reviews for: listing #80079 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina House rental

The Happy Pelican Beach House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $795 - $1,895 /wk
    $1,500 - $7,195 /mth

sort by:

Comfortable house. Great Location.

Review submitted: July 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Nice house. Tons of amenities - bikes, beach stuff, inflatable boats, beach games!!! We had lots to do. Very close to the beach! Absolutely love Ocean isle! Frank was fantastic to work with! Thank you allowing us the use of your house! We had a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great vacation home

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

We enjoyed the house very much. The owner was attentive to our every need. House was great for our family of 5. The rafts, bikes and games were a big hit for us. We love staying on the canal, its such a beautiful view. The walk to the beach was short which is a plus.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home, great beaches, great town!

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We loved the home - it was perfect for our needs. The recreational room (garage) had bikes, beach chairs, tubes, fishing poles & more. The kitchen is stocked with every appliance & utensil you can think of. The only downside with that is it leaves no cabinet space at all so all your food has to go on the counter. Shelves for non-perishables would be a welcome addition. We had a great time & hope to stay there again sometime.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure sharing our home. We have cleared some additional cabinet space for more dried goods to make it more convenient.

We look forward to hosting your group again in the fall.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Thanksgiving Week Vacation

Review submitted: December 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

We had a great time at The Happy Pelican! Frank was great to work with, very helpful and friendly. The house was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The stocked kitchen was great for entertaining, the toy room kept the kids busy for hours (kayaks, bikes, corn hole, kites and more!) and the short walk to the beach was great for us all! We especially loved hanging out on the dock and although it was too cold to catch anything, the kids enjoyed fishing. We would definitely stay at The Happy Pelican again and highly recommend it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was perfect, not too hot, not too cold, just right for relaxing/strolling on the beach. The home was cozy and inviting, absolutely clean and neat. This time of year assured that there were no crowds to deal with and yet there was enough to see and do that we were never bored. Frank & Wendy were excellent as far as answering any questions we had, they made sure that the home was stocked with everything we needed to cook full meals. The beds were very comfortable, there was a wide array of beach chairs, water floats, kayaks, bicycles, fishing poles, etc. Which we used every day. All in all, we highly recommend The Happy Pelican. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Family Reunion Getaway!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Over the course of the past five years, we have been meeting up with our extended family, working our way down the Atlantic Coast. This time, I had a feeling that I would find a location that I would want to come back to over and over again. My gut instinct was right! We all loved OIB and loved this property(11 people, ages range from 3 to 72 years).
What you see on this website is totally what you get and more, no surprises(well, only very pleasant ones). We would recommend this house to anyone and we are counting down the days until we return next summer. The owners have the house well-maintained and well-stocked with everything you need to make your vacation an enjoyable one. For people who still like to stay connected to the world while on vacation, you have that too with the free WiFi, TV, etc. The house is clean, spacious and the location is perfect! The owners are very helpful as well and genuinely dedicated to ensuring that you have a nice visit. My recommendation to anyone visiting is to stay for two weeks. One week is just not enough.
After spending a day on the beach, it became our habit to start happy hour while lazing on a float in the canal. This is also a runner's/walker's paradise with nice quiet streets and nice scenery. With close access to Myrtle Beach, Wilmington, shopping, restaurants, golf and other places/activities, if you don't want to spend your whole time on the beach, there is plenty to choose from.
Don't look any further. I truly believe you have found your vacation rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week at the Happy Pelican

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

Our family spent a week at OIB at the Happy Pelican and the home was everything we hoped for. It is spacious, bright, and well appointed with all the cooking utensils, pots, pans, dishes, small appliances etc that you could possibly ever need to make a gourmet meal. The outdoor porch overlooks the canal where we watched fish jump and our little one fished and caught fish. We played corn hole toss during the evenings which was provided in the garage along with other games, beach chairs and umbrellas and anything else that you could possibly want during your beach stay. Lastly, Frank was just a great guy to work with and he made every effort to ensure we had a great time....which we did! Thank You!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family reunion

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had an awesome time. Saw dolphins in the canal, made great family memories. Loved the house it had everything we needed including a port a crib for the baby. We will be back. Ocean Isle is a perfect place for family fun.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Spacious Vacation Home!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at this house and we always have such a wonderful time!! The beach is not that far of a walk and our boat was right in the back yard. It makes for everyone being happy. & if you have small kids the fence around the yard makes you feel so much more comfortable. We highly recommend this house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation Place!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

My family and I (4 adults, 3 kids) spent a great week in this wonderful home. The home had every convenience and was designed well. My nephews (9,8,4) had a great time! We had such a short walk to the beach. Every day we walked for miles searching for shells. The kids swam, road bikes, fished off the dock, enjoyed the many amenities the home offered. The home was truly a comfortable home that was clean and well maintained. The owners were very friendly and were available for any question. I would absolutely recommend this property to my friends and family and wouldn't hesitate staying there again. Ocean Isle beach was so close to Myrtle Beach. We enjoyed Barefoot Landing and even had the opportunity to have our picture taken with a baby tiger! An amazing experience. I know this was a wonderful experience for my whole family. Thank you so much for helping us to have a great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Our first family vacation with the new granddaughter was a success. Each family unit had their own space and plenty of room in the common areas for everyone to enjoy themselves. Our son-in-law enjoyed the convenience of the boat dock. We had three days of rain which kept us inside, but we still had fun reading, putting together a puzzle, and spending time just talking to each other. A short distance to the beach was great, and having chairs and umbrellas provided in the Toy Room meant we didn't have to bring them from home. We cooked in a lot and found most everything we needed in the kitchen. Home is conveniently located to grocery store, restaurants, shopping, and walking. Home needs some updating but according to next-door neighbors is rented frequently, so it gets a lot of use! Owner is quick to respond to questions and/or concerns and is friendly and receptive to ideas and/or suggestions. Owner was easy to work with and security deposit was promptly returned. We would definitely select this home again for a family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the great review and choosing the Happy Pelican as your vacation home in OIB. Wendy and I would love to have you back.

The Happy Pelican is always being updated with new furnishings, kitchen appliances, beach and sporting equipment. Besides adding the things we would like to have at the house and share with our guests, the guests themselves are our biggest inspiration for upgrades we perform.

This October we are planning such upgrades as replacing all the bedroom sliding glass blinds, kitchen cookware, and adding even more bikes and beach items. A blue-ray player will be added to the entertainment area and we will replacing some of the CRT TVs with flat-screen TVs in the bedrooms.

Thanks Again

Frank and Wendy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family beach vacation

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We wanted a place for us, our sons and their families that was near enough to walk to the beach and was on a canal so that we could use our waverunners. Frank and Wendy's place was perfect for us! Plenty of room for us to enjoy being together for meals and also out on the beautiful decks. Each family had their own room that they could sleep in and just get away to relax during the day. It was great for all of us from our youngest who was 6 weeks old to my mom who is 83. Frank was so helpful with the whole process of planning your trip and even while you are there to answer questions. Thank you guys for a wonderful place to enjoy our family beach trip. We are hoping to find a time that we can go back next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Wendy and I enjoyed hosting your family get together. I hope you will be able to come back next year. Thanks again for taking very good care of our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach weekend- with the PERFECT PELICAN!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My friends and I had been discussing a beach weekend for quite sometime, and although some of us had been to Ocean Isle before, we had always stayed at hotels. I began doing some research and contacting different home owners on the Island through VRBO. I instantly knew the happy pelican was out place. Although this home was listed with week long rates, we were able to get a GREAT price for a long weekend before memorial day. Frank was a delight to work with ( the owner), and provided us with all we needed and more. I cannot say enough about this house and the great communication we had with the owner prior, and post our visit. Four couples stayed for our long weekend, and we all dream of the next stay at the Happy Pelican. Short walk to the beach, the beauty of being on the water, and a perfect open floorplan. We loved it!! Thank you Frank and Wendy!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

This house is exactly what we had in mind for our vacation. The location is ideal, with the canal in your backyard and the beach just down the street. The house has everything you could possibly need, including a multitude of beach games, of which we used many. Frank, the owner, is extremely helpful and easy to work with. He is very attentive in order to ensure that you have the best time possible. I would not hesitate to rent this house again and hope to do so in the near future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Will definitely rent again

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We rented the Happy Pelican at Ocean Isle Beach as a get-away for our 25th anniversary. The owner, Frank was friendly and helpful and communicated with us frequently through email and by phone to be sure our visit was a pleasant one.
There were a few glitches with things beyond his control, like the cable being out, and he was very prompt to do everything he could to resolve the issue.
The house was comfortable and well stocked making us feel like we were home, so much so we didn't want to leave. The weather was beautiful neither too hot or cool and Ocean Isle has plenty to offer in the way of dining and entertainment.
We have already started looking into when we can go again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Autum, We very much enjoyed hosting your vacation and that you had a great time. A break in the cable line feeding the lower bedrooms and living was discovered by the cable company and repaired. We appologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. Thanks for your patience in getting it resolved and for taking such great care of our home. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

My family are from all over the USA and chose to stay at Frank and Wendy's lovely home the first week of October 2011. We could not have asked for a homey and cozy lay out of the home. It accommadated our family members ranging from 10 yrs to 76 yrs of age very well. The home had everything that we could ask for... even a bread maker. Who would have thought. There deck faces the canal and each morning my family would meet on the deck to have coffee and sometimes breakfast. There was penty of room for all of us to move around on the decks. One of the nice surprises was how close the beach was from their home. It was an easy one and a half block walk. Very flat, even the oldest of us had no problems getting there. Another nice item they had in their home was binders of restuarants things to do around the area. Very helpful. We tried some of the restaurants that they recommended and we were not disappointed. My whole family had a great time at the Happy Pelican. I highly recommend the Happy Pelican to anyone that would like to stay on the coast. Frank was wonderful to work with and helpful. He kept me informed at all time. Thank you Frank for giving us the opportunity to stay at your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Very nice house-loved the openness, and the beach is just a short walk away, house was very well equiped. It was great not to have to take chairs/boogie boards/umbrella- all of those where provided. We didn't use the kayak/boats but I'm sure would be lots of fun- loved being on the canel, and sitting on the deck in the rocking chairs. Frank was terrific from the start of planning our trip, and checking on us during to see if we needed anything- We had a great time at Ocean Isle/Happy Pelican and hope to return again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A memorable family vacation

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had the most wonderful vacation at The Happy Pelican. Our kids and grandbabies spent the week with us and could not have had a better time. The house has so much to offer, it is fully stocked. It is like being in your own house, but only better, because the beach is within walking distance. We all said if we were to go back to Ocean Isle we would stay at the Happy Pelican again. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

July guests

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Our group of 3 families had a great stay in this very clean home. We enjoyed being on the canal-fishing, swimming, & enjoying the homes inflatable kayak. We also loved biking around the island. The house was well equipped for cooking. Our 7 adults and 5 kids slept comfortably. Our only negative issues were with the people who had just checked out-they hadn't put everything back correctly, which made it hard for us to know how things were suppose to be put back. Frank was great about everything & if we decide to stay@ OIB again, we would love to stay in The Happy Pelican again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location and thoughtful owners

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The Happy Pelican & Ocean Isle Beach was the perfect getaway for us this year. The community & the beach are both lovely. We had a very relaxing vacation. The beach house provided us with all we needed. We each had our own room and the 2 1/2 bathrooms are ideal. The fridge was spacious and chilled well. The large dining room table was great for mealtime or family game night. The toy room offered a nice selection of activities and amenities for our family. We enjoyed the hammack, also. We really couldn't ask for more. The owners provide a multitude of information via email and binders regarding local activities, eateries, etc. There were cold beverages in the fridge waiting our arrival, as well as, toilet paper & handsoap. We were reluctant for our vacation to end and would love to stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Easte Week 2011

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Happy Pelican during Easter week 2011. The house is beautiful, well-taken care of, and very spacious. It was easy for us to have a famimly reunion with lots of room and not be on top of each other! This is one of the nicest and most user-friendly houses I have ever stayed in! We definitely plan to return to the Happy Pelican whenever our schedules allow! Thanks Frank & Wendy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break at the Beach!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

We had a fabulous time relaxing on Ocean Isle Beach during the quiet month of April. We rode the bikes all over the island and totally loved every min. The house is large and roomy (the kitchen is a tight squeeze), we cooked in every meal but one and could have used a big frying pan and large sauce pans but made do with what the home had. Frank and Wendy had lots of beach toys, kites, bikes, chairs and other items for a fun time avaliable. We didn't get to use the kayak so I guess we will have to go again so we can. We have rented several vacation homes and truely enjoyed our stay here at the Happy Pelican. Frank stayed in touch with us prior to our trip and promptly returned our security deposit afterward. I am sure we will return again with the rest of our family.
Kathleen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks to all our guests for the feedback on things that will make a more enjoyable stay. An extra large frying pan and a larger sauce pan are a great idea. We'll pick them up before the next guest goes down. Frank and Wendy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Making it easy............

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Thanks Frank for making it easy. Your place was perfect for us when we needed a long weekend to recharge. Fish pics to follow..............

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

October Paradise

Review submitted: November 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

We spent a wonderful week at the Happy Pelican to celebrate our anniversary. The property was clean and nice and we really liked the setting on the canal and the fact we were still close to the beach. Frank was very helpful and considerate of our needs. He kept in contact with us throughout the process from the time we first expressed an interest in the Happy Pelican until we returned home. He was very helpful with all the information we needed including recommending some great restaurants in the area. Our favorites were the Inlet and Roberto's and it was helpful to have menus on all the restaurants in the house for us to look over. We also enjoyed the annual Oyster Fest with lots of live music and the food and craft vendors.

The weather was great all week and we certainly would recommend the Happy Pelican to our friends. It was so quiet the week we were there. We rode the bicycles all over the island and also appreciated having the beach chairs to use on our time at the beach. We have stayed in Cherry Grove Beach many times and appreciated the quietier setting.We will certainly return to the Happy Pelican again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

fishermans dream

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

The happy pelican was the best place i ever stayed like being at home. i really love the dock right out the back door nothing better than getting beat by the waves on a boat all day and come back to a house like this. Frank and Wendy go out of their way as much as they can to make it the best time for you and your family. We really enjoyed my stay there and i will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Overall good promimity to the beach and good amount of space in the home. Home could use some updating in bathrooms and kitchen. Additonally, couches are very uncomfortable in living room. With small upgrades, could be a great vacation home! Home owners are always available and personable. Nice deck with views of the canal.

Owners response: Many upgrades were performed at the end of the 2010 summer season. The dinning room chairs were replaced, new furniture in the living room, the ceilings in the kitchen and baths were resurfaced. We also replaced many appliances and repaired two windows that suffered broken air seals. In addition to general upkeep and maintenance we added more bikes and toys for our guests. Wendy and I strive to keep the house in tip top shape both inside and out for our quests. Please read all our guest reviews.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Satisfaction Guaranteed if you love family and fun

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

You definitely have the best of the "waterworlds." The canal for floating and relaxing in the water, and the ocean for the sounds and the beauty of its greatness. Our little grandson was so comfortable and happy there. Everything was as great as shown in the photos on this site. We went after the Labor Day and the summer rush and it was perfect. The house was so well stocked with whatever a family may need. Thank you for sharing your blessings with us. Hope to return sometime next year--off season!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We loved all of the toys!

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Two sisters and their families of 4 shared a great week at the Happy Pelican. There are two boys in each family, ages 12, 9,8, and 7 and they had a blast. One of the main reasons we chose this house was the awesome storage room and Frank & Wendy's generosity in sharing all of their equipment and fun stuff with us. We played so many morning and evening games of ping pong and corn hole in the shade under the house. We fished off the dock, we crabbed off the dock (not much luck, but fun nonetheless). Someone went kayaking every day (my favorite!) and we floated and relaxed in the canal one long, lazy afternoon. We biked and rolled the great beach cart stacked full of chairs, boogie boards, buckets, umbrella, etc. to the beach at leaset once a day, usually more. The house was clean and well-equipped - the kitchen was a tight squeeze and could use a bit more space for food storage (we cooked all but one night), but otherwise we had plenty of room. My sister and I took long walks and runs and were thankful that Ocean Isle is so mindful of pedestrians with sidewalks the length of the island.

Thanks so much for a great week and for serving as the back-drop to some quality sister time :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This house was exactly as described and perfect for our group of 13. The house had everything we needed and so much more. The kids enjoyed swimming off the dock, playing ping pong, laying the hammock, etc. And inside there was a loft area that was perfect for our little ones. We made all of our meals in the well stocked kitchen, so that was nice not eating out all the time. The area was so friendly and convenient. The grocery store was close by, the beach was just up the street, there was an ice cream shop in walking distance, a park for the kids to play, putt putt golf. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation experience.

Frank & Wendy are so great to work with. Frank's friendliness and willingness to answer my questions early on in the process of selecting a beach house was one of the many reasons why we chose the Happy Pelican. The price was also very affordable. Frank continued his hospitaltiy throughout the entire process and even after our vacation had ended.

Thank you Frank & Wendy for a vacation my family will never forget!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Home

Review submitted: August 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

The listing was very accurate and was even better than described . This is a lovely home with all the amenities needed. Lots of beach and canal toys as well as yard games and bikes.this is a well maintained.The owner was very helpful and easy to work with. He gave us good advice about restaurants and fun and games. I would recommend the Sugar Shack a Jamaican style restaurant and The Boundary House in Calabash.The planitarian was good and shopping in the little towns around was nice.By the way, a bike it rn@aol.commegamomis so nice and convienient

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

What a wonderful home. My family of 8 really enjoyed our time at Ocean Isle Beach. This home had everything to make for a wonderful week. There was plenty of room in this house and we loved sitting on the decks and dock every evening. The children loved swimming in the canal and being very close to the beach. We practically never left the island. Ocean Isle is the perfect place to vacation and our family has found our new vacation spot. The owners of this home were a gem to deal with!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Happy Pelican is the Perfect Location for a Happy Vacation in Ocean Isle

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Ocean Isle is our family's favorite destination for our vacation. Of all of the beach homes we have rented over the last 10 years the Happy Pelican is our favorite. There was plenty of room for our family of 10 and the home provided plenty of games, books and equipment to keep everyone busy. We especially enjoyed fishing from the dock, playing ping pong and relaxing on the back deck watching the sun set over the canal. The house is in a great location and made for an easy walk to the beach, even with 4 children under the age of 5. This was our first rental directly from an owner and Frank made the process extremely easy and pleasant for us. He provided tons of information about the home, the island and the restaurants and grocery stores located nearby. We loved our experience so much that we booked the same week next year. We are all counting down the days until our next trip to Ocean Isle Beach and the Happy Pelican!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

We loved the vacation home. This was our first time renting directly from owner and we were very impressed, a wonderful person to deal with. The rooms were large and very open. The large bath on the second floor was great. The beds slept very comfortable. My granddaughter and I loved the loft room. The walk to the beach was fine. Overall the place was great and we recommend this vacation home and would enjoy another visit.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Vacation Home

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

Our family of 10 vacationed in this home in May of this year and it is fabulous. It's a perfect home for families with kids - an upstairs loft that is perfect for the kids to play, fully stocked with games, books, stuffed animals, and even a TV w/DVD player. The home has a very open floor plan that makes it feel even larger than it really is. It is very bright and cheerfully decorated. In addition, the owner is very friendly and pleasant to deal with. We were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay in this home. We will come back! I would highly recommend this house for your vacation - you'll be very satisfied!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location

Review submitted: April 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

The owners were great to deal with, and we really enjoyed our time spent on Ocean Isle Beach. The walk to the beach was short and well worth the money saved from Oceanfront rentals. Excellent representation of the house on this website. The house is well equipped, 4 adults and 3 children had plenty of room to spread out. The back deck overlooking the canal was a place for lots of meals and great conversations, the rooftop deck was a nice addition for sunbathing and evening drinks. If we need to rent a place at Ocean Isle Beach again, we will definitely be in touch with Frank again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Sechrests' Rewiew

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

Our family recently spent 4 days at this beautiful canal home. It did indeed live up to the owners' descripton. The home was beautifully furnished and has been well maintained. We were especially impressed with the labeling of cabinets, drawers, etc. and did not have to hunt any item that we needed. The owner was very helpful in helping us find restaurants, grocery stores and places of interest. We would not hesitate for a moment to recommend this property to other members of our family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

Our large family rented this great house for New Years Week End and had a wonderful time together even it was very cold. Hope to come back in warmer weather. Would recommend to anyone who needs lots of sleeping space. Frank makes booking very easy. FK Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Having the dock on the canal was so convienent"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Great Home! We thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Having the dock on the canal was so convienent and worked out great for us. The proximity of the beach access and the parking was also a very welcome aspect of this home. We loved the openness of the home and the great deck out back on which we ate dinner almost every night. The beach was amazing this week, perfect for the kids and the weather was so nice for us! Overall we had a fantastic time & hope to come back next year. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Our week at the "Happy Pelican" was amazing"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Our week at the "Happy Pelican" was amazing. The weather and the environment was great! Your home was very comfortable and convenient to the beach. We spent a great deal of time on the back deck with the large bonus table and the rocking chairs were ??? restful. We appreciate you allowing us to enjoy your beach home. Hope to come again! Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Easy walk to the beach"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

The Happy Pelican was a wonderful place to rest and relax, the accommadations were very nice and comfortable. Easy walk to the beach. All the comforts of home. Would most definately stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"we were able to see several turtles hatch"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Comment left in guest book by guest: OIB was Great! Thank you so much for your hospitality. We had a great time and everyone enjoyed themslves. The house and accomodations were great. We loved the walk to the beach, collecting shells, but most of all, we were able to see several turtles hatch and watch them crawl into the ocean. Thank you! S* Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"deck was great in the evenings"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

The vacation was very relaxing. The back deck was great in the evenings. The area of the beach was great and not far from the house. The owners were easy to work with and informative. (esp. about the turtles) I wish them luck with their home, it is a gem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Good location"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Nice and clean cottage. Well stocked kitchen. Nice Deck. Comfortable beds. Could use more furniture in living room. Good location, short walk to beach. We brought our boat and had a blast. Owner very nice and easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Spacious and Kid Friendly"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

We really enjoyed the house and our stay at OIB - July 2009. We found it very spacious, kid friendly, covenient to everything and arranged to meet all our needs. We loved the deck, dock and canal. No need to bring anything - this house has it all and was clean as a whistle when we arrived. WIFI connection worked great for staying in touch! We look forward to visiting again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Comfortable and Clean"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

We stayed 7 nights in this comfortable and clean house. We had a goup of 10 people and all of us enjoyed this vacation very much. We liked the deck and outside hot shower. The beach is easy to walk to and not crowded. There are plenty rooms in the house for kids to play. We will surely be back again. Don't miss out this one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"excellent accommidations"

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Comment from the Guestbook dated 9/4/2009: Frank and Wendy; Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your beach house. It was very beautiful and relaxing. In our everyday life we are always so busy. Being here gave us some time special family time and at the same time it was very recreational and fun. Everyone had fun - from the smallest child to the oldest adult. The excellent accommidations were definitely great, and not to mention your hospitality towards us. Thank you and God Bless you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Soooo Nice!

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

Guest Comment entered by Homeowner:
Comment left in Guestbook by KD of Ohio. "This was SOOOO nice! What a beautiful place you have. We loved it! So relaxing! Thanks so much for letting us use it. We appreciate it so much!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Our large family rented this great house for New Years Week End and had a wonderful time together even it was very cold. Hope to come back in warmer weather. Would recommend to anyone who needs lots of sleeping space. Frank makes booking very easy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 20, 2009   Date of arrival: September 20, 2009

Comment left in Guestbook by KD of Ohio.

This was SOOOO nice! What a beautiful place you have. We loved it! So relaxing!

Thanks so much for letting us use it. We appreciate it so much!

KD Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Comment from the Guestbook dated 9/4/2009:

Frank and Wendy;

Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your beach house. It was very beautiful and relaxing. In our everyday life we are always so busy. Being here gave us some time special family time and at the same time it was very recreational and fun. Everyone had fun - from the smallest child to the oldest adult. The excellent accommidations were definitely great, and not to mention your hospitality towards us.

Thank you and God Bless you!

All the Families

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

We stayed 7 nights in this comfortable and clean house. We had a goup of 10 people and all of us enjoyed this vacation very much. We liked the deck and outside hot shower. The beach is easy to walk to and not crowded. There are plenty rooms in the house for kids to play. We will surely be back again. Don't miss out this one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

We really enjoyed the house and our stay at OIB - July 2009. We found it very spacious, kid friendly, covenient to everything and arranged to meet all our needs. We loved the deck, dock and canal. No need to bring anything - this house has it all and was clean as a whistle when we arrived. WIFI connection worked great for staying in touch! We look forward to visiting again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 17, 2009   Date of arrival: August 17, 2009

Nice and clean cottage. Well stocked kitchen. Nice Deck. Comfortable beds. Could use more furniture in living room. Good location, short walk to beach. We brought our boat and had a blast. Owner very nice and easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 12, 2009   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

The vacation was very relaxing. The back deck was great in the evenings. The area of the beach was great and not far from the house. The owners were easy to work with and informative. (esp. about the turtles) I wish them luck with their home, it is a gem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

Comment left in guest book by guest:

OIB was Great! Thank you so much for your hospitality. We had a great time and everyone enjoyed themslves. The house and accomodations were great. We loved the walk to the beach, collecting shells, but most of all, we were able to see several turtles hatch and watch them crawl into the ocean.
Thank you!
S* Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

The Happy Pelican was a wonderful place to rest and relax, the accommadations were very nice and comfortable. Easy walk to the beach. All the comforts of home. Would most definately stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

Our week at the "Happy Pelican" was amazing. The weather and the environment was great! Your home was very comfortable and convenient to the beach. We spent a great deal of time on the back deck with the large bonus table and the rocking chairs were ??? restful. We appreciate you allowing us to enjoy your beach home. Hope to come again!
Thank you so much!
K&TM & P&KW

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Great Home! We thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Having the dock on the canal was so convienent and worked out great for us. The proximity of the beach access and the parking was also a very welcome aspect of this home. We loved the openness of the home and the great deck out back on which we ate dinner almost every night. The beach was amazing this week, perfect for the kids and the weather was so nice for us! Overall we had a fantastic time & hope to come back next year.
Thank you!
The G*s

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 17, 2009   Date of arrival: June 17, 2009

GREAT ACCOMMODATIONS!!! We only stayed for 3 nights but we wished we could have had a whole week. Very nicely decorated and "CLEAN". The owners have a super supply of beach toys for children and additional games for youngsters, our grandchildren want to go back to play with the games and read the books!!! We also loved the outdoor shower with real hot water!!! Can't wait to return. Don't hesitate to book this gem.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review