reviews for: listing #80197 - Chincoteague Island, Virginia Condo rental

Another Day in Paradise - Sunset Bay Villas
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Bay Villas
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $325 /nt
    $950 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

What you see is what you get.

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

We had a wonderful first visit to Chincoteaque staying in the Switzer's beautiful condo. Everything was as described and easily accessible for our group including my 90-year-old mother. The view over the bay was delightful, and the condo was spotless. Annie went above and beyond to make sure we had a good stay, even calling us to let us know a rocket was to be sent off from Wallops Island one evening. We took the Daisey boat tour which was very informative, and our captain made sure we got to see the ponies. We toured Assatateaque and got to see a few ponies there, also as well as walking on the beach. On a rainy day we went to the NASA visitor center and enjoyed that. We had brought food for our breakfasts and lunches and enjoyed dinners at Bill's, Don's and Maria's. The ice cream at the Creamery was the best!. I would highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Rosa,

Thanks so much for your nice review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Unit 103. We strive to make both of our condos a comfortable and clean get-away for our guests. We are always happy to hear nice feedback. It sounds like you explored the different activities the Island has to offer. Taking a boat tour is always a great choice. We hope you will come back again some time soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A place to unwind

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We needed a place to get away from busyness. When we opened the door, we were taken back by the roominess of the condo. This was our first time trying this kind of vacation, so didn't know what to really expect. We were pleasantly surprised. It was absolutely beautiful. It was big enough for the younger kids to have fun hanging out, yet cozy enough to just stretch out. The kitchen was so workable for six people. I was a little concerned about the pool, until we walked over and found it to be just the right size. Clear water, nice breeze, very clean. We tried our hand at miniature golfing and the older kids took to the street, walking from shop to shop, biking and a whole lot more. we got an added bonus. Because of the weather, the fireworks were delayed one day, so we stood out on the deck and watch a fantastic display of celebration. When we were able to sit out on the deck right off from the BEAUTIFUL master bedroom and living room, the water lapping against the boat slips, an occasional seagull wanting to be heard, helped to create a sense of tranquility.
Thanks Annie and Todd for providing your home to weary travelers. Should we decide to take this kind of vacation again, we will definitely be calling. BTW Thanks for the cookies. They were yummy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Absolutely loved it !! Our family had a great time,very clean,cookies were delicious from the owners, we definitely stay again and recommend the villa.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Ben & Stacey,

Thank you for your very kind review. It was such a pleasure to meet your family. Our girls were on the same schedule at the pool as your daughter who is so sweet. Katelyn loved playing with her at the pool. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our condo. We would love to host your family again any time. Thanks again.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Restful time

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

We had a thoroughly restful time here. Comfortable bed and well-equipped condo. Within easy walking distance to the town, shops, and restaurants. Appreciated having the free wi-fi. Renters should be advised, though, that the availability of some TV channels is limited.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Susan,

We are so glad you had a relaxing stay! We also love the location of our condo where you can walk to restaurants and shopping. We offer the DirecTV Family Package in our unit. We are sorry to hear it was missing channels you would have liked to have. We do hope you will come back again!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 17, 2014

My family and I were pleasantly surprised with the size of the condo! It was gorgeous inside and out...we enjoyed hanging out inside after our days out. There's plenty to do, places to worship and places to eat that will satisfy everyone. We will definitely come again and refer others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Judy,

Thanks so much for your nice review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay over Easter. We are happy that you & your family found our condo to be accommodating. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we would be glad to have you back any time.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly "Another Day in Paradise" at Chincoteague!

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend with family & parents. In spite of the cool weather, we were able to sit on back porch and take in the beautiful scenery. Daughter got a gorgeous sunset picture on Saturday night. Place was exactly like photos; even better! Annie was great to rent from!!! She was very informative about the place and the island. We usually use a local business to rent from, but would rent from her again in a minute! It's been great getting to know you, Annie. Thanks so much & God Bless!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Colleen,

Thanks so much for the nice review! I enjoyed getting to know you as well. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Chincoteague is a special place, and we are always happy to help our guests plan their stays. We hope you will come back again soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Great Visit - our 3rd year!

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Chincoteague and our 3rd staying in this condo unit. On our first visit we stayed in a hotel for a week but nothing can compare to staying in this condo. We love staying here and when we've had friends come with us to stay they love it as well. It feels like home to us. The condo is beautifully decorated and has everything that you could want/need for your stay. Annie and Todd (the owners) are quick to answer any questions that you may have about the area and to suggest various activities. We have never had any issues during our stays where we've had to call them to have something fixed but the first year we stayed the fridge broke and they had a new one installed right before we arrived. They called us in advance to let us know this and then a few days later followed up to make sure that everything was working correctly. The Island is so relaxing - there is plenty to do if you want to be active and also plenty to do if you want to be "lazy" - the view from the deck is wonderful and we do spend a fair amount of time out there reading, lazying about, and watching the boats go by while our son catches crabs and fishes right off the dock. Can't wait for our Summer 2014 visit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Barbara,

Thank you for your nice review! It's really nice when our guests make visiting our Chincoteague condo part of their an annual family vacations. When I think of our experiences with vacation rentals and what makes us go back, the best ones are well maintained, decorated nicely, but also feel like home. I'm glad our condo feels that way for your family. Hope you enjoy your upcoming stay in July!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slightly Disapointed

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

The unit was well furnished and tidy although the cleaning staff overlooked a couple of items: the trash can by the kitchen had a leak from a previous renter that left a brown liquid stain on the floor which we cleaned up, there were lip marks on some of the glasses, we killed well over a dozen flies which had a nest by the door to the patio. Also, the pool was a bit untidy with food scraps lying about on the deck. We received a surprise visit from the owner and her daughter with a gift of candy. She was very nice although this was an unscheduled interruption. We did enjoy our stay. The view and the location were great.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed by your stay at the end of last summer. I wish you had called me at the time. We would have taken care of it for you right away. My cell phone number is in the guest book and on the fridge in case there are any issues with our condo. Our cleaner (who lives right on the Island) would have cleaned under the trash can for you as well as washed any kitchen items that the previous guests did not clean properly. Sometimes our guests leave the screen doors and sliders open allowing flies to come in, but I have never seen a nest of any type in our condo. Again, had I known, our local cleaner would have taken care of it right away. The community pool, which is a rare amenity on the Island, is not an area our cleaners would be responsible for. There are signs at the swimming pool asking guests to dispose of their own trash in the receptacles located in all of the corners of the pool area. Since we did meet briefly when I dropped off fudge from the Island Creamery, I wish you would have mentioned this to me. We strive to maintain a very high quality vacation rental and hope that our future guests will understand that occasionally a guest will be disappointed despite your best efforts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Water, Birds and Sunsets ...

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Thank you so much for renting your beautiful home to us! We had a wonderful time, and I love your decor! Most of all I loved seeing the water, birds and sunsets ... all gifts from God. He is so awesome! God bless you & your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Thanks for sharing your home with us. Perfect place to catch up with friends coming to the Island for a wedding. Beautiful weather, beautiful wedding, and such a beautiful place to call "home" for the weekend. Annie, thanks for being so easy to work with. We look forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Time

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We had a fantastic time, our 3rd time at this property. We biked to the beach 4 times. We made many new friends. We went to a pony show. We ate crabs from the dock. And the highlight of our trip was saving a beached dolphin on the beach! Many thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Vacation We've Had

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us the chance to stay in your beautiful home. We had such a wonderful time on the island. The kids had a blast crabbing off the dock with all the other kids staying in the complex. We were excited to see the ponies and Sunny & Dawn (ponies at Days Inn)! We spent the days at the beach and the nights having ice cream, fires on the beach, and bungee jumping at the amusement park. It was the best vacation the girls & I have had. We'll definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Trip To Chincoteague

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Thank you for making our first trip to Chincoteague special. It was a pleasure and an added delight running into you. We really enjoyed all the pony festivities, the shopping on Main Street and especially Island Creamery (yummy!). We are all so sad to leave - one week at the beach is just never enough!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Most Beautiful, Peaceful, and Friendly Place!

Review submitted: October 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

The most beautiful, peaceful - and friendly place we've ever visited! Our family has enjoyed this stay. I know we'll be back. Annie, thank you for making us so comfortable. We enjoyed meeting you. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Getaway

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We stayed two nights over Labor Day weekend. The condo is beautiful. Tasteful decor, and wonderful open layout. It had a spacious and roomy feel which our family of five appreciated. We loved the porch and dock first thing in the morning. Nice walkable location and of course, beautiful sunsets. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Amanda,

We are so glad to hear you & your family enjoyed your last minute trip to Chincoteague. Thanks very much for your nice review of Unit 103. We love it at Sunset Bay for many of the reasons you mentioned. The condos have an open layout and wonderful views. We would be happy to host your family again some time soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Yet!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

Chincoteague was the first vacation my little girls and I have had alone since my divorce. Staying at the Sunset Bay Villas was absolutely perfect for us! They crabbed in the morning and played with all the other children in the villas in the evening. The condo was gorgeous and well maintained! We couldn't ask for a better place. The view out the master bedroom and off the deck was spectacular. The décor in the condor fit perfectly with the location. I wouldn't change a thing!
Annie was very helpful and easy to contact with any questions I had. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a family vacation or a romantic get away!
Thanks so much Annie for providing us with the perfect place to make lasting memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sabrina,

We are so happy that our condo provided a nice place for you to spend time with your girls! Thanks so much for your kind review. We were drawn to Chincoteague and Sunset Bay for many of the reasons you mentioned. It was a peaceful getaway for us the year I lost my Mom. Chincoteague is a special place, and from what we hear many families make lasting memories here.

We do hope you come back again some time soon. Thanks again.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful spot!

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful extended family vacation on Chincoteague island. The condo was very clean and well appointed and we enjoyed daily sea breezes through the screen door to the porch as well as beautiful sunsets each night. The pool was refreshing after a day spent at the beach, or after walks to the quaint town to enjoy the shops and some ice cream. Perfect spot for families to get away and enjoy some quality down time. Owners are very friendly and easy to deal with and very responsive with any/all questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Penny,

Thanks so much for your nice review. We are so glad you and Trish enjoyed renting both our units for your extended family vacation. You were both so nice to deal with. We are really glad you enjoyed our condos and staying at Sunset Bay. We do hope you will come back again soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pure Bliss

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

I have been coming to Chincoteague for close to 40 years and have stayed at camping spots, hotels, and cottages. This stay was simply the best in terms of everything-comfort, amazing water views, luxury, and location. The owners think of everything in terms of kitchen appliances and utensils. The other residents there are very friendly and we met some nice people. Will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Becky,

Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Unit 103. The views and the sunsets are my favorite part also. I'm so glad we got a chance to meet in person. We would love to host you & the other ladies again some time soon.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Times!

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. Everything was great, and you went above and beyond to make sure all our needs were met. This was our first trip to Chincoteague, and we thoroughly enjoyed the island. We took the Daisey's boat tour, explored Assateague, Wallops Visitors Center (on a rainy day), ate at Bill's, Don's, and Maria's and hit as many ice cream shops as possible. Great times!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll Be Back ...

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! This was our first visit to Chincoteague and we loved it! We love all the wild life - birds, birds, & more birds! Took a boat tour with Captain Barry and learned so much about the island, its history and its creatures!! Beach is fantastic! We'll be back ... Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Very Beautiful Place

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2013

Thank you for opening your home to us on our first trip to Chincoteague Island. You have a very beautiful place. It was great to work with you on such short notice :) You did everything that you could to help us out and made our time an enjoyable one. Hopefully, we will be back in the near future :) May God bless you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Trip to Chincoteague

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We so enjoyed staying in your lovely home for our first trip to Chincoteague! We had a wonderful time - saw the bald eagle on the wilderness loop and the Spring Round-up of ponies. We enjoyed the beach even in the cold, and the kids rode ponies at the Pony Centre. We managed to squeeze in Captain Zack's, Don's, Bill's, Maria's, and the Island Creamery ... and Sugarbaker's for breakfast 2 mornings (and maybe 1 more tomorrow on our way out of town). We enjoyed the Chincoteague Museum a lot too! We hope to come back again to stay some day! Thanks,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We rented this condo and fell in love. It is immaculate, beautiful and just wonderful being there. The owner is wonderful to work with and was very attentive to our satisfaction and comfort. The view is gorgeous, looking out over the water with the sunsets and the dock is right at the deck. The town is in walking distance from the condo with fun gift shops, restaurants and ice cream.
A must is to ride on the boats to see the ponies, what a wonderful experience. Wish we had time to kayak in the area. What a wonderful trip and we will definitely be back to this condo.
Thank you for making this a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Holly & Marvin,

It was great meeting you! It's always nice when get to meet our guests. We are so glad you loved Unit 103 as much as we do. The location and views at Sunset Bay are our favorite features as well. Thanks so much for your very nice review of our property! We do hope you will be back some time soon. Thanks again.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Sunset Bay Villas! The condo is beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable for our stay. It was conveniently located and the owners were wonderful with helping suggest things to do during our stay. We went to many of the restaurants, the beach, and the Spring round up pony penning. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Rebecca,

We are so glad your family enjoyed your Spring Break getaway. Chincoteague is a great place for a family vacation any time of year! We're happy to hear that you had a nice stay and would love to host your family again some time soon.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First Visit to Chincoteague

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Thanks for a wonderful place to stay! Everything was super clean and comfortable. We have thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Chincoteague ... Exactly the "R & R" that we were looking for. Love the condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Place to Watch the Kids Grow

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

Dear Switzer Family,

Thank you so much for opening your vacation home for us to enjoy this past weekend. The kids had a wonderful time crabbing & fishing off the dock, and we all enjoyed these lovely accommodations. This is such a great place to watch the kids "grow" over the years as Chincoteague has become our favorite place to get away in August each year (after swim & dive season is over at home). I hope your girls come to love it as much as we do - ENJOY!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Mid-Winter Stay

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Wonderful accommodations & nice view from front. Weather was a mixture of wind, sun, rain, and snow on Saturday night. Sunday, we visited Assateague Beach and the light house. We could see the ponies from a distance and the beautiful birds & ducks. It was a return visit for 3 of us and 1 first time visit. We all want to come back again as we love Chincoteague - friendly people and the lovely homes & sunset views. We enjoyed the personal touches in the condo and the lighted tree in the living room. Good times with friends and relaxation for all in the middle of winter.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Will Be Remembered for a Long Time to Come

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

Dear Switzer Family, Todd, Annie & the girls,

Greetings from California! Thank you so much for opening your comfortable & beautiful home to us. We enjoyed ourselves immensely!! The kids naturally gravitated toward the thoughtfully decorated rooms. LOVE the pony wall painting. It just made us so happy being @ Chincoteague. We especially felt blessed by the perfect weather of 70 to 75 degrees. We took a boat tour on the waters, choppy yet really adventurous for the boys flying on top of the waves. The sky was the vibrant blue background when we visited the Lighthouse to take in the breathtaking views! The kids got to do the Jr. ranger & Naturalist programs @ the Nature Preserve and Assateague National Seashore and got their badges & patches!! Most of all, we got to see the wild ponies grazing in the salt marshes. On top of that, a bald eagle graced us with his appearance perched nearby. We are grateful and feel so blessed. This will be remembered for a long time to come. Thank you!!!

PS: we had a pre-dinner snack at the Creamery - yum yum :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

After Many Years of Camping, the Condo was a Treat

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful visit to Chincoteague & staying in your beautiful condo. After years of camping here, it was a treat to stay in such a nice place. Also enjoyed Captain Charlie's boat tour very much. Learned a lot of local history.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ladies Weekend at the Beach

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

Your home is such a wonderfully hospitable place! We enjoyed our stay in Chincoteague for the long weekend and sampled the local seafood, ice cream, and wine. We were able to take advantage of the wildlife refuge and the beach. It was the perfect getaway for an enjoyable girls' weekend. Your beautifully decorated home with a view will be recommended to friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couldn't Ask for More!

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

Your place is beautiful! Couldn't ask for more! Thank you so much for allowing us to stay for our short visit. We relaxed, shopped, toured the island, and ate!! Will absolutely recommend this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Until Next Summer

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Another wonderful week in your lovely condo. Thank you so much! We enjoyed Woody's, Island Creamery, Assateague Kayak tour, and lots of biking and time at the beach. Didn't move our car all week, only transport was by bike. Wonderful! Until next summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already Planning Our Next Trip

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We had such a wonderful time here. The kids fed the seagulls and ducks from the dock. We went crabbing almost every night. The Seashell Cafe and Captain Zack's were our favorite places to eat. We hiked to the light house and climbed to the top. We saw the ponies and a bald eagle on the boat. We went to the beach a few times. We also went to the shops almost every day. We enjoyed the sunset from the porch every night. The condo was beautiful and relaxing. Thank you for letting us stay here. We are planning our next trip. Until next time take care & thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderfully, Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

Thanks so much for the use of your beautiful condo. We had an absolute blast and a wonderfully relaxing vacation at the same time. Woody's was excellent, and the wildlife tour on Assateague was breathtaking. For future vacationers, we recommend a cruise. Thanks again for a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Needed More Time

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to rent your wonderful & lovely condo. We had a great time - only issue we had was we ran out of time! We had a whole list of other things we wanted to do. Such an experience for our grandchildren - they crabbed, biked, went to the beach, kayaked, fished, and had a great time. We are already making plans for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

The condo is beautiful and immaculate. The appliances and decor are all up to date and allowed for us to enjoy the nights we stayed in for dinner (which we did often since we have a 3 year old). We had relaxing nights on the deck and loved hanging out on the docks in the morning watching the ducks and boats go by. We walked to Bill's for breakfast (which is amazing) which was great because we didn't have to deal with a steaming hot car or car seats. Anne and Todd were always available for any questions too - very professional and just down right nice. I would highly recommend to anyone and would book another trip (as soon as I have more vacation time!).

Owners response: Hi Heather,

Thanks so much for your nice review. We are always happy when we hear that our guests found our condo comfortable and relaxing. It was a pleasure hosting you & your family. We hope to see you back some time soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Another Great Stay

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at "Another Day in Paradise" and same as last year it didn't disappoint. The condo is beautifully decorated, well stocked, and clean. It's like staying at your own house. We stayed longer than a week this time and still felt sad to be going home. We always try something new each year and this year we kayaked around Assateague and also explored the surrounding area a bit - Pocomoke City and Berlin, MD. Annie and Todd are great hosts - very responsive with answers to any questions that you may have and also very knowledgeable about the area. We hope to be back next year again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Barbara,

It was so nice to see you & your family again during 4th of July week. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and got to try some new things. We love to hear that our condo felt like home. It makes vacations a lot less stressful for families if it has the comforts of home. After all these years, we never want to leave either. I think it's just something about Chincoteague. We hope to see you again next year!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our wonderful accommodations!

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful experience in Chincoteague during our recent stay at Sunset Bay Villa which we rented from the Switzers. Every room was so beautiful. Two sliding glass doors leading to the deck allowed us to relax outside and enjoy the view of the water and the sunsets. Everything was clean and inviting and there were even little "extras" from puzzles to music CDs. We had a great time!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Dottie,

We're so glad you had a nice stay! Thanks so much for your nice review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. We hope will you will visit again some time soon.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Spacious, comfortable and well decorated condo with spectacular view overlooking the bay

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

I spent a girls weekend getaway with four of my girlfriends at this property and have to say that we thoroughly enjoyed staying in this Sunset Bay villa. It was well appointed (even better decorated than my own home) and had a large common area that fit the 5 of us more than comfortably. The owner, Annie, was extremely helpful in providing local recommendations and was very responsive throughout the entire rental process.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Andrea, Todd & I are so happy to hear you liked our condo as much as we do. It is a great place to relax! I always love to host ladies groups, especially Moms with young kids since we definitely deserve a relaxing getaway! We do hope to have you stay with us again some time soon. Thanks so much for your kind review. Annie

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Sunset Bay Villas 2012

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

The house is very clean and well furnished. The location is ideal and the property offers many things to do for the entire family. We greatly enjoyed and took advantage of many things from crab fishing out the back patio, swiming in the pool, cooking great meals in the large kitchen, and walking/biking all over town.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Jeff & Caroline,

It was great to meet you & your family this summer. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our condo. It's always nice when guests come back again. Thanks for your very nice review. Hope to see you again next summer!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pleasant condo in Chincoteague

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

We have stayed at this condo three times. Each time was an enjoyable experience.
It was spacious and clean. The condo is on the first floor with a porch over looking a channel from the bay. Our grandchildren enjoyed crab fishing from the deck and playing with other children. We found the location convenient, walking distance to the local grocery store and not far from the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Jo-Ann, As always, it was a pleasure to host you & your family. We are always happy when we hear that our guests enjoy our condo for the same reasons we do. We hope everyone is well rested and that your grandchildren are ready to go back school. Thanks again for choosing to rent our condo. Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Chincoteague weekend

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This condo was great for our weekend with family. Spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. Fun to sit in the great room and watch the boats pass by. The master bedroom is lovely. Parking was easy. Would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Elizabeth,

Thank you for your very nice review. We're so happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed your stay! The view of the bay is great. We also love watching the boats go by (especially our kids). We would love to have you back again some time.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Chincoteague Location!

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

All four of us in our party loved Annie and Todd's place at Sunset Bay Villas. We loved the location and the open floor plan. It was great to be able to walk into the shopping and eating areas, and the sunset views were really nice!

Perhaps because it was early in the season we did have a couple little hiccups with the property, but nothing that would keep us from coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Gary, We're so glad you & your family enjoyed your stay at our condo. You mentioned all the things we love about our condo as well: location, floor plan, and views. We have replaced the missing/broken wine corkscrews and were unable to duplicate the issue where the ice came out of the dispenser on its own. We will look into it further since it is a 9 month old fridge and is still under warranty :) Thanks again for your nice review. We would love to have you all back again some time. Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Delight

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

I decided to spend a few days in Chincoteague with a friend visiting from Colorado about a week prior. I usually stay in one of the B&B's or island motels but thought it would be nice to have the convenience of a kitchen and separate bedrooms especially since some of the restaurants were not yet open for dinner every night. I selected this condo very quickly and was fortunate to pick a place owned by a very professional young woman who spent a considerable amount of time explaining the rental process as well as the amenities of the condo and recommendations for activities. The condo was in excellent condition, beautifully decorated, fully equiped with kitchen utensils and basic supplies and has a nice view of the Chincoteague Bay. It was more than we needed for the 2 of us considering we only stayed for 2 nights. I would have preferred to have at least a week but my friend had to return home. I've been going to Chincoteague for 30 years but had never taken a nature cruise. Thanks to the owner for recommending it as we had a phenominal experience with a knowledgable and easy going tour guide. I highly recommend Captain Spider.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dorothy,

We're so glad that you & Sheri enjoyed your stay. We always wish we could stay longer when we are there, too :) Chincoteague is that kind of special place, and we find our condo so relaxing, too. We also had not taken a nature cruise in almost 9 years of going to Chincoteague. It really is a great experience, and we're so glad you enjoyed it as much as we did. We hope you will come back again some time soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanksgiving at the Beach!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful off-season vacation! We loved the cute shops downtown, the awesome seafood at Bill's, and the beautiful tree-lighting ceremony. Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Love to Get Notes from Our Young Guests!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Thank you for making our Veteran's Day holiday so much fun. My sister and I loved the ponies, the beach, the seafood, and playing on the dock.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope to Make It Back to This Beautiful Island

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We loved it here! Your condo is wonderful. We would love to come back here again! If we lived a little bit closer, we would come back here more often. Maybe in a couple of years we will make it back to this beautiful island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'd Love to Come Back!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We had the most wonderful trip! The condo was just beautiful and the view was breathtaking, too. What a great city - we shopped, rented bikes, went to the beach, museum, saw the ponies walked down the beach, rented kayaks to see the Pony Swim, went to the auction, and flew kites! Oh, and crabbing was a highlight, too! We loved the chance to meet your sweet family, too! Thanks for entrusting us with your home ... We'd love to come back! Best,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach, Pool, and the Island Creamery

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We had a very nice week on the Island, several trips to the beach & pool interrupted by visits to the Creamery. Great accomodations. Thank you for the use of your home. Location & facilities are super!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Until Next Time ...

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Chincoteague. We had a great time on our 1st trip and an even better time on our 2nd trip. We crabbed right off the dock - with excellent success, went to the beach, took a sunset cruise (with Daisey's Dockside - excellent!), rented jetskis, and went to the beach & pool. Both relaxing and fun. The condo was great - we are very happy that we were able to stay here. Until next time ...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Road Trip from Boston

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Happy Friday the 13th! We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The condo is beautifully decorated and so comfortable. Thank you for allowing us to stay here. We love Chincoteague - and Bill's really is the best restaurant!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Spot for a Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Dear Switzers,

We really enjoyed our stay here in Chincoteague. We found lots of fun things to do & enjoyed some quiet time, too. This is a great spot for a family vacation!! Thank you for the terrific accomodations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo Was Heaven!

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

Dear Annie, Todd, & girls,

This was a wonderful mini vacation for our family. My grandaughter discovered crabbing & had a wonderful time doing it. It was great coming back to Chincoteague after being away for so many years. Thank you for sharing the condo - it was heaven. Annie, we followed your advice on the many things to do on the island. Once again thank you for opening your beautiful condo to us. We had a wonderful stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great during the off-season too

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Annie and Todd,
Thank you so much for letting us use your spacious vacation home during our Memorial Day getaway. Our daughters loved seeing the ponies and driving on the beach. The seafood in and around Chingoteague is outstanding and we enjoyed it all the more by using your fully stocked kitchen. Although only 3 hours from Washington, Chincoteague seems a world away from the hustle and bustle of the beltway. Thanks again and we hope to visit your beautiful part of the world again soon. Regards, Mark and Laura Lambert

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mark & Laura,

We're so happy to hear your family enjoyed Chincoteague & our condo as much as we do. November & December are still a beautiful time in Chincoteague. Also, we loved the note your daughter left in our guest book. We hope you will come back again some time soon.

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family escape

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Very pleasant, clean and well furnished accomodations. Crabbing right out the back door and dolphins passing by. Great location just a few blocks from quaint and charming main street with funky shops, decent restaurants, and a grocery store. Our family of four (two kids 6 and 3) biked everywhere, to the beach, to great ice cream, and through the nature reserve. After parking our car, we never used it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Jeff,

We're so glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay at our condo. It is a great location, and the Island has lots of fun activities for families. Thanks for your really nice review. We hope you'll come back again some time!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Montreal Famiy

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

Lovely condo, great for a family to chill out and enjoy. Kids loved the pool and being next to the water. Bit off the beaten track but thats the cool bit.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Paul & Gill,

We're glad your family was able to relax at our condo. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Chincoteague during your trip to the US. Thanks!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeded our Expectations!!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Truly a beautiful condo...so spacious and an incredible view with easy access to the marina! Very smooth experience and wonderful memories for our family! We are hooked and will definitely be back! Thanks so much, Annie and Todd!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Bonnie & Rick,

It was so nice to meet you & your family. We're so glad you enjoyed your time there & the Pony Swim. It was a pleasure hosting your family!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Memorial Day Weekend Getaway Ever!

Review submitted: July 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We had an absolutely wonderful time staying in Todd and Annie's beautiful and immaculately clean condo! The sunset views were gorgeous as were the peaceful mornings spent on their very private deck overlooking the water! My husband and I and our four kids had plenty of room to spread out at the end of the day. The master bedroom mattress was so comfortable I actually slept 8 hours each night...much better than my own bed! All six of us thoroughly enjoyed playing in the pool and walking to town from the condo was a breeze! Be sure to get Annie's recommendations on places to visit and where to eat as all were a hit! Don't miss Woody's BBQ as well as biking onto Assateague Island...fantastic. We hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Kelley,

We loved reading your review. You mentioned all the things we love about our place - the sunsets, the deck, and the water view! We're so glad your family had such a nice time there. We would be happy to have you back again some time soon!

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Another Day in Paradise

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

This property lives up to everything it says in the listing. The condo is beautiful and comfortable at the same time and sitting on the deck relaxing is amazing. I could have spent my whole vacation sitting on the deck. You can go crabbing right off the dock and walk to the historic downtown area. Everyone we met in the complex and on the island were very nice and friendly. The owners are a pleasure to deal with. This is much better than staying in a hotel which we had done on our last visit to Chincoteague. I wholeheartedly recommend staying at this property and will definetely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Barbara,

It was a pleasure hosting you & your family. We are alway happy to hear our guests enjoyed Chincoteague & our condo as much as we do. Thanks so much for your nice review!

Love,

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Magnificent!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Perfect description of the rental top to bottom, just a described. The rental was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Owners were very quick to answer all questions and extremely pleasant. It was a vacation that will never be forgotten!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Cindy,

We always love to hear that our guests enjoyed our place as much as we do. We've been very blessed to have families who treat our home with respect while enjoying their vacations. We hope you will keep our place in mind for future visits to Chincoteague. Thanks so much for writing such a great review for our property.

Love,

Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time had by all!

Review submitted: September 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

My husband & I, 3 teens, and 1 Grandma had a wonderful stay in this condo. The crabbing right outside the back porch was ideal to keep a close eye on our teens (and assist when they had a "big" catch). We even saw a school of dolphin swimming in the channel one morning which was extra fun. The kids also enjoyed having a little independance walking home from the shops one day (they are that close!) We love Chincoteague's small town (everything is closeby), and the clean beaches (since it's a wildlife refuge), and the ponies are great to see on our drive to/from the beach. We will definitely consider staying here again sometime in the future:)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Sheri, Thanks for your review. We're so glad your family enjoyed your stay at our condo. We hope you come back again some time soon! Annie & Todd

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot in Chincoteague!

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 23, 2010

We visited with our four small children and were delighted with the condo. The whole place was spotlessly clean and we found everything was exactly as described in the listing. (We even got a call from Annie asking if the cleaner could return a little later in the day to tidy up a stubborn stain left by a prior guest! With our permission, the cleaner came by while we were out and dealt with it.)

The property is on the ground floor, tucked away at the back of the development right next to the marina. It's a lovely spot for breakfast or lunch, looking out over the water. The Sunset Bay condos are on the main street, just a few blocks from the center of the town, bookshop, library and so on. Everything is within easy reach of the development, so it's a good central location for exploring.

Annie and Todd were extremely helpful hosts. They provided an information packet when we booked that turned out to be extremely helpful indeed. They were also accommodating of our questions and needs.

We would certainly recommend this property to our friends -- and have!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dave & Shana, thank you for your great review and for recommending our property to your friends. It was a pleasure hosting your family. We hope you come back sometime soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunset Bay stay

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

Thank you for providing us the opportunity to stay at your beautiful condo. It is very peaceful and comfortable. We went to the beach a few times, climbed to the top of the lighthouse, rode our bikes on the nature loop, and took a cruise tour. Our eight-year old loved the marine dock and ducks being right outside the living room door. Our three nights went very quickly. Thank you for your hospitality and kindness. We really enjoyed our time in Chincoteague.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Deb, thank you for your kind comments. We're happy that our place provided a peaceful vacation for your family. We hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Worth Every Penny!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This place was wonderful! Beautifully decorated, spacious, light, great deck, designed for a wonderful vacation. It's right on the main drag with easy access to restaurants, shopping etc. I would go again on a heartbeat. The owners are personable and responsive. This is a great one!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Joyce, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!! We hope you come back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for Family Fun!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 21, 2010

Thanks a bunch Annie and Todd! We had such a wonderful stay in your beautiful, high quality, brand new (and super clean! :) condo! Not only was the view exquisite, but also, the location was so ideal! We were able to casually stroll to the shops and restaurants. In addition, our nights were full of sound rest due to the extremely comfortable mattresses.

Our family will definitely be repeat renters at your condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jennifer, it was pleasure hosting your family! We hope to have you back again some time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

This is a very nicely decorated place. The owners are very easy to deal with. My wife and kids enjoyed this place alot. The pictures were very accurate. The condo is not to far from downtown Chincoteague. We were able to walk to the Creamery which is on Maddox.
We were all sad to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tom, We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation at our condo. We hope you come back again some time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review