reviews for: listing #80157 - Charleston, South Carolina Bed & Breakfast rental

Private Courtyard and Garden, 2 blocks from Slave Market
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Bed & Breakfast
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ansonborough
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $220 /nt

sort by:

Great Charleston Weekend!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Alice's garden cottage is a great apartment in a very nice residential neighborhood. As other reviews have mentioned, it is not a separate cottage per se, but an attached studio apartment to a lovely historic home. It is however, very private, in the back of the house with its own entrance.
It is a lovely accommodation, tastefully decorated and very clean. The owners give you a wonderful assortment of breakfast choices- bagels, juices, cereal, and fruit along with delicious pastries(cinnamon bread was especially tasty!) The apartment is stocked with coffee and teas, along with a bottle of wine. Very nice touches.
We took advantage of the hot tub after a long day of walking around the city and it was a great ending to the day. Very quiet in the back of the house, and very relaxing!
The off street parking is a definite bonus.
The location is great- easy walk to King St and the market area. There is grocery store within an easy drive, or several smaller markets within walking distance if you want to eat in. But, Charleston has such great restaurants within walking distance, you may not need a market!
The only issue we had was sketchy Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi is available, but we had to reboot several times.
Overall, this is an excellent accommodation, in a great location with many extra touches - breakfast, wine, hot tub - to enhance your stay. We would, without hesitation, recommend staying here on a trip to Charleston.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We'd love to have ya'll back. Anytime. se and b

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Hospitality, Great Location!

Review submitted: November 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay. Walked ALL OVER! Easy to get to most all areas in the historic district. The accommodations were just as pictured. Charming courtyard, comfortable bed, and cozy living space. Our hosts were lovely. Got good recommendations and enjoyed the hot tub. Thank you for your hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy stay in the Historic District

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 17, 2013

Our stay in this small apartment was carefully nurtured by our hosts, who live in the attachment main house. An ample and tasty array of breakfast items were provided, rolls, bagels, cereals, juice. David was quick to offer ideas for sightseeing and dining. The absolutely beautiful garden surrounding the pool was a delightful place to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. The two of us found the apartment to be efficient and comfortable. During our four night stay, we took a city tour, visited Ft. Sumter and Fort Moultrie, and walked the historic district with a guided tour on our smart phone. Although a car is not necessary in this great location, we appreciated the off-street parking provided. Our car enabled us to drive to the Magnolia Plantation and to have a delightful meal at RB's on Shem Creek, where we watched the dolphins frolic as we dined. The one minor flaw was a balky wi-fi connection, which worked OK with our laptops but not our smart phones. We would definitely recommend the cottage to any couple.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightfully Convenient

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at this B&B. Though attached to the rear of the main house, we found the cottage to be quiet and private. Alice and David are caring owners. Breakfast items were in our fridge upon arrival (muffins, cake, bagels, juice, wine, etc.) The studio type cottage is clean and inviting. It was cooler and somewhat rainy during our stay, so we did not use the pool or spa, but it is a lovely oasis. It was nice to have an off street parking place. We found no need to use our car as we were in walking distance of all the downtown restaurants and places of interest. We enjoyed lunch at Jestine's Kitchen and Gaulart & Maliclet, and dinner at Hank's and 82 Queen. The Charleston Museum (on the trolley stop) is quite interesting. The stop for the free trolley was roughly 5 blocks away on Broad St. near Meeting in front of the courthouse, and runs about every 15 minutes. We were able to obtain a map from the driver with its stops and schedule. Wear comfy shoes for lots of walking, but that makes it an adventure. Lots of Charleston site information in the cottage. Ample closet space, king bed, usable kitchenette & dining area. Bathroom has walk-in shower. It was very peaceful there. We walked everywhere and felt safe doing so. This B&B is a winner! Thanks, Alice & David

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home at a great location

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was an absolutely magical place. We adored the location, which is ideally located. Not only is it very convenient to walk to the shopping areas on King Street, but it is also very convenient to all the restaurants. I cannot stress how perfect this location is! Also, the landlords - David and Alice - are amazingly king and accomodating. Do yourself a favor and book this place right now.

Owners response: Thank you so much! Come back for your anniversary! We will love to have ya'll back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: November 21, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

This place is perfect for any couple looking for a great getaway. Loctation is unbelievable and the amenities that come with this place are great. No brainer here.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Private Apartment

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We stay in Charleston 4-5 times a year. We always stay off East Bay in the heart of the city. This B&B is a little off the beaten path, but gave us a whole new side of downtown Charleston to experience. We found new restaurants and felt like we had our own little apartment just for us. We usually go to Destin every year for the fourth, but will be staying here from now on. The pool was wonderful to come back and realx in the heat of the day. Can't wait to stay here again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Two Sisters

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

Our whole experience in the lovely carriage house was exceptional. The pool was a welcome retreat from touring, and the location's proximity to the historical area perfect: nearby, but quiet. We would certainly recommend this property to others, and if we were in the area, we would surely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Honeymoon in Charleston

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

We stayed in the Carriage House for the last five days of our Honeymoon. The location is great. We walked to many of Charleston's attractions and restaurants. The only advice I have for potential guests, is to realize the Carriage House is actually attached to the main home on the property. We were under the assumption that it was a separate building, but it's actually tacked onto the back of the main house. We still felt fairly secluded, but would have appreciate this info before we booked. The room is very nice, as is the bed and bathroom. The pool is pretty and we enjoyed the hot tub on a couple of occasions. The owners were helpful and accommodating, and the breakfast was lovely. We would suggest this place to anyone, but remember, it's not a separate structure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

TN Painter

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

Extraordinary property--the perfect place to relax --looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible. The owner was so kind and accommodating, yet totally non-intrusive. The booking agent left no detail out in the reservation process either. The cottage was lovely, and I've never seen a place that provided absolutely everything, plus so many special touches. The homemade goodies and stocked refrigerator items were perfect. The pool and garden area could not have been more beautiful. It's a place that you don't want to LEAVE.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Charming Honeymoon Stay

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2011

We stayed at the cottage for our honeymoon in July 2011. The location was private, but close enough to walk to most Charleston attractions: King Street, the Battery, etc. We only used our car one day to drive out to Sullivan's Island. For the other two days of our stay, we walked everywhere, and the shaded garden and pool were great after long days of walking in the July heat. We would definitely recommend this cottage to other couples looking for lodging in the Charleston area!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We love romance! and the cottage surely is the place for it. and, what better city than Charleston? thanks, and please come back soon! Sara Edi

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Stay!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

The attached cottage was pretty and quaint! Only thing I felt that wasn't accuarate was that it's more of a studio than a one bedroom cottage. That was not a problem for us...however if you are staying with someone who perhaps will be sleeping on the couch, there is no privacy whatsoever in terms of sleeping arrangement.

The property was beyond cleaned and maintained! The home, the cottage, the grounds...pool, etc. all charming.

The owners were gracious with us, and greeted us warmly upon arrival and were friendly but not intrusive. Left wonderful morning goodies in the cottage for us to munch on during our stay. Great having use of the patio and grill as well.

I would most certainly recommend this proprty to friends. Especially parties of couples.

Be prepared to bring walking shoes. Charleston was fairly laid out (not smaller like Savannah) and we did quite a bit of walking. The cottage is not at the epi-center of the action it's down a lovely residential area so you'll have to be prepared to walk a few blocks to the Pineapple Fountain, etc.

Lovely!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Honeymoon Spot

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

This is the perfect little bed and breakfeast for our honeymoon. We looked at many places in Myrtle Beach, but then fond this nice quiet place in Charleston and we are so glad we did. The bed and breakfeast is in a quiet neighborhood in beautiful Historic Downtown Charleston. Plenty of things to do within walking distance; nice walk on the harbor, carriage rides, the market, resturants and much more. The owners were very nice and helpful with recommendations on activities and dining. Also great communication and recommendations prior to the visit. Nice beaches, aquarium, aircraft carries and more withing short driving distance. There was so much to do we ran out of time to do everything we wanted. We highly reccommend this for couples, quiet and rommantic. We loved Charleston and plan on a return visit soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hey guys, so glad your honeymoon was wonderful! and that you were pleased with the cottage. very romantic, I know. So, come back next year! thanks, Sara Edi

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Honeymoon Spot

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

This is the perfect little bed and breakfeast for our honeymoon. We looked at many places in Myrtle Beach, but then fond this nice quiet place in Charleston and we are so glad we did. The bed and breakfeast is in a quiet neighborhood in beautiful Historic Downtown Charleston. Plenty of things to do within walking distance; nice walk on the harbor, carriage rides, the market, resturants and much more. The owners were very nice and helpful with recommendations on activities and dining. Also great communication and recommendations prior to the visit. Nice beaches, aquarium, aircraft carries and more withing short driving distance. There was so much to do we ran out of time to do everything we wanted. We highly reccommend this for couples, quiet and rommantic. We loved Charleston and plan on a return visit soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Pied a Terre in Great Neighborhood

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We would definitely like to rent this charming little apartment again on a future trip to Charleston. The studio apartment is small, but nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed. The private pool/garden area was exceptionally nice. We enjoyed having breakfast and sometimes lunch in the private garden and lounging comfortably in the shade or sun around the pretty pool. The water temperature was perfect when we were there (early May)! The apartment is located on a beautiful street, and is extremely convenient, yet quiet and private. The owners were lovely to us and we look forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Southern Belle...

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

My husband and I had a marvelous stay in the carriage house and certainly would love to have a return visit. The interior was very nice and accomadating. The lush garden area was very relaxing and the pool inviting. The home is located in the heart of the historic district and within walking distance to King St. which has many, many nice shops, restaurants, etc. If your legs give out call one of the pedi-cabs which are fun and efficient. The owners are extra nice. We will certainly tell others to stay here!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! Very sweet review, now come back next year, we'd love to have you back, and now you know your way around! thanks, Sara Edi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Holiday Getaway

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

My husband and I knew we made the right choice when we turned onto the street! The historic distric is just amazing and the location of this cottage is a perfect location for walking anywhere and everywhere in downtown Charleston. The cottage was perfect and we cant wait to come back. The pool and hot tub are an added bonus. Our hosts were very friendly and left us all sorts of goodies in the fridge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

If you are looking for a fabulous Charleston Cottage look no further! This place is a real gem!

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

My fiancé and I spent 5 nights at the Cottage in August 2010. Charleston is a favorite destination of ours, having visited 5 times, and this place is by far the best we have stayed at. Nothing beats the great location, parking spot, and pool! Each afternoon we were sure to come back for a dip in the pool to cool off and relax. The backyard is a true gem in the city! The cottage itself has a great king size bed, washer/dryer, small refrigerator, and stove top. We cooked our breakfast each morning (after we ate the yummy breakfast pastries that were left for us upon our arrival). The Washer/Dryer came in very useful, and we can back from our vacation with no dirty laundry. All in all our stay at the Charleston Garden Cottage truly exceeded all expectations, and we plan on staying here again the next time we are in Charleston.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Choice!

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: May 25, 2010

We loved the location of this property. We walked all over Charleston and enjoyed every minute! The hosts were helpful and the hot tub was great! We loved the privacy provided. The breakfast food was light and healthy. Just what we were looking for. Would highly recommend!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review