reviews for: listing #80258 - Watkins Glen, New York House rental

Secluded all-season home, cedar hot tub, close to wineries
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $260 - $350 /nt
    $1,700 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful home, well equipped, and just gorgeous!

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful home! We spent a week with our dog, and our 2 kids visiting family in Watkins Glen. The bedrooms are so spacious and the beds are SO comfortable! This house is not in front of a lake, but it's position on the hill provides a truly spectacular view! The floor to ceiling windows allow for the house to be incredibly bright even on the cloudiest of days. Well equipped for anyone visiting, the one thing we did not notice until later was that there was no TV or internet. But honestly, it did not make a difference! We still had a great time. The house has this fantastic DVD projector and a ton of DVDs. AND the TOPS supermarket 10mins away has a RedBox, so we got a couple of DVDs there for $1 every night. If you keep busy like we did, you will not notice the difference. Plus it is close to wineries and downtown with all the shops. So if you want a relaxing time, in a comfortable and beautiful house, this is the place for you!

OH and hot tub was the best part! Going in there in the dead of winter with that awesome view, made this vacation home the perfect place to rest.

We loved it and hope to come back here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home, well equipped, and just gorgeous!

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful home! We spent a week with our dog, and our 2 kids visiting family in Watkins Glen. The bedrooms are so spacious and the beds are SO comfortable! This house is not in front of a lake, but it's position on the hill provides a truly spectacular view! The floor to ceiling windows allow for the house to be incredibly bright even on the cloudiest of days. Well equipped for anyone visiting, the one thing we did not notice until later was that there was no TV or internet. But honestly, it did not make a difference! We still had a great time. The house has this fantastic DVD projector and a ton of DVDs. AND the TOPS supermarket 10mins away has a RedBox, so we got a couple of DVDs there for $1 every night. If you keep busy like we did, you will not notice the difference. Plus it is close to wineries and downtown with all the shops. So if you want a relaxing time, in a comfortable and beautiful house, this is the place for you!

OH and hot tub was the best part! Going in there in the dead of winter with that awesome view, made this vacation home the perfect place to rest.

We loved it and hope to come back here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review! I am so happy you enjoyed the house. It's true, there is no internet or TV. There is no high-speed DSL internet available in my area so no option to install it in the house! Internet access via 3G does work at the house and there is a cafe in Watkins Glen 10 minutes drive away with excellent wi-fi service. In case people need to check email!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect New Years Reunion

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Not only was Katya helpful and fair, but she was unbelieveably kind to allow us to stay in her beautiful house! It's a wonderful setting, fully equipped, very very comfortable and right near the wineries!The best part was the view and of course, if you have dogs, the huge fenced in yard was a god send! Heated floors as well. THANK YOU Katya!

-Lindsay

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

What a wonderful home you have. We had such a good and relaxing visit with our friends and relatives. We all felt so at home and comfortable even the little ones slept well! You are very fortunate to have such a beautiful hide-away to escape to from both the city and all of your travels.

Thank you so much again and we will definitely recommend your home as well as hope to come back to it at some point.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a blast!

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

We all had a blast at your house over July 4th weekend. Your house is amazing!! Especially loved sitting on the deck in the morning looking out at that incredible view. We want to come back again one day, stay at the house and do wine tasting!
Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a find!

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Stayed in July for 3 days with my daughter and several friends while attending a high performance driving school at Watkins Glen. The location was convenient, quiet, and rural. The house is stunning inside and out, with a spectacular view toward Seneca Lake. Excellent and roomy kitchen well-stocked with supplies. Beautiful wrap-around deck with new redwood hot tub, which we took advantage of. By far the best vacation rental I've ever stayed in..[Guest comment submitted on vacation rental by owner listing #360321]

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing views, cozy beds, and pets are welcome!

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family of five humans and Lucy the dog enjoyed our weekend at this lovely home. It is tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable, and includes everything we needed to have a perfect family weekend. We bought food at the local Farmers Market and cooked meals in the fully equiped kitchen. Lucy had plenty of space to run and play outside in the fenced-in property and we left her to rest in her crate when we visited Farm Sanctuary, hiked the gorge trail at the Watkins Glen State Park, and enjoyed a local winery and microbrewery. I would love to rent this home for a week next summer to do some cycling, more hiking, and playing in and around Lake Seneca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing views, cozy beds, and pets are welcome!

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Our family of five humans and Lucy the dog enjoyed our weekend at this lovely home. It is tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable, and includes everything we needed to have a perfect family weekend. We bought food at the local Farmers Market and cooked meals in the fully equiped kitchen. Lucy had plenty of space to run and play outside in the fenced-in property and we left her to rest in her crate when we visited Farm Sanctuary, hiked the gorge trail at the Watkins Glen State Park, and enjoyed a local winery and microbrewery. I would love to rent this home for a week next summer to do some cycling, more hiking, and playing in and around Lake Seneca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review