reviews for: listing #80307 - Hershey, Pennsylvania House rental

Sweet Arrow Lake Summer House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Lake Comm
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $300 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,500 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful and relaxing vacation with great scenery

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

We spent 3 nights during the week in August. 4 adult and 3 kids stayed there without problem. The house is old, but rooms were clean. This place is located in a quite neighbor, a perfect place to relax and rest. The house was wonderful with a large deck with screen where you can view the lake. We sat there watching beautiful lake while kids were kayaking. The whole lake area is wonderful. It is about 45 minutes away from Hershey Park. I was going to rent a home near Hershey Park, but I am glad I rented this place. We are from a large metropolitan area, and this is a great getaway place for a weekend or vacation. The owner was very kind and responded promptly when we had question. Our check-in was smooth and pleasant too.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Plenty of Space and Relaxing

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

We had 5 adults and 4 small children staying at the house and we all fit well.
The house is located in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood and has a nice view of the lake through the tall pine trees. The house it self is old, built circa 1920 but is well maintained and very comfortable. The screened in Porch and large deck with gas grill are the best features. The kitchen is small but it works. There is a pretty nice grocery store a few miles down the road. The reason my review gets 4/5 instead of 5/5 is because Pine Grove is out of the way from the tourist attractions we were interested in. Hershey Park was 40 miles and took under an hour to get there. If you plan on visiting Lancaster or Gettysburg plan on spending 1.5+ hours driving each way. Rita was a fantastic renter and always available to help and/ or answer questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We loved having Nate and family stay at the lake house and are thrilled they enjoyed the lake. Our house works best for family's who would like a relaxing spot on the lake and day trips to attractions. the house is about 40 minutes to Hershey and 45 minutes to Elysburg/Knoebels Grove, under 30 minutes to Hawk Mountain, Pottsville and Reading. We think we have the best of both worlds, a cool lake getaway for the family within 1 hr. drive of a variety of local attractions!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Peaceful & relaxing

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

We had a wonderful time! This house is in a tranquil setting with an excellent lake view through the tall pines. It takes just 10-sec to walk down the back hill to the fire-pit right on the lake. There's a kids' playground just a 30 second walk along the lake and a pleasure, serene 1-min walk along a wooden path to a small waterfall in the woods. A very relaxing & peaceful week for the entire family. We took advantage of the availability of the (2) kayaks to explore the lake.
The house had ample space for the 4 adults & 3 children on this vacation. The screened porch and the open deck with bbq grill were great to enjoy our morning coffee and evening cook-outs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 8

 

Beautful view of the lake

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

The view of the lake was stunning. We used the screened in porch every night! The house was basically as described and the pictures were accurate. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is the outside of the property was a bit overgrown and in desperate need of attention. The bathrooms were a bit dated but were clean. We went into Hershey 2 days...it's about a 40-45 drive. The Yuengling tour was great and free! That was about 30 minutes away. It was also convenient that there was a little grocery store about 10 minutes away! I would recommend this property..we had 2 adults and 3 teenagers and we had plenty of room and actually had a bedroom we didn't even use!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Amazing owner and property !

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

It was wonderful waking up to calm and peaceful surroundings, we had a beautiful view. The owner was extremely helpful whenever we needed her. My family of four had an amazing time here. The grill and deck was awesome. Walking down to the lake was a nice treat for the kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 11

 

Lovely Getaway Retreat

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

The lake house is a wonderful getaway "home away from home". Beautifully and comfortably furnished, the home was exactly as described. We loved the screen porch and deck as an extension of the spacious home. Everything you could possibly want is available, including large screen TV, DVD, music system, games, large music and video library, comfortable indoor and outdoor living space, fully equiped kitchen and WI-FI. Quiet, peaceful location, yet close to all of the area attractions. Don't miss the Yeungling tour in Pottsville!! Two couples enjoyed a great weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Wonderful lake house!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The lake house is very spacious and it's exactly as it's described! It's very clean and well organized. Our family had a peaceful and quiet time at the house. It's not very far away from the major attraction such as Hershey Park, America Roadside Miniature Village, ...
We definitely would recommend this lake house to anyone. And the rental rate is very decent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Great Lake Escape

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Our family spent the weekend at this great lakeside house. Everything was as described. We all took turns kayaking on the lake (including my 80 year old grandmother) and took walks around the area. This is a great place to get away and have a nice quiet weekend. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Great Lake Escape

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

Our family spent the weekend at this great lakeside house. Everything was as described. We all took turns kayaking on the lake (including my 80 year old grandmother) and took walks around the area. This is a great place to get away and have a nice quiet weekend. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Family Getaway

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

I rented this vacation home for a family getaway, we had a great time, close to supermarket. I dont't recomend arriving too late , very dark. Beautifully kept home, makes u feel like at home. A beautiful lake view and large patio. The house was just like it was discribed, fabulous/helpful contact person. Will truly recomend for any age group. Would deffinetely consider renting again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review