respite just outside Seattle

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

The Olympic View was just what we needed. After a long day seeing the sights in Seattle, we always looked forward to the quiet comfort of this great b & b. The self-contatined cottage is perfect for a couple - immaculate, airy, filled with light, and with a view of Puget sound that we never tired of seeing. Dave and Eileen got everything right; fresh breakfast supplies every day, a vase with beautiful flowers on our kitchen table, cooking tips for the fresh salmon we picked up, and a willingness to help that is above and beyond what one would expect. When we decided to rent a car (a must to really get out and see the area), they put us in touch with a local company that had great rates. We will recommend them to anyone going to Seattle and hope to have the pleasure of a return visit ourselves.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

I apologize for the delay, but could not let the opportunity pass to let you know about the wonderful experience I had while at your cottage. Last weekend my boyfriend and I booked a stay with you for our anniversary. I can’t begin to tell you how amazing the time we had there was. From the view, to the privacy, to the unique amenities of your kitchen and being able to add an intimate touch to our meals by cooking for ourselves and having private, relaxing dinners, lunches AND breakfasts. This, to me, surpassed any traditional bed and breakfast in quality and service in more ways than I have time to elaborate on. I wanted to say thank you from the both of us for not only providing outstanding, quality service…but for giving us an experience and a memory.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2011

My review of the B&B to paste in to the web sites.

“This B&B stands out as one of a kind and we relished in our experience so much that we have already decided to return at a later date this year! There is nothing else you need to bring to this wonderful escape except yourself, your loved one(s) and a mind to experience the hospitality provided by this B&B and the beautiful accommodations of the cottage. As the only guests on the property, we benefitted from all of the amenities that this B&B has to offer such as a private kitchen with all appliances and dishes, breakfast foods in the refrigerator and a variety of delicious pastries and coffee, tea, water and soft drink varieties. Not only is this intimate and vibrant space decorated quite pleasingly, but the cozy, warm and inviting private cottage provides you the peace and calm you deserve, where a soulful and tranquil ambient awaits you if you truly submit yourself to relax and allow yourself to be pampered; this is how the best experiences during our stay were created. Unlimited use of your own private hot tub on the deck provides you the opportunity to savor in the panoramic view, which offers scenic water, skyline and mountainous imagery. Watching the sun rise, or set against the splendor of this silhouette is breathtaking and the simplest thing like a falcon flying high in the clouds, or a plane flying high in the clouds while soaking in the steam and jet massagers in the hot tub elevates the value of your experience substantially. This B&B truly went above and beyond our expectations. We can attest that this romantic getaway is better than your typical B&B experience as the innkeepers fully cater to guest needs in a personable and attentive manner, something that has been lost in the hospitality sector where only extra tips buy you the common courtesy that guests receive as a standard at this gorgeous escape. Some people may want to leave and visit surrounding areas, go out to eat, order in, or bring food from surrounding area farmers markets or other grocery stores back to the cottage; Once you settle in and submit to the magic of this B&B, you will find that there is not much else you need, and further, nowhere else you will want to go as your own intentions become positively amplified by the offerings of this absolutely stunning Bed & Breakfast. This was our experience and we highly recommend this B&B, through every season as one of the most romantic getaways in the Pacific Northwest.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Congratulations on your engagement! This is the 2nd engagment of 2011 that took place in the cottage. We are so happy guests feel that this is the right setting for their romatic get-away. We hope that you can come back and celebrate your honeymoon night at Olympic View Cottage too. And also celebrate all your anniversaries here. Congratulations to the happy couple!!!. We wish you the best.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A MOST Excellent Experience

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Words are not enough to describe the most wonderful time we had while staying at Olympic View. It was all we hoped it would be and more - a private getaway which we will long remember. Our first visit to the Seattle area and we found a place that if we ever return it will be our only choice for a place to stay. Normally we don't do B & B's, but this is no common experience, nor a common B & B.. Private, Romantic, and so relaxing, the best 4 nights of our 3 week vacation. You are the only guests, in a seperate, secluded setting. To call it a cabin experience would be sooo wrong, it was more like having your own elegant getaway home on Puget Sound. The only thing we did find wrong with Olympic View was that they are so far from our home in Connecticut on the Washinton coast, not the Maine or New Hampsire coasts, our normal stomping grounds. Move them to a rocky New England shore location and we would be a twice a year customer.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: September 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We stayed for three nights in this beautiful cottage and we loved the relaxing atmosphere both of the cottage and the small town of Burien which offered lots of choice to eat out and was very friendly.

Coming from Wales (we live within a few miles of the 2010 Ryder Cup venue) Burien was facinating for us to explore and take in the small town 'American' atmosphere whilst the nearby city of Seattle was brilliant (great amphibious city tour) if not a little daunting to drive into. Fortunately Dave and Eileen came to our rescue the second day and sorted us out with directions to get into the city by train from the nearby airport.

Dave and Eileen have obviously gone to great lengths to perfect their wonderful B&B and we were sorry to leave it and head north towards Vancouver and the plane home. If there had been a vacancy we would have happily stayed longer but we took Eileen and Dave's advice and stopped off at the San Juan Islands on our way north and once again they came up trumps as it was as they advised a wonderful place to visit.

If you have the chance to visit Eileen and Dave's B&B grab it quickly, we are sure you will love it.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Awesome - Will Definitely Return

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

Our stay at the Olympic View B&B 6/15-22/10 was everything and MORE than what we were expecting from their website. Eileen and Dave we so very friendly and helpful. The place is beautiful and was perfect for our 20th anniversary. We were in Seattle to also attend our son’s wedding. The rest of the family were in hotels and were envious of the pictures we shared with them. It was fabulous to come back to such a peaceful and relaxing place with a nice bottle of wine and the hot tub. The views are absolutely stupendous as is the hospitality. The breakfasts stocked in the fridge were delicious. Dave and Eileen also provided items for special requests we had. We are looking forward to visiting our son and daughter-in-law again and will definitely be staying at the Cottage B&B.

Thank you Eileen and Dave for being such gracious hosts and sharing your wonderful home!

Denise & Stanley B.
Lake City, MN

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charming, private, relaxing, romantic, quiet, lovely get away, with a fabulous view!!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We went to Olympic View Cottage to celebrate our 30th Anniversary! We could not have had a better time!! The cottage was even better than it looks on the web site!! The Cottage is Cozy, Spotless, Quiet, with a Comfortable king bed! Great privacy! The hot tub was well maintained and the view from it a feast for the eyes! Dave and Eileen were very helpful giving information if we asked for it, but also sensitive to our privacy. It was very easy to find our way to down town Seattle, where we enjoyed Pike's Place Market, Ride the DUCKS, and Ivar's Restaurant! We'll definitely be back, as there is so much to see and do in Seattle! We have gone to dozens of B&B's over the years in BC, and a few in Washington State, and Olympic View Cottage is in our Top Three List! Thanks for a Great Experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing, Cozy Cottage with a Million Dollar view!!!!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Our stay was absolutely wonderful. Such a quiet, cozy place to get away for a vacation. The views are absolutely breathtaking. Watching the boats and ferries from the hot tub seemed to take all our cares away. We highly recommend check out this place and see just for yourself how amazing it is. We had a wonderful stay and wish it could have been longer. We definitely plan on coming back to stay again and again and will recommend this place to everyone that we know.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best start to our honeymoon!

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

I found the Olympic View on a vacation rental website back in 2009 when I started looking at places for my now wife and I to stay on our honeymoon in Seattle before our Alaskan cruise. I instantly fell in love with the pictures I saw, and the fact that it was close enough to downtown Seattle, but also far enough away for some peace and relaxation after our long wedding planning and before starting our honeymoon cruise.

When we arrived, Eileen greeted us and showed us around the place, and let us get settled in and start to enjoy our stay. It was wonderful being able to get food from the Pike Place Market and cook it there, and eat on the patio overlooking Puget Sound and the Olympic Mountains.

I also have to say that Dave and Eileen went the extra mile for us. We had forgotten some paperwork for our excursions on the cruise, and we were able to get it faxed to their house so that we were able to do those tours.

This was by far a wonderful surprise for my wife, who had no idea where we were staying in Seattle, and she told me on several occasions during and since that the stay was a highlight of the trip and if we had to do it over again, she would want me to book the Olympic View!

Thank you Dave and Eileen for running a wonderful, hidden gem, and if you get the chance to get to Seattle, give the Olympic View a serious look as a spot to stay.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ultimate relaxation with a spectacular view.

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Our fourth stay at Olympic View . We love the privacy, the hot tub and the easy access to Burien and family ( a great little city by the way ). We can drive into Seattle or take Public transportation and then come home and relax on the deck. I love putting flowers in the livingroom area that I get at Pike Street Market. We already made our reservations for our next visit. Thanks Dave and Ilene for another great respite. P.S. The pastries are awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 5, 2008

What a find! Definately on our "A" list of places to get back to. The feeling of privacy in a serene environmnet with a view across the Sound to the Olympics is breathtaking. You won't beleive your eyes! We now know where to stay when we return in September.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 18, 2006   Date of arrival: January 18, 2006

"This getaway lives up to its name, with a spectacular view encompassing sparkling Puget Sound, towereing Evergreens, and the snow -capped Olympic Mountains. Awarded 3.5 kisses out of 4 from "Best Places to Kiss in the Northwest", 9th edition.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 20, 2004   Date of arrival: July 20, 2004

"Voted Nationwide by inn goers in Arrington's 2005 Book of Lists Awards "Most Scenic View". Arrington's Publishing recognizes Olympic View Cottage as one of the Top B&B/Country Inns in Arrington's Inn Traveler 2005 Book of Lists".

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 23, 2003   Date of arrival: July 23, 2003

Olympic View was so much more than a place to stay, it was a part of our vacation. Spectacular view, peaceful area, friendly innkeepers. The hot tub was great and the cottage charming.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review